Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2013

Millersberg Construction, LLC

Phone: (507) 301-3626Fax: (507) 366-1235

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The contractor did not protect against bats after being told they needed to.
In August of 2012 I contracted Millersburg Construction to put a new roof on. Before and during construction I told the contractor three times I had bats in the attic that had come down into the house. I had told him I had someone come out to bat proof and to be sure that he didn't disturb that and to make sure the bats did not come back. The following summer I had bats in the attack again. I had to pay $1452.00 to get rid of them. I was told that if several tubes of caulking would have been used it could have been prevented. I have called, sent an email and a letter to Millersburg construction asking them to pay for at least part of the bat proofing and I have not seen anything from Millersburg Construction.

Desired Settlement
I would like some sort of reimbursement for the bat proofing.

Business Response
In August 2012, the homeowner hired us to remove the old damaged shingles and replace them. Before the project began, she made us aware of the bat issue and mentioned she had three areas that were already bat protected. During the project we had to slightly release part of the screens but made sure that it was properly reinstalled; this included caulking and flashing in the appropriate areas. The project was completed and she had no further complaints about the bat issue. In September 2013, the customer had called to make us aware of the new bat problem. The homeowner claims we did not reinstall the screens properly. The salesmen met with her and a guy who installs the bat screens. During this meeting, the installer of the screens explained that bats will always return to their home year after year whether they are able to get in or not. He also explained that the three areas were not sufficient to keep them out and proceeded to add 5 more protected areas. The homeowner is requesting we pay for all 8 of the screens in which 3 were previously installed before she ever had contact with our company.

01/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I hired millersberg construction to reshingle my roof after hail damage,they had unquallified workers install the shingles,when i inspected their work i find exposed nails in valleys and eves.They tried to remove and patch in new shingles, now i can see knife marks through my shingles.
Product_Or_Service: shingle reroof

Desired Settlement
They need to send a quallified roofer to fix the problem and i am going to have to supervise any work performed.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Mr. *****:

I appreciate the opportunity to respond on behalf of Millersberg Construction, LLC ("Business") to the complaint submitted to your office by Mr. ****** ("Consumer").

On September 6, 2012, our company contracted with Consumer to provide repairs to his roof following hail and wind damage on June 18, 2012. On October 3, 2012, Business obtained a permit to perform the repairs and received a check from Consumer for approximately one-half (1/2) the total payment. Business performed under the agreement and completed repairs to Consumer's roof in a manner customary to the standards of the industry.

The Consumer did find four (4) low nails on his roof and brought it to our attention. We replaced the four (4) shingles with new ones. After completion of work the Lonsdale City Inspector went out to the property and determined that the work was completed correctly and passed inspection. The city inspector has been called multiple times by the Consumer, has been out to inspect the property, and has explained to the Consumer that there are no issues with the new roof. The Consumer's roof now has a lifetime Owens Corning shingle and is eligible for all warranties from Business upon full payment.

Business is a Minnesota limited liability company that is fully licensed and bonded, having passed all state requirements. Business has also passed certification examinations to receive status as a Owens Corning Preferred Contractor. Business has performed roof repairs for hundreds of satisfied customers throughout Minnesota. Business desires to have strong customer relationships; however, a central component of such relationships is prompt payment when work is performed.

Business has yet to receive final payment from Consumer and attempts to resolve this matter between the parties has been unsuccessful. Business's attorney sent Consumer a demand letter for payment on December 7, 2012, a day before Consumer's filed this complaint. On behalf of Business, I believe this complaint is without merit and knee-jerk retaliation for us seeking legal redress against Consumer.

If you have any questions, please contact me.


Millersburg Construction, LLC

***** ***********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The shingles have a lifetime warranty only if they are installed correctly.The patch jobs they did to cver up their poor installation caused more concerns with knife marks in the shingles.
A poor installation of a quality prodect is worthless.

Business' Final Response
Good afternoon ********,

Here is the document that you recieved earlier by fax, Hopefully you can read it this time. Ive attached pictures along with the Finial inspection letter from the city inspector along with it. Per are conversation last week I'm adding that I also told the homeowner that he could hold back 300 to 500 dollars until spring and I would fix the two marks!

Thanks again,
Millersberg Construction
Office ************
Fax ************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractors - Flooring, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Contractor - Sheetrock, Storm Windows & Doors - Repair, Windows - Egress, Windows - Wells & Covers, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors, Screens - Windows, Fence Contractors, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors, Siding Contractors, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractors - Framing, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Vinyl Decking, Deck Builder, Patio Builder, Patio Design, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Contractor - Spray Foam Insulation, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Garage Builders, Foundation Contractors, Floors - Garage, Drywall Taping and Texturing, Drywall Contractors, Doors - Repair, Contractor - Home Performance, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Basement - Finishing, Basement - Contractors, Contractors - Ceiling, Building Contractors, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.