This business is not BBB accredited.

Miller and Sons Construction Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (507) 358-9673 View Additional Phone Numbers 4522 Maple St SE, Rochester, MN 55904 http://www.finestroofinginrochester.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Miller and Sons Construction Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Miller and Sons Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2011 Business started: 04/01/2005 Business started locally: 04/01/2005 Business incorporated 08/30/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Gary Miller, President Brandon Miller, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Gary Miller, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painters - Commercial or Residential Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Hardwood Floor Contractors Doors - Installation Windows Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Miller and Sons Construction, this company offers construction and remodeling services.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Miller and Sons Construction Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4522 Maple St SE

    Rochester, MN 55904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6115 Bandel Rd NW

    Rochester, MN 55901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for steel roofing. Can't contact company. We signed contract for roofing on 5/31/15, and paid $4387.50 for matierials. We have not been able to contact company for last two months.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money back.

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They take days to return phone calls and make mulitple appointments and don't keep them to look at a problem with my roof they did less than a yr ago. I have been trying to have Miller and Sons come look at a potential problem with the roof they installed for two weeks now. My mom called them on May 27th, with no repsone. I then called on May 28th and left a message, they returned both calls on Friday May 30th. My mom talked to Brandon and she was suppose to call him at 1:30 to confirm the appointment for that afternoon at 3pm. She called at 1:30 and 2pm with no response. They did not show up. My mom then called multiple times over the weekend. They called her back on Monday and sent up a meeting for Wednesday morning. She called him at 9:15 as he had asked and he did not answer. She called again to confirm the appointment and he never answered nor called her back. So again missed appointment. He then called her Thrusday June 5th and they set up a 3rd appointment for Monday June 9th at 11am. She again called to confirm the appointment with no answer. He didn't show up for a 3rd appointment. We told him when we talked to him that we wanted him to come take a look at the ventilation, because I had a different contractor come look at my attic and he said that I should have them come look at it, because it shouldn't be that hot up there. There is also a 10 yr warranty on my roof, and if they won't come look what does that say about their warranty?

Desired Settlement: To follow through on their commitment. To come take a look at the problem and if it is something that they are responsible for, fix it. That is why you have a warranty, I would think.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/07/22) */ To whom it may concern: *****'s mom had called Miller and Sons Construction to request that ******* take a look at issues she believes are due to ventilation after Miller and Sons completed a new roof for her last year. ******* agreed that he'd make time to look at the issue. ******* had set up an appointment time and asked that *****'s mom would verify by 2:00. Her mom called an hour after 2, but because ******* hadn't heard back, he had moved on to another appointment. He returned her call later that day to reschedule but the times he was available, didn't work for her schedule. ******* was very accommodating on shuffling his schedule around to make an appointment time work for her, and once they agreed on a time that could potentially work, he told her that he would call to confirm the appointment time. However, he was unable to make that time work so he never called to verify that time. He later set a time to meet on the following Monday. Unfortunately, ******* was in a car accident on Monday (we have pictures of the truck to verify) and upon all of the chaos, he did miss the appointment. He is sincerely sorry for the inconvenience- we've also been working on trying to port *******'s cell phone number to be the landline for our office since June 19th, so that phone number is currently disconnected while Charter is working on transferring it. Although this is not an issue covered by the warranty (because the craftsmanship has not failed), to appease the customer we will send an employee out at our earliest convenience. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After finally getting a response from Miller and Sons, ******* asked one question concerning what type of ventilation roofing they had placed. He then proceeded to state this was next to impossible to have been improperly done. It took several requests before he agreed to come and take a look. He asked that I call him at 1:30 that day, so we could verify the 3pm appointment for that afternoon. I started calling at 1:30 and left messages. He finally returned my call on Monday June, 2nd and we set up an appointment for Wednesday 6/4/14. I called him at 9:15, as he had asked and there was no answer so I left a message. I tried several more times that am without a response. He returned the call the next day. We set up another time for 11 am Monday 6/9/14. He said this was his first pm appointment so it should work. I called again to confirm the appointment with no answer. When he wasn't there by 1:45 I called him and he answered and then informed me he was just leaving Lewiston and would not be able to meet. Over the next several days I called both ******* and his Dad's cell phones attempting to resolve the question of ventilation and neither returned these phones calls. Since this response to the BBB was obviously not written by the person, *******, that I spoke with multiple times, I am informing you that ******* would tell me the times he had available and I choose from those. That the father is stating that there was shuffling of appointments is not accurate. I see from the date of the response it took this business approximately five weeks to answer the BBB attempts to work for a resolution. This response was written to the BBB after I spoke with the father because the Department of Labor informed us to call him directly. Interestingly enough, when I called on 7/18 @ 2:25 pm and left the name from the Dept of Labor I received a phone call back in less than five minutes. He gave several excuses on why there had been no follow through, but he said it was too late to get someone out on that day, but he would have one of his men contact me Monday to set up a time for them to check the roof. Following this businesses pattern of communication, they did not call as stated and have not called since. My daughter's neighbor went with the same company so they generated an additional job because of my daughter choosing their company, yet they cannot take 15 minutes to evaluate their customer's issue. As the consumer I am struggling with how a business can present themselves as having a ten year warranty, if they refuse to ever come to check to see if there maybe a potential issue. Presently, I just want to make sure that other consumers that are checking company reviews prior to choosing, have the knowledge that this company has a very poor follow through and that. I would not recommend them to anyone.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Miller and Sons Construction Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart