Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Polar Builders, Inc.

Phone: (952) 895-8100 View Additional Phone Numbers 1103 W Burnsville Pkwy STE 110, Burnsville, MN 55337 http://www.polarbuilders.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Polar Builders is a full spectrum General Contractor specializing in complete GAF Roofing Systems, installation of high grade vinyl, steel, smart LP, James Hardie, and Versetta stone siding applications. We also offer seamless gutter systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Polar Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Polar Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

52 Customer Reviews on Polar Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 52
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 52

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2011 Business started: 01/27/2011 Business started locally: 01/27/2011 Business incorporated 01/27/2011 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Sara Kaganovsky, President / Owner Dan Lillestol, Sales Manager Sara Weber, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Sara Kaganovsky, President / Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Finishing Gutters & Downspouts Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Installation Fence Contractors Screens - Door & Window Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Baths Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling

Service Area
Polar Builders, Inc. provides their services in MINNESOTA.Polar Builders, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNSVILLE, CANNON FALLS, CARVER, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DAYTON, DELANO, DELLWOOD, DENNISON, DUNDAS, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FORT SNELLING, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREEN ISLE, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HENDERSON, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, KENYON, KILKENNY, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE CENTER, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MORRISTOWN, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NERSTRAND, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLATO, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAVAGE, SCANDIA, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, STANTON, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VESELI, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WARSAW, WATERTOWN, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WELCH, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE, WOODBURY, WYOMING & YOUNG AMERICA, MN. Twin Cities
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Polar Builders, this company offers general contractor services.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Polar Builders, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1103 W Burnsville Pkwy STE 110

    Burnsville, MN 55337 (612) 280-4807 (952) 895-8100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The payment they billed in agreement about hail damaged window replacement is not the same as in agreement. On April 2014, Charlie B from Polar builders, Inc stopped by my house and checked our outside window, then knocked my door and he said the window had hail damage, he can file the claim to our insurance company to get money to replace the window. We told him we did not want to change windows at all because we cannot see any damage. But he came to my house again and again and gave many explanation to us to say that my Windows had damage and he can claim money. After many times his coming to my house, we agreed him to do all windows inspection. After he checked the all windows and he contacted our insurance company. Later on, insurance company sent claim report included roof damage as our claim on Sept., 2013 and all Windows replacement information. Then he came to my house and asked us to sign the agreement about window replacement which is hail damage. At our contract agreement, he gave $12165.07 as total final payment. We asked him if this is final amount to pay to Polar builders, Inc, and no any deductible payment, then he said YES. After We asked him to do confirm many times, then we signed contract on April 26, 2014. After Polar builders, Inc finished window replacement in Mar,2015. they sent letter to mention that the final bill amount for all windows replacement was as $13008.42 with strange calculation method. Although $13008.42 was higher than our contract amount, but we paid. After a few weeks, we received an another bill from Polar builders, Inc. and requested us to pay $1255.54 more as we already paid. They said we need to pay deductible. All our payment should base on our signed contract. Contract is our legal document for both sides for agreement. Why Polar builders, Inc requested more and more money from us and want us to pay them our deductible? Why they signed contract and agreed final amount as $12165.07, and later on they broke the contract and again, again to request us to pay more money?

Desired Settlement: if they can refund money amount 843.35, that's the best solution. If can not, we don't want pay any extra money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/02) */ Please see attached Insurance loss Statement with the total approved claim in the amount of 15890.06. There were only two items that were not done by Polar Builders: staining of wood shake for the amount 1551.10 and replacing the skylight kit for 75.01 (please see page 5 of the insurance statement) all other work was performed by Polar Builders in the professional manner with no quality concerns. All items that were not done were deducted from the total. The outstanding balance owed is 1255.53 The initial invoicing to the homeowner did not include General Contractor's overhead and profit that most of the time gets approved by the insurance carrier after all work is completed and invoices are sent to the insurance company. It clearly stated in the attached contract signed by the homeowner that any additional funds, supplements or overhead and profit that are paid through insurance proceeds related to the work is owed to Polar Builders. At this time the balance of 1255. Customer repeatedly asked to keep insurance proceeds for the work Polar has done. As it has been explained many times in the insurance restoration project the contractor is obligated to invoice the homeowner for the exact amount that the insurance company allocated for the approved scope of work. Anything short of that is considered insurance fraud and becomes a license violation. Please refer to MN Department of Labor and Industry for any clarification on this matter. At this time the past due amount of 1255.53 is due in full. The payment is due now and any delays will result in late charges and other fees related to collections. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/09) */ Received information from the complainant which is attached. Please review and respond. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/16) */ To Whom it may concern: This email is an explanation for the complaint submitted by Yang ******* in regards to an outstanding balance of 1255.54. The balance is owed based on the Safeco's insurance approval involving a window project performed by Polar Builders. The amount charged equals the amount Safeco agreed to pay for the replacement of the windows. Please see attached proof. Yang ** did make their final payment of 1255.54 after he was explained that he could not withhold any funds from the insurance claim allocated for the repairs. If you have any questions please contact me directly. Thank you Regards, Greg ***** ******************************************************** Polar Builders Inc 1103 West Burnsville Pkwy Suite 110

2/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We believe that Polar Roofing broke our contract with them when they attempted to deliver a substandard roofing product to our building. Industry standards support our viewpoint that Polar Roofing made an error in deciding to move ahead and deliver materials and install a roof in bad winter weather conditions in November 2014. It is our obligation to protect our property from improper workmanship. We belive that they, by their actions, broke their contract with us.

Desired Settlement: To declare the contract void, have Polar have no financial benefit and Dr. ************** have no financial liability in this situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/04) */ 1. Polar Builders did not break the contract 2. Materials delivered were NOT substandard ( please see attached invoice from the supplier and GAF brochure describing product delivered as GAF Lifetime High Definition shingle to complete a GAF Lifetime Roofing System with 50 year warranty ) 3. Polar Builders Inc offered to reschedule ( please see attached letter sent to Mr. ******* ) or recover restocking fees identified in the signed contract in paragraph 13. 4. Mr. ******* made no contact with Polar to discuss therefore the matter could not be resolved Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/02/18) */ ***Document Attached***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

52 Customer Reviews on Polar Builders, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart