BBB Accredited Business since

Carpet King, Inc.

Phone: (612) 287-1700 Fax: (612) 588-2401 View Additional Phone Numbers 1815 W River Rd, Minneapolis, MN 55411 http://www.carpet-king.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carpet King, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Carpet King, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Carpet King, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 08/01/1946 Business started locally: 08/01/1946 Business incorporated 08/15/1946 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.doli.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 284-5012
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
William Bailey, President Giuliano Pascu, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: William Bailey, President
Customer Contact: Giuliano Pascu, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail Linoleum Dealers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Commercial Floors Flooring Expo Trade Direct
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Carpet King, Inc., this company offers sales and installation of all types of flooring products, focusing on residential replacement and installation.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carpet King, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1815 W River Rd

    Minneapolis, MN 55411 (612) 287-1700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 1, 2016 I went online to schedule an appointment for a sales associate to come out to my property and give me an estimate on carpet for my home. The appointment was set for August 3rd, 2016 between the hours of 3-5pm. At 3:30pm a gentleman called from Carpet King letting me know that he would be arriving more towards 5pm for the sales consult. Mr. Dean ***** arrived around the estimated time, measured my home, went in every room and wrote information down. He informed my fiance that he would email the estimate as soon as possible. On August 8,2016 I called and left a message asking if we can get an estimated time from on when we would receive the estimate. After receiving no call back I emailed Mr. Dean ***** later the afternoon on August 9, 2016. After still no communications I called the corporate office on August 11th, 2016 and spoke to an Isabel ******** whom assured me that the estimate should've been given to us within a day or two. She took my information and informed me that someone would get back to me. August 16, 2016 I called to follow up and left a message on the corporate voice mailbox of Isabel ******** asking her to please get in touch with me. Today, August 17, 2016 I called the corporate office again and spoke with Isabel Martinez. She informed me that she forwarded my information on to Matt ******* last week. She was very short and I seemed to bothering her. I asked for Matt's information and she forwarded me to his voice mail where I left yet another message at 10am this morning.

Desired Settlement: I am very concerned on many levels. Most importantly is that a man who identified himself as a Carpet King employee was inside of my home, taking notes and measuring but has not contacted me since. I worry constantly that this person is not professional in nature and we may have a safety issue at hand. Secondly, we have a set renter for the property and we were hoping to get carpet installed immediately but are unable to obtain an estimate. This is very unsettling. I am hoping to receive some sort of explanation as to why I have been treated so poorly and why our business does not matter to this company. This is very poor business practice and can feel very intrusive to let someone into your home and/or property and have absolutely no response from them afterwards. Anything the Better Business Bureau can do to help would be greatly appreciated.

Business Response:

We apologize for the lack of accurate communication during this process.  There was indeed an in-home appointment, booked under **** and **** *******.  I am sorry that the order was never finalized.

 

We would like to take this opportunity to better serve this customer.  We can schedule a different sales person out to the house, with instruction to give the customer a quote on their flooring project during their appointment and to also apply a discount from the regular price.

 

I am truly sorry for the inconvenience, and appreciate the Bureau's help in addressing this issue.

 

Giuliano *****

Customer Service Manager

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were remodeling our new home and were looking for Vinyl Flooring in stock. The manager informed me that he would love to help me and can check there wear-house (that was 15 mins away) to see if they had what I was looking for in-stock. I asked him if it were a good great and if we needed a certain type of under flooring that was needed. He said it can go onto of any base floor and was a good grade. So I purchased it. After the flooring was picked up or contractor called me to inform me that the flooring could not go ontop of the plywood and even if they attempted it the flooring was bad and already peeling at the corners. We contacted the manager and he said get a different floor guy. We showed the flooring to a different installer and he proceeded to tell us the same thing the contractor told us. We even had our contractor call. We spent over $2000 for flooring and they want refund us any of the money back. So now we have boxes of unused flooring in our garage and don't know what to do. We really lost on this deal. The flooring is Solutions Charcoal (71516) Product_Or_Service: Vinyl flooring

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We don't mind paying a restocking fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/05/19) */ We have started a claim with the distributor on behalf of our customer. The distributor will contact the customer and inspect the flooring. If they validate the claim and agree to take back the flooring, we will agree to refund our customer as requested. ***copied and pasted from email.

5/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled carpet order. Fee non-refundable after cancelling order. Charged for re-stocking fee without giving me product. I purchased carpeting on 2-28-15. The copy of the contract that I have is not legible, as there is writing over it. The total price of the carpeting (unsure as it is not legible) looks like $1556.00. A charge of $900 was put on my credit card as a down payment. I would finance the balance. The associate, who sold me the carpet at my home, I have no problem with; although, he never pointed out anything non-refundable, despite the small lettering on the contract, so I was unaware. Had I known that there was a non-refundable re-stocking fee, I would not have purchased anything. Carpet King called me to let me know that my carpeting had come in and to let them know when I wanted it installed. I realized after I was charged the re-stocking fee of $620, that I had to have the carpet installed within 30 days. It was well after 30 days when I disputed the charges with the company. I spoke to a sales manager, Matt, about the re-stocking fee of 40% and told him that I wanted to cancel my order. He told me that he could cancel it; however, he would have to charge me the re-stocking fee of $620. At this point, my order should have automatically cancelled as it was after 30 days. I argued with him that I could not afford to pay anything as I had just lost my job and didn't have wages to pay for the order, or the re-stocking fee. He said that he would refund me the $900 (down payment) but not the restocking fee. I looked at my credit card and he credited my account $280, thus I was charged the $620 for the restocking fee. I told him I would fight this and he said, go ahead. I don't think it is fair or right that I should have to pay a re-stocking fee for an order that was automatically cancelled, not installed and not viable for me to pay because of lost wages. Essentially, Carpet King is charging me $620 for a product that they did not deliver to me. This is stealing and is illegal.

Desired Settlement: I want my re-stocking fee of $620 refunded on my credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/24) */ Ms. W., We apologize, but there is an actual expense associated with cancelling your order. I am including a copy of your signed contract, which refers to the 40% restocking charge. In the spirit of good business, we will credit an additional $140 (one hundred and forty dollars) to your card. Please don't hesitate to contact us, if you ever find yourself in a position to go ahead with the carpet order. We appreciate your help. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want the full amount refunded. Contract or no contract, taking my money without giving me a product is illegally making a profit. After losing my job and without wages to pay for the order, I will go to the media if I do not receive the full refund before the middle of May. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/06) */ Ms. *******, Our customer filed a dispute with her credit card company, and American Express has withdrawn $900 from our bank account. In addition, we already refunded the customer $280. As previously stated, we agree to refund the customer her down payment less $480, and therefore charge her a $420 restocking charge. Please note that, due to recent activity from American Express, we have not processed the $140 refund previously mentioned in our correspondence. We apologize for any inconvenience.

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpet King installed a new floor in my kitchen and when putting trim boards back on shot a nail gun through 3/4 inch water pipe. On 01/31/15 Carpet King provided an estimate of $5,229.26 for new flooring in our kitchen, entry way, mudroom and 1/2 bathroom (invoice # ********** - change order #2). A down payment of $2626.15 was paid on 01/31/15 via Visa and the balance of $2,954.48 was paid on 02/28/15 via Visa. The total charge for floor ended up being $5580.63 because of additional tile being required due to under estimating the necessary tile needed for the job initially and having Carpet King move the refrigerator. The sales rep we worked with was ***********. Our floor was installed 03/11/15, 03/12/15 and 03/13/15 and the installer did a very good job with one big exception. The installer finished at approximately 10AM on 03/13/15. One of the last things he did was to re-install the trim boards around the floor and when doing so didn't use the original nail holes on the trim boards but instead used a nail gun and just nailed wherever it was convenient for him. In doing so he nailed into a water pipe that goes between the second and third level of my house. If he would have used previous holes in trim board or nailed into the base 2x4s, where the copper pipes were protected by a metal plate, or found the wall stud he would have never hit the copper pipe. It wasn't until about 4PM on 03/13/15 that I noticed water leaking in my basement. I pulled the refrigerator out to see if the leak was coming from the water line to the refrigerator which supplies water for ice maker, etc. and it was not. I then went into the basement and looking through a false ceiling discovered that the water was coming from the 3/4 inch copper pipes that supply water to my third level. I immediately shut off the house water and then at this point I called the Maplewood Carpet King office at4:21PM and asked for ***********. Paul transferred me to "Customer Support", ***** I believe, to who I explained my situation. I told him that I needed Carpet King to get a plumber out to my house ASAP to fix the pipe. ***** told me that I must not have the required by building code metal plate on the 2x4s in my wall and that it was "my problem" and not Carpet King's. So based on this I removed the sheet rock behind refrigerator to see exactly what was going on. I then was able to see that there was indeed a metal plate on the 2x4s protecting the water pipes and that the installer had just improperly nailed the trim board. I then called back Carpet King, ***** in "Customer Service", at 4:38PM on 03/13/15 to explain that the metal plate was on the 2x4s. He told me that it was an accident and that accidents happen and again that it was "my problem". I proceeded over the next two days to temporarily and then permanently fix the copper water pipe. I put at least 8 hours of my time and $50.00 of parts into this effort. I'm still considering getting a plumber over here to verify the fix. I also have concerns of mold, etc. in my basement due to the water that leaked behind walls that I can't get to.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I'm seeking is $50.00 for the parts required to fix the problem and $300.00 a plumber to come to my house and inspect and fix if necessary the copper pipe that was nailed through. Plumber rates are $150.00/hr with a 2 hour minimum.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/09) */ Per our attached contract signed by Mr. K., we are not responsible for issues beyond our control or for incidental damage, and this is a perfect example of such. The installer nailed it in the baseboard in the same manner that they usually do. There is simply no way for any installer to see if there are exposed pipes behind the sheetrock which sits behind the baseboard. It is the homeowner's responsibility to ensure that an adequate protective steel plate is installed in front of the pipes, to protect the pipes from any damage such as this. Seemingly there is a steel plate in front of said pipes, but it does not meet and exceed the height of the baseboard, like it should. Had the steel plate been adequate, damage would have been avoided in the course of installing the baseboard. It's not feasible to reuse the old nail holes, since the nails would not hold. We apologize, and suggest the customer files a claim with their insurance company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't consider the damage incidental and I don't consider it beyond Carpet King, Inc.'s control. I'm involved in a business that works with customers as well and when/if we mess up we make it right for the customer. Otherwise they'll go somewhere else. I've used Carpet King to do 3/4s of the carpet in my house a few years ago and now half of my flooring. Carpet King, Inc. apparently doesn't want the rest of my business, any referrals, any of my friend's business, good references or good publicity. Very short sighted business plan on your part Carpet King, Inc. The pipes were adequately protected by building code. If you haphazardly nail gun into sheet rock, you're going to hit something. And if you do, you need to make it right for the customer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/16) */ I am attaching the recorded conversation I had with Mr. K. on 03/13/15, in which the customer concedes that we nailed through the trim board (and through the sheetrock behind it). The conversation also includes proof of common-sense acknowledgment that there is no way for the installer to know that there are unprotected pipes behind the wall. Unfortunately, today, we are unable to validate a new and different account of the events. We apologize for any inconvenience.

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you love to work with DISHONEST people, then TRADE DIRECT is the company for you. The customer service does not exist, and they will tell you anything you want to hear up front, but WILL NOT Deliver! I put down almost $5,000 dollars up front (as they told me that is what is required) and almost 4 months later, I have nothing to show for it. They have used my money all this time. Back in the beginning, they told me that I needed to remove my sink/water in order for them to come out and measure for a new granite counter top and almost 3 months later, they have yet to supply me with my granite. NO KITCHEN FOR 4 MONTHS IS UACCEPTABLE!!! Also, when I picked out my granite, they never went over "GRADES" or pricing, and now they are demanding that I pay them even more money before they will install my counters. Once I got the Attorney General involved, magically the granite went on sale! However, TRADE DIRECT is still to high priced. If you choose to work with them, know your pricing, know how a kitchen project should be handled so you can watch them every step of the way, as they will take full advantage of you otherwise. Product_Or_Service: KITCHEN REMODEL Order_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I WANT 100% FULL REFUND OF MY MONEY BACK IMMEDIATELY!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/09) */ ***corresponding documents attached. RE: Case # ********: ********** Ms. *******, Thank you for your follow up. Up to this point, we were working to fill the order and were attempting to secure the fabricated countertops for Ms. F. Per the attached signed contract, Ms. F agreed to purchase a sink, carpet, countertop and a template from Trade Direct on December 5, 2014. At Ms. F.'s instructions, the sink was dropped shipped to her home. We then learned, from Ms. F. that the sink would not fit in her cabinets. At that point, she asked to be able to return the sink, cancel the order and get her money back. That we would not agree to as it was clear from the signed paperwork that the product, once shipped, is not returnable. However, in an effort to work with the customer, our Manager, ************, got involved and offered to take back the sink in return for moving forward with the countertops (which at this point had not yet shipped). This was agreed and was the plan. Clearly the customer now wishes to cancel the order. Unfortunately, we have incurred hard cost restocking charges of $250 to return the sink to the fabricator. As previously agreed we would prefer to continue selling Ms. F. the reminder of her order and waive the restocking fee on the return of the sink. As this solution no longer works for Ms. F., we are prepared to refund her entire down payment less the $250 restocking fee; provided that she also agrees to cancel the order and release Trade Direct from any and all obligations related to this order. We feel that this is a reasonable resolution for both parties. If this offer is acceptable, we have provided a release which we would request that Ms. F. sign and return to my attention. Once received, we will process a refund less the re-stocking charge of $250.00. Sincerely, ************** Manager, Customer Service (612)******** *******@hotmail.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/10) */

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The carpet they installed early Jan. 2015 was not installed correct. Product_Or_Service: Carpet Order_Number: 16-*******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Would like them to fix the problem but they say they won't.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/06) */ Our records show that we have completed a satisfactory repair on 03/03/15. Please let us know if there are any pending issues. We apologize for our customer's inconvenience. ************** Customer Service Manager

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not willing to correct installation of carpet. Did not receive the correct product. Missing pad under carpet based on the quote that we paid. *************************** made the purchases with Carpet King to install a blue carpet with pad and kitchen floor. We made the first payment on July 2, 2014 so that they can order the materials. We made arrangement for installation on Friday, July 26, 2014. The kitchen floor installation was done with no problems and with ease. The carpet installation was the nightmare. They came with the materials and started the process. They could not finish the project and were to come back the next date which would have been Saturday. They did not come. I had to make a call to make arrangements to get them to complete the job. During that time I noticed that they have not put down a pad. What they did was glue on a good wood floor. The problem on August 5, 2014 was the carpet was unraveling by the seams which continued the bad installation. I made a phone call to the customer service area to complain that we did not receive the product that we purchased and also we are having a huge problem with unraveling. I requested for someone to come out to look over this installation work. The customer service person (************** Customer Service Manager) did not make any attempt to have someone come out he just wanted to argue with me that the contract said to glue. I have looked over this contract and it states that we should have had pad/glued along with carpet. I am also questioning the carpet that they brought us does not seem like the same carpet that was chosen. This dispute is still going on since Sept. 2nd and no resolution has been made no attempt to come back and come out to see the issues. My Pastor had gone out to the company to talk with the customer service manager (**************)and of course he was not there. They keep telling us that they will contact us. What is truly very disappointing is that this was a fundraiser that our youth did for their space. I do not think we are being unreasonable for someone to come out to see the work that was done and to go over and come to a resolution. At this time I would like to request a mediation with Carpet King and the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: I have been seeking for them to replace the work that we requested and paid for and that is the pad and correct carpet that was chosen. or refund us $1900.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/21) */ Ms. *******, As requested by our customer, we are going to inspect the job site. The appointment is set for today Friday 11/21/14 at noon, with Ms. E., myself, and our installation manager *************. We will report our findings to upper management, and our company will strive to reach an ethical resolution to this complaint. I appreciate your help with this claim.

10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased $10,000 worth of carpet. Carpeting in one room was installed 3 times. Seeking compensation for delays and my time spent to resolve. Store: Flooring Expo - Edina Invoice: ********** Purchased a total of $10,000 of carpeting for residence. Charge for carpet in dispute was $1,630.82 Carpet $1,282.14 Pad $224.80 Installation $37.00 Optional Charges $86.88 $1,630.82 3/21/14: Purchase date 9/20/14: Final installation date ______ 5/23/14: Carpeting was installed to meet deadline before graduation party, however the final strip of carpeting was a distinct darker color. (Took 1st vacation day) 5/27/14: Contacted Customer Service Manager: ************** 5/27/14: Sent pictures of problem area, as requested. 7/?/14: Carpet re-installed (Took 2nd vacation day). 8/4/14: Sent new pictures of problem area, as requested. 8/18/14: Requested update. 8/19/14: Instructed to select another carpet brand. 8/?/14: Selected new carpet at Flooring Expo. 9/15/14: The third carpet installation was scheduled for this date, but no installers came. (Took 3rd vacation day). Contacted Customer Service Manager who admitted error in scheduling. 9/15/14: Repeatedly requested call from Carpet King management to discuss service issues. No call was ever received. 9/20/14: Carpet installed (4th day required to complete job). While color difference is less apparent, it still exists.

Desired Settlement: TIME SPENT BY CUSTOMER: 24 hours: 3 days of customer's time While 4 days were required, the first day is implied in the purchase and has been excluded. Full days are used because the installers didn't arrive until late morning (even when the first appointment of the day was promised)and installation takes 3 - 4 hours. 1 hour: Two instances of taking pictures, downloading and submitting to Customer Service Manager. 2 hours: Six instances of moving furniture in or out of room (20 minutes each instance times two people). 2 hours: Trip to select new carpeting brand. 2 hours: 23 telephone conversations with Customer Service Manager @ 5 minutes each. SUM OF HOURS SPENT 31 hours @30 per hour = $930 PLUS Compensation for delay in completion = $500 (4 months from initial installation date) EQUALS $1,430 total compensation

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ ***Corresponding documents attached. October 10, 2014 Re: Case # ********: *** ****** Ms. *******, I apologize for Ms. ******'s less than ideal carpet purchasing experience. We very rarely encounter repeated claims on the products which we sell. Ms. ****** has kindly helped us process the claims by sending pictures and, yes, by communicating with us as needed. We are very grateful for that. We have tried to make up for the error in scheduling by completing the installation on Saturday. I am very sorry to hear that there is a less apparent but still visible color difference with the new carpet as well. We can process a claim as needed. We recognize that this would inevitably take more of Ms. ******'s time. Please review the enclosed signed contractual agreement. Our contract with Ms. ****** clearly specifies that "It is understood that the installation cannot be precisely scheduled and The Company shall not be liable for lost wages or compensation for time spent waiting, or inconvenience due to customers inability to use any portion of his premises during the order, reorder or installation of the product". I am truly sorry, but we are unable to compensate Ms. ****** for her time invested in processing this claim. What we have promised, and we are doing, is processing a $244.80 refund for the difference in price between Ms. ******' new carpet and her originally selected carpet. Ms. ******'s new carpet style "Centerpoint" sells for $4.99 per square foot, while Ms. ******'s originally selected carpet style "Interior" sells for $5.79 per square foot. This installation called for 306 square feet. I apologize for our inability to meet Ms. ******'s, and our own expectations. We appreciate your help with this matter. *************** Manager, Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still don't feel that I'm being heard. 1) Carpet King's response is authored by the Customer Service Manager. This is confusing to me as he has told me several times that he does not have the authority to make exceptions. I'm at a loss why my numerous requests to talk with someone with decision making authority continue to be ignored. 2) Carpet King's response describes my experience as "less than ideal" and doesn't dispute any of the facts I provided. However, nothing is offered to remedy the 31 hours of my time required to complete the installation of one room of carpeting. The reference that their contract protects them from responsibility seems "robotic" and short sighted to me. 3) Carpet King's response refers to a refund that they are "processing". It has been 3 MONTHS since I selected the new carpeting. I have not yet received the refund due to me. When I purchased the $10,000 worth of carpet, the sales person I worked with was excellent. I find it hard to believe that Carpet King stands behind the customer experience I have endured since that time. I would sill welcome the opportunity to discuss my concerns, by phone, with someone higher in the company than the Customer Service Manager, as I remain a very unhappy customer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/10/31) */ ***corresponding documents attached. Re: Case ********: *** ****** Ms. *******, I apologize for Ms. ******'s less than ideal carpet purchasing experience. We very rarely encounter repeated claims on the products which we sell. Ms. ****** has kindly helped us process the claims by sending pictures and, yes, by communicating with us as needed. We are very grateful for that. We have tried to make up for the error in scheduling by completing the installation on Saturday. I am very sorry to hear that there is a less apparent but still visible color difference with the new carpet as well. We can process a claim as needed. We recognize that this would inevitably take more of Ms. ******'s time. Please review the enclosed signed contractual agreement. Our contract with Ms. ****** clearly specifies that "it is understood that the installation cannot be precisely scheduled and The Company shall not be liable for lost wages or compensation for time spent waiting, or inconvenience due to customers inability to use any portion of his premises during the order, reorder or installation of the product". I am truly sorry, but we are unable to compensate Ms. ****** for her time invested in processing this claim. What we have promised, and we are doing, is processing a $244.80 refund for the difference in price between Ms. ******' new carpet and her originally selected carpet. Ms. ******'s new carpet style "Centerport" sells for $4.99 per square foot, while Ms. ******'s originally selected carpet style "Interior" sells for $5.79 per square foot. This installation called for 306 square feet. I apologize for our inability to meet Ms. ******'s, and our own expectations. We appreciate your help with this matter. *************** Manager, Customer Service

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged my card without notify me, was never given a receipt. Tried to resolve both issues, no response/unhelpful. On July 2nd we had a rep from Carpet King come to our home and give us a quote and on that day we decided to go with Carpet King to replace the carpet in our basement for $1900 for the next Monday, July 7th. On that day the rep took my debit card information and charged me the first $900 as a first charge never telling me when the rest of the amount would be charged. On the following Saturday, the 5th, I checked my account to see that I would have enough to pay the rest of the amount when the time came. When I did this however I found that the amount had already been charged and the business had made no effort to try to contact me. After this point I was throughly upset because of this breach of trust and the unethical behavior of the business in not notifying me that this would be happening. The morning if the 7th, the day of the installation I called to complain and ask why this had happened, the man who answer was unable to give me a reason and said that the person that was supposed to control this should have called me and notified me and he said that he would call me back when he had looked into, I never received a call back. Following this I sent an e-mail to the business on July 11th stating that i wanted a receipt which I never received, and wanted because they offer a lifetime guarantee and I wanted proof of the purchase, and would like an explanation for why I had been charged without notification. In this e-mail I stated that I would wait for 3 days until I would take my case to the BBB. The three days have passed and I have not received any type of communication from Carpet King nor a receipt.

Desired Settlement: I just want a receipt to be sent to me either through e-mail or regular mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ Ms. *****, I am sorry to see that our lack of communication with Mr. ***** has given him enough reason to write a letter expressing his concerns. Mr. ***** will receive a mailed receipt from us as soon as possible. We have charged Mr. *****'s card on July 3rd, and one day before the installation on July 6th. In order to keep installation and accounting separate, we prefer to collect any balance before the actual installation happen. Mr. ***** should indeed have been made fully aware of our process. We apologize for our customer's inconvenience, and appreciate your help with this matter. Sincerely, **************

10/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpet King refuses to give me a receipt with the total amount broken down. I don't believe I received the pad I paid for. Re: invoice #********. Ordered carpet on 9-19-13 from a home consultation. Was given a purchase agreement that only showed the total price owing. I ordered a pad upgrade at the time of ordering. I paid the charges and the carpet was installed on 9-30-13. It does not feel like it is a deluxe pad. The floor is just plain hard! I called my salesperson and asked to have a receipt with the totals for labor, pad and carpet broken down and the square footage they used to figure the price. I wanted to check everything before I made a complaint about the pad. I should have asked for this type of breakdown before I placed the order and now I'm sorry I didn't, but I didn't think it would be a problem. The salesperson said she couldn't give me that kind of receipt and referred me to her manager, Mr ************, who I could never contact. I called the Carpet King office, and they inform me that they never give a receipt with the detail that I'm asking for. I suspect that their business practices are fraudulent and I may have been overcharged and not received the carpet pad upgrade I paid for. They offered to come out and pull up a corner of the carpet to check the pad, but I have lost trust in this company and don't want them in my house again. I really only want a receipt showing the detailed charges as I requested. I held up my end of the bargain and paid the bill and paid it in a timely manner. I feel Carpet King owes me the courtesy of letting me see what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed receipt showing price and name of the carpet, the price of the pad, the labor, and the total square footage for the project.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/30) */ I am including Ms. ********'s contract, and a receipt. The name of the carpet and pad are spelled out on the contract. The square footage involved was 384 square feet. We do not break down the receipt beyond that. Unfortunately, we are unable to change this policy for Ms. ********. With no success, we have offered to check the pad, since it appears to be part of our customer's concern. I apologize for our customer's inconvenience, and appreciate your help in handling this case! ************** Customer Service Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is the same exact document I have already received from Carpet King. It does not break down the costs that I have requested. I would like to know exactly how much went to labor, carpet, pad and any other misc. expenses. That is all I am asking. It may be their policy to not issue this type of receipt, but in the interest of keeping a customer happy I would think they could come up with something! I am not asking for anything monetary! Carpet King's unwillingness to give me this information tells me they are hiding something from me. I was a foolish consumer to not have checked on them before making a purchase and I now regret doing this. Won't happen again.

10/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very amateur installation. When I asked for a different crew to come fix it, they said they have to send the same team. I paid $4600 to have laminate flooring and carpet installed in my house. I paid good money for a professional installation and instead got a very amateur installation. The carpet has a huge lump in the middle of the living room due to an almost 6 inch overlap in the carpet pad, there are 1/8 inch gaps between the carpet and the wall in many different areas, and the tack strips stick through the carpeting on the stairs. Not only was this crew terrible at installing the carpet, but they damaged my closet doors and furniture. I requested to have a different crew come fix the problems, since the first one was obviously not up to the task, but Customer Service Manager ************** says that this is not possible and that the original crew must come back to complete the work. He also states that they do not reimburse any amount for customer service, even though the labor was clearly not completed as agreed. He states that this was his "lead crew."

Desired Settlement: I do not want the same amateur crew working on my house again. I want a refund in the amount of $200 to $500. I have already had to rehang every closet door in my house, fix trim that was damaged, and fix my furniture that was damaged. Now I will need to take up the carpet in the living room to fix the overlap in the carpet mat, install new trim along the floors to hide the gaps that were left, and fix all of the tack strips on the stairs. I expect to be fairly compensated for my own labor, plus reimbursed for the labor that the installation crew did not perform as agreed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ Ms. *****, Mr. ******* is absolutely right that we should have done a better job at installing the carpeting in his home! We have dispatched an alternate crew on 10/15/13, and the aforementioned issues have been resolved. This complaint has generated a thorough internal review about our repairs policy. Against our company policy, we have sent an alternate crew to address the issues, which resulted in a highly improved experience for Mr. *******. Therefor, in our ongoing effort to improve the service we offer to our customers, we are considering changes in the way we address our customer's needs for repairs. We are truly sorry for Mr. ********* inconvenience, and appreciate your help in addressing this matter!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Carpet King, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart