Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2012

Sunrise Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (612) 333-1195

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased "$1,000 worth of windows for $250" through Living Social. The business will not respond to contact & no service has been provided.
I purchased a deal through Living Social for $1,000 of windows for $250. I paid the $250 in advance on September 28, 2012. I received my voucher the next day and called the number on the voucher provided by Living Social within a week or two.

I spoke with someone at Sunrise Exteriors once. He told me they do not do glass block windows, so I requested a replacement for a basement window and a kitchen window. I was given a verbal ballpark figure of $750 for the basement window and we selected a date for him to come to my house, but not a time.

The employee (owner?) at Sunrise asked me to text him the date and time. I did within a day. He never responded and didn't call or show up on the agreed upon date. I texted again. No response. I called. No return call.

At that point I filed a complaint through Living Social (on 11/17/12). I was advised they were looking into it. I did not hear anything further, so sent another inquiry on 11/26/12 and then again on 12/13/12. I've not heard anything from either Sunrise Exteriors or Living Social.

At this point I would be concerned with any work that might be done, so I'm guessing my money is not refundable and that I have lost the $250. However, I would like a refund if possible, or at least to file this complaint as the services were paid for and certainly not provided, nor did I receive any contact initiated by Sunrise Exteriors at any point in time after they received my advance payment.

This is extremely poor business practice at minimum, a scam at worst.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the $250 paid.

Business' Initial Response
This is a response to the complaint given by Miss ***** ********. I am the owner of Sunrise Exteriors in Minnetonka and this is the first time that I realized there was any type of issue or problem that existed with Miss ********.
All leads through Living Social were given to a Field Manager who is no longer with Sunrise Exteriors. He excepted a job with another company in an unrelated field of work approximately 2 months ago. He never mentioned any appointments that were not handled prior to his leaving.
More important...Miss ******** at no time ever contacted the office or left a message about the situation so the problem could be handled correctly. I in fact looked through all the office records and could not even locate any calls or any data on Miss ********.
Using the information listed on the BBB complaint I have left a voicemail on 12/21/12 stating that she would absolutely receive her $250.00 back, explained the situation, gave my sincere apology, and would like to speak with her. I also left a voice message on 12/27/12 to contact me to make sure I could address the issue.
I have also contacted Living Social to make sure that they know that Miss ******** will be calling and will need her investment returned promptly, which they said it would be absolutely no problem to do.
My biggest regret is that ***** ******** was an unsatisfied customer, but if she would of called the office number...I would have been aware of the problem and I would have handled the issue as a first priority. My goal with my small company is to always put the customer first and do everything in my power to make sure every customer a satisfied customer. I pride myself on the highest Ethics in this industry and I can provide a list of customers that will testify to my professionalism, knowledge, and dedication I have to do things correctly.

At this time I will send an email to the address listed for ***** ******** with the Living Social Customer Care telephone number so she may have her investment returned. (************). It should be noted that dealing with Living Social on the business end has been extremely enjoyable and they have done an excellent job answering the questions that I have had.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business did send me an email after I filed this complaint, advising that they had contacted Living Social and approved a refund. This was fortunate, as when I contacted Living Social they had no record of the owner contacting then in response to my complaint to Living Social, or approving a refund. Living Social accepted a copy of the email as proof that the owner had agreed to release the funds back to me.

Additionally, the information above contains inaccuracies. I did send two text messages and then left a voice mail message at the phone number listed on the business' website. I have cell phone records if it becomes necessary to provide proof that I did, indeed, as a consumer do everything I could to try and get a hold of this company before filing the complaint.

However, I am extremely happy to have received the refund from Living Social and would now like to close the complaint.

Thank you!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Flat Roof, Contractor - Commercial, Soffit & Fascia, Hail Repair, Construction Management, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Shingles, Slate, Home Repair & Maintenance, Insured Property Replacement Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Contractors, Roof Structures, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - General, Construction Estimates, Building Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.