BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Minnesota Home Improvements, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Minnesota Home Improvements, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Minnesota Home Improvements, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1998 Business started: 06/01/1998 Business started locally: 06/01/1998 Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Thomas Borresch, CEO Andy Fischer, President-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Thomas Borresch, CEO
Customer Contact: Andy Fischer, President-Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Doors Windows Kitchen Remodeling Building Contractors Carpenters Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Minnesota Home Improvements, this company offers residential & commercial roofing, siding, doors, and window installations.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Minnesota Home Improvements, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8850 Ridgewood Ct

    Saint Joseph, MN 56374 (888) 363-3305 (320) 363-4435

  • PO Box 248

    Saint Joseph, MN 56374

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have multiple complaints regarding the workmanship of the crew members from Minnesota Home Improvements. Invoice number **** dated 08/09/2012 for re-roof of home and detached garage. Invoice total $17,055.72 with a $0.00 outstanding balance. Invoices numbered **** & **** dated 09/04/2012 for siding house & garage, installing windows, exterior door, patio door and extruded aluminum cladding for garage doors. Invoices totals of $13,348.15 & $10,629.00 with outstanding balances of $4.511.73 & 10,629.00. Invoice number **** dated 10/18/2012 for additional siding not included in original contract. Invoice total $6,370.37 with outstanding balance of $6,370.37. All invoices totaled $47,403.24 with payments of $25,892.14 for an outstanding balance of $21.511.10. We have multiple complaints regarding the workmanship of the crew members from Minnesota Home Improvements. In November of 2012 we notified Sales Rep. **** of a cut in the new patio door glass (later fixed by Pella) as well as the fact that the guys installed the window in the kitchen upside down (they turned it around). In March of 2013 we contacted **** because an electric outlet never got put back together and was hanging out of the wall. The patio door light was never re-installed and the utilities (phone lines, etc) were hanging off the house and need to be secured. In the spring of 2013 we discover many more issues with the job done on our home. The siding was not started low enough on the house and as a result exposed the bottom exterior walls on the garage and part of the house. The siding corners and trim around window were not installed properly (some broken or bent and pulling away from the house) and made the whole job look bad. Some pieces of siding were cut too short others too long. The outlet and fixture boxes were not installed properly. The basement windows were heavily caulked to cover up the fact they did not line up at the top. The rest of the house was never caulked. The new windows and doors did not have drip edge installed. When they installed the garage surround on one of the garage doors it squeezed the frame causing the garage door opener to fail. The other garage surround was scratched during installation, had sharp edges do to them cutting it and lacked the proper molding. The Fascia did not match up around the house and really looked bad. Some of the roof vents were dented. And the screen door on the patio door would not shut and latch properly. We contacted **** and he sent some guys to fix the issues in July 2013. In September 2013 we informed **** we were not satisfied with the fixes as they only covered up the real issues and further proved the incompetence of the workers at Minnesota Home Improvements. We decided to contact some other contractors for their opinions'. As a result of those meetings we questioned **** about whether the house had passed inspection? In Oct 2013 **** informed us that Minnesota Home Improvements did not obtain the necessary permits (roof & siding) and as a result no inspection was done. At this point we believed they broke the contracts with us. They filed a lien against our property for the outstanding balance.

Desired Settlement: In May of 2014 we again met with **** and for the first time, ***, the owner of the company. They agreed with us on many of the items that need to be addressed. They want us to continue working with them but we have lost all faith in the company. At the end of May a Pella Windows Repair person came out to address the screen door that never shut and latched. He told us the door was installed improperly and needs to come out to be re-installed. Our history with Minnesota Home Improvements makes us unwilling to allow them any further repair attempts. We do not feel we owe this company any further compensation. We believe they owe us money to hire a competent crew to re do the job with the proper permits and inspections. We also want the lien removed from our property at the county offices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/15) */ I have offered time and time again to take care of all the necessary repairs for the **********. I explained to them that I have a different siding crew that I will bring out there to fix what is needed along with my personal supervision to make sure things are done correctly. All necessary permits will be pulled and all inspections will be done. The only thing that will not be fixed is where the siding doesn't line up properly from one wall to the next and a piece of flashing was installed to take care of this. I asked Mrs. ********* about this and she ageed to leave it the way is was and I would give her monetary compensation for it, which she agreed too. Re-doing the entire job is not needed and is a complete waste of money and materials in our opinion. There is nothing that can't be fixed with the opportunity to do so with a new crew. I will also re-install the patio door and the lower windows that are not lined up right next to each other which is an issue from the manufacturer that they are willing to take care of as well. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Time and time again we have allowed employees from Minnesota Home Improvements to come back to our home to fix their screw-ups. A "different" crew did come out last year to do a number of fixes the others just did seem to have the skills to do. Yet we still have issue after issue still in need of repair. This company has attempted to fix things and have proven to be incompetent to do so. They have actually left damage to our home in the process. We no longer trust they are the right ones to fix it. When **** came out to our home and was shown the major screw-up of not starting the siding low enough he knew the only way to really fix that was to take off all siding and re-do the job. He came up with the solution of placing flashing under the siding and caulking to seal out the moisture from the ground. After talking with my husband I told the guys NOT to do that because it was not truly fixing the problem. Turns out because of that "fix" any moisture coming down the wall cannot escape and is now trapped by that caulking. This is beside the fact that many other pieces of siding are too long, too short, nailed too tight, twisted or just not right. They want us to allow them to remove this siding and then re install the pieces correctly this time. Mixing in some new siding pieces where necessary. Again, this is something they attempted to fix last year. Fair monetary compensation would be enough to re-side the entire house. We still have the issues with the Fascia, the garage door surrounds, the operation of the door itself, a horrible caulking job, and no drip edge installed on any of the new windows or doors. As well as, a patio door and windows they have already had chances to fix. None of these things are first time complaints. Why should we keep working with them? We want a refund. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/09/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We will pay for the materials & labor for the parts of the job that were done satisfactorily and did not require permits. That being the two windows above the kitchen sink and the windows on each side of the patio door. Also a service door on the attached garage. These are the ONLY parts of this job not in dispute. We will NOT pay for any of the materials or labor done on our home that required permits and county inspections as these were never obtained as clearly stated in our contract with Minnesota Home Improvement as their responsibility. Any person or company obtaining those permits now will be required to fix all issues and pass all inspections. After speaking with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, we believe there are code violations on this job and that in its condition would not pass inspection. We will use the money to redo the job and will not hold Minnesota Home Improvements responsible for any of the repairs. At this time we have held off on filling a complaint with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, however, will do so if the mechanic's lien is not removed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/09/08) */ We are willing to pull the permits needed and fix anything that is required by the county. So not paying for an entire siding job, a patio door that can be re-installed as needed and the 3 basement windows which will be fixed and paid for by the manufacturer of the windows since it was their mistake, does not work for us and quite frankly is ridiculous. I feel our previous offer is in line and quite giving. We feel the owners are not being reasonable in the way they are looking at this situation. If you would like us to pull the permits and do the inspections to determine what needs to be done. So then we can come up with a cost for the repairs and you can determine if you would like a different crew of mine to fix it that would be supervised by me the entire time or hire someone else to do it.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Minnesota Home Improvements, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart