This business is not BBB accredited.

TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 544-1517 14601 27th Ave N STE 104, Plymouth, MN 55447 http://www.trustonefinancial.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2004 Business started: 09/21/1939 Business started locally: 09/21/1939 Business incorporated 09/01/1939 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tim Bosiacki, CEO Lori Baldwin, Executive Assistant Katie Grindeland, SVP Director of Marketing Nathan Grunzke, EVP Mortgage Operations Hans Iverson, COO Gary Maki, Director of Human Resources Jeffrey Rothmeyer, SVP Director of Commercial Lending Jeff Smrcka, SVP Director of Consumer Lending Steve Steen, CBO John Verplank, SVP Information Technology Phil Young, EVP General Counsel Dan Zaczkowski, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Tim Bosiacki, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Mortgage Lender Investment Management Banking Services

Alternate Business Names
Teacher Federal Credit Union TFCU
Products & Services

TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial institution that provides a full line of banking services. TruStone Financial is committed to providing state-of-the-art, quality products and services to member-owners.
TruStone Financial offers free checking accounts with free Visa® Debit Cards, Free Online Banking with free Bill Pay, Health Savings Accounts (HSA), Personal Savings and Investments, Commercial Checking and Lending services, Visa Credit and Gift Cards, Home Mortgages and Loans for all your needs. Contact us today at 800.862.1998 or www.TruStoneFinancial.org.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14300 Nicollet Ct STE 100

    Burnsville, MN 55306

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14601 27th Ave N STE 104

    Plymouth, MN 55447

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14690 Galaxie Ave Ste 110

    Apple Valley, MN 55124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2150 Lexington Ave N

    Saint Paul, MN 55113

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2707 30th Ave

    Kenosha, WI 53144

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2817 Lyndale Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55408 (763) 544-1517

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 Main St NE

    Minneapolis, MN 55413

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    620 Roosevelt Rd

    Saint Cloud, MN 56301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6218 26th Ave

    Kenosha, WI 53143

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6500 Olson Memorial Hwy.

    Golden Valley, MN 55427

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6715 Green Bay Rd

    Kenosha, WI 53142

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    757 Cleveland Avenue South

    Saint Paul, MN 55116

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7799 Main St N

    Maple Grove, MN 55369

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7851 Elm Creek Blvd

    Maple Grove, MN 55369

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found several fraudulent charges on my credit card this summer. One to a construction company in China (which has been completely resolved) The others were several charges that total over $2000 to a fantasy sports site. I had originally reported these as fraud, but then called to cancel the request, as the fantasy sports company promised to refund the money. Weeks passed and they still did not refund the money. Meanwhile Trustone never actually cancelled two of the disputed charges, so those were refunded to my card, but then were added back onto my account which caused my account to be past my max/limit. The fantasy site never refunded my money, so a few weeks ago I filled out a new fraud/form to report ALL of those charges as fraudulent. I have tried to call the Trustone fraud dept several times. Each time they tell me they will give my info to the fraud dept to call me back. I last did this on Friday 9/9 and was PROMISED a call back by the end of the day on Monday 9/12. No phone call received here, just a letter in the mail telling me my credit card was over the limit and I had better apply for more credit.

Desired Settlement: I want a call back from trustone's fraud dept immediately, and I want all of the fantasy sports site charges immediately reversed so I can actually use my card. Trustone acts like they are a friendly neighborhood credit union, which makes it completely surprising that they are unwilling to return customer's phone calls.

Business Response:

We have been in contact with ****** ****** and have processed the necessary documentation to resolve her situation. We regret any inconveniences she has had regarding her fraud claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people lost my documents with all my personal information and have no idea where they are. I dropped off my personal information to the Plymouth office on July 6 2015 to apply for a home loan. These unethical people lost all my tax documents, banking documents, and pay stubs that I dropped off to them. Trustone is being very stubborn on finding my docs and have received 1 phone call from them. I call Trustone and leave messages and no one calls me back. If these documents get out into the public, anyone could steal my identity and thats what I fear most about this. I will never refer anyone to Trustone financial and I will get my story out there to anyone that wants to listen. Shame on you Trustone Financial.

