BBB Accredited Business since

Magic Carpets & Linoleum, Inc.

Phone: (763) 424-5499 Fax: (763) 424-5916 7400 Lakeland Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55428 http://www.magiccarpets.biz



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Floor Covering Products & Installation Services. Shop-at-Home, or shop our Gargantuan Showroom.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Magic Carpets & Linoleum, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Magic Carpets & Linoleum, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Magic Carpets & Linoleum, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1989 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/01/1989 in MN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jerry Larson, Sales Manager Desta Lachner, Marketing Matt Lachner, Sales Phil Lachner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Jerry Larson, Sales Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Carpet Layers Floors - Laminate

Refund and Exchange Policy
Manufacturer backed consumer warranty on every product. Lifetime installation guarantee on all carpet installed by Magic Carpets. 24 hour return policy on all in stock area rugs.
Alternate Business Names
Magic Carpets Magic Carpets, Your Shaw Flooring Center
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Magic Carpet & Linoleum, this company offers residential and commercial floor covering products from HGTV flooring, Shaw, Beaulieu, Armstrong, Stainmaster, Anso, Pergo, Kahr's, Mullican, Mirage, Congoleum, etc.


Additional Locations

  • 7400 Lakeland Ave N

    Minneapolis, MN 55428 (763) 424-5499

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered around 1000 SF of carpeting to be installed between 3 rooms on Nov. 24. They have been out 3 times, and left stairs unfinished and unsafe. The carpet was supposed to be installed in one day on the Nov. 24th they did not have all the carpet. They told me on the 24th that they have to unload the carpet out of the semi truck and they would be back out in the late morning on the 25th to finish the job. On the 25th they did a no show and a no call to inform me of there errors. I called magic carpet and they told me that they messed up and never took the carpet off the semi truck and that it was now locked for the weekend (I have now taken two days off from work for carpet installation and the job is not done). They finally decide to complete the job on December 7th, so we take a 3rd day off of work. At around 4:00 in the afternoon the installers call to inform me that they ran out of carpet and cannot finish the stairs and had no idea then they would be back out. Upon returning home I find that they placed the carpet pad on the stairs with exposed nail/tack strips and staples are everywhere. Now this is a huge SAFETY concern. I have a two year old daughter and a pregnant wife. My daughter gets hurts every other time traveling the stairs by putting her hands or knees in the tack strips. She is taking bites out of the carpet pad and chewing on it, and is removing the staples and placing them in her mouth. My pregnant wife has to go down the stairs on her rear because the carpet pad is slick and she could possible slip and fall. To top it off, Magic carpet does not see this as an issue. They say they do this type of business all the time and we must be patient. This is not okay, placing my wife in daughter in harms way because they cannot do the job correctly.

Desired Settlement: I spent $5000.00 on carpet and installation with an agreement that it would be installed in one day. We have now taken 3 days off of work and the job is still not done. When I miss work, I dont get paid, so now this carpet has cost me a total of $6200.00 and the job is still not done, so the toll is still climbing. Not to mention the undue stress this experience has caused and the constant supervision around the stairs we have to do to monitor our daughter from getting cut on the tack strips/and putting the staples and carpet pad in her mouth. We have asked for a refund and they said they could probably give us a rug. I dont want a rug, I just bought carpet. I dont want to miss any more work, and I feel I should be reimbursed for the time I have missed due to their errors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/22) */ ***** **********'s carpet was completely installed on Saturday 12-12-15. Our original intent was to install all carpet at one time, however due to a manufactures production delay, we could not. Mr. ********** was contacted and agreed that we install portion of carpet that was here, and the balance when it came in. We realize that this was not exactly what ***** wanted, but we did not request that he take off work, as in similar situations where people need to work, arrangements can be made. He made this choice. Rightfully, we covered expense of an installer to complete on a Saturday. Mr. ********** will also be offered a FREE 5 x 8 area rug of his choice, as our way of apologizing for his inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I completely understand that issues arise and the carpet cannot be installed in one day; however, there were multiple mistakes, detailed above, that were made by Magic Carpet. These mistakes resulted in us making accommodations, multiple times, in order for our carpet to be installed. Not only were we inconvenienced, we had to reach out to Magic Carpet in order to figure out what was going on with our carpet multiple times. They did not reach out to us to let us know they would not be showing up to install carpet on the November 25th, we had to reach out to them only to find out there employees did not take the initiative to remove the carpet from the now locked semi-truck. Although it was our choice to take the day off, we did so based on the information that was provided to us by Magic Carpet on November 24th, stating that they would install the remaining carpet on November 25th. Additionally, on December 7th when only the pad was installed on the stairs we were told they would install the carpet when it came in, with no additional information provided to us. We had to reach out to Magic Carpet for completion times for the stairs. Unfortunately, this is not where the poor communication ended, after realizing how slippery and dangerous our stairs were we reached out to Magic Carpet with our concerns regarding the safety of the stairs in the condition in which they were left. Regrettably our concerns were completely dismissed and initially no solutions to our issue were provided. The individual we spoke to went as far as to say that the inaccurate measurement of carpet happens, which I completely understand. However, they went on to advise that in their opinion it was fine for us to just have the pad on our stairs until they have the carpet in and available for installation. It is important to note that the pad was slippery and had the nail track exposed on multiple stairs Magic Carpet had no concerns with the safety issue we raised, until I mentioned the fact that I have a two year old and a pregnant wife. It was only at this point that they advised they could come out and install carpet on the stairs, whether it was a remnant or our actual carpet if it was available. This is a solution that should have been provided to me when I initially called, because I was a customer with a safety concern, not because there was a big liability for Magic Carpet if an injury occurred with my two year old or my wife. I understand that there can be issues with the carpet and the manufacturer; however, these were not the only issues with our order. There were oversights on the part of Magic Carpet that resulted in large our carpet being installed over four days. If there had been communication and empathy on the part of Magic Carpet this experience could have been slightly more pleasant. Unfortunately, each time we called with questions or concerns we felt we were treated as an inconvenience. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2016/01/05) */ Phil (the owner of Magic Carpets) has been in touch with ***** **********, and reached an agreement that a $500 refund, would resolve his issue. Refund of $500 will be sent in tomorrows mail.

