Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/09/2004

Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc.

Phone: (763) 424-5499Fax: (763) 424-59167400 Lakeland Ave N, MinneapolisMN 55428-1229 Send email to Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Floor Covering Products & Installation Services. Shop-at-Home, or shop our Gargantuan Showroom.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/09/2004

BBB has determined that Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
03/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Magic Carpet did not complete the work that was agreed upon and paid for.
May 2011, We had a water pipe break in our basement & we needed new flooring in our 2 bedrooms, bathroom & hallway.
We chose Magic Carpets because they said they could get the job done within the same week. That was the deciding factor for us as everyone was displaced with the water & ruined flooring.
We tore up all of the carpet, removed it & prepped the floors as they had instructed us to do.
Magic Carpet made many promises that they would not keep. On May 16, 2011 they told us that they had the carpet in stock that we purchased. Then they told us they did not have it in stock but that they could get it in a short time frame. When this wasn't possible, they "upgraded us to a thicker carpet", which seemed to be great initially, however, once the thicker carpet was installed, we could not close any of our closet doors or bedroom doors. Magic Carpet did not tell us this could be an issue with the "upgraded carpet". Had we known this, we would have waited for the correct carpet to arrive or we would have chosen another company to work with.
Magic Carpet did not shave off the bottoms of the doors, so we had to do this ourselves. We did not have any of the tools or equipment to do this, so it made for a very unhappy experience. So the "upgrade" ended up costing us time & money in the end.
On May 16, 2011 when we ordered the carpet & tile, we spoke with a salesman (***** ******) at Magic Carpets, who was more interested in telling us about his upcoming fishing trip in Canada, then he was about getting our order written up correctly. We chose Dura Ceramic tile for our bathroom & hallway areas after being told it could have the same exact look as tile, with the grouting, but it was less money out of our pockets. We went with *****'s recommendation. Dura Ceramic has the option of being grouted or not grouted. We wanted the grouted look. Apparently the salesman did not write this down, even though he had explained it to us and we had talked to him about it. Remember, he was more interested in talking about his upcoming fishing trip then he was about getting our order written up correctly.
The installers arrived on May 19, 2011, a Thursday morning. No one ever told us what day or time the installers would arrive. I was already gone for the day & my husband had to leave for work. What were we to do? Knowing the answer now, we never should have allowed them to come into our home to attempt to do a tile job.
We did allow them in to do the job and it was not done per our instructions (it was missing the grouting) and the hall way area was not centered between the upright walls. The tiles all veer off to the left and the tile looks awful.
So we have a job that was installed incorrectly and installed without taking the center line of the hallway into consideration. The 2 young guys were polite, but I'm guessing a more experienced tile installer would have centered the tiles in the hallway, between the two walls.
The main point is that the job was not done correctly as we wanted it to be grouted!!
To add insult to injury, the area where the carpet and the tile butt up to each other, should have a finishing metal strip laid. We purchased the metal strip from Magic Carpets, but they never finished the job.
I have called Magic Carpets 3 times & stopped in there once & the issue is still not resolved!!! I have contacted Angie's List to help me resolve this issue, but Magic Carpets has failed to work with me, even though I offered them 3 acceptable outcomes for this botched job.

Cost of total job $3,133.50
Cost of tile job $1,684.50

Paid by VISA


Desired Settlement
We had offered 3 different acceptable outcomes to Magic Carpets, through Angie's List. Magic Carpets declined to work with us.

At this point, we want them to remove the incorrectly installed tile and to refund us our money for the botched tile job $1,684.50 or refund us the cost of tile job $1,684.50 + the cost of having another company of our choice, come out & remove the tile for us, an additional $300.00 for a total of $1,984.50.

Business Response
Magic Carpets is attempting to work with **** ******, and will update BBB with results.

Final Consumer Response
3-4-14
Magic Carpets
Attn: ****
*******************
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
FAX # ************

Hi ****,
I have discussed the matter again with my husband and we would like a FULL REFUND of the $1,684.50 + $300 (to have another company remove the Dura Ceramic for us) for a total refund of $1,984.50.
We have not been happy with the installation job from day one, as it was never installed as we had ordered (with the grouting). It also was installed crooked and has been an eye sore from day one.
You may send the refund check to the address listed below.
**** ******
*******************
Brooklyn Park MN 55444-1359
Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

**** ******


Final Business Response
Magic Carpets has refunded Ms ******s purchase in full, with a check mailed on 3-3-2014. ****** should receive this refund, today or tomorrow.

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Final install of outdoor carpeting has not been completed yet.
5/21/2013 7:15 pm **** from Magic Carpet here to measure for outdoor carpeting.
5/22/2013 Purchased outdoor carpeting at Magic. $1,182.59 Paid in Full. Install scheduled for 6/10/2013.
6/10/2013 Installer didn't know he was installing outdoor carpeting outdoors. Too wet to install. Rescheduled for 6/13/2013.
6/13/2013 Started the install.
6/13/2013 5 pm Called Magic. Owner to come out to look at the install/outdoor carpeting 6/15/2013 at 9 am.
6/15/2013 9 am Magic Carpet is a no show. Called Magic. He said he'd be out later. Called again. He questioned us whether he really needed to come out? He did come. We showed him the poor craftsmanship and the defect at the entry with the outdoor carpeting. Places where the outdoor carpeting had not been glued down and the the obvious rippling through out. Uneven edges not glued to concrete - buried just below the rock level. Filler outdoor carpet strips placed in creases where the outdoor carpeting was cut short. Also showed him where the installer had buried scrap in the rock. Resolution: They would be out to roll out the carpeting to get rid of the ripples. The edges would be cut and glued. The obvious seam at the entry should relax.
7/2/2013 email sent to Magic requesting completion
7/3/2013 email from Magic stating they would be out July 8th.
7/8/2013 *** came and said that the defects are probably from the mfg and it may have to be replaced. The ripples through out will need to have glue syringed into them.
7/10/13 Someone was out to glue the threshold down. (The rock holding it down had been removed)
Called Magic and spoke with *****. He knew nothing and would talk to them in the morning.
7/11/2013 Called *****. Still doesn't know anything. ***** will talk to the owner **** tomorrow. No contact since. 7/29/2013 1:30pm

Desired Settlement
Reorder new outdoor carpeting, tear out existing outdoor carpeting, re-prep concrete, and re-install new outdoor carpeting.

Business' Initial Response
We attempted to install ******** ******* outdoor carpet on 6-10-2013. Too wet. Must have 48 Hours for adhesive to set. The customer insisted we install on 6-13-2013 - it rained creating wrinkles in the carpet. Further complications occurred when the customer opened a seam. Magic Carpets resolution is to refund Ms ****** in full.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Magic Carpets installed my carpet 6-4-2012 in 4 rooms. Two of the rooms have carpet pulling up and creating bumps and attempts to fix have not worked
Magic Carpets installed carpeting in 4 bedrooms in our home. The carpet started having problems within about 1.5 years after installation. I have had them out over 3 times to try and fix the carpet which is bunching up in two rooms and raising up in several places . They have tried a roller technique they use which has not been successful and most recently came to our house once again about 3 weeks ago and tried that technique again leaving the carpet with imperfections once again and waves in spots. They claim it was the best they could do. When I tried to reach them shortly after their last visit in February they never returned my call.I proposed a restretch or carpet replacement and they never returned my call. I called and spoke with the owner Mr. ************ on 3-9-15 and he said he would return my call once he looked up my paperwork from the original install. He never did , so I faxed him my original paperwork.He has yet to get back to me when he said he just needed to retrieve the original paperwork . It is obvious Mr ******* does not want to deal with the poor installation and attempted repair even though he gladly accepted $1775.00 for his original product and services.

Desired Settlement
Carpet replacement at no charge in two rooms or restretch at at no charge in two rooms and complete inspection corner to corner of other two rooms. Or complete refund of $1775.00

Business Response
We visited this customer, and found two small ripples in the carpet. An appointment has been set for our installer to remove the ripples by restretching the area on, March 23, 2015.

Consumer Response
The owner of Magic Carpets . Mr. ************ came out and assured me he would come out as many times as necessary to stretch and fix my carpet in several rooms. We had an appointment for a morning over 3 weeks ago now that I needed to reschedule for an afternoon appointment. **** said that would not be a problem and that he had a carpet installer in Champlin close to my house. I gave him my cell phone information and he said he would have him call me to schedule an afternoon to get it done . I have not heard from **** or that installer since that time and have left two unreturned messages for him as well. I need this rectified or a refund on my original carpet purchase to hire someone who is going to get out and do what they claim they will

Final Business Response
We have another appointment to address Mr. ****'s carpet issue on Friday April 17th.

02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The linoleum was installed wrong
They installed October 2nd 2014. We bought extra flooring to ensure NO seams. We decided to hire a "professional" for our kitchen floor so it would be done right. They used the WRONG glue!! We had huge air bubbles for months! When the second repair man came in January he had to cut the flooring to pull it back so he could put the right glue under it. WE now have cuts in it. ****** told us 9;00am on Jan 19th. I had a chiro appt and was home by 8:50 only to find the repair man and been here(at 8:15) and left . So we and to reschedule.When i tried talking to ******about this he said '"You're talking to the wrong person" I asked to speak to someone else and he said "I'm the only one here" The next weekI talked to **** on about he 27th of JAn. I expressed my frustration to him. There was No Im sorry for our poor service .He did refund $200.00, much less than I hoped. I am recommending people NOT do business with this company! We also still have lines in our flooring because the first installer did not prepare the floor correctly. The second guy said the only way to get rid of those is to take out all appliances & base cupboards and star over. WE charged this on a credit card. So they got all their money before they even started.We paid over 1000-200. Unfortunately I can not find my receipt.

Desired Settlement
We would like the full amount refunded.

Business Response
We are disappointed to hear that Ms ******, is still not happy with her new floor. We have refunded $200 for the inconvenience of several trips to resolve her issues. If the customer is still unhappy we will remove the flooring and give her a full refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Its not as simple as removing all the flooring. It would mean removing cabinets and appliances as well. We are not willing to bear the expense to pay someone to remove all that including plumbing etc. We appreciate being given a voice and your efforts in this matter. My primary goal was to raise awareness to the poor quality of this company. We are not requesting any further action.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The flooring that was ordered was not installed.
I told the Company least then a year ago, right after the laminate floor was installed (March 27, 2013), that the molding pieces were not what I had ordered. The Owner came out to my home a couple days later and said the molding was installed correctly and looked just fine and he was not going to have it redone. I did not agree and he left without anything being settled between us. Since that day, I was very upset and have had many health problems that prevented me from contacting the Company for awhile. I was doing better and contacted the Company again in February 2014 to try resolve the molding problem. They said they would come out and look at it again. The day the Owner was suppose to come out he called and said he was not able to make the appointment (Feb 22,2014). We spoke on the phone and he suggested I come in the store and pick out the molding and they would install it. During conversation, I told him I wanted the molding that goes with this floor as I had ordered. I called the laminate flooring Company to ask about the molding that should be used with my laminate floor type. They confirmed there was molding for my floor type and gave me the series number 9411 is what should be used with my floor number 3389. With this information I went to the store and suggested to the Sales Rep that he bring up my floor and molding on the computer. He was unable to bring up any information on matching molding for my floor. He had brought out a piece of molding from stock and said it could be installed. But he felt the molding was inferior to what they installed. He did say to me that he had changed the original order, but no one told me about this. He keep saying they would be happy to order the molding and install it but it would break shortly after walking on it. I felt if this molding was installed and broke after walking on it, that they would not replace it. After he repeated several times that this molding would break after walking on it, I said, Why would I want this molding installed if it going to break shortly after walking on it. I had to leave the store because I was starting not to feel well. The sales rep last comment to me was, So this is the end of this. I did not respond to his comment in reference to the molding. I called the Supplier, for this Company, that had my order for the laminate flooring and molding. I found out the correct molding was ordered on my order, but that was not what they installed.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to come and take out this laminate floor and molding and issue me a full refund. I feel they were not honest with me and I would not trust them again.

Business Response
Owner of Magic Carpets went to look at Ms ******** flooring, and her floor looks beautiful. The molding pieces used are correct. We also sent out the installer to recheck trim pieces and everything is correct. Consumer was still unhappy, so owner agreed to meet with her again, but she refused stating "she did not like the scent of his cologne". Ms ******** wanted a different trim installed, but Magic Carpets can not do this as it would be wrong, and we could not stand behind installing the wrong reducers. The moldings (trim) were always correct, ordered and installed per the purchase agreement. Ms ********, has also contacted the manufacturer, and we have been informed that they will also be sending out a representative to inspect her flooring.

Final Consumer Response
This is my response to Magic Carpet's reply to my complaint.
Magic Carpet did not send out a Installer for a follow up check as they stated.

I did not refuse Owner's coming out, he called and told me he was wearing cologne. When Magic Carpet sales rep scheduled the follow up visit with Owner, I asked sales rep to write on service order for Owner not to wear cologne or fragrance. Magic Carpet sales rep said that he would write that on the service order. The last time Owner was out, his cologne caused me respiratory distress. I have a documented medical history of being sensitive to fragrances and scents.

I thought T molding is what was going to be installed and was not. I had told Magic Carpet I needed a flatter molding. I have feet problems and that was very important to me. Magic Carpet sales rep told me that he was the one that changed the order after I made my first complaint to Magic carpet. I have not heard from the Magic Carpet's supplier, All Tile, that is located in Illinois, about someone coming out or even to discuss this issue.

I still want the floor and moldings removed and a full refund issued.


Final Business Response
Magic Carpets requested that a manufacturers representative visit Ms ******** to inspect her flooring. The results of that inspection clearly state that correct transition pieces were installed. I have scanned the letter, and will email it to the BBB, as this format does not allow for attachment. Consumer will also receive a copy of report by mail.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring, Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Layers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/23/1991Business started: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1989, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Jerry Larson (Sales Manager) Phil Lachner (President) Desta Lachner (Bookkeeper)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring, Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Layers

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Magic Carpet & Linoleum, this company offers residential and commercial floor covering products from HGTV flooring, Shaw, Beaulieu, Armstrong, Stainmaster, Anso, Pergo, Kahr's, Mullican, Mirage, Congoleum, etc.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSun: 12:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Manufacturer backed consumer warranty on every product. Lifetime installation guarantee on all carpet installed by Magic Carpets. 24 hour return policy on all in stock area rugs.

Alternate Business Names
Magic Carpets, Magic Carpets, Your Shaw Flooring Center

If you choose to do business with Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc.

7400 Lakeland Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55428-1229

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7400 Lakeland Ave N 

    Minneapolis, MN 55428-1229(763) 424-5499
    Fax: (763) 424-5916

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Magic Carpet & Linoleum, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.