BBB Accredited Business since

Great Northern Builders, LLC

Phone: (651) 455-9371 Fax: (651) 552-4932 9419 Buckley Ct, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077 http://www.gnbmn.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

At GNB we hold ourselves to the highest standards. We aspire to be the best. Our name is staked in adaptability and innovation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great Northern Builders, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great Northern Builders, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Great Northern Builders, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2009 Business started locally: 08/01/2009 Business incorporated 08/19/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Christopher Biljan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Christopher Biljan, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Doors - Repair Garage Builders Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Exterior Structures - Barn Construction Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Fire & Flood Emergency Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Doors - French Doors - Vinyl Storm Windows & Doors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Fire & Water Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Windows - Repairing Snow Removal Service - Roof Contractor - Interior Trim Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Contractors Buildings - Pole & Post Frame

Service Area
Great Northern Builders, LLC provides their services in MINNESOTA.Great Northern Builders, LLC provides their services in AFTON, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CIRCLE PINES, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DAKOTA, DAYTON, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FORT SNELLING, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HASTINGS, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, RAMSEY, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SCANDIA, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING PARK, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE & WOODBURY, MN. Greater Twin Cities and Western Wisconsin
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Great Northern Builders, LLC, this company is a general contracting company. They offer new construction services, kitchen/bath remodels, basements, additions, roofing, siding, gutters, paint and drywall.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services INSURANCE Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 9419 Buckley Ct

    Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077 (651) 455-9371

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being harrassed over an insurance claim issue that has already been submitted to my mortgage company. Now getting threats on a lien. I contracted Great Northern Builders after I received hail damage to my house. It was contracted in 2013 though not all the work was completed until 10/2014. I got an email 10/01/2014 telling me my work has been completed and I was being invoiced. I replied on 01/01 saying ok - What about my storm window that was included in the claim? And told them my mortgage was resold so I have to take copies over everything and re-submit it all again. 10/08 I was called and emailed again about the balance. I called and emailed again and for the second time my mortgage was resold and I have to do all the paperwork for new company. To help I asked for address and I mailed my portion of the bill ($2,000). Check was cashed 10/31. 11/06 I was contacted again about the balance on the account. I emailed back asking where the break down is on my account as I told them I am working with new company on all the paperwork. I was told "as a small family business it is difficult to carry such a large balance for as long as we have and it does hurt our company and how we operate." It was a little over a month when this was communicated to me. 12/03 I was contacted again and told that if we do not receive payment in full by Friday December 12th, 2014, we will be processing the Lien. I am appalled and shocked as it's been two months since all work completed and I am being call and emailed for the balance. I feel harrassed at this point.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for time and understanding as I called my mortgage company and they are working on getting someone out to verify the work is completed, so funds can be issued. I will never work with this company again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/06) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX We have made numerous efforts to work with the homeowner regarding payment in the amount of $25,025.79 for work completed on her home. Below is a timeline response with regards to the homeowner's complaint. 8/7/13- Homeowners property was inspected for damage due to storm. 8/27/13- Met with homeowner and adjuster regarding damage to property due to storm. 9/4/13- Home owner was given estimate on gutters. 9/8/13- Homeowner informed us she had received paperwork from the insurance company and wanted to meet so repairs can begin we informed homeowner we will give her a call to schedule a time to meet. 9/10/13- Homeowner requested an estimate on putting a lag bolt on the deck to attach to the house and we informed her we can take a look at it when we come out to meet with her. 9/13/13- Contract was signed with sales person for work to be completed on home due to the storm damage. Customer requested we work with her on the down payment and scheduling since she runs a home day care business and we agreed to do so. 10/23/13- Roof installation began. Homeowner requested we stop work during nap time, which was about 3 hours and then we will be able to resume installation of the roof once nap time was over and we accommodated her request. 10/28/13- We called the Homeowner to schedule the siding to be installed and she requested all remainder of work be completed at the same time so if we can wait until spring she would appreciate that which we agreed to do so. 6/6/14- Spoke to homeowner regarding scheduling and homeowner indicated she still wants everything done at the same time and if that requires her waiting she will do so and we informed her will do the best we can. 6/17/14- Left homeowner a message asking for her to return the call. 6/26/14- Called and left homeowner another message requesting a call back. 7/1/14- Called and spoke to homeowner regarding the schedule and she was very happy with it. The schedule was as follows and completed on dates listed: 7/28/14-7/30/14- Siding install 7/31/14-8/1/14- Cultured Stone install 8/4/14- Soffit/Fascia Install 8/5/14- Lights installed 8/5/14-8/6/14- Painting/power washing 9/15/14- Gutters installed- Gutter company was out 6 weeks homeowner was made aware since she wanted to go with this company and not the one we usually work with. 9/18/14- Additional downspouts installed 9/19/14- Service door Installed 10/1/14- We emailed the homeowner informing her that all work has been completed and a COC (Completion of work had been sent to the insurance company) and also attached final invoice for the homeowner. We also informed homeowner to let us know if she needs any other information from us to provide to her Mortgage company. Homeowner replied to email indicating that she is aware we sent the final COC to the insurance company however she wanted to know what to do about the storm window since our estimate was too high and more than what insurance company was covering. The homeowner also indicated that her Mortgage company has been resold and she was waiting for the checks to be re-issued and she would keep us posted. We responded to the homeowner regarding the storm window asking her if she wanted us to do it or was this something she wanted to handle herself since we gave her a price and she indicated it was too high and she had previously indicated that she would call the company that installed her windows in the past to see if they can do it. 10/8/14- Emailed homeowners requesting a call to go over things. Homeowner responded with indicating that she returned the call. Homeowner indicated in her email that she had to get the checks re issued and she is waiting for all them to come in so she doesn't have to take them in one by one. Homeowner also indicated that she is working on the storm window. 10/9/14- Homeowner sent email requesting an address to mail in amount she and her husband owed. We responded and gave her the address. 11/3/14- Left Homeowner a message regarding check received. 11/6/14- Emailed Homeowner regarding check received and outstanding balance and requested a call. 11/6/14- Homeowner emailed back indicating that she cannot talk on the phone during the day. Homeowner indicated she is frustrated that she is receiving calls and feels like she is being harassed. Homeowner indicated that the storm window still needed to be replaced and she refused our replacement due to cost was too high so she is trying to find someone to replace it. We responded to the Homeowner and apologized if she felt like she was being harassed as it is not our intent however we received a check for less than the amount owed and with something written in the memo and after consulting our attorney we needed clarification as to what was written in the memo. We also informed her that we are aware she runs a daycare and when we left her a message on 11/3/14 we indicated she can return the call in the evening since we answer our phone's 24hrs a day. We also informed her that we sympathize with what she is going through with the Mortgage Company however if she needed help we can try to help and also would provide us with proof that this is in fact what is happening. We also requested that she inform us where she was in the process with the Mortgage Company. 12/3/14- Since we had not heard back from the Homeowner in almost a month regarding the balance owed, we called and left her a message. Homeowner returned the call and indicated that she felt as she was being harassed and stated that the work was only completed 3 months ago and she could not believe we were asking for payment. We informed the homeowner that no one is harassing her and completed work at her home and needed to be paid for those trades. We also reminded her that in the signed contract it indicates payment is due in full upon completion of work. We informed the homeowner we would be more than happy to give a call to the mortgage company to let them know everything is completed however she refused. The homeowner indicated she will make some calls and see what she can do and she will call me back. We sent a follow up email to the Homeowner informing her that if she needed our assistance we would be more than happy to help and send something to the Mortgage Company informing them that work has been completed however we never received a response back from the Homeowner. 12/8/14- We sent an email to the Homeowner informing her that we never received a return call letting us know what is going on. We also attached another copy of the invoice in case she misplaced it and informed her we would move forward filing a Mechanics lien for failure to pay. Homeowner responded immediately indicating we only gave her 3 days to make 3 calls and she works all day and again indicated she felt harassed by us demanding payment. We emailed her back informing her that she agreed to keep us informed and failed to do so and therefore we have nothing left to do but to protect ourselves legally so we can get paid. Homeowner emailed back and indicated that she put in a call to her Mortgage company and that the insurance company is holding some money still. We responded to the Homeowner informing her that if payment in not received in full by 12/12/14 we will move forward with processing the Mechanic's Lien and per the singed contract Homeowner will be responsible for interest fees and collection fee's incurred. Homeowner responded by indicating "Whatever at this point" and proceeded to defame the character of our company. 12/8/14- Consulted our Attorney regarding the Homeowner and non-payment. 12/11/14- Homeowner sent email indicating her Mortgage company sent her a check for $5,000 and she would be cashing it and sending it to us. 12/19/14- We called the insurance company to see if they required any other documentation from us since Homeowner indicated that they had not released all funds. When we spoke to the Team handling the Homeowner's claim and they informed us the file had been closed since October, all checks were mailed out and had been cashed. 12/19/14- Spoke to Attorney and decided to proceed with Collection letter. 12/19/14- Collection letter was sent to Homeowner giving Homeowner 30 days to pay. 12/30/14- Received email indicating Homeowner sent in a complaint to the BBB. 1/5/15- We spoke to the homeowner's insurance company to again confirm that the claim had been closed and they indicated it had been and all funds were released which contradicts what the homeowner indicated back on 12/8/14. In conclusion we feel we have tried to work with Homeowner with regards to payment however she failed to maintain in contact with us and keep us informed as to what the status of our Company receiving final payment. It was not until we started demanding payment that the Homeowner began to say we were harassing her when we clearly did not. We are well within our right to collect payment especially when work was completed on 9/19/14 so we had no choice than to inform her we have every right to exercise our Lien right's to ensure payment. The Homeowner was sent a collection letter by our Attorney on 12/19/14, giving 30 days to pay balance in full since all funds had been released from the insurance company and sent to the homeowner which have been confirmed as cashed. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. Thank you, ******* *. Office Manager Great Northern Builders LLC XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Great Northern Builders, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)