1/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Magic Carpet owner Phil of Brooklyn Park, MN. Miss measured my living room for carpet by 7i inches resulting in an unwanted seam. No calls returned. My contract with Amy ******* clearly states that I will not accept a seam. The seam is clearly Visible, I'm only asking for a !0% refund for Phil's mistake in measuring my living room. Perhaps, with his refusal to call me back I should ask for a 20% refund. Also, the carpet installer mentioned that Phi, the boss, has told the carpet layers if there is a mistake in measuring DON'T TELL THE HOME OWNER. I was home and noticed the carpet was 7" short. This appears to be a dishonest business practice. Carpet installation was on 12/8/15. No call from Phil yet!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a 20%o refund of $4616 for Phil's incorrect measurement of my living room, resulting in an unwanted seam. The business's manager Phil appears to avoid his customers who might want to discuss a problem related to carpet bought from them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/05) */ Phil contacted ************, and they mutually agreed that a $600 refund would resolve this complaint. Magic Carpets check #***** for $600, will go out in tomorrows mails. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company mailed a !0%($500) refund and apologized for the mistake. Thank you.

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Magic Carpets installed my carpet 6-4-2012 in 4 rooms. Two of the rooms have carpet pulling up and creating bumps and attempts to fix have not worked Magic Carpets installed carpeting in 4 bedrooms in our home. The carpet started having problems within about 1.5 years after installation. I have had them out over 3 times to try and fix the carpet which is bunching up in two rooms and raising up in several places . They have tried a roller technique they use which has not been successful and most recently came to our house once again about 3 weeks ago and tried that technique again leaving the carpet with imperfections once again and waves in spots. They claim it was the best they could do. When I tried to reach them shortly after their last visit in February they never returned my call.I proposed a restretch or carpet replacement and they never returned my call. I called and spoke with the owner Mr. ************ on 3-9-15 and he said he would return my call once he looked up my paperwork from the original install. He never did , so I faxed him my original paperwork.He has yet to get back to me when he said he just needed to retrieve the original paperwork . It is obvious Mr ******* does not want to deal with the poor installation and attempted repair even though he gladly accepted $1775.00 for his original product and services.

Desired Settlement: Carpet replacement at no charge in two rooms or restretch at at no charge in two rooms and complete inspection corner to corner of other two rooms. Or complete refund of $1775.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/14) */ We visited this customer, and found two small ripples in the carpet. An appointment has been set for our installer to remove the ripples by restretching the area on, March 23, 2015. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/04/10) */ The owner of Magic Carpets . Mr. ************ came out and assured me he would come out as many times as necessary to stretch and fix my carpet in several rooms. We had an appointment for a morning over 3 weeks ago now that I needed to reschedule for an afternoon appointment. **** said that would not be a problem and that he had a carpet installer in Champlin close to my house. I gave him my cell phone information and he said he would have him call me to schedule an afternoon to get it done . I have not heard from **** or that installer since that time and have left two unreturned messages for him as well. I need this rectified or a refund on my original carpet purchase to hire someone who is going to get out and do what they claim they will Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/04/16) */ We have another appointment to address Mr. ****'s carpet issue on Friday April 17th.

