Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/29/2011

Metro Home Insulation, LLC

Phone: (763) 441-2313Fax: (763) 441-6618View Additional Phone Numbers5861 Queens Ave NE, Elk RiverMN 55330-6472 Send email to Metro Home Insulation, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/29/2011

BBB has determined that Metro Home Insulation, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Metro Home Insulation, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Metro Home Insulation, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Metro Home Insulation was negligent in the work it completed on our home, causing damage to the interior and exterior of our home.
We built our home in 2006-07, we were the general contractor for our home. We hired Metro Home to install the insulation in our home. We have had hot and cold spots in our home, but for many years we never paid attention. During the winter months, we had ice dams occur on the roof over our master bedroom, we sent a letter to metro home insulation to seek help, noting that with how cold it seemed in our master bedroom, and with the ice dams that it's possible that Metro Home had issues with their installation...we received no response, we assumed that they felt there were no issues and that what we were experiencing was typical.

Late in the winter of 2013-14, we had water leak from the area surrounding our first floor fireplace, the issue happened for just a couple of hours and went away, we thought we had an issue with our roof. A few weeks later, I received a call from my wife stating that our smoke detectors were all going off, and that there was water coming from the can lights on our second floor. I went up in the attic and found what can only be described as sounds like running water. The roof deck had solid ice that was melting, and running down into the insulation. We had excessive damage to our ceiling, electrical fixtures, insulation, and other electronics in our home. I did some research, and hired a building science company who came into our home doing a blower door test to check for air infiltration and to inspect our home using an infrared camera looking for leaks of cold air. While they were out looking @ our 2nd floor attic, we had them look at the area around our master bedroom too. The company found that there were areas around our master bedroom had severe cold air infiltration, gaps in insulation, and possible cross-infiltration through framing that was never insulated. In our attic, the company found that Metro Home never properly sealed penetrations through the ceiling, causing warm and moist air to leak into the attic, which would then condense on the roof deck and then freeze into ice. This process in the attic continued for weeks throughout the winter, causing the issue we had when warmer weather arrived in late winter.

We reached out to Metro Home Insulation, describing the situation. Metro Home Insulation shirked their responsibility, first saying that we had our humidifier turned up too high. We contacted Honeywell and confirmed that our humidity settings were within acceptable ranges for a healthy home. When Metro Home could not use the humidifier as a defense, they threw up that our letter to them more than 2 years previous was a notification of a problem, and that we were outside the statute of limitations. We sought out help of an attorney (never filed a lawsuit), and we were informed that we were most likely correct, but that we would be looking @ $15,000 or more of legal fees to prove our point. We never made a claim of an issue, we were not sure we had an issue, we just asked that Metro Home reach out to us to help us find out and resolve the problem. Also, the issue with our master bedroom was a completely separate issue from our 2nf floor attic.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking for Metro Home Insulation to honor their obligation to repair their negligent work. We are not seeking any other remedies, just repair the damage, and repair the work. We even offered to purchase some improvements from Metro Home Insulation as part of the repair work.

Business Response
***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original document is available using the online complaint system).

I write in response to the homeowner's complaint filed with your agency against Metro Home Insulation, LLC ("MHI"). For the purpose of anonymity, as requested by the BBB, the complainant will be referred to as the "homeowner" herein.

Contrary to the allegations set forth in the complaint, the actions and conduct of MHI did not give rise to the conditions and resulting damage of which the homeowner complains. It is our belief that the conditions and resulting damage were caused by individuals and entities over which MHI had no control or right of control. In addition, it is our belief and opinion that the humidity level within the home and the failure to properly and adequately remove snow from the roof, which allowed the accumulated snow to block the roof venting and impede proper ventilation, contributed to these conditions and resulting damage.

MHI completed its work on the home in July 2007. The first notice of complaint received from the homeowner of which MHI has record is his letter of December 6, 2011. In his letter, the homeowner raises concerns with temperature control in his master bathroom, ice damming, and a frozen water line to the master bath. The MHI employee responsible for response to homeowner concerns at that time is no longer with the company. To the extent the homeowner feels as though the concerns expressed in this letter were not properly addressed, we extend our apologies directly to homeowner. It is our company policy to respond to all such complaints and concerns timely and appropriately.

On February 18, 2014, MHI received a call from the homeowner. The homeowner called to inform MHI of the presence and melting of frost at the underside of the roof deck. During this call the homeowner also informed MHI that the indoor humidity level of the residence was set at 36%.

MHI sent an employee to homeowner's residence on the same day, February 18, 2014. Upon arrival, the MHI employee noticed that the homeowner had failed to remove snow from the roof. The accumulation of snow at the roof had covered and blocked most of the roof vents. Blockage of the roof vents prohibits or impedes the necessary and proper ventilation of the attic. Lack of proper attic ventilation causes and contributes to the creation of ice dams on the roof. This is even more prevalent with extreme temperatures and elevated snow depths, like occurred in Minnesota during the winter of 2013/2014.

MHI explained to the homeowner that the combination of the indoor humidity level and blockage of the roof vents caused or at the very least contributed to the conditions of which the homeowner complained. MHI also requested access to the home for the purpose of conducting a limited inspection of the home's attic. Access was denied by the homeowner.

MHI was not made aware of any subsequent inspection or testing nor has any record of any results from the infrared scan and blower door test referenced by the homeowner in the complaint. In any event, according to the homeowner's complaint, the results indicated cold air infiltration at the exterior walls of the master bedroom, gaps in insulation, and possible cross-infiltration through framing at the exterior walls of the master bedroom. Even if true, these results are not conclusive evidence of MHI's fault or liability.

As with any residential construction, various trades (electricians, plumbers, mechanical contractors) work within the exterior walls, before and after insulation installation. Not only do these trades make penetrations in and through the exterior walls, all of which if not properly sealed can cause and contribute to hot or cold air infiltration in and through the exterior walls, they may and do manipulate and move the insulation installed within the wall cavity. These other trades may and do fail or forget to replace and/or reattach the insulation thereby leaving a gap in the insulation. It is just as plausible and possible, if the results of the infrared scan are accurate, that one of these other trades moved or manipulated the insulation previously installed by MHI.

It is unclear what it meant by "possible cross infiltration through the framing at the exterior walls of the master bedroom". However, as framing members have no to very little insulating quality, it is common for the framing members to demonstrate or show heat loss or transfer. That is not evidence of no insulation or poor workmanship on the part of MHI.

Finally, the work performed by MHI at this residence underwent and passed an insulation inspection. If the insulation installed by MHI was deficient at installation, it would not have passed this inspection.

It is our belief that all work performed by MHI was code and industry standard compliant. The work of MHI did not cause nor contribute to the conditions complained of by this homeowner.

Further, the applicable statute of limitations (2 years from date of notice) bars action by this homeowner.

Although unfortunate that the homeowner has experienced the complained of conditions at his home, given the foregoing, we are unwilling to commit to any payment in resolution of this homeowner's complaint.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business installed wet insulation and it is causing health issues for the occupants
I spoke with **** the sales rep and mentioned we had a problem with spray foam insulation and asked him what he would recommend for replacement insulation for a home with high sensitivity. He said that the Owens Corning insulation Batts would be best and guaranteed there would be no health issues assossiated with the product. Metro Home sent 2 non-English speaking or understanding men to install the insulation= I question their understanding and concern of the insulation getting wet. On the day the insulation was installed it was raining, a short time later the sheetrock was installed. I called *** at Metro Insulation and we discussed the insulation getting wet. He said that it would smell like cat urine. That is what the building smells like. Once he realized it was an enclosed building and not likely to get wet from outside factors he wanted Owens Corning to Warranty the product= eventhough it was a bad installation that is causing the problems The insulation, when open to the main structure was causing headaches and upper respiratory issues for the whole family. The 6 year old girl was affected immediately with a headache that caused her to cry and her She was screaming "I can't Breathe Ican't Breathe". I mentioned headaches and repiratory issues with *** but he short to not acknowledge that= I feel he does not care. Metro=ken 1st sent his guy **** out to see what is going on= **** said he did not smell anything/the smell is extremely obvious and he didn't want to claim responsibility. I spoke with *** again and he said he would bring owens corning out to see what is going on with the product. They showed up and I spoke with the metro and owens cornig rep and they said they were here to prove or disprove any claim. (They came to gather information to disprove any claim by their actions.) Metro Insulation had brought a pen recorder and kept pointing it my way to try to record the conversation. Underhanded/lack of honesty The Owens corning Rep went into the building and said he did not smell anything. I told him that I figured he would say that and suggested that they leave. It is a very obvious smell when you walk into the building.
I would suggest not dealing with underhanded people like this

Desired Settlement
I do not want any money from them for the replacement of the product; I want them to remove the bad insulation, replace it, and re-sheetrock the building

Business' Initial Response
***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (full version available online).


Dear Sirs,
Please allow this letter to serve as our response to the complaint file by Mr. Dennis ********* regarding insulation we installed in a new addition to his home on February 26, 2013.
Mr. ********* alleged to *** *******, Metro Home Insulaton's Branch Manager the insulation is emitting odor in a phone conversation the week ofJune 10th. Mr. ******* informed Mr. ********* that he had only witnessed an odor to fiberglass insulation after the insulation had gotten wet. Mr. ********* immediately claimed the insulation had gotten wet because it had rained the entire day the insulation was installed in this new addition of his home. Mr. ******* then informed Mr. ********* the smell he had witnessed had happened many years ago and Owens Corning had changed to a formaldehyde free insulation. He also told Mr. ********* that he had not witnessed any odor since Owens Corning had made this formaldehyde free change to their product.
The week of June 10, 2013 was the first complaint of odor by Mr. *********. This was 14 weeks after the installation was completed. Although there was a substantial amount of time between the original install and the first complaint we scheduled an appointment with Mr. ********* the next day to address his concerns.**********, Production Manager for Metro Home conducted the first inspection. When Mr. **** indicated he could only smell paint and hardwood floors Mr. ********* became agitated and ended the inspection.
A second inspection was arranged with Mr. *********. *** ******* and **** ********, representative with Owens Corning, fiberglass manufacturer met with Mr. ********* on June 27, 2013. Prior to the visit Mr. ******* informed the homeowner it may be necessary to take core samples of the insulation for testing. Upon arrival Mr. ********* informed them they could enter the home and take pictures but no samples. To allow for independent opinions Mr. ******** entered the area in question as Mr. ******* waited outside the room. Within 2 minutes Mr. ******** and Mr. ********* exited the room and Mr. ********* demanded they leave the property. No pictures were taken. Apparently Mr. ******** had stated he could not smell an odor other than that of paint and drywall compound which upset Mr. *********.

Since We have been unable to detect an odor in the room addition and Mr. ********* has refused to allow for proper inspection of the fiberglass insulation such as the removal of core samples we are unable to determine if there is damaged or defective material. As a side note, foam insulation had previously been installed in the room addition by another company and Mr. ********* had that company remove the foam due to odor. Also, the national weather history for the area demonstrates 0.00 precipitation and 0.00 inches of snow on February 26, 2013. The mean temperature was below freezing which would make it highly unlikely that rain would have been in the forecast for the day. Although there is no indication it rained on the day of installation it's important to note Metro Home's insulation is stored in a fully enclosed warehouse. Our vehicles are backed up against the warehouse loading dock to load material and therefore are not subject to the elements. Additionally, fiberglass insulation is fully enclosed in a plastic Wrap that is not removed until after the material is inside the structure to be insulated.
Based on our inspection findings and lack of any supporting evidence produced by Mr. ********* that the insulation installed was damaged or defective we respectively reject Mr. *********' s request to remove and replace the fiberglass insulation. However, if Mr. ********* would like us to complete the inspection by taking core samples of the insulation for testing We will be in agreement with that plan of action for possible resolution.
Sincerely,
************

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is Ms. ****** responding to Metro Insulation. There is a problem with the insulation that was installed. The insulation is emitting a very strong odor. Before anyone has this company - Metro Insulation - come in and install insulation I open up the doors of my family room to you. This is the room that was insulated. The odor in the room will hit you in the face when you open the door. This company comes in and says "We do not smell anything". Let you, the potential clients be the judge of that. You see if you smell anything when you open the door to that room. When you go into the family room. I will let you judge. Then you can decide if you want this for your home. If you want to have this company do work for you. I know mistakes, problems happen which OK, but it is then how you deal with the problem and resolve that problem or issue that matters. The room is unusable because of their product/install. It is causing severe respiratory problems for four people in the home.

This company comes in and says "oh it's the hardwood floors I smell". No. The hardwood floors were installed over three years ago. Try again. They come in and say "oh its sheetrock I smell". No that is not sheetrock you smell. Then they come in again and say "oh, I don't smell anything". There seems to be a lack of honesty on their part. Denial when the truth is right there in front of their noses. It is understandable why Dennis was upset with the way these people handled themselves. They blatantly lied. I said it - lied, about the smell their product is giving off in that room. Maybe Dennis did not handle himself perfectly but it has affected him and his family so negatively that hopefully some consideration can be given to that.

The odor in the family room was noticed right after install. But, the thought was that the smell would go away. It was just assumed that the odor was part of the natural off gassing of the product and in time it would disappear. Could never have guessed that the smell would become stronger and stronger eventually making the room unlivable. The smell has gotten worse over time.

We have always been open to working with Metro Insulation/Owens Corning and letting them and take their samples and doing what they need to do. But obviously they were not there to seek the truth. When they deny there is even an odor (when it is so obvious there is), or blame it on the hardwood floors, the sheetrock, they were not there to find the truth.

I do not know what is wrong with their product or the install, The high temp that day February 26, 2013 was 37 degrees, I personally do not remember if it rained or not but that does not matter - because whatever the circumstances are surrounding the product or install there is something wrong. The family room is unusable. We have sealed the room off from the rest of the house. We even purchased an air exchanger to try to pull their poison air out of our home. All we want from Metro insulation is to remove their poison and replace the sheetrock. We do not want any money from them. We just ultimately want to be able to use our 625 square foot family room.

Again I invite any potential customers to please call me at 612 401-5124 Dennis /Lynn to come into the family room that Metro Insulation insulated - and see if this is what you want for your home. If you would be able to live with this very strong odor, and take the risk to see if you and your children will suffer from severe respiratory problems like I and my family have because of this product/install.

I have the truth on my side. I did not need all the days Metro Insulation took to respond. I did not need the time to consult with my lawyers to find a way to twist the truth. Thank you for reading this - so my voice can be heard.

I have always been open to Metro Insulations offer to come out and take any core samples they may need we are open to them coming out again. We just ask that Metro Insulation/Owen Cornings shows some integrity this time in their approach and testing of the material.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractor - Insulation, Waterproofing Materials, Windows - Installation & Service, Waterproofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/15/2007Business started: 03/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5012
http://www.doli.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ken Sheldon (General Manager)
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation, Waterproofing Materials, Windows - Installation & Service, Waterproofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Metro Home Insulation, this company offers residential insulation, attics, walls, basement, fiberglass, foam and cellulose and waterproofing.

Alternate Business Names
Metro Home Exteriors, Metro Home Waterproofing, LLC
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

If you choose to do business with Metro Home Insulation, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Metro Home Insulation, LLC

5861 Queens Ave NE

Elk River, MN 55330-6472

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5861 Queens Ave NE 

    Elk River, MN 55330-6472(763) 441-2313
    Fax: (763) 441-6618

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Metro Home Insulation, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (763) 428-8115
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractor - Insulation

Attic Radiant Barriers
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.