BBB Accredited Business since

Above All Construction, Inc.

Phone: (952) 461-3233 Fax: (952) 461-3234 4276 Plum Creek Rd, Elko, MN 55020 http://www.aboveallconstructioninc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Above All Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Above All Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Above All Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2001 Business started: 05/01/2001 Business started locally: 05/01/2001 Business incorporated 05/22/2007 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Gene Juarez, President
Contact Information
Principal: Gene Juarez, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Finishing Foundation Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Home Builders Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Windows Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Above All Construction, Inc., this company offers residential and light commercial general contracting services, including custom home design and building, remodeling, and fire and water damage repair and restoration also storm damage.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took our down payment under false pretense and never did any work. He now refuses to return our down payment. We signed a very loose contract with Above all construction to do work renovating our new tap room. We signed it in July of 15. We were going to set up the HVAC for the room. After 2 1/2 months of trying to find someone, we turned that over to Above all who said they could get someone. I gave specific direction on what we needed for HVAC, including no furnace for the system 1- because the bldg is boiler/radiator and 2- to keep cost down. After 5-6 weeks with no word from Above all, and several messages from me, I finally left the message that we would have to begin looking for some other contractor (this was now the start of December). With that Gene showed up at my office and told me the HVAC was done, the drawing were in and they were ready to start. Asked what we were waiting on? He said he was only waiting for his subs to pick up they're permits and they could start. I said "well lets get going then" and cut him a down payment check as well as $2500 for the engineer drawing for the HVAC. (I had not gotten a copy of the Hvac drawings nor a price for the hvac at this point either) After he took the check and left, I called the city, as I was going to pull the room permit, and they told me nothing was turned in and no permits could be pulled. Gene 100% knew this when he told me they were ready to start and took our money. We terminated our relationship after finding this out. He has still not returned our down payment money.

Desired Settlement: We want our down payment and money back and the engineer drawing money back, as we did not get the drawings needed nor were they done correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/03/07) */ Re: Above All Construction, Inc. Case: ******** Dear Ms. *******: This letter is written in response to the complaint against Above All Construction, Inc. The complainant's statements are not true. there was a contract between Above All Construction, Inc. "Above All" and the complainant that laid out a very specific scope of work. Above All was not responsible for HVAC in its cope of work. Complainant had difficulties finding an HVAC company to handle that portion of the work. There was never a change order and the work was not "turned over" to Above All to handle. There were no instructions to Above All about the HVAC. They city of St. Paul had required that plans be submitted. Above All at all times was prepared to carry out its obligations under the contract. Above All assisted complainant by referring him to an HVAC company. Complainant dealt directly with that company. The HVAC company apparently had difficulties dealing with complainant and his unreasonable position and demands. The HVAC company set up the engineer and plans were drawn up. Plans were provided to complainant and he paid the down payment to Above All and paid the fee for the engineer's plans. After receiving the engineering plans (which were submitted to the city of St. Paul), complainant was not in agreement with the system that the HVAC company and engineer felt was necessary for the space in question. The engineer and HVAC company were emphatic that the space would require the system that was set forth in the plans as the existing facilities would result in a space that was too cold in the winter and too hot in the summer. They were not willing to do substandard work. Complainant decided to blame Above All for issues that were outside of Above All's control and breached the contract with Above All. Above All is entitled to damages and the matter is being handled by the attorneys. Sincerely, Robert A. ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/03/17) */

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Above All Construction has not finished our storm damage job or fixed work that is unacceptable. Yet they are demanding full payment for the job! Above All Construction and its owner, *********** were contracted to complete our storm damage remodel from June 21, 2013. Our home is still under construction and none of the work is completed in the kitchen and the basement remodel has not even begun, yet *********** is demanding full payment for our kitchen contract! I sent him four pictures via text from our kitchen that I wanted fixed. The response I got was I need all my money. Customer Service has gone out the window and the only thing that matters to **** and Above All Construction is money. My wife and I have paid **** over $12,000 and the work is not completed. We want out of our contracts with Above All Construction and no further contact with ***********.

Desired Settlement: We have requested an itemized explanation of where our $12,000 has gone from Above All Construction and ***********. Our contract for the kitchen is $20,000. We have also requested an itemized explanation of where the extra $8,000 is going? We want out of our contracts with **** and Above All Construction. We hope that this can work or we will take legal action to protect ourselves and the quality of work for the remodel completion.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/14) */ ________________ CASE 1D: ******** ~ "i ? 9 YIQ Y ? On July 02, 2014, you provided the following information: Mr ******* signed my contract on 2/24/14 for 20221.49. We began Working after first payment of 6761.29 on 3/21/14. My contract states that there are progressive payments to be made in 30% increments thru out the job. Mr ******* received over 28,000.00 in funds from his insurance company for repairs on property. Payments are to be 30/30/30/10 until completed. Mr ******* has neglected to make proper payments since payment. Second payment Was 1275.48 this was 4096.13 short of proper payment. He Was pushing me to finish project. Third payment Was 2400.00 this is 7762.58 short of bringing contract current. At this point I had no choice but to put job on hold due to lack of payments. There is no excuse for me to finance the project when all funds have been released to Mr ******* have never asked for full payment just progress payments as outlined in my contract.Yes the Work is incomplete but not unacceptable until was adamant about payments Mr ******* has paid me to date 10436.77 on project. And I'm 90% complete.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Above All Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)