This business is not BBB accredited.

Advanced Home Improvement, LLC

Phone: (763) 424-2979 Fax: (763) 424-3530 9 Central Ave, Osseo, MN 55369 http://www.advancedhomeimprovement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Advanced Home Improvement, LLC include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Home Improvement, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Advanced Home Improvement, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Jeff Tatur, Owner April Tatur, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Jeff Tatur, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Doors Windows Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Home Improvements
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Advanced Home Improvement LLC, this company offers home improvement, roof, deck, siding, window, door, concrete, new addition, garage, interior basement, gutter, and fencing services. They also do interior remodeling.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Advanced Home Improvement, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9 Central Ave

    Osseo, MN 55369 (763) 424-2979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor ordered wrong door. Size, and finish on both sides are wrong. He refuses to give us our money back and pick up incorrect door. On 6/16/15 we contracted Advanced Home Improvements to tear off and rebuild our screen porch. This was to include a new exterior french door to replace the old one we now have. The final estimate of the project was $14550. We gave Jeff ***** $7000 on that day to start the project. Jeff wanted to have his sub contracted carpenter rebuild the porch and make new screen and window inserts. We went on line and found the exact panels we wanted to use and informed Jeff of this. He said that was fine and that we should just order them and when they came in he would start the project. Jeff then re-figured the price of the project and we agreed on the new amount, which deducted the cost of the panels but added a tile floor. The new amount was $13550 of which we already paid $7000 leaving a balance of $6550. The panels came in in on 7/15/15 so we left Jeff a voice message saying they were in. He did not answer that message or several subsequent messages over the next few weeks. He finally got back to us in August and said his carpenter was finishing something up and would start our job next. The carpenter did come in August and got the old porch torn off, new support beams installed and most of the floor tile installed. All through that process I kept trying to contact Jeff to find out about the french door options. Again he did not return my calls, texts,or messages. Finally the first week of September he dropped off pamphlets from Jeld Wen doors and told us to make our choices of finish color etc. We did this right away and again tried contacting him to let him know we had the information ready. We also wanted him to come get all the demo materials out of our driveway. Once again, he did not answer calls or messages for a couple of weeks. He finally contacted us late September and said he would come get the trash and the door info, and he did. A couple days later he contacted us to say he needed some additional money to order the door. We gave him a check for $2450 on 10/9/15. This is a special order door as it is not a standard size, so he said it would take 4 to 6 weeks for the door to arrive. When we never heard from him, we started trying to reach him the second week of November. Again, he did not return our calls for several weeks. At this time his sub contracted carpenter, Mark contacted us to say that Jeff has a lot going on and that he was going to be handling the rest of the project himself. We said fine, because we liked working with Mark and he returned our messages. I kept in touch with Mark and he was checking with Menards to find out when the door would be in, and claimed they could not give him an exact answer. Anyway, 1/4/16 Mark texted me to say the door was in but the frame was cracked, but a new frame is on the way. The frame came in the next day and Mark wanted to come over on Wed, 1/6/16 to install it while we were at work. I asked that he deliver it so we could make sure it was what we ordered as I did not trust Jeff. He did that and when we saw the door we found that the exterior finish was not the color we ordered, the interior was not even finished and was not the wood we ordered, and to top it off it was the wrong size! We then went to Jeff's office and asked to see the original order for the door to see what exactly he ordered. He did produce the purchase order from Menards dated 11/12/15, more than a month after we gave him the money for the door. He told us he could have Mark finish the interior for us and he could also paint the exterior any color we wanted. I reminded him the size was wrong and he said he could make it work. We told him we are not accepting the door as it is not what we wanted him to order. He is the one who measured the door so the wrong size is totally on him. We have informed Jeff that we were going to contact the BBB and he is now texting several times per day trying to convince not to involve you. We want to be done with him and want our $2450 back so we can order the correct door.

Desired Settlement: I want to be totally done with Jeff ***** and Advanced Home Improvements. We want the $2450 that we gave him to order the door refunded to us and we want him to pick up the incorrect door and extra frame that has been sitting in our incomplete porch since 1/6/16.

Business Response: In order to resolve the situation with Mr. & Mrs. *******, Advanced Home Improvements proposes the following:

Mr. & Mrs. ******* still have an open balance due on their project in the amount of $2,450.00. The door we purchased cost $2,669.47. We will come pick up the door.

This project is over 90% completed. There is work that has not been performed which we will be willing to deduct from their contract (installation of door, trim and approx 60 sq ft of tongue & groove). When we deduct the balance due to Advanced Home Improvements, and the work we did not perform, the *******'s will be due a credit of $1,250.00.

We hope that this will resolve the complaint. Any questions, please contact Jeff ***** ###-###-####.

Thank you.

Business Response: As previously stated, Mr. & Mrs. ******* still have an open balance due on their project in the amount of $2,450.00. In order to resolve this complaint we will zero out their job balance, and offer a refund in the amount of $1,950.00. Advanced Home Improvements will then be out $4,400.00 total on this project. We believe a refund of $1,950.00 is fair.
We hope that this will resolve the complaint. Any questions, please contact Jeff ***** ###-###-####.
Thank you.

Consumer Response:

2/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete patio job was poorly done. Company was contracted to install new deck and concrete patio. The deck looks great but they did a poor job on concrete. They started the project the week of October 12th 2015 and completed it the week of the 23rd. The concrete dips in spots, water is able to sit in puddles where seams are and it's possible water can get in cracks near house foundation which could lead to bigger issues down the road; plus crack the concrete. I paid $11,200 for the entire project via checks in three installments.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is a refund in the amount of half of what I paid for the entire project or for the company to pay another company of my choosing to redo the concrete project entirely.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/24) */ Advanced Home Improvements is willing to redo the outer portion of the concrete and fix the concrete against the house for the homeowner in order to remedy this situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not except their response due to the amount of stress I was put under during the time of the project. I received two consultations from other contractors on the extent of how poorly the job was done and would not feel comfortable having Advanced Home Improvement out at my home again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/12/02) */ That sounds fine - if we can mutually agree on a contractor and their pricing we can make that work. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 30, 2016/01/11) */ Before I can agree to this offer I would like the name and contact information for the contractor you plan to use and a list of references for them so that I can have them come out and discuss with me a plan and make sure what you are suggesting is possible being as the concrete I have has never been level. If after discussion with "separate contractor" I decide to move forward with this offer I would like to have a binding contract in place with set dates of this project and design so that there is no "grey areas" on when, what and who should be doing things and that the work is done correctly with the (stamped)design I have chosen. I would also like to request that the warranty you are offering covers all areas: labor, materials, wear and tear and that it be for 8 years instead of 5 being this wouldn't be a brand new construction but merely a face lift.

2/2/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We gave Advanced Home Improvements a $23,694 downpayment to complete a basement remodel. No work has been done and AHI has not refunded any money. My wife and I paid Advanced Home Improvement $23,694.00 by check as a downpayment to finish our basement on 2-28-15. We cancelled the contract on 3-18-15 at 5:00 pm after talking to the city of St. Michael and discovering that no permits had been pulled and we would be subject to a fine if we allowed AHI to begin work on 3-23-15 without those permits. The city of St. Michael said the processing time for this permit would be 3 to 5 business days. To this day we have been unable to get AHI to refund any of our money or to do the basement remodel. Multiple attempts have been made to have them do the work or settle.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a full refund of the $23,694.00 downpayment as Advanced Home Improvements breached the verbal start date of 3-15-15, and was going to start work on 3-23-15 without having pulled the proper permits.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/07) */ Advanced Home Improvement thanks you for the opportunity to reply to Mr. ******'s complaint. We take our rating with the Better Business Bureau very seriously. Mr. ****** filed a complaint with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The Department held "it would appear there is insufficient information evidence of a statutory violation . . . Therefore, we are closing our file." The facts of the relationship between Advanced Home Improvement and Mr. ****** are straightforward. 1. A proposal was submitted on February 9, 2015 by Advanced Home Improvement to Mr. and Mrs. ****** to perform construction work totaling $59,235.00. The proposal was modified and accepted by Mr. and Mrs. ****** on February 22, 2015. 2. A down payment check was issued by Mr. and Mrs. ****** with instructions not to cash the check until a specific date. The check was not cashed until that date. 3. The ******s check did not clear the bank, despite Advanced Home Improvement depositing the check on the date instructed. 4. The check was redeposited and it did clear the bank. 5. On March 18, 2015, Mr. ****** sent a text to Jeffrey ***** stating, "Jeff, we r sic going a different direction. I would like to talk to you tomorrow about a refund. I will pay you for the permits if you have pulled them. 6. On March 19, 2015, Mr. ****** sent a text noting, "I talked to Darcy (Ms. ******) and we are moving a different direction. I would like to pick up our deposit money today." 7. Mr. ****** stated, on the 19th, he was moving in a "different direction" based on not receiving a breakdown even though he had signed a contract and Advanced Home Improvement was ready to perform its contractual obligations. 8. However, Mr. ***** had pointed out to Mr. ****** he had the breakdown on the 18th and the breakdown was not an issue when Mr. and Mrs. ****** agreed to the terms of the contract in the first place. 9. Additional texts were exchanged including Mr. ****** noting the consequence of his decision to breach the contract with Advanced Home Improvement. He wrote, "At this point, I would rather lose the $23k than let you step foot in my house." 10. At no point did Mr. ****** or Ms. ****** raise a concern that Advanced Home Improvement attempted to start work on the home remodeling project before the required local building permits were obtained. Mr. ****** has attempted, for reasons unknown, to escape the obligations of a contract with Advanced Home Improvement. He first tried to simply walk away from his contractual obligations undertaken by him and his wife. He has attempted to use the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry to escape his contractual obligations. He now has moved on to the Minnesota Better Business Bureau. Mr. ****** is correct Advanced Home Improvement had not pulled the necessary permits. However, the permits were not pulled solely because the ******s cancelled the contract. Mr. ****** never mentioned the lack of permits being pulled as being the reason he cancelled the contract at the time he unilaterally chose to cancel the contract in March of 2015. In fact, he offered to pay for the permits at the time he cancelled the contract. Likewise, Mr. ****** made no mention to the Department of Labor and Industry he cancelled his contract with Advanced Home Improvement due to the lack of permits. In the Complaint to the Better Business Bureau, Mr. ****** states, for the first time, he cancelled the contract because no permits were pulled. Advanced Home Improvement is entitled under Minnesota law to its expectation damages incurred as a result of the breach of contract by the ******s. Minnesota law recognizes these expectation damages to be the profits that the non-breaching party reasonably expected to earn if contract had been performed. The ******s have attempted, for reasons unknown, to escape the obligations of a contract with Advanced Home Improvement. This complaint is a second attempt to leverage Advanced Home Improvement into waiving the damages it is entitled to under Minnesota contract law. The civil dispute continues between the parties and a number of settlement offers have been exchanged. However, a civil dispute of this nature where one party openly and brazenly breaches its contractual obligations should not result in an finding against a non-breaching party to enable the breaching party an advantage in civil litigation. The evidence in support of Advanced Home Improvement's Contentions is attached. Please contact the undersigned with any questions. *ind regards, Jeff ***** President Advanced Home Improvement Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I find it very amusing that Mr. ***** takes his rating with the BBB "very seriously" considering AHI's checkered past with the Department of Labor (DOL). He must not care as much about what the DOL thinks about his company Advanced Home Improvements. The commissioner of labor advised AHI on multiple occasions that they were prepared to commence administrative proceedings against AHI based on allegations from consumer contracts that violated MN statues, engaged in a fraudulent, deceptive or dishonest practice and failed to comply with a certified building officials correction notice. These records are available via the DOL website as they are public information. AHI was fined by the DOL in all instances. *ey words used by the DOL in the consent orders against AHI are fraudulent, deceptive or dishonest practice. These consent orders were all signed by Jeffrey W ***** of AHI. My belief is that most contractors who claim to care about their rating as much as Mr. ***** states he does and are doing business the right way don't have DOL consent orders against them or have been fined by the State of Minnesota. We are not arguing that a contract was in place and as a matter of fact we tried unsuccessfully to get AHI to honor the contract that had been signed February 22, 2015 and were ready to sign a new agreement with AHI that would have allowed them to complete our basement remodel. On May 27, 2015 a letter was sent to AHI demanding that they honor the contract and begin work once appropriate permits had been pulled. Revisions for the work that AHI would be doing were exchanged between May 2015 and August 26, 2015. Our final communication with Jeff August 26, 2015 at 12:35 pm stated that we were willing to sign a new agreement with AHI provided that work that was verbally agreed upon was added to the contract and that we were able to meet with the plumber to discuss the location of the waste line. At this point AHI must have decided that they didn't need to do the work and have been seeking damages. This is ironic that AHI feels entitled to lost profits when they did have the opportunity to do the work if they had added the changes requested to the new contract. Mr. ***** states "that he had not pulled the necessary permits and that the permits were not pulled solely because we cancelled the contract". We cancelled the contract on March 19th after 6:00 pm after talking to the City of St. Michael earlier in the day and discovering that Jeff had not pulled any permits. According to the City of St. Michael the time needed to get the appropriate permits was at a minimum 3-4 business days. According to the City of St. Michael there was no way that Jeff could have the appropriate permits in place on Monday March 23, 2015 his contracted start date. We also discovered that the City of St. Michael keeps a log book of every call/conversation that occurs with a contractor. Jeff had stated that on April 7, 2015 he had spoken with Paul *****, the building official who signs off on plans for the City of St. Michael. After my wife Darcy talked with Paul ***** and him checking the log book Paul let her know that this communication never occurred. He spoke with one contractor regarding a deck that day but no basements and did not have a conversation with Jeff *****. The City of St. Michael told my wife at this point Thursday March 19, 2015 that we should not allow Jeff *****, AHI into our home on Monday March 23, 2015 to start work or we would be subject to fines. Advanced Home Improvements had 19 business days since the contract had been signed and had not pulled a permit or even talked to the City of St. Michael regarding a permit. Mr. ***** indicates that we made no mention of this to the DOL which is incorrect. (See attached complaint to DOL number #2). Either way you look at this AHI would have been in breach of the contract. It was impossible for him to obtain the necessary permits in 1 business day to honor his contract start date of March 23, 2015 and according to the contract he was to pull the permits. Mr. ***** also says that in our complaint to the BBB, "Mr. ****** states, for the first time, he canceled the contract because no permits were pulled". My wife had been checking with the City everyday that week to see if the appropriate permits had been pulled which they hadn't. I don't know how to take or answer this statement as permits were required to begin work. Mr. ***** indicates that a number of settlement offers have been exchanged. This statement seems to indicate that multiple offers were received which is incorrect. One settlement offer was received June 15, 2015 and ironically the next one that was received was on December 9, 2015 the same day that he replied to this complaint. He has in our opinion been dragging this issue out. AHI breached the initial verbal start date of March 15, 2015 and would have been in breach a second time March 23, 2015 because AHI didn't have the appropriate permits and couldn't them in time. If we had allowed him to start work we would have been subjected to fines from the City of St. Michael. This doesn't sound like a contractor who cares about his BBB rating. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2016/01/11) */ ***Document Attached*** Mr. and Mrs. ****** admit they "cancelled the contract on March 19th" and assert it was because Advanced Home Improvements had not pulled permits. The ******s state, in their submission to the Better Business Bureau, that they were certain Advanced Home Improvement had not pulled the necessary permits. However, on March 18, 2015, Mr. ****** sent a text to Jeffrey ***** stating, "Jeff, we r sic going a different direction. I would like to talk to you tomorrow about a refund. I will pay you for the permits if you have pulled them." At the time the contract was cancelled, the ******s clearly indicate the contract was cancelled for reasons unknown and totally unrelated to whether permits were or were not pulled. At the point the ******s chose to cancel the contract, Advanced Home Improvement was legally entitled to damages under Minnesota law. The ******s then demanded Advanced Home Improvement honor the contract the ******s had cancelled. Realizing their mistake, the ******s agreed to sign a new agreement with a modified scope of work for Advanced Home Improvement to perform. Advanced Home Improvement is entitled to recover its expectation damages incurred as a result of the ******s admitted breach of contract in March of 2015. As noted previously, Minnesota law recognizes Advanced Home Improvement's expectation damages to be the profits that AHI, as the non-breaching party, reasonably expected to earn if contract had been performed. Advanced Home Improvement is not required to reduce the work it contracted to do, as requested by the ******s, thus reducing its profit from the project, simply because the ******s, as the breaching party realized their mistake by cancelling the contract. The Better Business Bureau, with all due respect, is not the place to resolve this dispute given the issues of law in dispute between the parties. Paul V. *******, Of Counsel ********************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2016/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The above question asks if I accept the response from the business. My reply is no, as the reply is not from the business but from Paul ******. I did not enter into an agreement to do a remodel project with Paul ****** unless he has since purchased Advanced Home Improvements and I was not told of this transaction. The contract between us (******'s) and Advanced Home Improvements was cancelled on March 19th, 2015 because Advanced Home Improvement had not pulled any permits to begin work in our home on Monday March 23, 2015. Mr. ****** is correct in saying that we were certain that Advanced Home Improvement had not pulled the necessary permits. The reason this is true is that my wife Darcy had been checking with the city of St. Michael (Paul *****) almost everyday for the prior week to us cancelling the contract to see if Paul ***** had heard from Jeff ***** and he had not. I did text Jeff that we would pay him for the permits if he had pulled them knowing fully that he had not. The intent was to see if Jeff would lie to us as he had on multiple occasions and say that he had. Mr. ****** states that Advanced Home Improvement was legally entitled to damages under Minnesota law. We have been trying to settle this issue or get Advanced Home Improvement to do the work for almost a year with no luck. Even Mr. ****** cannot argue that Advanced Home Improvement is entitled to $23,694.00 in damages. At this point it is becoming a criminal act that Advanced Home Improvement has kept the entire deposit and made no effort to return any of the deposit. Mr. ****** states that we demanded Advanced Home Improvement honor the contract. This is true. No mistake was made Mr. ******. At this point we were trying to get some value out of Advanced Home Improvement through them doing some work since it appears that they are refusing to give us any of our deposit back. Mr. ****** again states that Advanced Home Improvement is entitled to recover expectation damages incurred as a result of the breach of contract. A logical question would be what about the damages the ******'s are entitled to due to the two breaches of contract on Advanced Home Improvements part? Are we not entitled to damages due to the verbal breach of contract of Advanced Home Improvement not starting on March 15? The second breach of contract of not pulling any of the required permits to begin work on March 23? According to the city of St. Michael (Paul *****) the city would not have granted Advanced Home Improvement the required permits in time for them to begin work on Mark 23, 2015. Again Mr. ****** how about a reasonable settlement offer that includes Advanced Home Improvements damages vs stalling and keeping the entire deposit. Unfortunately I would disagree with Mr. ****** and say that the Better Business Bureau is the place to get this information out to the general public so that the consumers of Minnesota understand the business practices of Advanced Home Improvement.

12/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AHI Company failed to deliver the service that they were contracted to do and in the end, left unfinished job and damaged results. I hired Advanced Home Improvement (AHI) on 7/7/15 to remodel my 6.5x7.8 bathroom within 2 wks so I asked the owner/Mr. ***** (Jeff) to add to the contract before I hired him.I make 3 payments for the total amount of $4800 to complete.7/7-Gave payment of $2000.7/20-Job was to start/was supposed to be completed no later than 8/3 which was the 2 weeks that was agreed upon.7/21-H guy came to remove original tile, tub, toilet, drywall, vanity, etc.&discard debris.7/21-7/31 H guy still working on items listed above.7/31-Notified Jeff asking him where's the plumber to get tub removed.No response.8/3-Sent text to Jeff telling him that I was concerned with the project&the pace it was going & wanted to know how much longer b/c I was having a party of 50 people on 8/8 & wanted the bathroom completed. No response.8/4- Jeff responded to my text sent 8/3 stating that the tub was going to be out that day & the tile process to begin.The tile guy & the plumber finally showed up to remove tub&start the tile process.8/5-Jeff comes by the house 1st thing in the morning&requested the 2nd payment of $1400.I told him that it was not due until Fri but if he really needed it, I could give it to him early.He said yes, so I wrote him a check.That eve after workers left, I called Jeff as workers did not clean up their work. 8/7-2nd completion deadline 8/12-Sent Jeff text asking when the tile guy&plumber will return as I had not seen anyone in 2 days. Jeff responded that H guy had to finish the drywall first & they would be back tomorrow.8/14-Sent Jeff text that I had not seen anyone in 2 days&wanted the bathroom completed. Jeff responded that H guy would be there today.I asked if the sink&toilet would be installed&he did not respond.8/15-Asked Jeff who was grouting the tub&that I wanted the plumber&tiler back over there.I told him I did not want him to send H guy over there again just to pacify us. I demanding he tell me if the work was going to be completed within the next week, he did not respond.Instead, he sent H guy over to grout the tiles.8/18-Tile guy called me to tell me that he was on his way over to grout tiles&I informed him that H guy had come over on Sat after I notified Jeff. The tile guy was very upset at work that was done by H guy & told me it was going to cost another $600-$1000 to correct mistakes made. He quit that day because of the poor job H man did.I told Jeff I was unhappy with the experience&horrible grouting etc.& that I had already given him $3800 for a poor unfinished job.Told him I want it all done by EOD, 8/21.He responded/agreed that it would be done by with that timeframe.8/19-Pipes were leaking from the vanity after H man installed them so I notified Jeff&told him that I want a licensed plumber to fix the pipes&to hook up all hardware that pertained to water.He responded & said, yes, I will call one over.8/20-H guy shows up&said that Jeff sent him instead of plumber to install everything.I was not happy.I notified Jeff asking him to install hardware&install lights,&he said that he would be back later that day or 1st thing in morning. I also asked him if downstairs ceiling would be repaired by EOD tomorrow&he said "Yes".8/21-Contacted Jeff at 11:53am asking where he was, no response.H guy came by&installed all hardware&fixed the leak from the vanity, he said that we could finally use the shower, but the bathroom was still not 100% completed.I Notified Jeff that another deadline passed& bathroom was not complete.That eve,a huge leak started & ran into the bathroom downstairs.I notified Jeff to tell him as well as that I had a horrible experience w/ his co.&his work&told him that his services were no longer needed.He responded that was fine.I have photos, video of all of the unfinished/poor work, mistakes, damage, that has been done.I will have to hire another contractor to finish the work/clean up&would like some of my money back to accommodate the unfinished work that I will have to pay someone else to complete.

Desired Settlement: I would like $1700 back from the $3400 that I already paid for. The money I receive back would cover the following repair costs... Repair ceiling, tile/grout repair, vanity and wall repair that the workers also created during installation, water damage due to leak, install light fixtures, and clean up and debris removal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/01) */ First, I want to respond to this complaint by letting you know that **** is the co-worker of one of my best friends. She was referred to me by him. I have read through all of the allegations and comments and can only respond to this by stating facts and the truth. Before I state anything; her bathroom is 95% finished and looks amazing. The tile on the floor and tub walls is something we are very proud of. The job started on the dated listed; however, the scope of work changed dramatically. Originally, we were not tearing anything out. This was added in along with many other items throughout the duration of the project. We tore out her tiled walls and ceramic tub. 1) **** was to supply all the materials for this project, except the durarock. Many things weren't there and we needed to make trips to pick them up. 2) It was stated in the that Jeff was picking up a progress check early. The job was well over half done and we worked out a payment plan so they could afford to do this job. My final check was not to be due until a month after the job would have been done. 3) **** stated that the tile grout was bad and going to cost $600-$1,000 to fix. This statement was made without her being in any conversation. The grout had not been wiped clean yet. After the grout was cleaned, it looked great. She is stating things that were never said. She also stated that the installers quit, which is also false. They worked there the whole day, and still work for me today. 4) **** sent a text terminating the agreement with a balance of $1,400.00 left. 5) We made a small hole in the downstairs bath ceiling to get to the tub plumbing. There were multiple holes already in the downstairs bathroom made from a different company or homeowner. **** asked us to fix. This work was not included in the contract price. 6) As stated in her complaint - she asked AHI not to return. 7) That is why the job is unfinished - We had always intended on going back to complete the work. 8) We are always open to come fix things that need to be corrected. Even with past customers. As of today, the total bills for her project (labor & material) are $3,925.00 . At this point; we can take the profit loss on this job and she can keep the balance due, which is $1,400.00. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***See attached photos. I think what hurts the most is that the owner of Advance Home Improvement is not manning up to his mistakes and is trying to make me, the consumer, look as if I am lying. First, there is no reason what so ever for me to make these things up. I contacted the BBB for a reason and that reason is because of the horrible experience I had with this company and the poor/sloppy job they did on my bathroom as well as not complying with the contract. His workers even seemed unhappy with him and how he conducted his business, not just with me, but with them and other customers just based on some of the things they have told me while working on this project. Here are my responses to the owner who after 3 attempts from the BBB to contact them, has not responded back to them until now. I will try to respond in the order of his response to the BBB. He stated that the scope of work changed dramatically and that is not true. The contract was originally created by Jeff on 5/10/15 and it did state that we would be doing the tear out of the tub etc., however, after Jeff contacted me in early July to follow up to see if we were still interested, he asked me what he can do to get the work. So after that discussion, I re-negotiated with him and told him that if he'd do the tear outs, and if he can get the project done within 2 weeks, he could have the job. He agreed and I asked him to put that into a contract. He then added that to the original (See exhibit A). 1) I supplied everything for this job to be completed, including my own ladders, stepstools, wheelbarrow, buckets, trash can, etc. in which the workers did not have or bring with them when they arrived. If the workers had to leave and pick up additional material, I was unaware of that until now. I do know they left during the lunch hour on the days that they were working, but never informed me or anyone in the household that they needed something additional for the project. 2) When Jeff arrived on 8/5/15 to pick up his check and stated that the job was "Well over half done" that is not true. The tub, toilet and sink were just removed on 8/4/15 and the plumbing, tiles, etc. were still not completed, so not sure why Jeff is stated that. 3) I received several estimates on the grouting that needed to be re-grouted and done correctly. One of them was from his own Tile guy, which is the same one that put in the tile. Jeff is the one that was not in the conversation because it was in my house and I was there. I also received another estimate from another contractor not related to this project and received the same ballpark estimate that Jeff's guy gave me. I stated that the tile guy quit that day, but was referring to my project; he told me personally that he was going to quit. It doesn't matter to me one way or another if he left Jeff or not. I just know that he was very upset and never came back to clean up the poor grouting that H guy did. The tile guy apologized to me before he left and told me that Jeff better make this right for me. He told me that he hated that I was going through this and that he was truly sorry. That was kind of him but I expected this to come from Jeff. Yes, some of the grouting was wiped clean, but most of grouting had dried, so it left hard, dry residue on my freshly painted walls, and in the creases and cracks of the tile. There were also quite a few uneven applications from the grouting (see exhibit E and F). These photos are how my bathroom looks today. I will have to re-paint the walls because I tried to remove the grout/residue smears, but they do not come off. The tile, as stated before will cost $600-$1000 to remove the grout and re-grout it correctly. 4) I did indeed fire/terminate AHI on 8/21 because they broke the contract that we had. The contract stated that they would be complete in 2 weeks and they did not complete it. It also stated that the walls would be paint ready and that did not happen. Too many mistakes were being made and Jeff did not step in and help the situation. We no longer trusted him at that point. 5) Jeff stated that there were already multiple holes in the ceiling. That is also untrue. We had one other hole in the ceiling that was nowhere near the holes that they created. The hole is located over the toilet and our insurance company covered that, so I never asked him to fix the hole and there would be no reason to. I only expected him to fix the holes that he put in the ceiling to get to the pipes, which is standard. The 2 large holes they created are nowhere near "small" holes as he stated (See exhibit J). The job is unfinished because Jeff did not fulfill the contract. We severed ties on 8/21 that is one full month after the job started. Do the math. At this point, the holes were not patched up, the floors, tile and walls, still were not clean, other hardware such as bathroom light, towel rack and etc. was still not installed like we were told it would be. Jeff said that he was proud of the work they did, but is he really? Would you be proud of this? (See exhibits C, D, K and J)The tile was initially installed correctly and looked great, until it was grouted incorrectly and sloppy. Like I stated before, there were too many issues and mistakes that were made. They did a very sloppy job. Every day, they left materials all over the place; they left dust, debris on the floor and a mess in my finished bathroom on the lower level. We even found tools left up inside the holes in the ceiling that they made. I don't think anyone would allow someone like this company, back into their home after so many mistakes including leaving a major water pipe unhooked, and allow it to create water damage (See exhibit K). I think that was really the last straw because the water leakage created a mess! The only reason that Jeff was open to make things right with me is because I made this complaint with the BBB. He texted me on 9/1 telling me that he would take the complaint away and we can work something out, really? (See exhibit B) He was more worried about the complaint and how his business looked, then my experience and how upset I was. Any numbers as far as his estimate of labor and material are false. I do not believe he took a loss, on this project because for almost 1 month, he had someone working on most of the work, that performed/worked very slow and insufficient as well as having to do over, multiple mistakes that were made during the project. That is not my issue that is Jeff's call. If he took any losses, it was due to poor work that needed to be re-done, or poor time management and pace. I am the one that lost out and this project. I will spend a lot more money cleaning up and correcting his mistakes. My bathroom is very small, two weeks to finish this project was well enough time. I noticed there is another complaint under Jeff's company from another customer that experienced many similarities with her bathroom that I did.

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original cement patio was installed improperly. Trying to get company to fix. No show & horrible communication. Summer of 2013 Advance Home Improvement did a tear down & build a new deck, redo retaining walls, add drain tile & poured new cement patio & stairs. Paid thousands of dollars for work. Winter of 2013/2014 cold weather made cement patio heave. Bent screen door, door frame & siding. Called owner. Came out spring 2014 he said 'let's wait another year to see if it happens again." We agreed. Winter 2014/2015 it happened again only much worse this time. Whole door frame, siding and screen door broken. Contacted owner March 2015 told him needs to come & take a look when snow melts. He did & said he would fix it. It's been a downhill battle since then. We contacted him numerous times. He spoke to us a couple of times & came to look. On 8/18/15 (we were not home) he came out one day for a few hours to break away some cement & the next day someone came to clean up cement chunks. But before they came to clean up they left all the dirt and chunks of cement right in front of the door. If we would have had a fire we would not have been able to get out that door. Haven't heard from him since.He still needs to finish the cement, door frame, siding and we bought a new screen door (our expense) for him to put on. The old one is so broken it can't be used again. The owner is not responding to our phone calls and email any longer. We stop in his office and he is not there but office girl is. She says she tells the owner our concerns but we still never hear from him. Because of the broken frame/door and siding and everything else I have mice getting in my house as well as all sorts of bugs and even a toad-yes I said a toad!! I have mouse traps all over the place. I had to hire Orkin and they come every two months (another expense). Also, my 86 year old father-in-law lives with us. He lives downstairs. He is disabled. He has a prosthetic leg and uses a walker. Very unstable. When my wife and I are at work he is able to let the dog out that door however now with the cement missing and all the rocks and dirt he is having trouble. We actually had to go to Home Depot and buy a piece of plywood so we could make a walkway/plank for him to walk on so he can get outside. I am very worried he will slip off the plank and fall and hit his head or get wedge between the house and the cement where it has been removed. It dangerous for him. The plank can only be the width of the door because it has to have a place for it to rest. We are at a loss of what to do. We have been very patience with him through all this. He even asked us to contact the guy that installed the patio and complain to him. I don't think it's our place to do that. Jeff is the owner and it is his responsibility to make this right. The couple times he did show up it was unannounced and he never even came to the door to let us know he was there or call us. We spent a lot of money on this and we expect him to make this right. We are not impressed by the way he is fixing it because it is not very nice looking. The ideal fix would be to redo the patio completely because that is what we originally paid for. With the jack hammering that was done now there are additional cracks in the patio. We paid him $15,500 for the entire project, deck, walls and patio. We do not have this kind of money again to hire someone else to fix his job.

Desired Settlement: We want the company to show up on a agreed day & time. We want to actually be on the schedule. We do not want him to show up one day and then dissappear for 3 weeks. We want communication. I want everything we discussed fixed and fixed the right way and to make it look as nice as possible. We want him to warranty/stand behind his work. We have never had an experience like this before. We have wasted so many vacation days waiting for him to show up. I feel he now owes us for the screen door, Orkin and our time but we will be happy if he can just fix the patio, door frame, our house siding and install the new screen door. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/18) */ Jeff said the work will be done by next Thursday, September 24th. Thanks! ***copied and pasted from email. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) we accept the response but we have heard this before for him. He is always promising to come out and make the repairs. It will be wonderful if he gets the repairs done by the September 24th. That is acceptable and that is all we ever wanted. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/10/20) */ AHI was prepared to complete the repairs on the project by the previously discussed date. A few days prior to us doing so, we were notified by the homeowner NOT to complete the repairs because they had a city inspector out and the city was going to write up a letter instructing how the repairs should be made - which ended up being exactly what AHI had planned on doing in the first place. So yes; the work was delayed per the homeowners request. We have had someone on their project every day since the 15th; we are dealing with these repairs as quickly as we can as we had to re-schedule them. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 37, 2015/11/23) */ From: *************** (mailto:***********@comcast.net) Sent: Monday, November 23, 2015 11:52 AM To: *********** <**********@gmail.com> Cc: ************** <**************@thefirstbbb.org> Subject: Re: Patio-********* Sounds good, thanks Sent from my iPhone On Nov 23, 2015, at 9:32 AM, *********** <**********@gmail.com> wrote: Harold will be out tomorrow to get that taken care of. On Mon, Nov 23, 2015 at 9:30 AM, *************** <***********@comcast.net> wrote: Wonderful, thank you. Sent from my iPhone On Nov 23, 2015, at 8:09 AM, *********** <**********@gmail.com> wrote: Yes, someone will be out this week, should be done by thanksgiving. Thank you On Nov 20, 2015 5:58 AM, "***************" <***********@comcast.net> wrote: Good morning, Checking to see when someone will be out to fix the siding and the bottom of the screen door. Please let us know, thanks, Debby Sent from my iPhone ***copied and pasted from email, aca.

11/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service I received for my bathroom remodel did not follow the agreed timeline, was in poor quality, and caused damage to my bathroom. I was told my bathroom remodel, including a new shower surround and shower head and faucet, from Advanced Home Improvements would begin at 8am on Wednesday, May 21st, 2014 and be completed in one day. By 9am that day no one had arrived and I had not received a phone call, so I placed a call to **** ***** to ask if he was still planning on coming. He said he was running late and would be there later. The remodel stretched over 4 days, each time with **** arriving 1 to 5 hours late, usually without a phone call to let me know. I understand that things come up, however, I own my own business and each day and each hour I had to wait for someone to arrive without a phone call to tell me they were going to be late or weren't coming was time spent away from my business and my money lost. There were damages made, none which were brought to my attention or repaired, and when I noticed them on my own I had to call **** back to "fix" them. He patched two holes but left them unpainted, leaving that responsibility on me, and two other holes I discovered after the fact that he never mentioned or fixed. Other parts of the project were poorly executed, with messy caulking (it's already starting to peel up in some places), and loose and crooked fixtures, such as the faucet that isn't on straight and wiggles. There was caulking left all over my bathroom; on the walls, all over the shower, toilet, shelves and globs of it in my sinks. I did ask **** to clean up the caulking job on his last stop at my house, but he did the bare minimum, and I had to go through and scrape caulking off everything and try to clean out the sink, although I can still see caulking down the drain. I feel as though I was not taken seriously, that the job was rushed just to call it completed and no real concern was given to my satisfaction. The job cost what I consider to be a large amount of money and I feel sick each time I think bout how that money is gone and my bathroom is in worse condition than it was before. I called another company to give me an estimate on fixing the damages, and I told them I could only afford the bare minimum. They left several things off that they didn't think were urgent concerns to keep the estimate down for me, which came to $400. It was then suggested that I ask **** to pay for it since Advanced Home Improvements is the one who caused the damage and did the poor work that needs to be redone. I emailed **** on June 19th describing in detail our interactions and the state of my bathroom. He agreed to pay $210. I have still not received this money, regardless of the several interactions we've had since, each with **** stating that he was sending the check soon.

Desired Settlement: The original estimate I received from a second home improvement company, Priorities Defined, did not include repairing all damages and redoing all poorly done work. It left several things out to keep the estimate down for me. However, after asking **** to come and fix the the things I noticed, and him doing the bare minimum, and not bringing to my attention the other damages made, doing poor work that is already coming apart and needs to be redone, and going back and forth with Advanced Home Improvements for almost two months without receiving the check they said they would send, I am now asking for $800.00. This would include the $400 in minimal repairs that Priorities Defined would make, but also them redoing the poor work that is already coming apart and the other repairs that need to be made because of damages cause by Advanced Home Improvements.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/22) */ We were hired to install a new shower surround on an existing bathroom. We spoke many times about replacing the tub as well, due to its poor condition, however, this was not in her budget. The job was completed in 3 days, with the 4th day left for touch ups and a final walkthrough with her. On the last day, she looked at the project thoroughly and we went over everything before I left. Had there been fixes brought to my attention, I would have done so before receiving final payment and closing out the job. Because the job took a day longer than she hoped, she requested a discount. In order to maintain customer satisfaction, she was given $175 off the contract price. I'm not exactly sure of the "damages" she is referencing, as we walked through the project together and nothing was brought to my attention. After receiving her email on the 19th, I agreed to send her a check in the amount we agreed upon, $210; again, in hopes of maintaining a positive relationship with her. A few days after mailing the check, we receive this letter from the BBB, after satisfying her request. She has received a discount, and gotten money back from me already; had she mentioned the repairs/ touch ups to us, we would have done so for her. Going to another company was unnecessary. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The job did not take a day longer than I had hoped; it took THREE days longer than I was TOLD it would take, however, that was not my complaint. My complaint had to do with the lack of respect and disregard of my time since I was not called throughout the project to keep me updated when no one was there on time or didn't come at all. We did not complete a thorough walk through. **** called me after three days asking for his payment. I told him there were things not completed that were on the estimate and that there were things that needed repairing. He came back another day and repaired two holes and caulked the downstairs shower. I then asked if the caulking could be cleaned up, which he sort of did. I have since been told that the caulking was still messy, which is why it has begun curling and peeling up in many places. I did not notice the other holes until after the fact. **** should know which damages I am referring to as I sent him photos in my original email to him asking for compensation. Also in my original email was my explanation for not calling him back and instead seeking an estimate from a different company- Because I believe the responsibility falls on him to point out and fix holes he made, to install a faucet that won't start wiggling once it's used, clean globs of caulking out of my sink and off the walls and floors and to clean up poorly done caulking and not leave them be without bringing them to my attention or repairing them when they were made, yet he failed to do so, I didn't feel as though his company was one I could count on to get things done honestly and in the right way. And, to say that I needed to point out holes and faulty work in order to have them fix and done properly is a little silly. It is Advanced Home Improvements job to do those things. As a company, it's what they do! I filed a complaint with the BBB on 8/11/2014. I received a message from ****'s office on 8/18/2014 stating they had a check for me that I could pick up or they would mail. The check I received arrived in the mail on 8/19/2014 and is dated either 8/13 or 8/15, it's hard to read. The statement that he sent a check and satisfied my request and then received the letter from the BBB is untrue. The check has not been cashed because I believe I am owed the $400.00 I originally asked for and not the $210.00 he said he would give me. In my first complaint I had asked for $800.00 to properly redo everything that needed to be done, however, I will accept $400.00 as I originally asked for to cover the estimate I received to fix the crucial things. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/04) */ I can only respond to ********* ********'s accusations as disappointing. Before she paid in full, ********* looked over the job very thoroughly. She pointed out one small area that needed to be touched up. I fixed it and she was happy with the workmanship and the job. I have had my company for 20 years and I truly care about my customers and will do anything for them. This is how I have grown my company for so many years. It is never about the money to me, it is only about how I can make a customer for life. In this situation, where a customer wants to write untrue statements on the internet, there is nothing I can do about it. If there was a problem, let us fix it. I have had customers throughout the years call me with little things that need to be fixed or done differently. Most recently, I had a customer call me up and they said their roof was leaking. We did their roof 9 years ago; I fixed it and thanked her for her business. That's a review you can read about on Angie's List. I have already paid her $210. If ********* provides a paid invoice from a licensed contractor stating the work is done, I will send her the remaining $190. Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/11/05) */ I had filed a complaint on 08/11/2014 against Advanced Home Improvements and it was marked as resolved on 09/08/2014 after Advanced Home Improvements agreed to send me a check for $190.00. The money was to reimburse me for the work I had to have another contractor do to repair the damages left behind and redo the work that was already coming apart from Advanced Home Improvements. On 10/01/2014 I sent ****, the owner of AHI, a copy of my estimate, by bill, and the invoice paid from Priorities Defined, the company who performed the work. Several weeks later I still had not received a check, so I sent another email. Then, a couple weeks later, I still didn't receive a check so I sent another email. Now, over a month later, I still have not received a check and would like to reopen my complaint against AHI. It was stated in AHI's last statement in our case "If ********* provides a paid invoice from a licensed contractor stating the work is done, I will send her the remaining $190." I have paid more out of pocket to fix and redo things done by AHI, and I still have to pay even more to buy paint and do work myself to repaint my bathroom to finish covering holes and cracks made by AHI. The amount **** has paid me and the amount he owes me still does not even come close to covering the extra I had to pay. I am asking that AHI send me the check immediately, as they said they would, or I will have to take further action to get what I am owed. Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/11/14) */ The reason we haven't paid Mrs. ********, is because we have not been provided a receipt of payment by check or credit card for the invoice she provided by "Priorities Defined". All we have been given is an invoice marked paid; which can easily be computer generated, and an estimate from "Priorities Defined" which was generated in an excel spreadsheet and not signed by anyone from that company. From the beginning, this complaint has only been concerned with how much money Mrs. ******** can recover. First, we received an estimate for the repairs she claims she had, with no company name on it, and no contact information for that company whatsoever. Now, we've been provided a computer generated invoice from "Priorities Defined", and no indication of her method of payment. We would have liked to see an actual credit card receipt or check copy showing that she paid this company for the repairs she had completed. After confirming that the company does actually exist, as the first estimate we received was a spreadsheet with no company name on it, we will send her the $190. This has never been about the money; this is about doing the right thing. Mrs. ********, from day one, had been trying to get money off the project, and going to the extreme by the exaggeration of this the project. If there was a problem, this could have easily been taken care of by my company instead of going through all this. I care deeply about my customers and will do anything for them. All *** had do to from the beginning is simply call me and I would have made it right.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Advanced Home Improvement, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart