BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Priority Claims Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Priority Claims Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Priority Claims Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/04/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.doli.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 284-5012
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Scott Ohm, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Scott Ohm, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Buildings - Metal Windows Contractor - Commercial Contractor - Sheetrock Contractor - Interior Trim Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling Building Contractors Building Restoration & Preservation Contractors - Ceiling Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Garage Builders Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Roof Structures Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors

Service Area
Priority Claims Service provides their services in ALBERT LEA, APPLE VALLEY, AUSTIN, COTTAGE GROVE, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, GOODVIEW, HASTINGS, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, LAKEVILLE, MANCHESTER, MAPLEVIEW, NICOLVILLE, NORTHFIELD, OAKLAND, OWATONNA, RED WING, ROCHESTER, ROSEMOUNT, SAINT PAUL, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL & WINONA, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Priority Claims Service, this company offers exterior and interior residential and light commercial, agricultural structure, and new construction services.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 101 5th Ave. NW

    Elgin, MN 55932

  • 206 Broadway Ave N

    Rochester, MN 55906

  • 306 Elton Hills Drive NW

    Rochester, MN 55901

  • 80 Main St. W.

    Elgin, MN 55932 (507) 289-3275 (507) 993-7490

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priority Claims replaced my roof in the process of removing shingles on the awning, the awning fell off. I am being charged for the repair, the workmanship on the awning is poorly done, (its slanted and has obvious bows) and incomplete. I have left messages and spoke with Riley ******, I have not had any returned calls. Riley was sent to my house to collect payment. The CONTRACTED work was paid. Payment was withheld until I spoke with Riley. I am being charged for incomplete and unprofessional work. Priority Claims has also sent my account on to a collection agency, Doda ********, after speaking to them over a week ago, explaining the situation, I have not heard from Priority Claims.

Desired Settlement: I would like the awning repaired correctly by June 15th, 2016. If this is beyond Priority Claims' realm of work I would like them to pay the full cost of proper repair of the awning damaged during their work and clear my credit record.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This is in response to the complaint from Mr. ********.

Our company did a roof job for Mr. ********, during the job an awning that was previously incorrectly fastened to the house, fell down.  The entire awning was attached by just a few nails and not securely fastened by screws at all.  When our crew took the metal flashing free the entire awning released from the wall, thankfully not hurting any our crew. Our company then called Mr. ******** immediately to let him know.  I, Scott *** had one of our production managers ask Mr. ******** if he would like us to do the repairs, seeing that it was an inevitable unpreventable event.  Mr. ******** then agreed to $350 for our company to do the repairs. Which consisted of rebuilding the awning and re-shingling it as well. The shingles were already a part of the first initial bid so it was basically $350 for building the awning and securing it to the home (no fascia or soffit was ever discussed). Mr. ******** said he would take care of the painting and electrical wiring.  After doing the work, Mr. ******** would not answer his phone or call us back from messages left.  Mr. ******** would not pay us what was owed including the small amount we charged to put the awning back in place, this went on for months dating back to October 2015.  We eventually sent it to our attorney for collections.  

Note: Our messaging system in our office has three different ways to leave a message, not one was left from Mr. ******** during the months that we tried collecting the final payment. Only now did we know that he had contacted the BBB in an attempt to defame our company, seven months later.

I have attached the invoices and pictures to show our credibility in this matter.

Thank you

Priority

 

 

 

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

Hello ********,

Following my complaint to the BBB, I went to the Priority Claims office and spoke with one of the owners. I was left with the impression that the reason the awning came down was poor construction. Although there's not been any issues with the awning for the 8+ years I've been in my home. I clearly explained the issues with the awning and told that the awning was simply "put back up". And yet I was being charged for materials and labor. 

The owners came to look at the issues I told them about and later called to say they can see what I explained and that they would not charge me for the "work".

Priority Claims is not completing the repair that occurred during the work on my home but no longer charging me for the repair. 

Although they are not charging for incomplete repairs and zeroed the balance owed to Priority Claims, I will have to hire and pay contractor to repair or replace the awning.  

Due to the manner in which the company has handled the claim, my home and me as a consumer, I do not want them to be in charge of any additional work on my home.

I was asked to explain this as a misunderstanding. It was not a misunderstanding, it was poor workmanship and poor customer service. I would never work with this company again or recommend them to anyone.

 

Thanks for your time and assistance with this matter.

****** ********

 

 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Priority Claims Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)