Desired Settlement: I want all my documents and paperwork returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/23) */ TruStone Financial has strict protocols surrounding the protection of customer information. TruStone does not have any of Mr. **********'s personal records. Phil ***** SVP General Counsel Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) So Trustones Professional liar rings in and says strict protocols In protecting customers information and they dont have my personal records huh, thats because you guys lost them. I have a voicemail saying you guys lost them and are looking for them. Whered they go with all that strict protocol lawyer talk mombo jombo? I dropped my paperwork off in person to the girl at the front desk and thats the last anyone has seen of it? Check the cameras for july 6, you'll see me on there handing my paperwork over to the girl at the desk. You want her name? I know what it is as I sent her an email when I was in the office that day. You guys messed up and need to fix the problem. I WILL NOT stop until I get my personal confidential property back from you guys. I'd recommend finding it because I will go to the newspapers, tv stations and social media next to let the public know about how unprofessional and untrustworthy trustone is. Good Luck

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dispute over credit rating that Trustone reporting my husband **** ******** and I as being delinquent on mortgage payments for months back in 9/2012 . We applied for a home equity loan with another lender and it came to our attention on 5/15/14 that our credit rating had derogatory accounts listed but they would still issue the loan. Trustone denied our request for a loan at that time in May 2014 saying we had inadequate information. We contacted Brittany ******* via phone and email to take care of situation . We sent documentation to Brittany ******* and Kelly ***** with all proof that mortgage was paid on time and in full in Sept. and Oct. of 2012. We sent a detailed letter to Nathan ******* on Nov. 2014 because our insurance rates had gone up by $321 per year because of their mistake and still not fixing it. He never responded to us. Then we moved from Mn to Iowa in August 20, 2015 and were signing paperwork for a new mortgage and Equifax listed Trustone Financial delinquentdates listed for 10/12=m3, 9/12=m2 EFX=01, XPN=01, TU=01 . We were shocked and saddened to see this still listed by Trustone and that they had not removed it after a year. So our credit rating is still be adversely affect. I contacted costumer service on August 31, 2015 Nicole ******* via email with attachments and more documentations. She emailed back on September 10, 2015 saying only that she had submitted request for this issue. I sent another email inquiring about the issue on Oct. 1, 2015 and have heard nothing back as of today Nov. 7, 2015. We are extremely dissatisfied that the Mortgage Department Director of TruStone Financial has not fixed this situation. Both Brittany ******* and Kelly ***** the Manager of Mortgage said via phone and email that it would be taken care of in May 2014 and it clearly wasn't. We have suffered financial damage with our insurance rates since 2012 due to Trustone Financial wrongful reporting to the credit bureau about our mortgage payments and status. We have tried to deal with Trustone Financial but they refuse to rectify the situation. I closed the accounts in August 2015 because we were moving. We want this issue of wrongly reporting us as delinquent to be resolved completely and that at least our extra insurance cost of $642.00 which could be more be paid to us. This was for 2012-2014 costs of $321 per year more. That is not taking into account 2015. We should have an excellent credit rating and we do not want our name and reputation to be tarnished any further. We have been patient and forthcoming with Trustone yet they still do not resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: We have suffered financial damage and personal time trying to resolve the delinquent credit rating that Trustone Financial filed back in 2012. We want TruStone to reimburse us for increased insurance cost that we sustained because of their mistakes in the amount of $642.00 for 2013 and 2014 and another $321 for 2015 because the issue has continued to affect our credit rating as of August 20, 2015. We expect to hear from Nathan ******* about this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/24) */ Dear Ms. ********, In response to your May 14, 2014 call to review and correct mortgage loan late payments reported in error in 2012, we initiated the process with the credit reporting agency to remove late payment reporting on May 21, 2014. A second correction was necessary in response to your call to our contact center in October 2014 and occurred on November 7, 2014. A follow up correction was required due to a systems error on October 2, 2015. With the loan paid in full November 3, 2015, there is no historical derogatory reporting at this time. While we regret your insurance company communicated to you a rise in your premiums, we would not be involved with payments to or direct correspondence with your insurance agency for your homeowner's insurance policy premium or their reasons for changes of same. We have forwarded information to you referencing the inaccurate late reporting correction your records. TruStone Financial thanks you for your membership. Sincerely, Nathan ******* SVP Director of Mortgage Operations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/12/07) */ Consumer indicated that he/she accepted the business response

8/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am contacting you in the matter of Account #XXXXXXX in the names of ****** ***** and Collette ***** in which loan interest was overpaid due to negli Automated deposits in the amount of $2,417.00 were entered to our TruStone Financial FCU account #XXXXXXX on the 15th of every month for credit to our home mortgage. This amount included the payment of the actual monthly payment amount of $2,204.00 and a principal only payment of $393.00 per month. The automated payments were set up in February 2015 to take effect beginning the month of March, 2015. The terms of this automated payment schedule were to apply money from the account on the 15th of each month, resulting in a "mortgage paid" status on that account for that month the following day (16th of each month). The errors were as recorded in numerous emails; - The automated payment was not made on time for any month. Payments were applied by TruStone Financial FCU on the 1st of the month, 15-16 days after the payment should have been entered. This negligence in posting the automated payments resulted in payments being recorded 15-16 days late and a phone call from the bank reporting the payment late. This not only resulted in a great deal of effort on Mrs. *****'s part to make sure the payments were finally posted, but also in an additional 15-16 days of interest being charged erroneously every month. - Amounts for principal only were not applied as "principal only" payments and additional interest accrued in error. The additional interest charged as a result of the late application of funds resulted in an additional $186.15 in interest charged. Please remit a check in the amount of $186.15 to:

Desired Settlement: he additional interest charged as a result of the late application of funds resulted in an additional $186.15 in interest charged. Please remit a check in the amount of $186.15 to: ******** and ****** ***** **** W ***** ***** **** ********** ** XXXXX I appreciate your immediate assistance in this matter. Mrs. ***** has been in contact for many months and a great deal of time and effort has been expended to attempt to resolve these errors on the part of TruStone Financial FCU. It is my hope that this can be resolved quickly. If we do not receive a check or correspondence within 5 business days (by Monday, 6-29), we will be contacting the regulation and oversight agencies responsible for Federal Credit Unions including the FDIC and NCUA, in addition to the State Attorney General, federal consumer protection agency, Better Business Bureau, Wis Dept of Financial Institutions, Wis DATCP and so forth. Please direct any correspondence to this email address (***********@yahoo.com) or the physical address listed above. Regards, ****** ***** **** W ***** ***** **** ********** ** XXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/29) */ Prior to the complaint being filed, concerns were raised by the Member with TruStone staff in regards to their payments being credited correctly. Through internal research, errors were identified and all loan payments were reapplied correctly with a credit being given to the Member. These corrections were communicated with the Member and, with the filing of the BBB complaint, we are again in direct contact with them detailing out the corrections. Documented verification has been sent and follow-up calls have been made to ensure they are satisfied with the outcome. Member is appreciative of the thoroughness of our response and is working directly with TruStone on resolving any final issues. Jeff ****** VP Director of Lending Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were charged for additional interest during the days they did not apply payments for the 3 months the payments were not applied correctly. We have not been given a refund. They say they are investigating it yet we still have not received the refund for their incorrect charges due to their inability to apply payments when they should have posted. We have received a phone call but no payment. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/07) */ We completed direct communication with the Member again to resolve any outstanding issues. Information had been sent and was more recently reviewed in detail with the Member regarding the loan corrections and credits applied. The Member represented to us that they agreed the matter was reconciled. TruStone Financial values their membership and appreciates the opportunity to resolve the situation. Jeff ****** VP Director of Lending

7/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: debit to my checking account without my permission. debit occurred on 03/30/2015 for $200.00 and only $50.00 has been returned. the financial institution has been promising to return the funds since March 2015. I cannot seem to get this resolved. looking to recoup the remaining $150.00 as promised by Trustone. i have extensive emails supporting my claim.

Desired Settlement: $150.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/17) */ We regret *************** cancelled her mortgage loan financing after final home inspection cost was incurred. As a show of good faith, we have issued a check on July 16, 2015 payable to Ms. ******* in the amount of $150.00 for the remaining amount which she is seeking. TruStone Financial prides itself on a longstanding history of excellent member service. Sincerely, Nathan ******* SVP Director of Mortgage Operations

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invalid charge to my debit card and needed phone number to company that charged my card. I have an invalid charge on my debit card dated 6/9/15 for $10. I called the bank to get a phone number to dispute the charge with the company that billed it. Since there is no phone number the bank SHOULD be able to dispute it on my behalf. If it were a fraud charge the bank would do this but since I know it isn't fraud however there is NO number to dispute with the company one would think the bank would take the charge off the account and dispute with the company boiling the charge.

Desired Settlement: I feel the bank should refund the $10 and dispute it with the company billing this charge otherwise they should be able to give me information to dispute with the company billing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/17) */ We regret that ******** ************* provided her debit card information to a third party; this does not constitute a fraudulent transaction according to Visa guidelines and regulations. However, TruStone Financial has a long history of excellent member service and has agreed to reimburse $10 to our member's account. Sincerely, **** *******, COO

6/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trustone is still giving away my cash to pay rent for an apartment I moved from in January. They refuse to stop the auto pay.GOD PLEASE MAKE IT STOP! *************** acknowledged their mistake and returned the rent from February. They knew they did wrong, apologized and with the help of Trustone Financial, took another $495.00 for March!! I closed the account after the unauthorized money was taken the first time and opened a new account with Trustone believing it could never happen again, well guess what? *************** continued to take rent even from the new account. Where is the LAW???? HOW DO I GET MY MONEY BACK????? Why does Trustone allow them free access to my account? Do I have to take both of these parties to court? I will solicit legal help if necessary because this is so obviously WRONG!!!! How am I supposed to get my money back???

Desired Settlement: I may need an attorney to confront *************** and Trustone Financial to get to the bottom of this. I wish local media would draw attention to this so the state attorney could convict somebody. *************** has no right to my account but Trustone allows them to help themselves to my cash. I want my money back AGAIN! $495.00 !! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME,PLEASE MAKE IT STOP!! THIS IS A CRIME!!! PLEASE MAKE IT STOP!!! I HAVE THE BANK STATEMENTS. POLICE, ARE YOU THERE? SHOULD I CALL THE POLICE???

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/30) */ This is response to an original complaint letter received by ************, CEO TruStone Financial, on April 13th, 2015 from Mr. ********* regarding and automatic payment that was set up with a third party. As of April 13th TruStone Financial has placed a stop payment on the debit transfer initiated by ***************. No additional funds should be collected from Mr. *********'s account. While the debit has been stopped Mr. ********* should contact the third party to receive his refund. We regret any inconvenience to Mr. *********'s account with our credit union. Sincerely, ************, COO

3/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Checking account was charged a 30$ nsf fee although it was never negative. Checking account was charged a 30$ nsf fee although it was never negative. The statement reflects this clearly. Banker ********* refused to remedy this situation.

Desired Settlement: remove 30$ nsf fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/19) */ RE: Case # ******** This is in response to a complaint received by*************, CEO TruStone Financial, on February 13, 2015. Consumer is stating he was charged a $30 NSF fee although his account was never negative. Consumer completed a purchase transaction on 2/5/2015 at Holiday STNSTORE **** in Plymouth MN for $32.09. At that time his available balance was $15.68. The authorized transaction brought his account into the negative $16.41 and therefore was accessed an NSF fee of $30. On 2/7/2015, TruStone Financial provided Consumer with the facts of the transaction that resulted in the NSF fee being accessed. Sincerely, ************* COO

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite of several evidence furnished of having full coverage auto insurance, Collateral insurance was added in my Auto loan balance. Auto Loan Account Number: ********** L2500 I have been maintain an auto loan with trustone financial which requires me of full coverage auto insurance. I have been consistently maintaining full coverage insurance so far. I often change my insurance company due to the availability of better deals. But, every time I change my insurance, I have managed to drop off a copy of my insurance record at trustone local office. Recently, I received a letter stating that I don't have auto insurance which is a false allegation. I sent several emails to fix this issue but no convincing reply from them yet.

Desired Settlement: Get rid of those charges along with a formal written apology to avoid further legal action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/12) */ This is in response to communication forwarded from ****** ******. Individuals who obtain a vehicle loan from TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union are obligated by the terms of their loan agreement to maintain insurance on their vehicle and identify TruStone as a lienholder in their insurance policy. The loan agreement also authorizes TruStone to force place insurance on vehicles when it appears that insurance has lapsed. TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union did force place insurance on Mr. ******'s car. This happened because TruStone was not notified that he had changed insurers and it appeared that he was without insurance. This situation has since been corrected, and a full refund will be issued by November 30, 2014. Thank you for your inquiry. *********** Chief Business Officer Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is a second part of Trustone negligence. I also hold a credit card from this credit union. February of 2014, my account access was locked due to unauthorized attempt to access my account. They send bill at the wrong address, as my apartment number is 171 and not 117. When they fix the account access, the due date was already passed and the late payment appeared in my credit report which I found recently. Trustone is deliberately trying to hurt my credit rating so that they can raise APR on credit card and add extra money on car loan. I welcome their willingness to ratify the mistake on car loan account, now I want to see similar action on credit card and credit report. If they need any information, I am willing to cooperate to any extent. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/11/24) */ Attempts to reach member via phone were made on November 18, 21 and 24 by************, CBO. Mr. ***** left messages each attempt to apologize for any confusion surrounding the insurance. No return call from member has been received as of this date, November 24. As insurance has been updated and all charges refunded as of our last response, we consider this matter resolved to member's wishes.

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is refusing to deal with my fraud claim, even though I had fraud on my account. They claim I authorized it and its legitimate Back on 5/20/2014 I received a phone call threatening me that I was going to get sued for 147 thousand dollars if I didn't agree to pay this company 336 dollars for unauthorized media downloading in which I told them I have never downloaded music unless it was through iTunes and I had receipts to prove that. They told me to bad and that even if it wasn't me - they could still get the proper stuff to prove it and I needed to pay them now or risk getting sued. I hesitantly gave them my card #. They charged me and several days later I got another call threatening the same thing. Thats when I realized it was fraud and contacted Trustone. They provided me a credit and did their "investigating" in which they concluded that I gave my card out to this company - therefore it wasn't their fault and they wouldn't treat it as fraud. ********** called from that department and tried to explain this. She was very rude and condescending and kept cutting me off when I tried to speak. I tried telling her that I work for a bank and I understand what the definition of fraud is and I know a banks obligation when it comes to fraud in which I tried to explain to her that TruStone wasn't upholding. Regardless of how the company got my debit card # - i was threatened to get it for something that wasn't legitimate. That constitutes fraud. ****** treated me dumb and kept trying to tell me I didn't know the definition of fraud. Finally I asked to speak to her Supervisor who she explained wasn't in. I never received a called from her supervisor who was *********** and then come home today to find that I had mail saying that I now owe after 120 days 336 dollars to them and that the supervisor tried contacting me several times with no response. This is absolutely terrible service and a clear violation of a bank looking out for their clients wellbeing.

Desired Settlement: I want my 336 dollars credited into my account. This was a fraud case and should be credited back to my account as fraud.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/10) */ RE: Case # ********: ********** This is in response to a letter received by *** ********, CEO at TruStone Financial on October 6, 2014. Mr. *** is disputing a $336 charge on his debt card as a fraudulent transaction. On May 20, 2014, Mr. *** was contacted by a third party requesting a payment of $336 for unauthorized media downloading. Mr. *** voluntarily provided the third party with his debit card information for them to process the transaction. As stated in his complaint he was again solicited for a second payment to the same third party. On May 29, 2014 Mr. *** contacted TruStone Financial and initiated a fraudulent transaction claim. TruStone, per our normal business practice provided Mr. *** with a provisional credit to his account pending the outcome of the fraudulent investigation. On June 25, 2014, Mr. *** was sent the notification that upon review of the transaction and according to the Visa regulations the transaction did not meet the criteria of a fraudulent transaction as Mr. *** knowingly provided his debit card information to the third party. He was instructed to contact the third party to recover any funds he feels were collected in a fraudulent manner. Mr. *** additionally claims he did not receive the level of service by TruStone employees he desired. After reviewing the phone call with ********** we do not feel she was rude or condescending. While Mr. *** may have been interrupted during the discussion, Ms. *** offered a proper explanation and provided Mr. *** with alternative methods of collecting his funds from the third party. In addition, our records show Ms. ***'s supervisor tried, unsuccessfully, to reach Mr. *** on September 17th and again on the 19th without a response. While we regret that Mr. *** provided his debit card information to a third party, this does not constitute a fraudulent transaction according to Visa guidelines and regulations. Accordingly, we will not be providing Mr. ***'s desired resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If a company under false pretenses obtains your debit card and uses it for fraudulent purchases - then this I would think would constitute fraud. What I don't understand is how you - ***, as the CEO, doesn't quite understand banking. If a company obtains your debit card information (regardless of how they did), make fraud purchases - does this sound like something I can resolve with the 3rd party? Do you honestly think I am going to call them and ask for my money back and they are going to give it back? You would be dead wrong. I tried that and received exactly 0 response from them. But obviously ****** doesn't understand this concept either. I had a company get my debit card, make fraud charges and now I am out the 336.00. And of course you aren't going to come out and say "Oh yes, ********** was condescending and rude on the phone to **********." You have to be joking me. I would challenge a 3rd party to listen to that phone call and judge if she was rude and condescending - which she was. And in regards to this supervisor contacting me - I would like proof of this considering I received no phone call. I am a bank manager and I do know the meaning of a fraudulent charge. I do also know what good customer service is and I most certainly wouldn't leave a college student that works full time to try to pay for his education on his own - out cold with no resolution and a 320 dollar negative checking account that you are threatening to charge off and send to collection ruining not only their credit but their ChexSystems. I don't have 320 dollars sitting around to pay off TruStone for a fraudulent purpose. This is why people have banks - to protect them in THESE situations and this is exactly why people get a bad impression of banks. Mr. *******, Maybe I should be in your position as CEO because I obviously have a much clearer idea how to provide excellent customer service. So now I have a fraud claim that was denied in which TruStone won't take responsibility for, a rude and condescending ********** harassing me about my negative account, a lying CEO about a supervisor calling and a incompetent CEO who doesn't understand fraud claims and how to provide great customer service. It looks really great on your reputation that you ruined a college students finances including their credit and chexsystems over a fraud claim that was wrongly denied. I will be taking this matter to the attorney general ***i Swanson if it doesn't get resolved via the BBB. Final Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/11/06) */ TruStone Financial cannot accept responsibility for charges which are authorized by the cardholder, even if the cardholder later regrets providing the authorization. ********** General Counsel TruStone Financial

4/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trustone never sent me a credit card bill but still reported me to the credit bureau. They hang up on me and don't return my calls. Trustone failed to update my mailing address, as they have a unique requirement of actually mailing a hardcopy change of address form to them. This is the only one of my many credit card issuers to require this. Anyway, as a result of having an outdated mailing address, they never sent me my credit card bill. A Triple A charge went through and I was never made aware of it. I only found out through a credit monitoring service. They refuse to remove this from my credit report, they will not take my calls, they hang up on me, they never return my calls. They are extremely rude over the phone. Their error will cost me thousands of dollars on my upcoming mortgage because it dropped my credit score almost fifty points. They are rude and hang up on me when I politely tell them of this.

Desired Settlement: To remove this erroneous entry from my credit report and start providing adequate customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/18) */ We have discussed this matter internally and with Mr. ****. While TruStone Financial affirms its actions with respect to Mr. ****'s credit card account, we are pleased to inform you that we have come to a resolution which is satisfactory to TruStone and to Mr. ****.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on TruStone Financial Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart