BBB Accredited Business since

Metro Home Insulation & Waterproofing

Phone: (763) 441-2313 Fax: (763) 441-6618 View Additional Phone Numbers 5861 Queens Ave NE, Elk River, MN 55330 http://www.metrohomeinsulate.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Home Insulation & Waterproofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Metro Home Insulation & Waterproofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Home Insulation & Waterproofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2004 Business started locally: 03/01/2004 Business incorporated 03/03/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ken Sheldon, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ken Sheldon, General Manager
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation Siding Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Waterproofing Materials Gutters & Downspouts

Service Area
Metro Home Insulation & Waterproofing provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Alternate Business Names
Metro Home Insulation, LLC Metro Home Waterproofing
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Metro Home Insulation, this company offers residential insulation, attics, walls, basement, fiberglass, foam and cellulose and waterproofing.

Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 5861 Queens Ave NE

    Elk River, MN 55330 (763) 441-2313

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our home was built summer/fall 2014. We closed in September of 2014. October 2014 we had Asian Beatles coming in our home through vents and light fixtures. After this went on for a while my husband started looking for possible ways they could be getting in. On inspection he found that there was a hole in the attic that he could look into and see between the upstairs and main floor. After our builder came to inspect it, it was found that Metro Home insulation never completed part of their job. They left the entire rim not insulated. This means our home was not sealed and anything could crawl in. The next step was our builder had an employee assist one of Metro Home's insulators to inspect further. This meant that they went into one bedroom and pulled carpet back and cut a huge hole in the floor to see if there was insulation. This proved the entire rim was not insulated. This meant that all 3 bedrooms upstairs had carpet pulled and hug holes cut into the floor along with 2 closets. This was done on February 17, 2015. It was very cold, below zero and windy. To insulate they had to have the door open the entire day. My furnace ran non stop and my children and I had to huddle in my office to stay warm. There was a 8-10ft section left undone because they couldn't access it from upstairs. They never contacted us back to come finish the job. November 2015 I finally had enough and called because they wouldn't return my builders calls. They wanted to pull my siding off the house, cut a hole in my house and access it that way. I didn't want that so they sent a guy out to look at it again. Their other option is to cut a big enough hole through the attic to send a guy into the truss to spray. The space is small and this seems unlikely that it would work without them coming through our ceiling on accident. The employee left and we have not heard back form them. They won't contact us, all contact has been made by us. This job was signed off on by a Metro Home Insulation employee.

Desired Settlement: The entire job billed was for $883. I would like a refund of $883 for the work left undone. My home being open during extreme cold conditions, for my furnace running nonstop for over 8 hours, the holes being cut into my floors, the carpet being pulled up and not professionally fixed. The inconvenience of the situation and the lack of the company's desire to make this right. I don't want anymore holes cut into my new home, I will not accept that as the only option. I will only accept a full refund.

Business Response:

 

"I write on behalf of Metro Home Insulation, LLC ("MHI") with respect to the above matter. The customer was contacted and this dispute has been resolved".


11/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Metro Home Insulation was negligent in the work it completed on our home, causing damage to the interior and exterior of our home. We built our home in 2006-07, we were the general contractor for our home. We hired Metro Home to install the insulation in our home. We have had hot and cold spots in our home, but for many years we never paid attention. During the winter months, we had ice dams occur on the roof over our master bedroom, we sent a letter to metro home insulation to seek help, noting that with how cold it seemed in our master bedroom, and with the ice dams that it's possible that Metro Home had issues with their installation...we received no response, we assumed that they felt there were no issues and that what we were experiencing was typical. Late in the winter of 2013-14, we had water leak from the area surrounding our first floor fireplace, the issue happened for just a couple of hours and went away, we thought we had an issue with our roof. A few weeks later, I received a call from my wife stating that our smoke detectors were all going off, and that there was water coming from the can lights on our second floor. I went up in the attic and found what can only be described as sounds like running water. The roof deck had solid ice that was melting, and running down into the insulation. We had excessive damage to our ceiling, electrical fixtures, insulation, and other electronics in our home. I did some research, and hired a building science company who came into our home doing a blower door test to check for air infiltration and to inspect our home using an infrared camera looking for leaks of cold air. While they were out looking @ our 2nd floor attic, we had them look at the area around our master bedroom too. The company found that there were areas around our master bedroom had severe cold air infiltration, gaps in insulation, and possible cross-infiltration through framing that was never insulated. In our attic, the company found that Metro Home never properly sealed penetrations through the ceiling, causing warm and moist air to leak into the attic, which would then condense on the roof deck and then freeze into ice. This process in the attic continued for weeks throughout the winter, causing the issue we had when warmer weather arrived in late winter. We reached out to Metro Home Insulation, describing the situation. Metro Home Insulation shirked their responsibility, first saying that we had our humidifier turned up too high. We contacted Honeywell and confirmed that our humidity settings were within acceptable ranges for a healthy home. When Metro Home could not use the humidifier as a defense, they threw up that our letter to them more than 2 years previous was a notification of a problem, and that we were outside the statute of limitations. We sought out help of an attorney (never filed a lawsuit), and we were informed that we were most likely correct, but that we would be looking @ $15,000 or more of legal fees to prove our point. We never made a claim of an issue, we were not sure we had an issue, we just asked that Metro Home reach out to us to help us find out and resolve the problem. Also, the issue with our master bedroom was a completely separate issue from our 2nf floor attic.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking for Metro Home Insulation to honor their obligation to repair their negligent work. We are not seeking any other remedies, just repair the damage, and repair the work. We even offered to purchase some improvements from Metro Home Insulation as part of the repair work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/07) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original document is available using the online complaint system). I write in response to the homeowner's complaint filed with your agency against Metro Home Insulation, LLC ("MHI"). For the purpose of anonymity, as requested by the BBB, the complainant will be referred to as the "homeowner" herein. Contrary to the allegations set forth in the complaint, the actions and conduct of MHI did not give rise to the conditions and resulting damage of which the homeowner complains. It is our belief that the conditions and resulting damage were caused by individuals and entities over which MHI had no control or right of control. In addition, it is our belief and opinion that the humidity level within the home and the failure to properly and adequately remove snow from the roof, which allowed the accumulated snow to block the roof venting and impede proper ventilation, contributed to these conditions and resulting damage. MHI completed its work on the home in July 2007. The first notice of complaint received from the homeowner of which MHI has record is his letter of December 6, 2011. In his letter, the homeowner raises concerns with temperature control in his master bathroom, ice damming, and a frozen water line to the master bath. The MHI employee responsible for response to homeowner concerns at that time is no longer with the company. To the extent the homeowner feels as though the concerns expressed in this letter were not properly addressed, we extend our apologies directly to homeowner. It is our company policy to respond to all such complaints and concerns timely and appropriately. On February 18, 2014, MHI received a call from the homeowner. The homeowner called to inform MHI of the presence and melting of frost at the underside of the roof deck. During this call the homeowner also informed MHI that the indoor humidity level of the residence was set at 36%. MHI sent an employee to homeowner's residence on the same day, February 18, 2014. Upon arrival, the MHI employee noticed that the homeowner had failed to remove snow from the roof. The accumulation of snow at the roof had covered and blocked most of the roof vents. Blockage of the roof vents prohibits or impedes the necessary and proper ventilation of the attic. Lack of proper attic ventilation causes and contributes to the creation of ice dams on the roof. This is even more prevalent with extreme temperatures and elevated snow depths, like occurred in Minnesota during the winter of 2013/2014. MHI explained to the homeowner that the combination of the indoor humidity level and blockage of the roof vents caused or at the very least contributed to the conditions of which the homeowner complained. MHI also requested access to the home for the purpose of conducting a limited inspection of the home's attic. Access was denied by the homeowner. MHI was not made aware of any subsequent inspection or testing nor has any record of any results from the infrared scan and blower door test referenced by the homeowner in the complaint. In any event, according to the homeowner's complaint, the results indicated cold air infiltration at the exterior walls of the master bedroom, gaps in insulation, and possible cross-infiltration through framing at the exterior walls of the master bedroom. Even if true, these results are not conclusive evidence of MHI's fault or liability. As with any residential construction, various trades (electricians, plumbers, mechanical contractors) work within the exterior walls, before and after insulation installation. Not only do these trades make penetrations in and through the exterior walls, all of which if not properly sealed can cause and contribute to hot or cold air infiltration in and through the exterior walls, they may and do manipulate and move the insulation installed within the wall cavity. These other trades may and do fail or forget to replace and/or reattach the insulation thereby leaving a gap in the insulation. It is just as plausible and possible, if the results of the infrared scan are accurate, that one of these other trades moved or manipulated the insulation previously installed by MHI. It is unclear what it meant by "possible cross infiltration through the framing at the exterior walls of the master bedroom". However, as framing members have no to very little insulating quality, it is common for the framing members to demonstrate or show heat loss or transfer. That is not evidence of no insulation or poor workmanship on the part of MHI. Finally, the work performed by MHI at this residence underwent and passed an insulation inspection. If the insulation installed by MHI was deficient at installation, it would not have passed this inspection. It is our belief that all work performed by MHI was code and industry standard compliant. The work of MHI did not cause nor contribute to the conditions complained of by this homeowner. Further, the applicable statute of limitations (2 years from date of notice) bars action by this homeowner. Although unfortunate that the homeowner has experienced the complained of conditions at his home, given the foregoing, we are unwilling to commit to any payment in resolution of this homeowner's complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Home Insulation & Waterproofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)