Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/1998

Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC

Phone: (763) 441-4181Fax: (763) 441-68209310 Parrish Ave NE, Elk RiverMN 55330-7122 Send email to Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/1998

BBB has determined that Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
had carpet installed. It was done poorly, we have had them come back and try and fix, has not been fixed along w/ rude customer service from the owner
I had new carpet installed December 2009. We have had problems from the beginning starting with a large stain they had to come back and get out with cleaner, not a way to start off new carpet. They have had to come back and try and fix seams that are coming apart after a couple of weeks. When we purchased the carpet I am very concerned about having seams so I like to make sure about those and stressed I did not want a lot. I was asked what side I would prefer the seem because there would need to be 1, my bedroom has a total of 4 seams. The installer(Duane) has been back 2-3 times to try and fix the seams and was not able, so then the owner decided to come out and take a look (Dave). Besides his rude customer service to both my husband and I, he was unable to fix the carpet either. Along the edge of the carpet by the tack strips looks like it was cut to short and not tucked under the trim, where the seam is there is a hole. I can run my hand along the edge of the carpet and feel the floor under the trim. His response to us was "who goes along and feels the edge" This is our fourth house and have new carpet installed thru out all of them and never seen anything like this before. As far as the "hole" where the carpets meet were just cut too short and cannot be stretched anymore to come together, Dave asked if we had any left over carpet or a place that is hidden to cut a small piece from and glue it in the area where the hole is. We could not believe he would even do such a thing and for us to even know about it. What kind of things do they pull on their other customers when they are not present? The last message I have on my phone from Dave was in August. I just recently found another seam in my room that kind of put me over the edge, and decided to try and see if you could help or at least maybe help others from having work done from them.The 1 seam that is separating a good 1/2 inch is in an area that is not even a traffic area which I think is even worse and the fact it has only been 2 years.If this seam would have never come apart I would have never realized they put 2 seams running into each other, like there should not be. I have had quite a few carpet companies and look at all this and they all are on side. I told Dave i had some second opinions and he told us he did not care, these kind of things are normal and if we wanted him to try and fix them again to call him. Dave was yelling this at my husband and I has he was walking to his vehicle.To put it altogether we have been dealing with this poor customer service for 2 years. Started out with a stain, the a seam that made crunching sounds when you walked on it, they came and re-seamed that and said they have never seen anything like that before. After that, the same seam was very visible now and peaked together. I was told by them it means it is pulled to tight. They tried to fix that, still there. My second and third seams, one in the closet opening and the other 2 feet inside my actual door opening were coming apart. The one in the closet is okay, the 1 when you enter my bedroom is not. That one is still separated and has the hole. That one got worse after they tried to fix it.Another company told me that one was not even going to be fixed.There was to many carpet fibers glued in the seam. The owner "Dave" cut pieces of the carpet to help it go together and get all the glue out of the carpet. They had to come back and staple my carpet back on under a lip in the living room, it is still not right.Where the carpet is cut to short around the floor boards you can feel very harp pieces from the tack strips. And now the 4th seam appearing in my bedroom.I was told cheap carpet you are able to see the seams sometimes. My nice thick carpet, I can see every seam. Please can you help me?

Desired Settlement
I originally wanted it replaced. After all this, knowing the things they may do when their customers are not around watching every move (ex. gluing a piece of carpet to fix a hole) I do not trust them.Also they only have 2 installers, Duane (owners brother) and Dave (owner) and neither one of them can install. I am looking to be refunded minus the cost of the pad because that can be saved. 0r they can replace the carpet and pay for a contractor to install it that I find. I payed $3578.79-$493.00(pad)= $3085.79.

Business' Initial Response
******************************************************************************************************
January 13, 2012

Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota
Ann Jones
Mediation Coordinator
ajones@thefirstbbb.org

Re: Case ************************

****************

After reading the information from *********** I find the complaint very disconcerting. *********** complaints address some issues that were resolved immediately.

We have been in business since 1986 and over that period of time we've had very few complaints. We primarily use our core installers, **** and *****, to control our quality of workmanship. Between the two of them they have 56 years of combined experience.

Our business is located in a smaller town and a fair amount of our business consists of repeat customers. As noted by our record with the BBB we have an excellent record of customer satisfaction. We work continually to provide quality workmanship for our customers.

The complaint about the carpet not being completely tacked down in her sunken living room was taken care of immediately. Again, as per her conversation as of 1/11/12 the only concern she has is with the seams and small patched area in her bedroom near the base.

Regarding the stain complaint, ****** confirmed with me on our conversation on 1/11/12 that the stain is gone. We took care of it right away.

Regarding the crackling sound that happened soon after the carpet was installed, our installer, *****, talked with the Hanks Specialty representative where we purchase our seaming tape. He said he has never heard of the seaming tape crackling. ***** did go to *********** and pulled the carpet back and removed the paper backing off the seam tape so there would no longer be a crackling sound. Apparently *********** was not aware of where the seams were located until she watched ***** do this repair.

All *********** carpet was power stretched in as per industry recommendations.
When we do measures, we try our best to minimize the square yardage as well as the number of seams for our customers. Her continuous complaint seems to be about the number of seams in the bedroom. Some cross seams are necessary to eliminate waste. Carpet comes 12' wide, there will be seams on any areas wider than 12' (which her bedroom is). If we were to install the bedroom carpet with less seams, we would need an additional 12x8 piece of carpet costing an additional $400. Additionally, ********** did purchase a nice piece of carpet that's more of a plush style. A plush style carpet shows seams slightly more than a frieze carpet. There are no invisible seams. This is stated in the ****** warranty brochure ********** received at the time of installation.

One seam is located one foot into the bedroom doorway. The carpet was installed all the way down the hallway and extended one foot into the doorway. There is no way around seaming. There will always be a seam in or near the doorway.

There is another seam going into the closet, and there is another on the outside wall, then there is a cross seam into the bay window area. This carpet comes in 12' width, there will be seams if the room is wider than 12'.

We are very diligent about repairs. Whenever *********** called about a problem we would get out to the repair within a reasonable amount of time. Our business is based on reputation, we do what we can do resolve all problems. The incident regarding **** yelling at them is unfounded. The customer went beyond normal measures to find installation problems. When **** was there to look at the problem, ********** got on her hands and knees and pulled the carpet back and away from the trim to show the supposed hole. **** said in his 30 years of installing he had never seen a customer pull the carpet out from under the trim to show us a problem. *********** responded, ''so, then you've been doing a half-ass job for 30 years?'' At this point **** left their home. **** will not engage in confrontations, the yelling was being done by the Douglas' as **** walked out of their home. As a business owner **** maintains a professional manner, it never pays to engage with a hostile customer even when we are insulted.

When I spoke with ********** on Wed 1/11/12 I clarified with her what her remaining complaints were. She confirmed that the complaint is only located in her bedroom. She is very dissatisfied with the four seams in her bedroom. As for the small hole at the edge near the trim, we patched it in. These photos were taken prior to *****'s repair on 1/5/12. Patching in a small hole on the edge by the baseboard is a reasonable way to repair carpet with an issue such as this. This is not in the middle of the room, not in a traffic area and is not noticeable. We are working on getting photos after the patch and seam repair completed on 1/5/12.

As you can see in the photo ********** has to firmly pull the carpet apart to find the seam. Pulling on seams is not recommended. If you try hard enough you can pull apart seams. This is not normal wear and tear. On 1/5/12 ***** did repair the 3'' seam separation shown in the photo. I don't believe this is an issue any longer. Again, this photo was taken prior to our repair on 1/5/12.

Thursday, 1/12/12, we asked ********** if we could come take photos after the repairs that have been completed. She said ''we could come take pictures of the holes that are still there but she was not available at this time for us to come out.'' She said, '''there are carpet pieces all over''. Our installer, *****, said he fixed the hole by stapling in a patch near the trim. The photos clearly show the patches are not there. She said when she vacuums it did not look right. On 1/5/12 ***** also repaired the seam issue shown in the photo. The photos attached are not a true representation of what the carpet looks like now, they were taken prior to our repair on 1/5/12. We will make another attempt to get photos of the repaired areas.

Her response leads us to believe the pictures enclosed were taken prior to ***** repair on 1/5/12. We are making a good faith effort to satisfy this customer and resolve all issues. We feel the complaints are being overstated by the customer. We have made every attempt to fix all problems. The customer is making an unreasonable request for all new carpet or an unreasonable financial settlement. She did say her only issue is with the bedroom carpet.

In conclusion, the customer stated her only problems are in the bedroom per the conversation with me on 1/11/12. We feel the customer is making more of the situation than what it is and being unreasonable. We are forwarding the photos that we received from the customer. Please note these are not our photos. We will be following up our customer to come to some conclusion. I will keep the Better Business Bureau up to date with any further communications with this customer.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions you might have.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

*********************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/08/1993Business started: 01/01/1986Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Dave & Holly Lefebvre (Co Owners)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Lefebvre's Carpet LLC, this company offers floor materials including wood floors, ceramic tile, vinyl flooring, carpet, and floor care products.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC

9310 Parrish Ave NE

Elk River, MN 55330-7122

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9310 Parrish Ave NE 

    Elk River, MN 55330-7122(763) 441-4181

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lefebvre's Carpet, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.