2/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The linoleum was installed wrong They installed October 2nd 2014. We bought extra flooring to ensure NO seams. We decided to hire a "professional" for our kitchen floor so it would be done right. They used the WRONG glue!! We had huge air bubbles for months! When the second repair man came in January he had to cut the flooring to pull it back so he could put the right glue under it. WE now have cuts in it. ****** told us 9;00am on Jan 19th. I had a chiro appt and was home by 8:50 only to find the repair man and been here(at 8:15) and left . So we and to reschedule.When i tried talking to ******about this he said '"You're talking to the wrong person" I asked to speak to someone else and he said "I'm the only one here" The next weekI talked to **** on about he 27th of JAn. I expressed my frustration to him. There was No Im sorry for our poor service .He did refund $200.00, much less than I hoped. I am recommending people NOT do business with this company! We also still have lines in our flooring because the first installer did not prepare the floor correctly. The second guy said the only way to get rid of those is to take out all appliances & base cupboards and star over. WE charged this on a credit card. So they got all their money before they even started.We paid over 1000-200. Unfortunately I can not find my receipt.

Desired Settlement: We would like the full amount refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/11) */ We are disappointed to hear that Ms ******, is still not happy with her new floor. We have refunded $200 for the inconvenience of several trips to resolve her issues. If the customer is still unhappy we will remove the flooring and give her a full refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Its not as simple as removing all the flooring. It would mean removing cabinets and appliances as well. We are not willing to bear the expense to pay someone to remove all that including plumbing etc. We appreciate being given a voice and your efforts in this matter. My primary goal was to raise awareness to the poor quality of this company. We are not requesting any further action.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The flooring that was ordered was not installed. I told the Company least then a year ago, right after the laminate floor was installed (March 27, 2013), that the molding pieces were not what I had ordered. The Owner came out to my home a couple days later and said the molding was installed correctly and looked just fine and he was not going to have it redone. I did not agree and he left without anything being settled between us. Since that day, I was very upset and have had many health problems that prevented me from contacting the Company for awhile. I was doing better and contacted the Company again in February 2014 to try resolve the molding problem. They said they would come out and look at it again. The day the Owner was suppose to come out he called and said he was not able to make the appointment (Feb 22,2014). We spoke on the phone and he suggested I come in the store and pick out the molding and they would install it. During conversation, I told him I wanted the molding that goes with this floor as I had ordered. I called the laminate flooring Company to ask about the molding that should be used with my laminate floor type. They confirmed there was molding for my floor type and gave me the series number 9411 is what should be used with my floor number 3389. With this information I went to the store and suggested to the Sales Rep that he bring up my floor and molding on the computer. He was unable to bring up any information on matching molding for my floor. He had brought out a piece of molding from stock and said it could be installed. But he felt the molding was inferior to what they installed. He did say to me that he had changed the original order, but no one told me about this. He keep saying they would be happy to order the molding and install it but it would break shortly after walking on it. I felt if this molding was installed and broke after walking on it, that they would not replace it. After he repeated several times that this molding would break after walking on it, I said, Why would I want this molding installed if it going to break shortly after walking on it. I had to leave the store because I was starting not to feel well. The sales rep last comment to me was, So this is the end of this. I did not respond to his comment in reference to the molding. I called the Supplier, for this Company, that had my order for the laminate flooring and molding. I found out the correct molding was ordered on my order, but that was not what they installed.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come and take out this laminate floor and molding and issue me a full refund. I feel they were not honest with me and I would not trust them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/01) */ Owner of Magic Carpets went to look at Ms ******** flooring, and her floor looks beautiful. The molding pieces used are correct. We also sent out the installer to recheck trim pieces and everything is correct. Consumer was still unhappy, so owner agreed to meet with her again, but she refused stating "she did not like the scent of his cologne". Ms ******** wanted a different trim installed, but Magic Carpets can not do this as it would be wrong, and we could not stand behind installing the wrong reducers. The moldings (trim) were always correct, ordered and installed per the purchase agreement. Ms ********, has also contacted the manufacturer, and we have been informed that they will also be sending out a representative to inspect her flooring. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/05) */ This is my response to Magic Carpet's reply to my complaint. Magic Carpet did not send out a Installer for a follow up check as they stated. I did not refuse Owner's coming out, he called and told me he was wearing cologne. When Magic Carpet sales rep scheduled the follow up visit with Owner, I asked sales rep to write on service order for Owner not to wear cologne or fragrance. Magic Carpet sales rep said that he would write that on the service order. The last time Owner was out, his cologne caused me respiratory distress. I have a documented medical history of being sensitive to fragrances and scents. I thought T molding is what was going to be installed and was not. I had told Magic Carpet I needed a flatter molding. I have feet problems and that was very important to me. Magic Carpet sales rep told me that he was the one that changed the order after I made my first complaint to Magic carpet. I have not heard from the Magic Carpet's supplier, All Tile, that is located in Illinois, about someone coming out or even to discuss this issue. I still want the floor and moldings removed and a full refund issued. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/03/14) */ Magic Carpets requested that a manufacturers representative visit Ms ******** to inspect her flooring. The results of that inspection clearly state that correct transition pieces were installed. I have scanned the letter, and will email it to the BBB, as this format does not allow for attachment. Consumer will also receive a copy of report by mail.

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Magic Carpet did not complete the work that was agreed upon and paid for. May 2011, We had a water pipe break in our basement & we needed new flooring in our 2 bedrooms, bathroom & hallway. We chose Magic Carpets because they said they could get the job done within the same week. That was the deciding factor for us as everyone was displaced with the water & ruined flooring. We tore up all of the carpet, removed it & prepped the floors as they had instructed us to do. Magic Carpet made many promises that they would not keep. On May 16, 2011 they told us that they had the carpet in stock that we purchased. Then they told us they did not have it in stock but that they could get it in a short time frame. When this wasn't possible, they "upgraded us to a thicker carpet", which seemed to be great initially, however, once the thicker carpet was installed, we could not close any of our closet doors or bedroom doors. Magic Carpet did not tell us this could be an issue with the "upgraded carpet". Had we known this, we would have waited for the correct carpet to arrive or we would have chosen another company to work with. Magic Carpet did not shave off the bottoms of the doors, so we had to do this ourselves. We did not have any of the tools or equipment to do this, so it made for a very unhappy experience. So the "upgrade" ended up costing us time & money in the end. On May 16, 2011 when we ordered the carpet & tile, we spoke with a salesman (***** ******) at Magic Carpets, who was more interested in telling us about his upcoming fishing trip in Canada, then he was about getting our order written up correctly. We chose Dura Ceramic tile for our bathroom & hallway areas after being told it could have the same exact look as tile, with the grouting, but it was less money out of our pockets. We went with *****'s recommendation. Dura Ceramic has the option of being grouted or not grouted. We wanted the grouted look. Apparently the salesman did not write this down, even though he had explained it to us and we had talked to him about it. Remember, he was more interested in talking about his upcoming fishing trip then he was about getting our order written up correctly. The installers arrived on May 19, 2011, a Thursday morning. No one ever told us what day or time the installers would arrive. I was already gone for the day & my husband had to leave for work. What were we to do? Knowing the answer now, we never should have allowed them to come into our home to attempt to do a tile job. We did allow them in to do the job and it was not done per our instructions (it was missing the grouting) and the hall way area was not centered between the upright walls. The tiles all veer off to the left and the tile looks awful. So we have a job that was installed incorrectly and installed without taking the center line of the hallway into consideration. The 2 young guys were polite, but I'm guessing a more experienced tile installer would have centered the tiles in the hallway, between the two walls. The main point is that the job was not done correctly as we wanted it to be grouted!! To add insult to injury, the area where the carpet and the tile butt up to each other, should have a finishing metal strip laid. We purchased the metal strip from Magic Carpets, but they never finished the job. I have called Magic Carpets 3 times & stopped in there once & the issue is still not resolved!!! I have contacted Angie's List to help me resolve this issue, but Magic Carpets has failed to work with me, even though I offered them 3 acceptable outcomes for this botched job. Cost of total job $3,133.50 Cost of tile job $1,684.50 Paid by VISA

Desired Settlement: We had offered 3 different acceptable outcomes to Magic Carpets, through Angie's List. Magic Carpets declined to work with us. At this point, we want them to remove the incorrectly installed tile and to refund us our money for the botched tile job $1,684.50 or refund us the cost of tile job $1,684.50 + the cost of having another company of our choice, come out & remove the tile for us, an additional $300.00 for a total of $1,984.50.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/24) */ Magic Carpets is attempting to work with **** ******, and will update BBB with results. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/03/05) */ 3-4-14 Magic Carpets Attn: **** ******************* Brooklyn Park, MN 55428 FAX # ************ Hi ****, I have discussed the matter again with my husband and we would like a FULL REFUND of the $1,684.50 + $300 (to have another company remove the Dura Ceramic for us) for a total refund of $1,984.50. We have not been happy with the installation job from day one, as it was never installed as we had ordered (with the grouting). It also was installed crooked and has been an eye sore from day one. You may send the refund check to the address listed below. **** ****** ******************* Brooklyn Park MN 55444-1359 Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. **** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/03/05) */ Magic Carpets has refunded Ms ******s purchase in full, with a check mailed on 3-3-2014. ****** should receive this refund, today or tomorrow.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Magic Carpets & Linoleum, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)