BBB Accredited Business since

Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc.

Phone: (952) 345-2900 Fax: (952) 345-2906 6022 Blue Circle Dr, Minnetonka, MN 55343 http://www.schoenfelderrenovations.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

General contractor servicing hotels, commercial, multi housing industries.

We send our crews nationwide in order to maintain your schedule.

Interior and exterior.
Celebrating 25 years in business


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1991 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 07/01/1996 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mark Schoenfelder, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Schoenfelder, Owner/President
Business Category

Contractors - General Carpet Installation Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Millwork Cabinets Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Windows Contractor - Commercial Contractors - Flooring Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc. sells the following brand(s): BASF, kohler, Mohawk, Shaw, Sherwin Williams, Simmons

Refund and Exchange Policy
Not applicable.
Service Area
Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc. provides their services in MINNESOTA.Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc. provides their services in PENN, ND.Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc. provides their services in ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DAKOTA, DAYTON, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FORT SNELLING, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HASTINGS, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, LAKEVILLE, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW TRIER, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PLYMOUTH, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VICTORIA, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WATERTOWN, WAYZATA, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP & YOUNG AMERICA, MN. Minnesota and nationwide for townhomes, hospitality and commercial
Alternate Business Names
Schoenfelder Painting
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Schoenfelder Painting, Inc., this company offers full service painting contracting for both residential and commercial for New Construction and Remodeling. Services in painting, staining, decks, cabinetry, waterproofing, caulking, night work, and high work.

Industry Tips
Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 6022 Blue Circle Dr

    Minnetonka, MN 55343 (952) 345-2900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into a three part contract to remove furniture from the Travel Place Hotel in Manchester NH for a fee. We performed the first phase on time and with ease. The second phase was suffered delay after delay due to S*********** Renovations. After setting a time for the removal we were told they wanted to keep the furniture after we had sold the furniture to a third party. We informed our contact Scott *********, the onsite Project Manager that we had a contract and we had sold the furniture and we expected S*********** Renovations to honor our contract for the three phase. Scott stated he would agree to honor our contract. Then we were to begin removing the furniture on June 10th and Saturday June 11th. We had a trailer pulled in for an adjacent state for the buyer to remove the product. On Friday S*********** Renovations called and said they were behind again and postponed the project for the following Monday. Monday came and again S*********** Renovations delayed. Tuesday they delayed again as well as Wednesday. On Thursday they called and said they wanted us to remove the furniture for free as we were selling it. This information was relayed to us by Eric ******** who claimed to be the owner and refused to supply us with Mark S*********** name and phone number. If S*********** Renovations is a hotel renovation company they should be familiar with the Liquidation process. In all my rears of doing commercial Liquidations I have never seen anything as unscrupulous. I have never requested the name of the owner of a company and had an employee say he was the owner and refuse to supply the true owner’s name. We have pulled the corporate records with the state and found Mark to be the listed owner. We have checked with the State of New Hampshire Licensing records and we cannot confirm that S*********** Renovations of **** **** *** *** **********, MN 55343 Phone:(**** ********. Is licensed to operate in our state. We request proof that they are. On a phone call with Eric at 3:05 PM 6/16/16 I asked him straight out is if he was licensed to perform this work in the state of New Hampshire. He hung up on me. With this being said we are requesting compensation for the failure to fulfill the conditions of the contract as well as the damages incurred by the buyer of the furniture. 6/16/16 JR **** on a phone call with Mark S*********** mark said he would not perform to our agreement.

Desired Settlement: compensation of losses to our company and to the buyer of the furniture. Provide license for performing work in the State Of New Hampshire. Provide me with a signed contract they claim I signed.

Business Response:

1. We are not aware of any 3 part contracts with anyone.

2. We have never been to or been involved with any project at Travel Place Hotel.

3. We are registered in the State of New Hampshire, have a certificate of authority to do business as a general contractor in the state of New Hampshire.

4. Eric ******** is one of our owners.

5. The state of New Hampshire does not require commercial general contractors to be licensed. 

6. I have never been on the phone with anyone by the name of JR K***.  On 6/16, I was in Baltimore.

7. Whenever we do hotel renovations, we can never rely on liquidators.  We reserver the right to not liquidate the goods, throw them away or to give them away.  We need to do this because we do not own the furniture and if the hotel slows the schedule or changes their minds, we have no recourse.  We also have been stuck many times with liquidators who only take part of the furniture and leave whatever they don't want.  In this case, Jack the Liquidator was unable to comply with the mov*** schedule.  We had to make arrangements with a different liquidator who was able to make the schedule.

Jack the Liquidator, then objected and said they had already sold the furniture.  This is great for them but not our responsibility.  We offered to still allow them to have the furniture.  They took some of it, but not all.  

For the last phase, we of the hotel, we will use a different liquidator who will work with the schedule. 

 

Mark ************, Pres. 

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

1.    We are not aware of any 3 part contracts with anyone.

We have a signed contract stating three parts.  It was signed by Scott and presented to the Owner Eric on location of the hotel.  Eric stated his contract superseded ours. He was asked twice to produce it.  He refused saying it not his job to monitor contracts

2.    We have never been to or been involved with any project at Travel Place Hotel.

We will be happy to produce a photo of your employees wor**** at this Hotel as well as a sign stating its name.

3.    We are registered in the State of New Hampshire, have a certificate of authority to do business as a general contractor in the state of New Hampshire.

We checked with the state at the time and they stated you did not.  Eric was asked no less than three time for a copy of it.  Eric the owner refused to supply any proof.

4.    Eric ******** is one of our owners.

 He stated this, but the records of the state of Minnesota did not reflect this when we checked. Are your state records out of compliance?

5.    The state of New Hampshire does not require commercial general contractors to be licensed. 

This is true however they do require an out of state contractor to be registered and the states attorney at the time stated you were not registered.  Can you provide a copy of your registration with the date you filed?  

6. I have never been on the phone with anyone by the name of JR ****.  On 6/16, I was in Baltimore.

No one said you were.  We said you had approved Eric brea**** the contract on the phone via an office assistant. 

 

 

7. Whenever we do hotel renovations, we can never rely on liquidators.  We reserver the right to not liquidate the goods, throw them away or to give them away.  We need to do this because we do not own the furniture and if the hotel slows the schedule or changes their minds, we have no recourse.  We also have been stuck many times with liquidators who only take part of the furniture and leave whatever they don't want.  In this case, Jack the Liquidator was unable to comply with the moving schedule.  We had to make arrangements with a different liquidator who was able to make the schedule.

Jack the Liquidator, then objected and said they had already sold the furniture.  This is great for them but not our responsibility.  We offered to still allow them to have the furniture.  They took some of it, but not all.  

This is an interesting story however that is not what you stated at the time you entered into a contract to do so.  Thus you and the hotel were obligated to fulfill the contract.  Eric who was no longer on site had sprayed the furniture with white paint and ceiling spray and 50% of the furniture was destroyed. At the time we informed your two staff employees we were ta**** it as we were ma**** an attempt to hold up to our side of the contract and expected you to do the same.  We later sent an invoice for the removal and rescheduling fees.  These are yet unpaid.

Regarding our ability to comply we have billed for three times we had men sitting by only to have your company cancel the removal on the day we were to remove.  We had a 53 foot trailer on site ready to remove all furniture. 

Then you state that you had to make arraignments with another liquidator to remove the goods. Funny thing is we removed all the furniture that was not purposely damaged while Eric was on site.  We understand that he and Scott were removed from the site under strange circumstances.  Can you detail these issues?  

 

For the last phase, we of the hotel, we will use a different liquidator who will work with the schedule. 

We still maintain we hold a contract with you that we insist you make good on.  



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Schoenfelder Renovations, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)