BBB Accredited Business since

Kiser Construction, Inc.

Phone: (763) 633-2010 Fax: (763) 633-2012 View Additional Phone Numbers 12767 Meadowvale Rd NW, Elk River, MN 55330 http://www.KiserRenovations.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kiser Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kiser Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kiser Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 2006 Business started: 10/01/2003 Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/01/2003 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Sherise Smith, Owner / Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Sherise Smith, Owner / Manager
Business Category

Contractors - General Drywall Contractors Carpet Installation Floors - Laminate Gutters & Downspouts Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Plastering Contractors Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Contractor - Metal Roofing Sewer Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Hardwood Floor Contractors Disability Access Equipment Granite Ice Melting Equipment & Supplies Cabinets Doors Floors - Hardwood Asbestos Consulting & Testing Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up Acoustical Materials Contractor - Flat Roof Fiberglass - Bathtubs & Showers Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling Design & Build Contractor

Service Area
Kiser Construction, Inc. provides their services in FARGO, NORTH RIVER & REILES ACRES, ND.Kiser Construction, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCHESTER, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT CLOUD, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Kiser Construction, Inc., this company offers construction and remodeling services that specializes in roofing, siding, windows, kitchens bath, decks, additions and porches. Also provides new home construction.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 12767 Meadowvale Rd NW

    Elk River, MN 55330 (763) 315-0617 (763) 633-2010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kiser Construction: I have been an adult for 35 years and this company is one of the worst experinces I have had to deal with. The complaints many! Kiser Construction was amazing while trying to get earn our buisness. I will list the trouble from worst offense to least offense: Communication was horrible after work completed. Told us if your insurance doesn't pay we will give you a discount. I believe this would be called FRAUD in most circles. Measurments were intentionally higher to net more profit in the job. *FRAUD* Left molding at our duplex after charging to remove. *mold on pieces* Made promises but refused to see them through. Charged 7,500 for dehumidifiers and Fans plugged into our outlets 3 days. Kept telling me this is a industry standard. The industry needs to change if 80% of an items MSRP is made up in one service to customer. This is the first complaint I have ever filed and it takes alot for me to get upset. I felt disrespected by company and the prices are insane. One day!NO MATERIALS! 12,100.00 DOLLARS It would have cost me 1500.00 to do myself but I was out of town and couldn't. Worst decision of my life to sign up with Kiser. Const.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology and 1500.00 dollars. The amount that they charged for labor was reasonable. The amount for equipment is insane. The treatment after the job was complete was unacceptable. The person who is repairing the damage also noted that one side was done much better than the other making the repairs easier on one side of Duplex vs the other. Measurments that clearly are embelished to favor company. Leaving moldy trim and baseboard after billing for removal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/17) */ The *********s contacted Kiser Construction for help on their water damage claim. ***** instructed them to verify coverage from insurance. Homeowner found out they did not have coverage prior to any work starting. Homeowner specifically asked for a quote from ***** on how much minimum would it take for the water damage mitigation. ***** quoted 10,000 ball park. Homeowner said green light, signed agreement, faxed it back to Kiser. Kiser completed the mitigation work, used xactimate for pricing. Budget came in at approx. 12,000. ****** then blew a gasket. Came to Kiser and met with the Vice President and *****. Kiser in an attempt to reconcile agreed with ****** to resolve the matter for 9500.00 ****** upon agreeing to this came to Kiser and Paid the 9500.00 Case closed. Since then he has contacted the BBB, Social media blasting Kiser about his so called unfair treatment and being charged 12,000, when he settled for 9500 already. Job was discounted already in an attempt to settle. If ****** does not cease slandering Kiser we will be forced to cancel our agreement to settle for 9,500 and take him to court for slander and the additional proceeds. I would think this resolves this matter if not our Lawyer *************** will need to get involved. Kiser has complied with all ******s requests including the discount already.

1/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kiser installed stone on my house and did an inferior job. They also over charged me $1000 for having the windows wrapped. I hired Kiser construction to do stonework and residing on my house in March 2014. They overcharged me by $1000.00. ***************, project manager, originally emailed that the window wraps were included in the siding estimate. He then proceeded to add the price of $1000.00 for window wraps onto the invoice. I paid the $1000.00 for them and then when I found the email I called ***** about the overcharge. He never got back to me. I then proceeded to call ************ (Vice President) and he told me that they wouldn't refund me since ***** wrote it into the contract and I signed it. I told ****** that ***** knew it was already included into the siding price and proceeded to add it in to make extra money on the project. He was very dishonest and he purposely and fraudulently added it to fraud me out of an additional $1000.00. I paid Kiser construction with checks from April through June 2014. My second complaint is the stonework that Kiser sub-contracted out. The stonework that was installed looks unprofessional and certainly not the look Kiser would be proud to put their name on. *************** assured me that the stone work done was how it is always done and it always looks that way. I have had a few other people out to look at it after they were finshed (1 being from Kiser construction) and they all say that it was bad work and they would never install the stone like it was installed on my house. The one person from Kiser even proceeded to tell me that he wouldn't be surprised if the stone fell off through the winter. I have been trying to get Kiser out to my house to repair some of the stone work. They did "repair" one piece of stone, but that is all. The one piece they did repair was "fixed" with a piece of stone that has rounded corners. There are no rounded corners on any of the other stone pieces. The "fixed" piece of stone looks better than the old piece, but still does not match the rest of the stone pieces. It needs to be replaced again. I had been calling ************ persistently for months to get him to come and fix the rest of the stone, but he hasn't. He won't even come out to document all the pieces that need fixing. Kiser Construction knows that they did poor stonework. Kiser filed a claim for reimbursement from their insurance for the price of the stonework. I received a call from their insurance company seeking details from me about a claim that was filed. The insurance company asked me numerous questions about the quality of the stonework and the look of the stonework. I do not know the outcome of the claim. I feel that they don't honor their word about providing quality work and fixing what is wrong until the customer agrees to it being right.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of $5370.00. This is the amount we payed for the stonework and the overcharge of the window wraps. I am seeking a refund so I can hire a new stone work company to repair and replace the stonework.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ Kiser Construction was hired to do siding, soffit & fascia, gutters and stone. The original proposal included wrapping two windows on the front of the house that did not match. The homeowner decided that she wanted to wrap all the windows and doors to match the new soffit and fascia. The contract that she signed has a completely separate line item stating that wrapping all the windows and doors would be an additional 1000.00. Im not sure were the confusion would come from as its itemized. The homeowner did notify us that there were two pieces of stone that she did mot like the appearance of. Kiser Construction called the Insurance Co for the Subcontractor that performed the work to cover the cost to repair the pieces that she did not like. The insurance felt that there were no issues with the work performed other than cosmetic. Upon this information Kiser Construction went to the home and replaced the two pieces of stone that were in question. The homeowner also asked us to replace a downspout that her dog had ripped off the house, this was done at the end of September. We have not had any calls or messages from the homeowner since the completion of these items. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2015/01/26) */ This complaint should not have been closed. I never received a response from Kiser Construction or from the BBB on the status of the complaint. Kiser Construction was not thoroughly truthful in their response. There has to be more that can be done to protect consumers from companies like Kiser Construction from doing mediocre work and frauding us out of money. I do not want the same things to happen to other consumers. Please look into this matter further and let's see if we can get a satisfactory ending to this. Kiser Construction should be held liable for their subpar work and their fraud. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/01/27) */ Kiser Construction has supplied a copy of the signed contract with the additional charge to wrap the windows. The charge is completely separate and listed clearly. We have taken care of any issues that the homeowner has contacted us with, including a downspout extension that was torn off by their dog. Kiser Construction has completed all of the work per our contract with the homeowner.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Interior construction failure We discovered multiple areas of workmanship failure on one wall that was repaired by. Kiser Const. I contacted their rep **** ******* after many weeks and phone calls he finally did visit us to see out issue. Mr ******* personally told us all the work by Kiser Const was guaranteed for life of all workmanship issues. He took many photos and said " this is work and we will fix this" He mentioned he would get back to us and never did. Over one month later of stories and push offs he said " you should call the painter to fix this since he no longer works for us" This violates their own company ethics and described on the website. I finally was able to reach the owner ****** Kiser who told me they would have someone come and and evaluate this and the company does not war guarantee interior projects . Which again was told to us by **** ******* that "ALL WORK BY KISER IS GUARANTEED FOR WORKMANSHIP " on the day the rep was going to visit I was called at 0630 am and told the rep would not be able to make the appointment. They would be calling to reschedule and never did call back. Their customer service is poor at best and they have failed to return calls and keep appointments .we are still left with poor workmanship that needs attention .

Desired Settlement: We are seeking repair and re painting of the issue and letter of apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/30) */ Thank you for taking the time to contact Kiser.I spoke with **** and ****** about the allegations Mr. **** ****** has stated. Here is Kiser's side of the story. Original project completed approximately 4 years ago ************* the President of Kiser was out at the property last year to look at additional retail work at the homeowners request. No issues listed above were mentioned at that time or were visible when the home tour was given. ****** Kiser, our vice president has taken every call that Mr. ****** has given and not once has he not responded even when the calls were questionable. As stated above even though it was 4 years since the work was completed **** one of Kiser's Project Managers still went to the site to visually inspect Mr. ******'s issues. I can attach those photos if needed Finding no Major Defects in the workmanship Kiser closed the final and will not be reopening it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The claims by Kiser are not completely true . The fact that **** was at our home has not validity to the issue. It did not exist at that time. **** did come to our home but only after 8 phone calls to have someone give a quote on a new project. ***** after 5 phone calls did finally answer and then took over a week to return the call .************* came out the the house after 4 calls and three weeks of promises to look at the current issue. Once he was at the house he said " The is wrong and we will fix it" he did take many photos and then after 4 more additional phone calls with no reply he left a voice mail saying yes This is an issue and that I would need to call the company that THEY hired to resolve the issue. I called Kiser 2 more times ***** said he would have **** come out to look and then cancelled and never rescheduled or would even talk about it . I have the recorded message from ****. Kiser hired 2 different companies to fix the same issue on the same wall . I asked ***** to send out a representing from one of these companies and he ignored my request. I am not happy with the customer service, poor customer service and false claims.************* made claims and Kiser is not following through it. Kiser has had three claims to the BBB and this shows there is a reason for the complaints. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/10) */ Thank you for taking the time to respond. Kiser has uploaded pictures to the BBB for your documentation. The work from over 4+ years ago has no construction defects as you can see in the pictures. This is not a warranty claim. Mr. ****** is asking for additional work. We are closing the file.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kiser Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)