BBB Accredited Business since

Schumm Concrete, Inc.

Phone: (952) 469-4477 8406 Lower 208th St W, Lakeville, MN 55044 http://schummconcrete.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schumm Concrete, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schumm Concrete, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Schumm Concrete, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Nathan Schumm, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Nathan Schumm, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Concrete - Custom Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Mason Contractors Brick - Concrete, Pumice Concrete - Stamped & Decorative

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Schumm Concrete, Inc., this company offers full service concrete contracting. They provide new construction and replacement of existing driveways, sidewalks, steps, garage floors, and patios.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Schumm Concrete, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8406 Lower 208th St W

    Lakeville, MN 55044 (952) 469-4477

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete installed by Schumm Concrete began chipping, flaking and pitting in less than 8 months. Concrete was poured sloppy producing numerous puddles Schumm Concrete pulled out my old garage concrete floor and replaced it. Immediately, the new floor began chipping, flaking and pitting. Water collected in low areas throughout the garage causing puddling. Water did not drain to the front, it drained to the sides of the garage. I made several phone calls to Schumm Concrete, which went ignored until a threat of taking him to court. **** came out and told me it was my fault that I didn't sweep out the garage after the snow melts off the car. He suggested putting down an epoxy which more or less just hides the problems but doesn't fix them. Again, I was ignored for any follow up. The pitting and chipping is getting worst.

Desired Settlement: Schumm Concrete advertises as an Accredited Business with BBB. Schumm Concrete has no business being advertised as better business. I trusted this business and have been extremely disappointed with their lack of quality craftsmanship. The materials (concrete) should have lasted several years, not a couple of months. Dissatisfaction should have been addressed in a more timely manner. Schumm Concrete is a dishonorable business. Please remove Schumm Concrete from you list in the BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/20) */ To whom it may concern. 2 years ago we installed a new concrete garage floor for this customer. The following year she called and said there was an issue. We scheduled a time that I could meet with her to look at it. When I got there she showed me that salt had eaten some of the concrete and I explained why as I did when we did the project. New concrete is more prone to be eaten by salt than old concrete. There also was an issue with small amounts of puddling and I explained I would look into having it epoxy coated to resolve this issue. As i was looking for qualified people to help with this project I received a letter telling me she was taking me to court. I showed up to court and the judge came to a settlement in her favor. I paid her right then and there and thought it was over and she was happy. Guess not. I believe that I explain things pretty well, that concrete is not a perfect material and does require some care and that certain items can cause damage to concrete. If you have new aluminum siding put on your house and you get a hail storm and it gets dented is it the manufactures, or the installers fault? No. It also is an imperfect material as well. In this case it the salt and the liquid de-icer they are putting on the roads. It is pretty harmful to new concrete and if left standing on a new slab (like the boogers off of the car) it can cause a little flaking. As far as the puddling, it could have been solved by having the floor epoxy coated. It had 2 very small areas that would not drain perfectly. And with the epoxy coating she would have had a protective coating over the floor that would have helped to protect from salt. Evidently she did not use the money I paid her to actually fix the problem, she is still blaming me when all of this could have been taken care of if she would have been patient with me and let me solve the problem instead of suing me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Schumm Concrete, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart