BBB Accredited Business since

Bischel Building, Inc.

Phone: (651) 463-8762 Fax: (651) 344-8729 100 8th St, Farmington, MN 55024 http://www.bischelbuilding.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bischel Building, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bischel Building, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bischel Building, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 2006 Business started: 08/24/2005 Business started locally: 08/24/2005 Business incorporated 08/24/2005 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Michael Bischel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Michael Bischel, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Mason Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Fire & Water Damage Restoration Home Staging Building Contractors

Products & Services

According to sthe information provided by Bischel Building, Inc., this company offers residential and commercial building services, including new home construction and design, remodeling and additions, emergency storm remediation, maintenance and repairs, seamless gutters, and masonry services.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home

Additional Locations

  • 100 8th St

    Farmington, MN 55024 (651) 463-8762

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work is not complete to our satisfaction, were charged for services and work not done, have not honored contract, potential license violations Some of the many Issues * Changes were not tracked or made to the scope of work or signed off on as scope changed throughout the project - which I understand is a license violation * Contractor was hands-off much of the time and came in when I pointed out the big issues... the business in general (office workers included) lacked organization throughout and it was the homeowners who was asked to write up a revised estimate of costs and deductions as they had "lost track of things" (as their current receptionist admitted in September, 2014) * We were told the job would take 2 weeks (starting around July of 2013), it's been a 1 ½ years and work is not yet complete to our satisfaction (i.e., the post) * They used an inexperienced/questionable sub-contractor - one sub in particular would randomly show up to work (usually after 3 PM to work for just a couple hours), hung over and looked drugged up, with a bloody gash in his cheek and broken machinery. One example of this was the skid loader they brought with a pad split down the middle and held together with a man's belt which wasn't getting traction in the wet ground and was chewing up the yard. He had to start way back in the yard to get a "running start" up the hill to haul broken concrete. I called their office to voice concern and a worker told me that they had drug issues in the past and that she'll talk to our contractor about it. I told her that I don't want them back as they are not reliable, skimped on materials (class 5) and didn't do quality work. * I saw that the bottom step was about 2" high and the others closer to 7" and in pointing this out I was told by the contractor that it's done like this sometime and not to worry, its fine... which didn't set well with me because it looked and felt odd to walk down. I called the city inspector and they told me it is a code violation along with an open gap between gate and railing where a child could fall through... I pointed that out as odd and I was told that that is the only way they could do it because of the under structure... but not mention of a resolution at that point (until it was flagged as a code violation). I saw many things that didn't seem right - even to someone not in the industry of home improvement, but every time after phones and research, my doubts were verified. * The job was open for more than a year, which I also believe was a license violation * I have every email, text, correspondence, city record and voicemail saved along with photos and witnesses to this unfortunate mess, all who are willing to speak on our behalf. And in a voicemail, our contractor left on August 8th he owned up to the mess in general expressing a desire to right things. In December he called to collect the remaining balance stating that if we didn't get this paid by Monday that the charges would be passed along to us (?). I'm not sure what charges, but the job wasn't complete and he hadn't been in a hurry for payment all year, I sensed he was in a hurry to take care of this is the 2014 tax year. We tried to settle this via email and while he came down some on cost, it wasn't enough and we weren't sure on which items he was addressing. I told him that perhaps the courts will have to decide on what's fair - but haven't heard from him since Our contractor is a friendly guy and we see him as a casual friend, but it is clear that things on his end and in his office , he had too much going on and perhaps he juggled too many projects and was in over his head. We hope to still resolve this with him. If we cannot reach a mutual resolution via BBB; we will contact the Department of Labor and Industry for their guidance on what we are entitled to and where they perhaps fell short as a licensed contractor.

Desired Settlement: We are asking the following deductions (detailed below) to be made to the remaining invoice (dated 2013) from our contractor for $9867.60 $450 for decking, railings and staircase removal done by the homeowner verbally discussed and agreed upon in advance with our contractor as a line item deduction from the invoice if the homeowners completed the removal themselves which we did along with two friends who can testify to this. We also hauled away the majority of the material. $350 in 6 damaged irrigation heads and line leaks to personal property and neighboring home (along property line). The homeowner made all the repairs as he is an irrigation repair technician and this was done with the full knowledge and spoken consent of our contractor Footing removals - $1250 to remove 3 concrete footings. These footings were not removed (after a failed attempt by subs). As a result, they were left in and concrete was poured over the footings. 2 separate Credit Card processing fees: $438.60 and another for $49.00. We made a single down payment midway through the work for $15,000 in the form of a check which this company had cashed. Soffit replacement and repair - $1023 After a year of working on our deck and patio, & seeing the questionable subs hired to do the work, we lost confidence in having them do the work on the soffits and told him that we will hire someone else for those. Mismatched post replaced - After a code violation was noted, this business was required to better support the sagging stairs with posts (6"x6" I believe). They did this, but one post was clearly narrower, perhaps a 4" x 4" & stands out like a sore thumb amongst the remaining 6 matching posts. We mentioned this to our contractor and he never addressed the issue or offered to fix it. The project is currently incomplete $1458 - Repairs made for extensive damage to the yard by sub-contractors We paid out-of-pocket after a verbal agreement between myself, my husband and the contractor saying that he would reimburse us for the repair work (as we have a friend with a landscape business) and would solicit the help of neighbors to do the work with us to save some cost for us. He agreed & told us to just let him know the amount. We had 10+ people helping us that day we did the repairs - all working very hard to help us. He now claims that landscape was not in the scope of work - but this is repairing damage his subs caused General Deduction $700 - for duration of job, we were quoted a 2 week project and the work is still not complete to our satisfaction after 1 ½ years. We paid for a contractor to oversee subs and day to day work, but it was mainly the us who did the overseeing, communicating, researching and catching errors and shoddy work of the subs - bringing it to the contractors attention. This shouldn't be our job to perform as we were paying someone to do that for us. We cleaned up the grounds routinely as garbage blew about the neighborhood, we moved piles of rock & dirt left behind for clean-up by workers, were on our hands & knees picking nails out of the grass because the promised magnetic roller never came. I also missed work or rearranged my work schedule to keep my eye on questionable workers as there wasn't that supervision. I was told they will show up on a specific day and they never came. Other days they came late - one day, as they were getting ready to leave I stopped them to question why the patio area wasn't tampered & rather than the required 4-6" of class 5, there was only a dusting. They responded that they thought the concrete guys were going to do it the next day and had no response regarding the sparse class 5. I caught this shoddy work, not the contractor. My husband, myself and our community worked hard throughout this project to see it done correctly & deserve to be compensated for our work in the absence of a highly paid contractor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/23) */ We submitted documents to take *********** to small claims court December 30th of 2014 for failing to make a final payment on her outstanding bill. The court date is set for February 19th, 2015 The deck in question here took numerous sight visits with the homeowners and numerous changes and suggestions by the homeowner during the project. The deck permit is signed off by the city and the scope of our work is complete. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel it is a sad thing when a business whose been around for years in a small community, where reputation is everything does not own up to and assume responsibility on their own accord. The line items we've notated are black and white and indisputable - so this speaks to Bischel's business ethics and character. It appears that they'd rather roll the dice thinking that we will come to court without supporting evidence (which is not the case, we are confident, well supported and organized) hoping somehow that the judge will rule in his favor rather than work to settle something that is so cut and dry and fair. We just picked up the court summons from Bischel Building Inc. on Friday 1/30/15 at the post office and was surprised to see that while Bischel already offered to lower this disputed invoice amount from $9867.60 to $7000 in a previous email communication on 12/22/14, they have since recanted and is now demanding full payment yet again... including payment for services not provided or completed. I will also add that he included a newly revised invoice in the summons which excludes the lines items we have called to attention. Additionally, there is also no mention or deductions for extensive and indisputable damages made to our personal property caused by contractors under Bischel Building, Inc.'s employ (nearly $2000); damage that 22 neighbors and involved businesses are willing to attest to. Our next steps will be to file a counter claim as well as to file a complaint with the Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) to see that Bischel Building is held accountable for being in violation of their license as they failed to write up a change order for soffit work not performed. Of course, this is up to us to prove, but we are told that the evidence we have will do just that. We were told by DOLI, that this has been an issue with Bischel Building in the past. So it is with regret that we must move forward in our efforts to hold Bischel Building accountable in court. At anytime prior to our court date, we are open and willing to settle this outside of court as our Christian faith encourages, but will not budge on our fair and well thought out demands. We wish the best for Bischel Building, but for their own sake, and the sake of their customers, hope that they work to improve their communication, organization, record keeping and supervision on the job site, along with accepting accountability for their mistakes and work to rectify them rather than forcing customers to have to defend themselves in a court of law. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/03) */ As previously stated as a compromise I said we would accept $7,000 as payment in full. This would be a one time offer and we feel it is fair for both sides. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unfortunately an unfulfilled contract, and a couple thousand dollars in damage to personal property by the contractor's subs leaves zero room for "compromise" on Bischel's part. A "compromise" is certainly easy to claim or offer when it is you who owes the debt. We expected a higher standard of business ethics than what we've come to know with Bischel Building and at the very minimum, we expected that they assume full responsibility for what they lacked as well as for damages caused. At this point and without Bischel Building's willingness to be forthright there is little hope for a fair outcome. We know the courts will allow us the genuine consideration we deserve and a fair outcome will be reached. Thank you BBB

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Locks installed in new steel doors didn't always lock correctly. Gutters installed last Fall leaked in center; co. didn't go up roof to see cause. Locks that didn't always work were fixed by other party to work correctly. Gutters were checked this year by various roofers who said they were not installed correctly. I paid $80 to have this taken care of and installer found 3 brackets laying in the the gutter were the leak occurred that were never installed. Beischel rep never went on roof to check and blamed it on my roof shingles. After paying bill I asked for an itemized bill and was told this was not available.

Desired Settlement: I would like $80 refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/25) */ -The door & lock must be shut all the way in order to engage the Dead Bolt. -I, ************ personally went up on the roof to address the issue. The cause of the leak is due to old shingles with severe stress & cracking making it impossible for the gutter to attach tightly to the fascia. Homeowner has been informed of this numerous times. There were no bracket's in the gutter when I was up there. I did inform the homeowner that, due to previous ice dams, the weight had put a "Belly" in the middle of the gutter. We have given the homeowner a quote for a new roof per his request. -We actually sent numerous itemized invoices to the homeowner. -If the homeowner has photo's and a written statement from the various roofers that checked his gutters this year whom said the gutter's were not installed correctly, please forward them to us for us to consider a refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/10/15) */ I am unable to determine what your response is on the deadbolt portion of your paragraph and what was the cause of your issue. -Do you pictures of the before and the situation? As for the Gutter. Given that the roof was several years PAST it's useful life and the existing shingles had severer cracks, it allowed water to propagate and penetrate behind said roof decking. As for the missing gutter hangers and improper pitch. I myself did not see any missing hangers upon my visit and I am not sure what caused the gutter to belly out but it wasn't like that after our install of the gutters. After our install our gutter was free draining and was verified with a level. The drip edge was not installed by us and we wouldn't manipulate shingles that old as they would likely have broken or fractured further. ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bischel Building, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)