Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/23/2013

Bulach Custom Rock, LLC

Phone: (651) 455-3384Fax: (651) 455-23451870 50th St E Ste 14, Inver Grove HeightsMN 55077-1270 Send email to Bulach Custom Rock, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/23/2013

BBB has determined that Bulach Custom Rock, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bulach Custom Rock, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bulach Custom Rock, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/26/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bulach used non-standard practice when installing our driveway stain. It has started to wear off after just a few months.
Bulach Custom Rock was hired to install a 1,640 square foot decorative stamped concrete driveway at our home in the summer of 2011 for $17,050. When they initially poured, they did not follow the approved plan and required 400 square feet of it to be torn out and re-installed to follow the plan. Then, BCR deviated from standard installation practices in staining the driveway, which has resulted in the stain wearing off after just months of normal use (rather than never wearing off if applied standardly).
Our experience:
We approved our Landscape Designer's plans, as well as prototype color samples, making our selections very clear.
The driveway was poured, and we saw within seconds that there was a very major error-it was noticeably too narrow. If we backed straight out of the garage, the two driver's side tires would have fallen off the edge of the driveway. This did not co-inside with the plans, and we were shocked that the crew didn't notice this during the installation. Eventually a solution was agreed to, and a section of the driveway was removed and re-poured.
Later on, the wrong color stain was applied. I asked the worker where the sample was that we approved. He was very rude, then admitted that he didn't have the sample, and actually thought it had been disposed of. He returned later with what I confirmed to be the right stain. I expressed concerns about their ability to remove the color, and was assured that it wouldn't be a problem.
The new stain was applied and sealed. It was obvious that they had just applied the new stain over the original, making a new color in those areas. In addition, the stain over the other areas looked horrible-roller marks were obvious. It was supposed to resemble natural stone, which it very obviously did not. BCR agreed that the appearance was not acceptable. Unfortunately it had already been sealed, and they couldn't remove the color the first time they tried. They subsequently applied a chemical to strip the sealant. The solution we ultimately agreed to was to apply both colors (the incorrect/correct colors), so at least it would be uniform. This gave a monotone appearance, not the natural stone look which was the original goal. However, it looked substantially better than it did before, so we agreed. In the end, instead of one coat of stain and one coat of sealer, there were 2-3 coats of stain, 2 coats of sealer, and one coat of a stripping chemical.
We relayed our concern about the longevity of the color, given the deviation from what would be considered a simple and standard practice. We requested an extension of the one-year warranty on the color. BCR assured us that the color absolutely wouldn't be a problem, and declined the request.
We had an easy winter, and only cleared our driveway about 5 times. We have a snow blower with a rubber blade, and never used salt or any other chemical on the driveway.
This spring, only about seven months later, we noticed multiple areas where the accent color had worn off. Our Designer met with the VP of BCR, who did not feel it was a failure of the stain. BCR is saying that this is the result of "normal wear and tear," and not covered under the warranty.
I don't believe that after the mild winter we had that this could possibly be the expected result for a low traffic driveway.
Following this, I went to the BCR showroom to gather information. The BCR rep told me that once an accent stain is applied, it is permanent and will never come off, unless there is a problem with the product itself. She told me that one should expect not to ever have to re-stain their driveway, but should expect to re-seal their driveway every 2-4 years.
It's clear that BCR deviated from normal standard practice in applying our stain, and now won't take responsibility for the failure. This was a very expensive product and a very prolonged process, now with a sub-par end product that will cost a considerable amount of money to rectify.

Desired Settlement
Due to the repeated quality and customer service issues we've experienced with Bulach Custom Rock, we are no longer comfortable having them repair the issue. We've lost all confidence in their work. We would like to have an independent company perform the repair and would like Bulach Custom Rock to pay the cost.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Countertops - Concrete, Concrete - Stamped & Decorative, Concrete - Custom, Artificial Rock Scapes

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/14/2005Business started: 04/01/1994
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Emily Erickson (Office Manager)
Contact Information
Steve Bulach (Co - Owner) Jim Turitto (Co Owner)
Business Category

Concrete Contractors, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Countertops - Concrete, Concrete - Stamped & Decorative, Concrete - Custom, Artificial Rock Scapes

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Bulach Custom Rock, this company offers commercial and residential concrete.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PMSat: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PMSun: 07:30 AM to 03:30 PM
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Considering new asphalt?

If you choose to do business with Bulach Custom Rock, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bulach Custom Rock, LLC

1870 50th St E Ste 14

Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077-1270

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1870 50th St E Ste 14 

    Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077-1270(651) 455-3384

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bulach Custom Rock, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

Considering new asphalt?
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.