BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1930 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated 01/01/1930 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St Ste 4206, Alexandria VA 22314
Phone Number: (703) 518-6300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dave Larson, President/CEO Kate Lee, Director of Marketing Jessica Volkmann, Director of Compliance
Contact Information
Principal: Dave Larson, President/CEO
Principal: Kate Lee, Director of Marketing
Principal: Jessica Volkmann, Director of Compliance
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Real Estate Loans Investment Management Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards College Savings Plans Banking Services

Alternate Business Names
Affinity Affinity Plus Affinity Plus FCU Affinity Plus Federal Credit
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union, this company offers banking services, investment services and loans.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1510 Bemidji Ave N

    Bemidji, MN 56601

  • 1642 Diffley Rd

    Saint Paul, MN 55122

  • 175 W. Lafayette Frontage Rd

    Saint Paul, MN 55107 (800) 322-7228 (651) 291-3700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After researching five credit unions in 2012 I decided to refinance my mortgage at Affinity Plus in Duluth, MN. The deciding factor was a promotional offer of $2000 closing costs. Affinity waived the requirement of a house insurance deductible greater of 1% of the dwelling coverage or $1000. My house deductible has always been $5000 and that would have been a deal breaker. My house is insured at $288,000 and I have cash to cover over 10 times that deductible. I go through a process every year of checking my insurance and getting quotes. The cheapest I could find was $1481.64 for a $5000 deductible which I purchased for 2016. I rarely check my snail mail but did empty my mailbox last week. I found two envelopes..correspondence from Affinity Plus, one being a final notice to charge me an additional $992.04 for a term of 12 months because my insurance was inadequate. I went to an Affinity Plus branch in Grand Rapids and was told they are not providing waivers any more..standard policy for everyone. I contacted the Duluth branch today by phone and was told there were new Federal guidelines..not the credit unions fault. I then visited two other credit unions and found I met both of their requirements to have a $5000 deductible on my house insurance and was told there were no such "new" federal guidelines. I reminded the Duluth branch that they have my work e-mail address and I do my banking electronically which would have been a better form of contact. They indicated the hard copy letters did not come directly from them. The only point of contact I have is the credit union and if they had knowledge that the waivers were to go away, I believe they should have notified us ASAP so we could shop for another financial institution if we chose to. It feels like that promotional offer of cheap closing costs and that house insurance deductible waiver was a trap to get people to switch. Product_Or_Service: Hourse Mortgage and Insurance

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like them to honor our agreement when I purchased the mortgage. If they absolutely cannot then I would like adequate time to shop once again for a financial institution that will meet my needs. Legal correspondence that is giving me another insurance policy that I did not ask for and charging me $992.04 should required a delivery notice if coming by US mail. Affinity Plus Credit Union has basically taken no responsibility and yet they made the deal in 2012.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/03/11) */ To whom it may concern, Please consider this a response to the complaint Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union received on February 29th, 2016 for ****** *********. In her letter, Ms. ********* questioned the established deductible requirements for home owner's insurance at Affinity Plus. Affinity Plus does require our members to maintain a deductible that is $1,000 or 1% of the dwelling coverage, whichever is greater. When these requirements are not met, Affinity Plus will mail notifications to the address on file to ensure the member obtains adequate insurance. In 2012, Ms. ********* did have insurance coverage that met these requirements. It is our understanding that Ms. *********'s coverage changed sometime after the loan funded. Ms. ********* has been in contact with Management at Affinity Plus to discuss the home owner's insurance requirements for the loan. As a result of these conversations, Affinity Plus and Ms. ********* have come to a mutual agreement regarding home owner's insurance requirements. Affinity Plus appreciates the opportunity to address Ms. *********'s concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2016/03/21) */

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bank made a mistake that affected my credit and cost me money. Last fall I opened up a credit card with Affinity. The representative, Amy ********* assisted me and transferred balances from my 4 credit cards on to this one. She made a mistake by paying each card twice then return the checks and resenting again to correct the mistake. She told me what happened via email and told me that if I incur any charges because of this to let her know. I responded and told her I understand mistakes happen and it was ok. Two weeks later I got notification that I had $25 return check fees on 3 of the cards so I emailed Amy that information along with the accounts so she could correct it. 2 weeks later I get notified that those fees were 30 days late and now had $25 late fees on them. And it was reported to my credit report which dropped my score by over 30 pts. I called Amy and left a message but no response so I followed up with another email. Still no response then a month later I got an email from someone else asking me to go in. So I took time off of work went in and talked to Michelle Young. She assured my that she would fix my credit and reimburse the fees. I asked her to call me that week to confirm it had been taken care of and she agreed. Two weeks later and she has ignored my email inquiring about the status as well as my voicemail I left her. I then sent a message in Affinitys website asking for a manager to call me and once again, no response. This banks admitted mistake has cost me my credit, money in fees, lost time at work and a lot of frustration. I want my credit score back, I am trying to buy a house and I will not pay for their mistake.

Desired Settlement: My credit repaired. Fees I've paid the 3 cards. Pay for my lost wages having to take time of from work to go to the bank and try to get help, phone calls and emails.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/03/02) */ To whom it may concern, Please consider this a response to the complaint Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union received on February 19th, 2016 for ****** **************. Affinity Plus has completed a review of Ms. **************'s accounts and we have concluded a processing error occurred which caused checks to be issued twice for Ms. **************'s balance transfers. We sincerely apologize for the error that occurred and any inconvenience this has caused her. Affinity Plus Management has been in contact with Ms. ************** to discuss the situation. Affinity Plus will refund the fees Ms. ************** received due to the payment duplication. Additionally, we will work with her to both review and resolve her concerns with her credit report. Affinity Plus appreciates the opportunity to address Ms. ************** concerns and we look forward to hearing from her and resolving this matter. Sincerely, Jessica ******** Director of Compliance

3/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Affinity Plus FCU placed a CPI on my vehicle loan account due to an insurance issue that I resolved. On May 18, 2015, Affinity Plus FCU placed a CPI on my vehicle loan account due to an insurance issue. On 6/15/2015, I was reimbursed only a partial amount after showing proof of having my insurance in which they said i would be filled reimbursed. My credit score has gone down over 200 points due to the remaining balance of the CPI on my account, which made it seem as if I weren't paying my monthly payments in full or on-time. My vehicle loan account is said to be delinquent on my credit report when I pay my normal scheduled monthly payment on time every month and have never been late. When I call to get help with the issue on the main customer service line, I am nit rated with quality customer care nor refunded my money. I sent them a letter from my insurance provide both current and previous and they still have not done anything to fix this issue. In the past the similar issues like this one happened, Affinity would credit me my money, however this time they are making it impossible for me to get back my refund and fix the delinquency on my credit report. I repeat I have never missed or made a late payment, however they continue to report missed monthly payments on my credit report and delinquencies which are ultimately affecting my score in the worst possible way. I am a recent college graduate with little credit history and these fake claims they are making are inevitably impossible to get rid of without resulting to making this claim with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the CPI and adjusted report on behalf of my credit report, I have never made a late payment nor missed any of these monthly payments they are reporting me to have. This issue has taken a drastic toll on both my credit report and life.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/18) */ We received and reviewed the complaint listed for ************** through the BBB's site. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate a corresponding membership at the Credit Union based on the name and address she provided. Is there any other information available from ******** to assist us in identifying her account with Affinity Plus? Thank you - ***copied and pasted from email. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response does not solve anything but my member number is ******* (I believe this number is confidential, so I do not need it showed publicly. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/02/26) */ February 26, 2015 Better Business Bureau RE: Complaint ******** To whom it may concern, Please consider this a response to the complaint Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union received on February 22nd, 2016 regarding **************. Affinity Plus does require our members to carry continuous full coverage auto insurance on their vehicles for the life of the loan as outlined in our loan documents. Consequently, if a member's coverage does not meet these requirements, a policy will be added to the loan at the member's expense. Affinity Plus has identified Ms. ***** experienced a lapse in her policy coverage in 2015 which resulted in the force placed policy. Affinity Plus has made Ms. ***** aware of the lapse details via written and verbal communications. To date, Ms. ***** has not been able to provide proof of adequate insurance for the time period in question. Additionally, our records indicate Ms. ***** is currently not meeting our minimum insurance requirements for her auto loan. Affinity Plus has been in communication with Ms. ***** regarding the requirements as recent as February 24th. At this time, Affinity Plus requests Ms. ***** provide us with proof of adequate insurance coverage for the lapse period in 2015 as well as her current policy. When this information is provided, Affinity Plus will review the documentation to determine if a reimbursement is appropriate. Affinity Plus appreciates the opportunity to address Ms. *****'s concerns and we look forward to hearing from her and resolving this matter. Sincerely, Jessica ******** Director of Compliance Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2016/03/07) */

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dispute the negative chex system reporting on my behalf sent by this company. Inaccurate reporting, wants to clear this. I have opened an account with this credit union when I used to work at a hospital near them. Then, when I left the company, I went to this branch and requested to close this account. After few years had passed & when I tried to open a credit union account in 2013, this company's negative reporting showed on the Chex system, claiming that I owed this company & has a balance of $330.00. I never have been nor heard a chex system company before. Without any& my knowledge, this company had reported a negative account to the chex system. When I closed my account with them, I was never told that I owed any amount from them. My account was closed in full clearance. Therefore after being denied from a credit union at that time due to this negative report, I wrote a dispute certified letter immediately & sent it to this branch manager location. I have waited for their response but did not received any response from them. I had assumed by not hearing from them that they have already deleted my disputed request. Until today again, 08/26/15 when I tried to open a credit union account here in Las Vegas, NV. I have moved from MN due to NV to a federal job relocation here in 05/2015. Today & to my surprised, I was again denied due to the above negative report by this credit union, whom have not communicated with me since my last letter them. I have been checking my credit report religiously but does not see it in my regular credit report these past years therefore I have no knowledge that this is still in my record. I am a person with a disability born without my 2 legs & right arm and use a power wheelchair. I have been working and value hard work. I have been financially independent & wants to continue to be a contributing member of our society despite of my disability. However, when when you encounter this type of business practices, a credit union that supposed to be helping consumers to help themselves, I feel defeated by ripping me off of my rights to have the full knowledge of my accounts and finances. This credit union failed to communicate w/ me what is going on with this negative reporting against me. They supposed to communicate & takes care of their member and not to tear them apart by not communicating properly and then "slammed them" with a negative report on their name, I feel its not fair and just. Therefore, I am writing here to your agency seeking your assistance to mediate on my behalf regarding this matter. As stated, I had closed this account w/ a zero balance at that time. This company failed to communicate w/ me this negative report. Therefore I dispute that I owe this account & to DELETE THE STATED NEGATIVE REPORT ON THE CHEX SYSTEM. It is now Year 2015. Having no knowledge of any negative report and having no receipt from this credit union from my last certified mail. This credit union surprised me again by still having this negative report on chex system. If I have not applied for a credit union acct, I would not have known that this is still going on. Therefore in closing, I am forcefully disputing the $330 amount that they claim I owe and would like for them to REMOVE THIS NEGATIVE REPORT THROUGH CHEX SYSTEM. This credit union neglected to communicate any information to me. Furthermore, I also dispute any balanced owed to them since I have closed my account with full clearance. As a person with a disability living alone & earning my income through my sweat and blood everyday despite of my disability, for me, is not JUST & FAIR to be treated this way. Please assist in coordinating the communication to this credit union about my dispute. I am afraid to send them another dispute letter due to their history of non responsive practice from my multiple attempt to clarify this account. Thank you for your assistance on this important matter. Sincerely, **************** (Former name was: **************************)

Desired Settlement: I want them to DELETE this negative report that they have on my name through the Chex System, stating that I have a balance of $330.00 and unpaid. I have closed this account in full clearance. In addition, due to their lack of communication towards my attempt to dispute this claim, that this negative report is due to their poor service and communication. This report must be a staff error and I as a member or customer, is the one that is paying the harsh price of being denied the service that I deserve to have. They need to accept their failure of poor service and inability to communicate to their members effectively.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/08) */ Affinity Plus appreciates the opportunity to discuss the concerns expressed by Ms. ******* *****, former member of Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union. In January of 2011, Ms. ***** had an outstanding balance owed on her checking account in the amount of $330.66. Two separate payments were made in March and April of 2011 which brought the outstanding balance owed to $0. It is a common business practice to report an unpaid account balance from a financial institution to Chex Systems. Affinity Plus did report the unpaid balance to Chex Systems in January of 2011. When the payments were received in March and April of the same year, Chex Systems should have been updated to reflect the paid status. On August 27th, Ms. ***** spoke with a Branch Manager at Affinity Plus regarding her concerns. The Branch Manager took immediate action to resolve the issue. On August 28th, Affinity Plus corrected the reporting error with Chex Systems. Ms. ***** received a letter and email confirming the resolution. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Ms. ***** and we appreciate the opportunity to resolve the matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto loan There are 2 issues: 1. On September 23, 2014 I was notified that my car loan went under an audit and my payment would go from $50 to $398.58. That is not an issue. I completely understand that. What I don't understand is the line: Beginning immediately the payments will go back to $398.58 and the interest rate at 11.00%. We have a next payment due date of 09/16/14. 5 days after the payment is due, I'm told that not only does it go up over $300, but that's it's immediately late. Every single month since, I have been told that my payment is 30 days over due. I've set up automatic payments and for $400 even. Again, it's not about the increase. I completely understand why it went up. But to tell me after the due date and then penalize me for it, is not okay. 2. On 7/10, I worked with Melanie ****** after receiving a letter saying I had CPI placed on my car since I hadn't provided insurance information. I never received the letters because they were sent when I was moving to Colorado from Minnesota. When I received the letter, I called right away to get it straightened out and provided the information requested that very same day. I have a letter dated 7/20 stating that my CPI has been canceled and refunded. I received a letter today dated 7/31 that my car was being repossessed. You can imagine my surprise to read that since there was zero notice and I had been making automatic payments. When calling into Affinity Plus, I was told that it was sent to repo in error and it was a timing thing between the cancellation of the CPI and the sending to repo. If my car had been repossessed, I sincerely doubt that Affinity would have done anything to get it back to me or pay any associated fines. Both instances were at the fault of Affinity but I am getting punished. I wasted over an hour of my work day just to make phone calls so that my car, which shouldn't have been repossessed, actually wasn't. I'm constantly "late" on my auto payments and when I originally stated that it was unfair to expect that much more payment AFTER the due date, I received the response "Unfortunately these terms are effective for the next due date of the loan. At the time that we changed the payment amount and rate back to contractual terms, the next due date was September 16th." So you change the terms, don't tell me, but then expect me to essentially back pay? I will say that I worked with Amanda and Calley today on the repo information and both were polite and professional. I don't have an issue with the folks themselves at Affinity, just their business practices.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the continuous late status taken off my account and anything reflecting being late from October 2014 to now removed/corrected on my credit report (for the auto loan only - not the credit card).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/20) */ Affinity Plus has received the complaint issued by ********* ******, member of Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to her concerns. In August of 2010, Affinity Plus worked with Ms. ****** to modify her auto loan payment due to an unforeseen medical issue she was facing. She made regular payments at the modified amount until 2014. The last payment Affinity Plus received was in June of 2014 at the modified amount. Ms. ****** was paid ahead on her loan at this time through August of 2014. However, we did not receive a payment in September of 2014. Affinity Plus contacted Ms. ****** in September of 2014 to let her know her car loan payment would be adjusting back to the original loan term as she stated in her letter. Ms. ****** began making the adjusted payments on October 20th, 2014. In her letter Ms. ****** states Affinity Plus indicated her payment was due as of September 16th, 2014. This is accurate as she had not made a payment in September. When Ms. ****** began making automatic monthly payments she was consistently paying one month behind creating the ongoing delinquency. Affinity Plus did send out an order for repossession in part due to the delinquency on the auto loan. The repossession notice was also sent as a cross collateral demand for an un-paid balance on a Visa card with Affinity Plus. Affinity Plus is still pursing the outstanding balance on the credit card at this time. Ms. ******'s loan remains in a delinquent status. She is welcome to call us directly to resolve the matter and to discuss options to help her get current on her loan. Ms. ****** can reach Affinity Plus at ************. Sincerely, Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This "In her letter Ms. ****** states Affinity Plus indicated her payment was due as of September 16th, 2014. This is accurate as she had not made a payment in September." doesn't address the issue. If I were to pay $50, would that put me back to good standing? If not, then my issue isn't addressed. The issue being, I was to pay almost $350 more, and not being told until AFTER the due date. I also find it odd that Affinity never told me they were even wanting to repo my car nor have I received an explanation in writing until this BBB response. The notification I received was from the actual towing company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/01) */ Thank you for the opportunity to continue to address Ms. ******'s concerns. Affinity Plus will accept a payment of $50 from Ms. ****** for the loan payment missed in September 2014. We request that Ms. ****** contact the representative reviewing her file to discuss the receipt of the payment. Her contact is Cali Dorn, PH 651-312-6358 (please do not publish Cali Dorn's information). Regarding Ms. ******'s concerns surrounding how she was notified about our intent to repossess her vehicle; Affinity Plus made several attempts to contact Ms. ****** regarding the delinquent status of her membership at Affinity Plus including her auto loan, VISA credit card and her checking account. Affinity Plus also sent out a 10 day demand notice stating our intent to repossess the vehicle due to the severe delinquency and lack of contact from Ms. ******. Copies of the notices sent to Ms. ****** are available to upon request. We appreciate the opportunity to continue to work with Ms. ****** and it is our sincere hope that she will continue to keep communication lines open regarding the status of her accounts with Affinity Plus.

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we did the 2nd on our home we were told at signing our monthly payment would never exceed $200.00 per month we set that amount for auto pay while signing loan docs we were told our monthly payment would not exceed $200/M so we set our auto bill pay for 201/M and forgot about it due to our busy lifestyle we never looked at our statements from them since everything was setup to be automatic. when we finally had some free time we went through old statements only to find out our payment had exceeded that amount and had been reporting late payments we promptly made everything current and asked them about correcting this since it was not what we were disclosed verbally at the table they told us there was nothing we could do and the documents we signed said it would go higher. We feel that if the bank employee stating an amount to you as your maxium payment makes a mistake they should atleast take the time to correct the error with the credit agency.

Desired Settlement: We want the bank to have the lates removed from our credit report since it was a bank error when details of the loan were disclosed to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ Affinity Plus appreciates the opportunity to respond to the concerns ************** (AKA ***** ******) brought forward regarding the payment requirements on her Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC). Affinity Plus has completed a review of the HELOC in question and determined the minimum payment calculation was clearly stated to Ms. ****** within the loan documents. Specifically, the loan agreement states the minimum payment due will be 1.25% of the outstanding balance. A HELOC product is unique in that monthly payment requirements will adjust depending on the advances taken from the line of credit. Since 2012 when Ms. ******'s HELOC was initially opened, she has taken withdrawals from it causing an increase in loan balance which increased the amount of the minimum payment. This increase was not dictated by Affinity Plus, but rather, is the inherent purpose of the product and is stated in the loan agreement signed by Ms. ******. We regret that Ms. ****** was unclear on how her minimum payments were calculated. It is our goal to ensure all members are clear on the products and services they receive from us. We are currently in direct communication with Ms. ****** to resolve this concern and to ensure she is clear regarding the terms of the product going forward. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to Ms. ******.

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a co-signer on a loan for a Chevy Equinox through Affinity Plus Credit Union. In July of 2013 my soon-to-be ex-wife ***** ******* took off to the state of Martinsburg, West Virginia with the Chevy Equinox in her possession. I continued to make payments until we went to court and the judge ordered the payments to stop and for ***** to be responsible with the remainder of the payments on that vehicle. After that order was handed down I proceeded to go to Affinity Plus Credit Union and give them that court order and explain to them I wanted my name taken off that loan and ***** would be the one responsible for the payments from that moment forward. I then gave them a copy of that court order and I also gave them *****'s full address and phone number in case they needed to reach or take action against her. I recently got a bad rating by Affinity Plus Credit Union because ***** has not been making payments.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the negative credit mark removed by Affinity Plus and my name taken off the loan for the Chevy Equinox.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/26) */ Affinity Plus has received this complaint. Mr. ******* has been in contact with employees at our Winona branch who correctly stated to him that as a co-signer on the auto loan with Ms. *******, he is responsible for repayment on the loan. Affinity Plus understands Mr. ******* has received documentation from a judge who has determined Ms. ******* is responsible for payment on the loan. This documentation is called a divorce decree. The divorce decree may state that Ms. ******* is responsible for future payments on the loan, but it does not remove Mr. ******* as a co-signer on the loan. Per the loan agreement Mr. ******* and Ms. ******* signed with Affinity Plus, Mr. ******* and Ms. ******* are equally responsible for the payment of the loan. For Mr. ******* to receive his desired resolution, Affinity Plus recommends he ask Ms. ******* to refinance the loan in her name only to remove him as a co-signer on the loan agreement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. ******* is non-cooperative in anything pertaining to her being solely responsible for a loan. Mr. ******* was coerced into being a co-signer on the loan against his will. Mr. ******* provided them with a copy of the court order which makes Ms. ******* solely responsible for the loan. Mr. ******* will not tolerate red marks against his credit simply because Ms. ******* cannot make her own payments on time. Mr. ******* responsibility for the loan became null and void when the court ordered Ms. ******* is solely responsible for said loan. Affinity Plus must contact Ms. ******* and make said changes to the loan. They will not hold Mr. ******* responsible when he has provided them with the court order that makes Sarah ******* responsible for any further payments. If Affinity Plus continues to do this they're in violation of a court order. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/04/07) */ Mr. and Ms. ******* are under contract with Affinity Plus for the loan on the 2009 Chevrolet Equinox. It remains the responsibility of both parties to ensure payments are made on this loan. The purpose of the divorce decree is to provide a directive to both Mr. and Ms. ******* regarding assets and liabilities. Affinity Plus is not a party to this legal matter and is under no legal obligation to comply with the divorce decree, instead this matter is governed by the loan documents for the 2009 Equinox. In order for Mr. ******* to be removed from his obligation to the loan in question, Ms. ******* would need to apply for and be approved to refinance the loan into her name.

2/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took 2 Affinity Plus bank drafted checks to the Fergus Falls location to cash. Presented ID, but AP refused to cash unless allowed to copy my ID. copy of: FTC Complaint Filed Online 01/07/2015 OMB Control # XXXX-XXXX I'm a landlord and received two checks drawn on an Affinity Plus checking account. I usually cash checks at the bank they are drawn on as it eliminates bank fees because if there is a problem with a check I find out immediately. Today I tried to cash two checks at Affinity Plus in Fergus Falls, MN. I asked if they needed ID, and was told "yes" and "you will have to remove it from your wallet" even though it was readable in my wallet. After I gave my ID to the employee and she verified my identity I expected to get my driver's license back, receive my cash, and be on my way. Instead she started to walk away with my driver's license. When I asked her where she was going with my ID she said "to make a copy of it to send in with the paperwork." I then refused to allow Affinity Plus to make a hard copy of my MN driver's license as they had no right to possess my personal information, which included my name, address, picture, height, weight, eye color, driver's license number, donor information, medical alerts, etc... I have no affiliation or ongoing relationship with Affinity Plus. I'm not their customer, I'm not a consumer of any of their services, yet they insisted on making hard copies of my personal information. I simply wanted to cash two checks drawn on an Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union account in good standing after having presented a valid and current Minnesota driver's license to verify that I was the payee on the check. They refused to cash the checks unless I allowed my data to be copied, filed, and used, apparently, in any manner chosen by Affinity Plus. "To be sent in with the paperwork" is a direct quote from the Affinity Plus' employee as to why they needed to copy my driver's license. This was done without any mention or offer of a copy of Affinity Plus' Data Privacy Polcies. My ID was only presented to verify my identity for the purpose of cashing two checks issued to me by one of their checking account holders/customers. I believe their checking account customers are unwittingly being used as pawns in a data mining scheme. Affinity Plus' account holders are being defrauded if they are led to believe their checks are being honored when presented to Affinity Plus for cash. Affinity Plus refused to honor the checks and their supervisor refused to come out of his office to speak with me. Instead he waited until I left and called the police and made a false and slanderous police report as about an hour later I received a call from the Fergus Falls Police Dept. informing me that I and had been "trespassed" from Affinity Plus' property, because I had threatened the people working there. That's rich, data extortion and then a false police report intended to intimidate me. In the past year I've been subjected to both the Target and Home Depot data breaches, and now its seems Affinity Plus is insisting that I open up yet another avenue for data thieves to use. My faith in our banking system was already at an all time low, and this situation made it even worse. The only thing which holds our monetary and banking system together is faith in the system as we're not on the gold standard anymore. I know now that Affinity Plus' checks are not worth the paper they are printed on, they are just a data mining tool because when I refused to relinquish control of my data they refused to give me my cash. I had to inform two prospective tenants a couple hours later that I would not accept their Affinity Plus checks.

Desired Settlement: A formal company wide change of policy regarding copying of Identification for any reason. A formal written apology from each member of the B.O.D. to signify that "they get it.", and that the policy has been changed. In addition, if the B.O.D. is willing to admit a mistake and eat a bit of crow by writing those letters of apology, then I would also like them to lift the trespass order against me, as this might just be an outfit I could do business with in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/23) */ Affinity Plus has received the complaint issued by ******* *****, non-member of Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union. It is the policy of Affinity Plus to properly identify every member and non-member conducting business at the credit union. This policy is in place, in part, to safe-guard our members from fraudulent or unauthorized activity. Related to Mr. *****'s concern, this policy directs Affinity Plus employees to capture the identification method they use when cashing a check for a non-member. When Mr. ***** was unwilling to allow the credit union employee to photo copy his ID, the employee offered an alternative solution which was to document his driver's license number on the check. We regret that Mr. ***** was unwilling to accept either option. Both options offered to Mr. ***** are acceptable practices for a credit union to employ under the presentment rules of the Uniform Commercial Code. Regarding the matter of the trespass ****** Affinity Plus stands behind the decision to execute on the trespass ****** Affinity Plus does not tolerate behavior that could be viewed as threatening. Lastly, Affinity Plus has confirmed the checks in Mr. *****'s possession have cleared our account.

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past several months, I receive our monthly mortgage payment statement in a timeline that doesn't allow it to be mailed in on time for payment. Approximately five months ago, I brought the above concern to the attention of the Affinity Plus staff at the CSU in Mankato. I shared that when I receive the statement only one or two days before it is due, my only option is to make a payment in person or if I happen to be out of town that day, make a late payments. I was told by the staff there "was nothing they could do" because the "main office" has adjusted their mailing cycle and it would sort itself out. This morning I needed to go to the Affinity Plus office in Mankato to make my mortgage payment (it is due on January 1) because I STILL HAVE NOT received my monthly statement to pay via mail. Last month, I needed to pay one day late because I DID NOT receive the monthly mortgage billing statement in time to make a payment by mail. This practice is unacceptable. I'm not sure if their goal is for me to default on my loan or if there is some other goal with sending payment statements late. Why did they make this change? What will it take for the statement to be sent on time?

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive my monthly billing statement at least one week prior to it being due. This was the previous practice by Affinity Plus with a previous mortgage and with the beginning of this mortgage.

5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to open account and provide service due to accidental discrepancy So i went into a branch to open a account and the guy helped me i have a freeze on my credit report as well as my Chex Sytems report because my identity was stolen so i raised the freeze on my Chex systems report and was told that something was showing unpaid so even though i didn't open the unpaid account i went and paid the account off in order to open the Affinity plus account i was notified that if i paid it and my credit was good that they could open the account so i unfroze my credit and they pulled it i was told that my credit score was 759 and that my credit was good and that they would open the account then they told me the next day that they are denying me membership due to me using the wrong social security number in the past. My mother gave me the wrong SSN when i turned 18. But i was applying with the correct SSN and i had provided the bank with a copy of my Social Security Card. I don't think its fair that a bank can deny me because of a mistake that was made i never even got a account when i applied last year with the wrong SSN because i didn't have a copy of the card and that's when i found out i was using the wrong SSN. So im very angry that they said they could open a account for me and are now being rude about it and now i have a inquiry on my credit from them and on my chexsystems report and it all was a big waste of time. I even advised the rep that i just wanted a membership savings account so i could apply for a auto loan i provided them with my Social Security Card, My Drivers License, My Passport and a copy of my Police Report.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to open the share savings account for me so that i can get a Auto Loan with the credit union. If they are unable to do that i would like the inquiry removed from my Transunion Credit Report because i was told that if my credit was good i could get a account and my credit was the last thing they pulled before completing my application.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/09) */ Affinity Plus has received the complaint submitted by Mr. ******** *********. Affinity Plus is declining Mr. *********'s desired resolution of opening a membership so that he can take out an auto loan. We are unable to verify his identity due to the use of multiple social security numbers when trying to establish multiple memberships with Affinity Plus in the past. The credit union will take steps to verify the identity of the potential member at the time of application and this does include utilizing credit reports therefore the inquiry with TransUnion is valid. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Terrible response but I was able to get my auto loans with a new credit union thanks

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We relied to our detriment on Affinity Plus's repeated assurances over many months that they could refinance our rental property. In 2013 when our Affinity Plus contact learned that we wanted to refinance our rental property, she told us that Affinity Plus was financing commercial properties, so we should take our business to Affinity. She offered us an excellent rate. My partner ************** and I ended our pending refinancing process with Wells Fargo, giving up the good rate we were guaranteed. Months went by. We contacted the Affinity person at the University Avenue branch repeatedly and she assured us the mortgage refinancing was proceeding. And then it wasn't: "sorry", we were told, "we can't finance commercial properties". We talked to the branch manager and told her that in the intervening months the interest rate had increased so that abandoning us would cost us a lot over the life of the loan. She shrugged and said simply: "sorry". I wrote to Affinity Board Chair *************** and Vice Chair ************ on January 31, 2014. Two months have passed with no response from Affinity Plus.

Desired Settlement: 1. Payment of the difference over the life of the mortgage between the originally-promised Affinity Plus re-fi rate and the higher rate we're having to pay at Spire Credit Union for the substitute re-fi deal; and, 2. Written acknowledgement of Affinity Plus's customer service failures and full apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ Affinity Plus has reviewed the complaint submitted by Mr. ******. We take his complaint very seriously and have completed an investigation into the events and actions that lead to his frustration. First and foremost Affinity Plus does recognize that our communication with Mr. ****** was not handled appropriately. For that, we do apologize. We pride ourselves on having consistent contact with members and keeping them informed during any interaction. We have addressed this situation with our University branch and the individuals involved. With regards to Mr. ******'s rental refinance application that was completed on 4/30/13: When an application is submitted, the preapproval and underwriting process begins. This process relies upon regular communication between both our members and our employees, as we are collecting and verifying required documents (i.e. income statements, bank statements, credit reports, etc.) and working together to perform the necessary services (i.e. appraisal, title, etc.). This information is gathered and reviewed in order for Affinity Plus to make lending decisions in the best interest of our members and to secure terms and conditions (including interest rate) available upon approval of the loan. Unfortunately, we did not receive all required information and did not perform all necessary services, and contact between Mr. ****** and Affinity Plus was minimal, ultimately resulting in our inability to provide such approval. As a result, on July 24, 2013, Affinity Plus was regulated to withdraw the application due to lack of contact. During the time we had limited contact with Mr. ******, as an organization Affinity Plus made the decision to discontinue our lending for investment properties which is why we weren't able to provide him with this type of lending when he tried to reinitiate the application. Mr. ****** also states a letter was sent on 1/31/14 to the attention of two individuals on the Board of Directors at Affinity Plus regarding this situation with no response. We have no record of that letter. Finally, Affinity Plus respectfully declines Mr. ******'s request to have us pay the difference between the amount of interest he will pay with ***** over the life of his loan. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The April 4th statement by Affinity is not supported by our carefully-maintained email and document record. Please consider these few samples (many more are available; all emphatically establish that the response from Affinity is not based in fact): Email from ***** F*, 7-17-2013, 3:23 PM: "I just saw you stopped in ... you are so patient, and I truly apologize for not getting back to you. I'm currently waiting for the title report to be returned on the property and if everything is clear we should be good to close fairly soon. We can sign any extraneous forms at closing. I don't have a definitive closing date to set now, but what kind of availability do you guys have at the beginning of August to come in?" Email from ***** F, 9-20-2013, 6:33 PM: "I got your voicemail checking in on the closing and I didn't want to tell you either way before I was absolutely sure -- it looks like we won't be able to close tomorrow morning. I will be in touch with you early next week with the status and we can talk about a realistic closing date. "Thank you again for your patience with this process, I can't tell you how much I appreciate your understanding." Email from ***** F, 10-9-2013, 10:24 AM: "The guy I have doing inventory on the loan wasn't able to complete it today, can I get in touch with you Friday afternoon? He should have it completed by then." Please note that none of the content of any of Ms. ***********'s communications suggests in any way that Affinity did not receive all required information from us. In fact, our email and document record establish quite the opposite: we provided all requested information, and closing was just a day away at one point. Affinity made a $550 expenditure on an appraisal of the subject property in approximately May of 2013. It should be apparent to even a casual observer that Affinity would not have paid for an appraisal unless we had fully responded to their requests for documentation needed. We ask that Affinity check its record of communications and speak both with Ms. F and the Branch manager of the University Avenue office. Errors surely can occur when crafting a response to a BBB complaint. We understand and will be happy to accept an amendment of their response after they have checked their record of communications. Thank you. *(***** F's full last name is available on request; we didn't include it here because of BBB's admonition not to include personally identifiable information in our response.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/21) */ Affinity Plus has reviewed the response submitted by Mr. ******. Affinity Plus sincerely apologizes for the way our communication was handled with Mr. ****** regarding his refinance application. We have addressed this situation with our University branch and the individuals involved. Affinity Plus was unable to process the application for Mr. ******'s refinance because we did not receive all required information and did not perform all necessary services. We take responsibility for our lack of communication in this situation. Unfortunately, following the withdrawal of the application we were unable to initiate a new one because our organization is no longer offering this type of lending. Finally, Affinity Plus stands by its decision to respectfully decline Mr. ******'s request to have us pay the difference between the amount of interest he will pay with ***** over the life of his loan.

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Affinity Plus FCU in Faribault, MN is unwilling to protect any costumer against any fraudulent act that happens for any reason. I unknowingly cashed two cashiers checks that ended up being fraudulent. I have always put my faith in the banks I deal with to be the first line of defense to protect me against fraud. My bank has informed me that all of their costumers including me are personally responsible to pay for all fraudulent funds. I asked, "isn't there fraud insurance to help take care of these types of problems?",and they would not respond. They just stated that I was responsible. They also have frozen my account leaving me penniless until I get payed again from my job. When I was talking to them they told me this was not the first time in the last year that this incident had happened. During our phone conversation they also stated that they would not be filing a police report regarding this incident and that I needed to fill out a loan application to pay all fraud charges back. When I went into bank to talk to them they kept changing their story. Now I could file a police report and after that they would also. I told them I would not sign a loan document when I do not believe I was at fault and I am looking into my rights first.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is for my bank account to be reactivated and all funds that were taken from my account to cover the fraud restored to my account. And for them to go after the people that are at fault.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/21) */ Mr. ********, it is Affinity Plus' intent to provide you with information so that you understand what check fraud is and our role in assisting members who are victim to a check fraud scam. We understand that you cashed two cashier's checks that were fraudulent, and we also understand that it is frustrating to learn you have become a victim of check fraud. Our employees who informed you that we act only as your agent in collecting payment on the check are correct, and this information is stated in our Terms and Conditions you receive upon becoming a member of Affinity Plus. This information can be found on page three under Collection of Items and it explains, "We act only as your agent and we are not responsible for handling items for deposit or collection beyond the exercise of ordinary care." We understand that your desired resolution is to have all of the funds we made available to you when you deposited the fraudulent checks returned to your account. Please understand that we made these funds available to you immediately because it is a benefit of your membership and we trust that checks our members deposit are honest checks from which we will be able to collect funds. In this situation, we were not able to collect funds from the party who provided you with the cashier's check which is why we withdrew the funds from your account. We understand you spent the funds we made available to you which resulted in your account balance going negative. Affinity Plus is committed to helping our members recover from fraud if they become victims. Mr. ********, we would like to work with you to develop a plan that would help restore your account at Affinity Plus. If this is of interest to you, please contact us at (800) ******** or affinityplus@affinityplus.org. To help you further understand the nature of check fraud scams, we encourage you to visit the consumer information page about fake checks on the Federal Trade Commission's (FTC) website here: http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0159-fake-checks. There is also a section on the bottom of this page that will direct you to a page on which you can report your check fraud experience with the FTC.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusal to let me use my points to get overdarft fees waived like I have in the past. I have banked with Affinity Plus for almost 10 years, and through out the years I have been able to have over draft fees reimbursed using participation points that i've earned. The last fees I was ble to have waived was on Jan 16. Last week on Friday, I made a request online to have two other fees waived using my participation points. I received an email from a representative of Affinity stating that I did not qualify for a reimbursement. I called the credit union,& the representative I spoke too told me that due to the fact I have a work out loan with affinity then I dont qualify to use my participation points to have fees waived. I told her that I have used my points in the past to have numerous fees waived incluiding just last month. She said Affinity Plus changed their policy over a year ago, & members with Work Out Loans don't qualify to get fees waived. I asked how come no communication was sent to me informing me of this change, & how come just two weeks ago I was able to use the points to get fees waived, and that prior representatives had never mentioned this new policy. She said previous representatives had ignored the new policy, but that is the policy and she won't waive the fees. I then asked to speak to a supervisor, and after almost 30 minutes of holding a supervisor came on the line, and stated the same. When I asked her why no letter was sent out a year ago to inform customers of the policy change, she said the information is on there website. I informed her that I log into my account regularly online, & that i've never seen anything about this new policy. I asked her to point out to me exactly where online this policy was, and after looking for a few minutes she said they must have take it down as she couldnt't find the information either. I proceeded to ask her why when I log into my account online the following message is on my main screen verbatim: "We've recently made some enhancements to our Participation Rewads Program! As a member, you're automatically eligible to earn Participation Rewards points for your evertday banking activity. These points can be redeemed to waive fees or reduce a consumer loan rate, and you can even donate them to one of our five charities of choice." She of course did not have an answer for that, and as of today, Feb 6th, this message is still displayed on my screen on online banking. What Affinity plus is doing is not only highly unethical, but should be illegal. A banking location is responsible for communicating with the members about any policy changes, but from what their site is saying,i'M VERY CONFUSED!

Desired Settlement: I would like the two $ 35 fees charged on my account on 01/24/2014 to be reimbursed using my participation points.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/14) */ Affinity Plus acknowledges ******'s frustration because based on the notes in her account made by Affinity Plus member advisors, she has received different responses for her request to redeem her points to reverse a fee. However, Affinity Plus has explained to ****** that she is not eligible for the Participation Rewards Program when she has a workout loan. On July 28, 2009, Affinity Plus funded a workout loan for ****** to consolidate her vehicle and signature loans. It is stated in our Participation Rewards Program agreement that if members have a workout loan, they're unable to earn or redeem points. This is a policy of Affinity Plus that has been in place since the program first became available to members. On January 21, 2010, ****** was advised that she would not be able to use her points because of her workout loan: (notes from her account) I also advised her that with a workout loan we are not able to use points to reduce interest rates, member is upset, feels as though we are not working with her even though she has been making payments on her loan, I attempted to explain to her that a work out loan is an exception that most instituions would not allow and we are working with her to rebuild her relationship with affinity plus, Again on January 31, 2014, ****** was reminded that because of her workout loan, she is unable to use her points to reverse a fee based on the notes provided by the member advisors below: 1/31/2014 - ************ ****** called in upset that she was denied use of her PRPs to refund fees. She isn't eligible to use the PRPs since she has a work out loan - she was very upset and demanded to speak with a leader - **** spoke with her Affinity Plus recognizes why ****** is frustrated, however, according to the General Program Rules listed in the Participation Rewards User Agreement, she is not eligible to participate in the program which includes earning and redeeming points. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First and foremost, I have to say that I'm not only very disappointed by Affinity Plus, but I'm disgusted by their response to my complaint. The response tried to make it seem like I had been told in 2010 that I cannot use my Rewards Points to have fees waived. In 2010, when I called about not being able to use my points, it was because of an offer they had to skip a loan payment by using points, not to waive fees. Jan this year is the first time, I was ever told that I cannot use my points to waive fees. When I recently talked to an Affinity Plus rep, she said the policy was changed about a year ago, but now they are trying to say I was told this in 2010? Secondly, Affinity keeps insisting that The Participation Rewards Program Agreement states that members with work out loans cannot use points, but how come I have never seen this agreement despite banking with them for almost 10 years. The supervisor I spoke with recently was not able to tell me where to find the information either. On 2/10/2014, I submitted a request to have the fees waived online, and $ 70 was put back into my account, but after I submitted a complaint, the fees were reversed. Below is a list of all the dates and times I have been able to use my points to waive fees in the past 2 years. I would like a clear explanation as to why I was able to have fees waived during these times, since they were all after I consolidated my debt with Affinity Plus. 7/28/2011, 12/5/2011, 01/03/2012 (twice), 12/18/2013, 01/16/2014 (twice). I find it very upsetting that Affinity Plus is trying to twist this whole thng up, while it is their responsibility to inform customers of any changes they make to their policy. It's not fair that the only way members with Work Out Loans can redeem their points is by donating them to Affinity Plus Approved Charities. I shouldn't be forced to donate my points to Charities if I don't want to. Lastly, I cannot emphasize enough how much I'm disappointed and disgusted by Affinity Plus, and I am being discriminated on, and lately retaliated on because of the BBB complaint I filed. I have tried to resolve this in a civil manner, and if this doesn't work, I plan on sueing Affinity Plus for their disgraceful, unethical ways of doing business, and hopefully a judge will be able to see what they are doing. This is unacceptable, and I will not be silent, and let any institution victimize me. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/03/18) */ Ms. ******, we regret that our first response did not satisfy your inquiry. It is our intent to provide you with the information necessary to understand the terms of our Participation Rewards Program and to resolve your concerns. Ms. ******, you can locate a copy of our Participation Rewards User Agreement on our website or through the link provided. https://www.affinityplus.org/Portals/0/Documents/Participation%20Rewards%20User%20Agreement%202013%20Final.pdf The Participation Rewards Program is a benefit of membership through Affinity Plus. As a financial cooperative, it is one way we have given back to members who use, support, and advocate for us. As a general rule, the Participation Rewards Program guidelines apply to all eligible members at Affinity Plus and are subject to change at any time. Ms. ******, regarding your explicit situation, please review the agreement, specifically on page 1, under 'General Program Rules', item 4a which speaks to the right of Affinity Plus "to terminate your participation in the Program...If you have a workout loan or are a signer on a workout loan". This criterion was established because workout loans are specifically designed to provide members experiencing hardship with a very unique benefit of their membership. In your situation, your loan has provided a manageable payment along with 0% APR. That said, your eligibility to participate in this program has changed. Though this program is no longer available to you, it is our hope that your relationship with Affinity Plus will continue to be one you value. Ms. ******, in your original inquiry your desired resolution was to have the two $35 fees refunded to your checking account. On 03/17/2014, Affinity Plus refunded the two fees and deposited $70 into your checking account. Affinity Plus refunded these fees as a courtesy to you, rather than leveraging participation rewards points to do so. We would like to take this opportunity to welcome the opportunity to work with you regarding the many options available to help prevent a situation which results in an overdraft fee. Please contact us at (800) ******** to discuss these options in greater detail.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please help correct an erroneous loan of $10,000.00 given to a mentally disabled individual on a fixed income. In September 2012, my mentally disabled son,************, purchased a used, 2000 GMC, half-ton pick-up from ********** Ford in Baxter, MN. The Vehicle cost $10,000.00 and **** was directed to Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union, in Brainerd, MN for an auto loan. Affinity approved a loan to this vulnerable adult on a fixed income. ****'s monthly income is $900, yet he Was approved a five year loan with monthly payments of $260.00. **** was also required to carry full-coverage insurance which cost an additional $200.00 a month It seems reasonable that a loan officer should know these figures don't add up. By March 2013 **** Was no longer able to make his auto payment. The truck was repossessed in August 2013 and sold at auction for approximately $3000.00, leaving him responsible for the remaining balance of $6000.00. **** is now suffering since he no longer has a Vehicle and has little hopes of getting another one. He lives 25 miles away from his doctor, and 12 miles away from the nearest grocery store.

Desired Settlement: I hope you will be able to rectify this wrong and hold **** not liable for the balance of his loan. Clearly this loan was predatory in nature. Thank you for your attention concerning this important matter and I look forward to receiving a response Within 10 business days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/30) */ This letter is in response to the complaint Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union received on 10/21/2013 from the Better Business Bureau regarding a membership and auto loan for ***********. In the letter, Ms. **************** states that her son, ***********, applied for and was granted a loan from Affinity Plus to purchase a vehicle he could not afford. Affinity Plus looks at every member's situation individually and based on the application, applicable supporting documentation as well as the conversations we have with our members will only approve a loan for an individual when it is right for them and in their best interest. We regret that ultimately **** was unable to meet the monthly payment obligations for this vehicle. At Affinity Plus, it is our goal to have long term relationships with our members whenever possible. That being said, we appreciate the ongoing conversations we have had with **** regarding this particular situation. **** has been in regular contact with Affinity Plus as recent as 10/28/2013 and we hope to continue the productive conversations about what is right for both **** and Affinity Plus. Ms. ********, we appreciate your letter and with ****'s permission we are more than willing to bring you into our ongoing dialogs. Please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to meet with both you and **** regarding this situation.

10/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: opening new account I attempted to open a new account at affinity plus via their website. I deposited 20 dollars but never received my bank card. When i contacted the bank they said it was my fault because i did not sign the application. They also said they need a copy of my drivers license. I sent that stuff in via email and was told the the address i put on the application does not match my DL which was true as i had just moved. When i received my new DL i send it in via email to the same email address as before but received no response. so i called in and was told the will send me the application again as it was still wrong and to send it back signed. I never received another email from them. I contacted them again via chat and requested my money back. They said they are mailing me a check.

Desired Settlement: I did not send them a check to deposit the money so i feel the money should be return via the same method as it was deposited which was a bank to bank transfer. Also I would like interest on my money as they have now held my money for over a month. The chat representative disconnected before i could make that request. Very bad customer service. Below is the chat transcript. 9:04:38 AM : *****: Initial Question/Comment: help 9:04:44 AM : Looking for a loan? Get an instant decision by applying online, then hop back into chat to finalize the details! 9:04:49 AM : Sometimes waiting is a bore. While you are waiting, maybe you can find a good joke to share with us! 9:04:49 AM : ***** G has joined this session! 9:04:49 AM : Connected with ***** G. Your Reference Number for this chat is 94110. 9:04:53 AM : ***** G: Hi *****. How are you today? 9:04:57 AM : *****: good 9:05:03 AM : *****: you? 9:05:19 AM : ***** G: Pretty good this morning. What can I help you with? 9:06:15 AM : *****: I set up an account online and was told I need to resign the application and send in a copy of my DL. I spoke with someone yesterday who said she would email me the application to print and sign but I never recived it 9:08:34 AM : ***** G: Yeah, depending on the work volume, Rachel may have not been able to get to that. That is ok as I can help you with that. Did you receive a member#? 9:09:37 AM : *****: i don't think so 9:09:42 AM : *****: i could have 9:09:51 AM : *****: i just check my email and did not see one 9:10:37 AM : ***** G: Did you check the junk folders as well? 9:10:47 AM : *****: yes 9:10:55 AM : *****: can i just have my money back 9:10:56 AM : *****: ??? 9:11:07 AM : *****: your company seems slow 9:12:19 AM : ***** G: I wouldn't say we are slow.. we just have had incredible growth in the last 6 months. What is your last name? I will look you up that way. 9:12:36 AM : *****: *****n ****** 9:12:56 AM : *****: ************************************* 9:13:01 AM : *****: ********* 9:13:30 AM : *****: does the money get returned to the account it came from or do i get a check in the mail? 9:14:34 AM : ***** G: We would mail a check or you can stop by a branch and pick up the funds. 9:14:57 AM : *****: please mail the check asap 9:15:14 AM : *****: i have wasted enough of my time dealing with your company 9:15:23 AM : ***** G: hah ok. 9:15:51 AM : ***** G: I will mail your check out asap. 9:16:25 AM : *****: ok great 9:16:37 AM : *****: do i get any confirmation number? 9:16:44 AM : ***** G has left this session! 9:16:44 AM : The session has ended

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Affinity Plus FCU has reviewed the complaint by Mr. ******, and we take his complaint very seriously. Affinity Plus FCU opened a membership for Mr. ****** on 8/6/13. He submitted his membership application online, with an electronic signature. His address did not match his Driver's License, so on 8/26/13 we asked that he send us confirmation of his new mailing address with a bill or statement reflecting this, along with the signed membership application. It was suggested that he could stop into a branch to complete this and then sign the membership application. On 10/15/13, he sent us his updated DL with his current address, however he had still not completed the membership application. I believe there may have been some miscommunication of what needed to occur in order to get his membership completely opened. We acknowledge his frustration and understand that he may not have received some email communications sent from us, which extended the process even further. When Mr. ****** communicated with us through our online chat on our website, he indicated that he would like his money refunded to him. We then closed out his account and mailed him a check. We are disappointed to learn that Mr. ****** is upset about the process and that it ended up in a closed account. After a recent phone conversation, he shared his frustrations and gave suggestions about how the account opening process can be adjusted to make it easier on all parties involved.

10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My RV was surrendered upon agreement between Affinity and I for auction. Retail value of the RV lists as $58,950. Trailer was sold for $32,000. I purchased a 5th wheel RV to live in while working in the oil exploration area of eastern Montana. At the end of 2012 I had to move back to Minnesota for personal reasons (having a baby) and was not able to afford nor relocate the trailer back to Minnesota for me to sell to a private buyer. An agreement was made with Affinity Plus to surrender the Alpine 5th Wheel (Bought for $51,628.68) and have it sold at auction to recover the loan amount. I requested that there be a reserve amount met for the RV as it at auction to recover the loan amount. I requested that there be a reserve amount met for the RV as it was barely used and originally bought brand new. The trailer sold at auction for $32,000 even though the retail amount ranges from low ($48,930) to high ($89,845.00) with a suggested retail value of $73.816. The $51,628 was a lower than usual dollar amount accepted by ************ RV due to an advertisement issue and had to be honored. Affinity also now charging 3% interest on the remainder amount they created. All emails back and forth between Affinity and I are with me as well as sales paperwork and NADA value paperwork. These can be duplicated and surrendered upon request.

Desired Settlement: Dismissal of the $20,000 amount created by Affinity Plus by not meeting an adequate reserve at auction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ Affinity Plus FCU has reviewed the complaint by Mr. *****, and we take his complaint very seriously. In review of the complaint, we feel as though our actions towards the remarket of the RV was completed properly. Affinity Plus FCU engaged in an RV loan with ***** ***** on 07/10/2012. ***** found an RV at Pleasureland RV Center on 07/11/2012 and the loan was contracted, signed, and funded that same day. ***** purchased the 5th wheel RV brand new. Upon receipt of *****'s credit request, Affinity Plus FCU subsequently qualified ***** for 100% financing as there was no money put down on the purchase to put him in a better Loan-to-Value scenario. Additionally, we also agreed to wrap in well over $3,000.00 in just tax, title, and license fees. Affinity Plus FCU financed an amount of $51,628.68, over fifteen years at 7% at a simple daily interest. With a principal balance of that amount, for many of the first few years of that amortization schedule, the borrower will largely be paying mostly interest. This loan was funded on July 11th, 2012. A majority of the payment dollars were being paid towards interest, in addition to the depreciating collateral. ***** ***** made payments from 08/2012 through 02/2013 and then ceased payments. Only seven payments were made on this 180 payment note. Efforts began on 03/19/2013 to contact ***** ***** to find out what has changed in his life to cause the missed March 1, 2013 payment. Letters were sent on 03/19/2013 and 04/08/2013 followed up by telephone contact and e-mails. ***** was reached via telephone on 05/03/2013 and he stated that he was at work and could not speak and asked to call him back later. He was asked what time he got off and he stated 12:30 p.m. The associate stated that 1:00 p.m. works best for him, but ***** stated that he was has oral surgery. He stated to contact him via e-mail. An e-mail was sent detailing the L30 delinquency (Which is the RV loan in question), stating that we tried sending a delinquency letter asking for a payment arrangement to be in place by April 18th and we didn't hear from him. So at that time, and given the seriousness of the delinquency, Affinity Plus FCU had no choice but to send a demand letter on 05/03/2013. It is a cross-collateralized demand accelerating the notes on both the L30 (RV loan) and L6 (auto) loans because ***** was only paying on the L6 loan, which has a 2005 Ford F150 truck as collateral. The member sent an e-mail response back prior to the expiration of the demand letter stating that he was working with the originating Member Advisor at Affinity Plus FCU. An e-mail was sent back to ***** by a Affinity Plus FCU Solutions Member Advisor explaining that we will accept the voluntary surrender of the RV, and that once we liquidate the unit we will contact him to make arrangements on the deficiency balance of the loan. ***** then partnered with Affinity Plus FCU and accepted the offer of surrendering the collateral (RV) with the agreement of remarketing and selling of the property for him. He was unable to do so as he was relocated back to MN and could not afford to take the time and money to sell on his own. Affinity Plus made arrangements to have the RV removed from the lot in Montana for him free of charge and brought to Minnesota where it was remarketed and sold. Affinity Plus has and will continue to research and reevaluate itself in the repossession and remarketing industry as part of our policy. This has been and will be an area of focus for us in an attempt to better serve our members. We aim to get maximum return on collateral sales in an effort to recover as best we can and avoid losses being recognized by the rest of our performing member base. When loan collateral is remarketed, it is sold online at a public auction through a competitive bidding process through a vendor specializing in remarketing of collateral such as this 5th wheel recreational vehicle. In addition to this, a full condition analysis of the unit is completed by an independent third-party vendor to determine proper depreciation. This method was chosen because it statistically generates the Fair Market Value of said collateral. There are controls in place through our auction house to ensure items are not sold at below Fair market Value. Account managers at the auction house work with Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union in setting reserve dollar amounts for each unit that is sold. This process is completed by setting a floor starting bid amount, by researching recently auctioned collateral determined by: year, make, model, and type of unit being sold. Previous national as well as regional sale amounts are taken into consideration as well as demand in the respective areas. We are disappointed to learn that Mr. ***** is upset about the lack of return in the sale of his RV. But given the factors listed above, the sale value of the RV was sold at market value.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was qualified for a loan the CS rep indicated the loan was denied and it effected my credit report she told me she would call back asap never did was qualified for a loan the CS rep indicated the loan was denied and it effected my credit report she told me she would call back asap never did

Desired Settlement: I want my loan to reflect that I denied it not the bank denying so my credit doesnt reflect negative remarks

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/10) */ We received ********'s complaint and her concern about her credit score being negatively affected due to a loan denial. However, a loan denial is not indicated on her credit report. Her report will only show the inquiry to her credit when we requested to pull her full credit report as part of the loan process. While inquiries can affect a credit score, the actual denial will not. So there isn't anything that we can fix or change on her credit report to increase her score related to this loan denial. We have followed up with ******** to answer any additional questions/concerns she may have.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart