BBB Accredited Business since

Azure Construction, Inc.

Phone: (701) 893-8741 2045 52nd St S, Fargo, ND 58103 http://azureconstructioninc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Azure Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Azure Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Azure Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2011 Business started: 03/03/2009 Business started locally: 03/03/2009 Business incorporated 03/03/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108, State Capital, Bismarck ND 58505
http://www.state.nd.us
Phone Number: (701) 328-2900

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Brian Azure, owner
Contact Information
Principal: Brian Azure, owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Garage Builders Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio Builder Deck Builder Vinyl Decking Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roof Decks Roof Structures Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Contractor - Metal Roofing Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Floors - Hardwood Screens - Door & Window Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows - Egress Contractor - Sheetrock Contractor - Flat Roof Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Contractors - Ceiling

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Azure Construction, this company offers general contractor services.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint Detail: Date of Transaction:9/3/2015 Have you complained to the business: Yes to ***** Azure (owner) & Ben ******* (our sales representative) Product or services: Construction repairs to our home due to hail damage Complaint Summary: Complaint type: Consumer to Business Nature of Complaint: Customer Service Issue, Contract Issue, Quality of work issue Problem description: My house was damaged by hail on June 27, 2015. Azure Construction was in our neighborhood assessing hail damage to properties. They came to my house and stated that I did indeed have damage. I filed a claim with my insurance company (Nationwide) on July 14, 2015. The initial adjuster only found damage to my two garage doors so a check was issued and they were replaced. In August 2015 Azure was back in our neighborhood and came to my house and stated they felt there was damage to the siding and roof. My husband (which is not actually the homeowner as his name is not on the title, mortgage, or insurance) signed a contract with Azure Construction on September 3, 2015. There is a second line on the contract for the other homeowner to sign but I was never asked to sign it. The contract states “Roof to be completed per Ins Proceeds. Option to do other repairs per Ins proceeds.” I then requested another adjuster to re-evaluate my property which was done on September 17, 2015. On September 24, 2015 Nationwide sent out a revised claim estimate & check which now included the garage doors and most of the cost to replace the roof of the house as well as our shed. Due to the amount of time it took to secure money for replacement of the shingles (we were not going to authorize any work to be completed until we had the money in our hands), we expressed our concerns with Ben ******* (our sales representative with Azure) about whether or not it was too late in the season to place singles in North Dakota. We were assured that there would not be a problem. We have texts stating which shingles / color we would like. (The reason I am stating this is Azure Construction has told us that they purchased seamless siding for our home but I have never picked out a color, and, if I had I would have sent that to them) At the beginning of October, Nationwide assigned a new claims representative to my file. When Ben was at our home he took pictures with his phone of the new revised claim that Nationwide had sent me. I gave him the name (Katherine *****), phone number, and email of the new Nationwide representative. At this meeting I signed over the check from Nationwide to Azure Construction, which seemed odd since the check ($14.954.65) was also written to US Bank. Ben told us that is why they have an account at US Bank because it is less work for everyone. ( I have later found out after I questioned my mortgage representative that this is not the way that I should have done this and I did follow proper policy for the future 2 checks I received from Nationwide) My shingles were placed on October14-16. For the next month my husband sent multiple texts / calls and messages to Ben asking the status of our claim for further money for the siding / the rest of the roof. Azure said that they would handle working with the insurance company to ensure that they would receive the rest of the money for the cost of the roof since the job had been completed. They promised that we would not have to pay anything out of pocket. Anytime we were finally able to receive any correspondence from Azure, the responses were “we’re working on it” and “it should be very soon”. We received a text that stated everything was finalized. At one point they said that they would be out the next week to put the siding on. We continued to tell them that we are not doing any further work until we see what we will get from the insurance company. I repeatedly called our claims representative (Katherine *****) and she continued to tell me that (up until the end of March) there is no record of Azure speaking with her. I then left a message for Ben to call me immediately on November 16 as my frustration was mounting; the call was never returned. November 16-20, 2015 (while we were on vacation) shingles blew off my roof. My mother-in-law attempted to contact Azure but did not get a response. She then contacted my neighbor (who also had their house shingled by Azure) to get a hold of someone from Azure. After multiple attempts to contact Azure, and the shingles were finally repaired. Since the initial repair, (which was only about 5 weeks after they were placed) Azure has been on my roof multiple times to fix shingles that are lifting and missing. That next week I returned home from work and noted that Ben was on my neighbor’s roof doing more repairs / redo’s. Ben asks me if he could stop over and get the name of the claims representative at Nationwide again. I wrote it down again for him. On December 14 we again sent Ben a text to please contact Katherine ***** at Nationwide (third time he was given this information) as they still have no record of Azure contacting them. Ben then called my husband **** on December 30, 2015 and requested that he send him a copy of the revised claim estimate from Nationwide that was sent on September 24, 2015 (which, as noted above, Ben already took pictures of in October). Pictures of those forms were sent via text to Ben that day along with, for the fourth time, Katherine’s name and contact information. On January 11, I called ***** Azure and stated that I was beyond frustrated with my service and quality of the work. That evening we received an email from Ben ******* apologizing for the delays. He stated that he had been talking with the insurance company (which Nationwide denies) and sent them an estimate (which they did receive). He states in this email that the delay was due to them “dealing with the wrong person” at Nationwide. (Katherine at Nationwide has no record at this point that Azure has been talking with anyone from Nationwide and she stated that, per their protocol, they are to make an entry into the file when they talk with anyone and make notes). In the email, Ben mentions Azure’s intent to complete the siding project for us. However, at no time did we sign anything that we were completing that with them, and we were definitely not doing anything until the insurance company signed off. He also states that the reason that he hasn’t been available us is “his wife and I are not seeing eye to eye and that has been very hard”. There was limited communication with Azure between the months of February & March. I continued to check in with Katherine as to the status of the claim, but she continued to state that she has not been in contact with anyone from Azure. On April 1, 2016, I text Ben again giving him Katherine’s contact information (5th time) and requesting that he contacts her. April 5, 2016 Ben sends me a text stating that the claim has been settled. After verifying that with Nationwide I took the third check ($17,178.38) to US Bank. Due to the multiple checks issued by Nationwide and the fact that the initial check was not processed through them, the bank needed paperwork from Azure. On April 11, we are in text communication with Ben that in order for the bank to release the funds and process the claim, they need a signed copy of Azure’s estimate by ***** Azure (owner). I also texted him my email address in which to send it. He texted back stating he will get the requested information to me. Also on April 11, Ben sends a text stating he has the information and is wondering if we wanted him to stop over or email it to us. I requested that he email it to me. During that same text string I also request that due to the issues we have had with the shingles, I need a signed list of the warranties for all supplies and work completed by Azure to ensure that any future issues will be dealt with in a timely fashion. I also again include my email address. On April 14, I sent Ben a text asking about the status of the paperwork. He states he now has it and will drop it off. I then text back stating we will not be home and to place it in my mailbox. April 15, Ben texted that he was at our house and nobody was home. He didn’t leave it in my mailbox, but he would email it to me the next day. On April 18, I texted him asking if he emailed me the information requested because I had not received it yet. Ben states that he had sent the information but was currently on a vacation cruise; therefore, he was not able to resend the information as his attempt failed. On April 24, Ben informs us that he was back from his vacation and was wondering if we had received the requested information. I let him know we still had not received anything, to which I received no response. On April 25, I again send him a text stating that I have not received anything and again sent him my correct email address. He texts back that he was back at work and would send me a text as soon as he emails it to me. On April 26, my husband texts him reiterating what documents we still need from them and gave him both his email address and mine again, to which we received no response from Ben. On April 28, I still have had no response from Ben or any emails with the requested paperwork. I then send Ben a text stating that due to the fact that it has been greater than 2 weeks since I requested the information, poor customer service throughout the process, and the multiple times our roof has had to be repaired, we have decided to look into other companies to complete any further repairs. I also requested that they send us a final invoice for the roof, and we will pay it in full. I gave him our mailing address to send this as email has proved to be a problem with them. I received no response from him. Due to the lack of response and not receiving a final invoice, I called ***** Azure on May 10, and stated that we needed a final invoice and that we are no longer working with them. He stated he would take care of it and we can proceed as I wished. On May 14, Ben sent us a text requesting to meet. On May 17, Ben came to my home and we paid for the roof /shingles in full. I requested a copy of the invoice stating it was paid (still have never received initial invoice). Ben states that he will send us an “email package” that would include the warranty papers and final invoice that night. Due to the issues we have had, I sent Ben a text stating that if the “email package” wasn’t received that night as promised, I would place a hold on the check. The next morning, I received an email from Ben stating Azure wouldn’t send me an invoice until the check clears and that they expect the “siding to start and finish quickly.” I responded via text and email that, as stated in the text to Ben and on the phone with Brian, we were not interested in then completing anymore work for us. I had no response until May 19. On that day, ***** texted and called requesting to meet with us. We said that there is nothing else to discuss. ***** stated that, if we did not allow Azure to put the new siding on our home, he would place a lien on our home. Also, if we declined to meet with him, Azure would seek legal action. We agreed to meet; however, due to advice from others, we will be canceling that meeting and have the process mediated as needed.

Desired Settlement: 1. A copy of Azure Construction’s 10 year warranty on the labor portion of the shingle job that was completed. I have requested this multiple times from them since April 11, 2016 due to poor customer service as noted above and the fact that they have already had to fix / replace shingles on our roof multiple times. 2. A completed and signed copy of the TAMKO product warranty for the shingles that were placed and paid for in full. I have also requested this multiple time since April 11, 2016. I did receive a generic, incomplete, and unsigned copy via email from Ben ******* on May 18, 2016. 3. I would like to terminate our working relationship with Azure Construction. I have attempted to terminate our relationship on multiple occasions. I have paid in full for the work that has been completed by Azure and due to the continued poor customer service and the fact that not only our home but multiple homes in our development have had to have shingles replaced / fixed & siding taken off and redone we are not comfortable with having any further work completed by Azure Construction. As noted above the contract states “Roof to be completed per Ins. Proceeds. Option to do other repairs per Ins Proceeds”, I am opting to have the rest of the repairs completed by another company. Message to BBB: Please contact me if you have any questions or would like any documentation as to checks received / paid out, phone / text records, copy of the contract, information from Nationwide etc. Waiver: I authorize the business to communicate with BBB. I acknowledge that the text of my complaint must be publicly posted on the BBB website

Business Response:

To whom it may concern - Our response to this complaint is as follows: From the day we signed a contract with **** ****, he was our primary point of contact. His number was the only number that we were given to start this project. My independent sales representative, Ben *******, met with **** to start this project off. Ben asked **** if he had a copy of the original adjuster's estimate and **** gave him that. That estimate was for the gutters and garage doors only to my recollection. Upon doing this walk thru and inspection, Ben found additional damage not found by the adjuster. The adjuster missed the roof damage, siding damage and shed damage. Ben explained the process to **** and told him that we would need to do a reinspection with an adjuster from Nationwide at the home to get the additional damages covered. **** agreed and said that he would call the adjuster. **** did set up a reinspection with Nationwide. Ben met out on site with the adjuster and got everything we saw for missed damage covered. ( Roof, Siding, Shed ) While Ben was meeting with the adjuster, the adjuster said he would write the estimate and send out a copy of the new damages to the homeowner and to Ben as long as the homeowner gave him permission to do so. That never happened. We still to this day do not have permission from Nationwide to send us any estimates directly which is a very big problem when we negotiate claims and try to ensure accuracy and accountability for each file we work. So after Ben met the original adjuster on site, the adjuster said he would send the estimate out and once approval was granted the homeowner would receive an additional ACV check for the roof and siding and shed. The homeowner received the estimate and ACV check from insurance but nothing was sent directly to us as originally upon. Ben had to go back out to the site and request a copy of the revised estimate from the homeowner directly to see exactly what the insurance company had covered. Once Ben got to see the revised adjuster's estimate, he noticed that the adjuster did cover the roof and shed as stated on the reinspection but the adjuster did miss the siding damage to the right & back elevations. Siding that the adjuster on the reinspection said would be covered. We all agreed that the siding could wait until after the roof was completed. Ben brought out samples of the shingles, met with **** & Tanya, they picked the color and scheduled the roof to be completed. Ben also explained to the homeowner that due to the weather, there was a good chance that the shingles wouldn't completely seal until Spring. **** stated that it was ok to still do the roof as long as it wouldn't cause a problem. Ben stated that the manufacturers recommendation for shingle install is between 40-75 degree weather and since we were within those parameters it should be just fine to install the shingles. **** was fine with that so we scheduled the roof. The materials & crew showed up on time and as planned. They completed the roof within two days and the remaining materials were picked up. Everything with the roof went without a hitch. The customers were happy with the crew, the install and the clean up. The only thing **** said to me is that he wasn’t sold on the color they picked but it was growing on them. The color cannot be held against us as they picked the color. After the roof was done, we began to contact the Nationwide adjuster for the next 3-4 weeks to no avail. We finally got a response when calling Nationwide directly that the adjuster we were working with was no longer with the company. However, I want it to be know that from the initial reinspection, the adjuster told us to deal with him directly because the turn around would be quicker and any changes or adjustments to the estimate he would need to sign off on anyways. That is the reason we didn’t contact Nationwide directly right away. Once we finally got a hold of Katherine from Nationwide, she said we need to send her our estimate and she will review it. We sent her our photos and estimate in December. There were a couple times that she said she didn’t receive it but we have fax confirmation showing it was sent. So once she received our estimate and photos and we finally got the insurance company to pay for the siding, Winter had set in and there was snow on the ground. We told them that we would complete the siding anytime and they chose to wait until Spring because they thought they would get a better job in the Spring. We agreed to wait until Spring so the communication halted for a couple months during the Winter. We picked back up in March. I attempted to contact **** for a month or so and wasn’t getting response from him. When I did get a hold of him, he apologized and said he was super busy and that was the only reason he didn’t get back to me. However, I don’t know that ***** knew we had been trying to contact him for a month without any response or decisions being made. That said, ***** contacted us and communication began again. Ben went out to meet with the customer in April because we still didn’t have a new copy of the 2nd revised estimate that we requested. The homeowner’s at that point still hadn’t given Nationwide permission to send us the approved estimates so we had no idea what was covered still at this point. Ben met with ***** and **** and they went over the estimate together. At that point, **** and ***** told Ben that they were planning on maybe waiting on the siding now because they were looking at doing an addition. Ben explained to them that we have put a lot of work into getting this covered and it wasn’t fair that we wouldn’t get the work especially when they wouldn’t have known the siding was even damaged had it not been for his expertise. They agreed and said we could do the siding. While Ben was looking into the estimate, he realized that there was a mistake on the 2nd revised adjuster’s estimate. The line item for siding was wrong. The siding the customer has is seamless siding and the estimate did not account for that. Ben took photos of that estimate and left the house with the intent to correct the estimate yet again to make sure the customer got what they rightfully deserved from the insurance company. Our company created an estimate and sent it off to Katherine @ Nationwide. We negotiated the final estimate (which took time like every other revised estimate did with Nationwide) and the homeowner received another check from the insurance company. So, in total, the homeowner received an additional $30,000 plus dollars in coverage due to our efforts once every estimate was revised and everything was said and done. Once we got everything finalized, the customer said due to the lack of response and customer service, we would not be doing the siding. Azure Construction secured over $30,000.00 in missed damages for this customer. We got the insurance company to pay overhead and profit on the total job as well because of the confusion on their end ( insurance company ) and because of all the trades and complexity of the project. I have read the entire complaint over and over again. As the owner of Azure Construction, my biggest frustration with this whole project is that I have been contacted personally only 2 times throughout this whole process. If the customer was that distraught thru this whole situation, wouldn’t you think they would want to talk to the owner of the company to express their concerns? As for the roof issues, we had to fix 3 shingles on their roof due to wind damage and the shingles not sealing due to weather which was already made known to the customer from the start. In no way was the roof not installed properly on their home or any other home in the neighborhood for that matter. Any issue that was brought to our attention was addressed professionally and in a timely manner. The siding repair that the customer is referring to in this complaint is their neighbor, **** *******. What they don’t understand is that this siding repair that was done had nothing to do with improper installation by Azure Construction. The homeowner broke a piece of J Channel and our company fixed it for free out of courtesy. In closing, I feel that Azure Construction should either get the chance to complete the siding and finish the job we started or we should be compensated for the time and effort spent securing a lot of money for this customer. We would accept at a minimum, the Overhead & Profit on the siding that we got covered for them if they chose to not have us complete the project. We spent hours and hours negotiating and figuring everything out on their behalf, and once we get them everything they want, they don’t need us anymore. That is how we feel and we don’t feel that is fair. We feel they are either pocketing the money or are trying to find someone cheaper to do the work and save money based on our efforts. We want to resolve this issue and be done with this ASAP. Let me know how you would like us to proceed. Sincerely, ***** Azure Azure Construction

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Arbitration. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary.

Sincerely,

***** ******-****

Business Response: Azure Construction agrees to arbitration with on complaint ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Azure Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)