BBB Accredited Business since

Carpet King

Phone: (952) 593-1522 View Additional Phone Numbers 13512 Wayzata Blvd, Minnetonka, MN 55305 http://www.carpet-king.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carpet King meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carpet King include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carpet King
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 08/01/1946 Business started locally: 08/01/1946
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
William Bailey, President Giuliano Pascu, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: William Bailey, President
Customer Contact: Giuliano Pascu, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Trade Direct
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Carpet King, Inc., this company offers sales and installation of all types of flooring products, focusing on residential replacement and installation.


Additional Locations

  • 13512 Wayzata Blvd

    Minnetonka, MN 55305 (952) 593-1522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an order for carpet with Carpet King. When I asked to apply for the 12-month interest-free financing that is advertised on their website, the salesperson did not know how to set up the financing. No one else in the store nor anyone else she tried contacting was able to help either. I decided to make the purchase on my credit card and paid 50% of the order at that time. I was advised that the installation would be completed within 8-10 days. I was also told I would hear from the measurement person the next day (Monday). I contacted the salesperson by phone and/or email each day (Monday - Thursday) stating I had not heard from the person. They finally realized they had a wrong phone number. After finally connecting with the measurement person, I had a time set for the person to come to the house to complete the measurements the following Monday. This error on their end meant losing a full week of moving the process forward. I had emailed the salesperson saying I wanted confirmation that the carpet would be installed on that Thursday. She did not respond until that Thursday and told me the carpet was in town and she was working to arrange the installation for Friday. She continued to string me along with updates that she was working towards getting this arranged for Friday. She stated that she spoke with the installation scheduler and he told her to "just schedule it." She then proceeded to charge my credit card for the balance of the order even though she did not have an installation time set up yet. I called for an update this morning and she said they had 2 crew people who they were trying to arrange to come out to my house to do the installation. She said she would call back with an update. I waited to hear from her all day for an update. I called at 3:30 p.m. and requested an update she stated she was going to call me at 4 p.m. Quite obviously the installation was not going to be completed after 4 p.m. on a Friday. At 4 p.m. she called and said it was out of her hands and would not be done today. I stated that the carpet needed to be installed today or we would need to discuss cancelling the order and refunding my order in full. She advised that I would need to pay a 40% restocking fee. This is absolutely unacceptable. This salesperson over-promised and under-delivered. I have wasted two weeks time when I could have moved into the house but was purposely waiting until the carpet was installed.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my order. I will not pay a restocking fee for multiple missteps on the part of the salesperson.

Business Response:

The carpet was installed on 06/27/16.  I have left a follow-up voice mail message on the customer's phone, to call me if there are any other issues.

 

We apologize for the inconvenience, and for the lack of communication during this process.

 

Thank you, for your time and help with this issues!

Giuliano *****

Customer Service Manager
Carpet King

 

 

***copied and pasted from email.

5/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After three installs, we still have carpet w/ mismatched color at the seam, same as first two. CK will not refund w/o tear out of faulty carpet. In November 2014 we went to Carpet King's Minnetonka store to purchase carpeting for our dedicated office on the second level of our home. We purchased 1,056 sq. ft. of Shaw brand carpet from*********** on 11/3/14 for $5,427.84. We paid a $2,500 deposit by credit card on that day, and the balance was paid in full prior to the 11/14/14 installation. Our office houses our home-based medical distribution business which includes three workstations and typical office equipment and furniture. We selected a Shaw brand carpet to be installed before Thanksgiving. Our intent was to have the carpet installed and the room reassembled before Thanksgiving. The carpet that was installed had a "side-match issue", per the carpet inspector that CK sent. CK offered to dye the brand new carpet to eliminate seeing the mismatch. We have read about the poor results with dying carpet, so we requested replacement instead, which CK agreed to. The second installation ended up with the same color faults at the seams, so CK agreed to replace the carpet a third time. The third installation AGAIN has colors that don't match at the seam. Each of these installation requires our business to be shut down for 3 working days; one day to dismantle everything in the office and put it into storage, a second day for the installation, and a third day to retrieve all of the furniture and equipment and get the office set up again. The faulty carpet was inspected three times; two of the inspection reports submitted to Shaw were fraudulent, stating that the inspector used certain tools which he did not use; my office manager and I were both there during these installations and can attest to the fact that the reports are not accurate. We can furnish all three of these reports, and have all of the e-mail correspondence that transpired. Although CK offered to replace the carpet a fourth time, we 1) have no confidence in their ability to deliver what we purchased, and 2) we can not afford, for a fourth time, to shut our business for 3 days. So we just want our purchase price refunded. We will have to live with a very visible mis-matched seam for the next 10-12 years. We can furnish photos of this. Each carpet installation has required: * completely emptying the contents of 4 file drawers from each of 3 large metal filing cabinets (which include documentation for hundreds of our customers). * dismantling 3 large office desks, including removal of three large laminate tops. * dismantling 3 networked computer workstations. * removing the contents of a 6 foot high by 3 foot wide metal office storage cabinet. * Moving the above stated furniture into a temporary storage area. * Moving additional furniture/equipment including: an office refrigerator, 2 large leather swivel recliner/rockers, one table, an architectural drafting table weighing approximately 200 lbs, and a large free standing office copy machine. This process required one full business day to complete, including time of the business owners and work time of our Office Manager who is paid hourly. Then, our office was closed for a second day for the carpet installation. Then, our office was closed for a third day, to set up the office again. Our business can NOT afford to be shut down a FOURTH time (for three working days) to accommodate CK/Shaw to try, for a fourth time, to get it right. We just want our money back, and will have to look at a mismatched seam down the middle of the office for the next 10-2 years, when we can afford the time to shut our business down again for three days.

Desired Settlement: We would just like to have our purchase price refunded, without having to loose 3 more work days of our business. We will have to live with mis-matched carpet for the next 10-12 years. CK is only willing to provide this refund if they remove the faulty carpet. Since we can not loose another 3 days of our business, dismantling our office for a fourth time to return faulty carpet to CK presents our business with a financial hardship, to no fault of our own. Since CK is willing to refund our purchase price while also paying to have installers come to remove the faulty carpet, it seems to me that they certainly could refund the purchase price WITHOUT paying an installation crew to tear out the faulty carpet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/09) */ We are very sorry to see that Mr. J. has another claim on his recently-replaced carpet. We have had two instances where certified independent inspectors found a manufacturing-related issue in the carpet. During the first claim, we suggested color-blending, and told the customer that the carpet mill will stand behind it and the warranties on the carpet will not change. Whenever feasible, this is the easiest and least intrusive way to solve this type of carpet claim. The certified independent inspector deemed this instance as feasible for color blending. Unfortunately, customer refused the blending, and we replaced the carpet. The new carpet had a similar issue, and again we suggested color blending. The customer refused color blending again, and we replaced the carpet. According to the customer, the new carpet has a similar issue. **** Industries has retained the services of an independent inspector, who concluded there are no manufacturing defects in the carpet. Per the enclosed inspection report, "This concern was caused by a shadowing effect from a properly constructed seam running across a site in a location with angular lighting conditions and one of the drops having a slightly more nap crushed pile texture from roll-up/storage that should disappear over time. No evidence of a manufacturing side match problem as the cause for this concern." Unfortunately, we are unable to validate Mr. J's latest claim. Our efforts to resolve this issue in a reasonable way have failed. Based on the independent inspection report, we therefore have closed this claim as denied. We apologize for any inconvenience, and trust that the Bureau will close this claim beyond purview. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The product that we selected and purchased for over $5,400 was new, non-defective carpet. And, after three failed attempts to deliver what we purchased, and causing our business to be closed for 6 days more than what we planned for, CK has still not delivered what we purchased. We understand that CK's preferred fix was carpet dyeing. However, as the customer who paid over $5400, we were not satisfied with that option. After investigating this method by looking at numerous reviews and articles related to this method, we deemed it an unacceptable solution for us, the paying customer. Obviously, CK and the inspector prefer this method because it results in a lower cost to CK; and, interestingly, the inspector who completed the first two inspections also does carpet dyeing as a second business. On his second inspection (see attached report), he attempted to pressure us to schedule a time on the spot for him to come in and complete the dyeing. To us this is a clear conflict of interest and did nothing to engender confidence in the inspection process or CK's commitment to what was in the best interest of us, their customer. Additionally, from what we have researched, customers very often have issues with dye rubbing off onto clothing and furniture, and fading after one carpet cleaning. CK and **** may or may not guarantee this process, but the point is that we purchased new carpet with the intent of not having to deal with it again for another ten to fifteen years. We don't want to have to "fix" it again in one, two, five years when the dye wears off. Additionally, we're not interested in bringing more toxic chemicals into our workplace simply because CK can't provide the product we purchased. Regarding CK's claim that they cannot validate our latest claim: of course CK cannot validate our latest claim; 1) their customer "service" manager has refused to come look at their carpet when we have requested, stating that this is not their procedure, 2) their third inspection report does not include photos, and 3) their third inspection report is fraudulent (as was their second report). Their report indicates that the inspector 1) used a light box; he did not, 2) used a strong inspection light; he did not, 3) he used flash lighting; he did not, 4.) the report states that the inspector should, "Send digital photos with EVERY claim"; there were no photos attached, 5.) the report states that the space is a basement; it is not--it is a second floor office space. My office manager, my wife, and I were all with the inspector during the inspection and can attest that the claims that he made on this report are fraudulent. In addition, the conclusions suggest that their carpet color will only look correct "with the use of strong inspection lamp and flash lighting sources." Really?! That's what needs to be done so the color looks correct? This is what they are basing their determination on that no action needs to be taken? We are left to assume that in order for their carpet to look as it should, we need to aim high intensity light on the seam; and they are apparently okay with this. I am attaching pictures that I took of the carpet about which ****'s inspector concludes, "there are no manufacturing defects in the carpet" (among other comments made in that report). One picture was taken immediately after the installation, and the other was taken a few days ago. Both pictures were taken when it was dark outside, so there was no light coming in from the side window, which the report says is a contributing factor. The report also suggests that the effects of the crushed pile from roll-up/storage should disappear over time; the second picture was taken 45 days after the installation and there has been NO change in the appearance of the carpet as the inspection report stated would occur: "This concern....should disappear over time." As is visible in the attached pictures, the "crushed pile" is not the problem. The problem is that the carpet is two different colors at the seam. Given that CK has not been able to deliver what we purchased after three attempts, and given that they have submitted two fraudulent claims to **** Industries regarding this carpet, we just want our purchase price refunded, and expect that we will not need to close down our business for another three days to receive this refund. At this point we have resigned ourselves to the fact that we are stuck with this carpet for the life of the carpet. However, we feel that it is unreasonable to pay for carpet that, if we reasonably could, we would return. It is obvious that CK does, in fact, know that this carpet is defective in spite of what their inspection report claims, as they have promised a refund if we remove the carpet. If the carpet were truly without problems as stated in their report, I can't imagine they would have suggested removal as a solution. Additionally, the salesperson suggested that **** doesn't allow them to process the refund without returning the carpet. This also is not true. After the first installation, we stated that we knew of a party who could take the defective carpet to use in an apartment used to help people in crisis situations. CK and **** had no problem leaving that batch of carpet with us to dispose of and there was apparently no need for **** to have the faulty carpet returned to them. Additionally, CK has suggested a partial refund since the issue is only present at one seam. There are two problems with this: 1.) If, as the report indicates, there are no issues with the carpet, why is the Customer Service Manager claiming there is, in fact, a problem at one of the seams, 2.) the seam in question is the longest, most centrally located seam in the entire office, so the issue isn't just the seam but rather the way the entire room of carpet presents itself in the room. If CK had been willing to come and view the carpet themselves, they would easily see this. In summary, our view of this matter is this: we spent over $5,400 for brand new non-defective carpet; not brand new, defective, dyed-in-place carpet with dubious results and no clear indication of how things would be handled by Carpet King if we were unhappy with the results of dyeing. We patiently followed the process dictated to us by the carpet retailer in order to achieve our desired and reasonably expected result. However, after three attempts and a great deal of valuable lost business time, we still have defective carpet. We cannot close our business down for three days for a fourth time, for another removal process, but will need to live with the defective, two tone carpet for a number of years until we can reasonably take the time to replace it. The issue with this carpet is not just that there is color variation at one seam as Mr. ***** has stated, but rather the most centrally placed seam is clearly presenting a two-toned appearance that a customer should not have to pay a cent for. Frankly, from our perspective, what is causing the two-toned appearance is irrelevant. CK claims there is no dye issue. We can't answer to that since we are not carpet experts. However, we are consumers who, after almost two months, still have two-toned carpet that has not lessened in any way as the inspection report indicated would happen once the supposed crushed nap resulting from storage wore off. We have had carpet in that space for fourteen years with the same lighting and have had no issues with visible seams. If we could easily return this product to the store for a refund as one would a microwave or television or a gallon of bad milk, we would do so in an instant, and would be entitled to that full refund according to Mr. ***** himself. Unfortunately, the nature of this product is not conducive to that type of scenario. It requires an inordinate amount of our time and effort and wear and tear on our office equipment and ability to function to make this happen a fourth time. Our hope would be that Carpet King would see the dilemma they have placed us in and make this right by fully refunding our purchase and eliminating the need for further time wasted and action taken on either party's side. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/05/08) */ ***corresponding docs attached. Instead of "investigating" around about sidematch correction, I sincerely wish the customer listened to our recommendation and accepted a sidematch correction of the original carpet. It would have saved everyone a lot of time and resources. **** had this carpet inspected by a certified independent inspector. These inspectors are trained professionals and I am dismayed at the utter disregard for their qualifications expressed by our customer. When inspected properly and exposed to high intensity light, the new carpet reveals no manufacturing sidematch or color difference. I am attaching pictures that the inspector took. We have no option but to deny this claim. Our customer mentions in his correspondence that we, Carpet King, have never looked at the carpet. We have left a message to set up an appointment to do just that. *************** Customer Service Manager Carpet King ***copied and pasted from email.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide product as ordered and promised. Contracted with Carpet King one month and four days ago to install carpeting in three rooms. Paid a down payment at that time. Was contacted shortly after to inform us the carpet displayed at the store was discontinued and we had to pick another style. We picked another style. Carpet was scheduled to be installed and final payment was made. Received call saying that somebody at Carpet King forgot to order the padding. We Waited over a week later to have the carpet installed and when the carpet arrived, Per instructions on the contract" when the installer arrives, he will have you verify the products are correct" and our products were not correct. This is not an occasional difference, this was not the same product we chose from the store sample. The store manager, the customer service manager, and installer agreed the carpet was not the same as the store sample. Carpet King is in a claim process with the mill. I was supposed to get some answers with the last week. I have no answers, I have no product, they have my money and I want a full refund.

Desired Settlement: $3,924.68

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ We have refunded our customer's credit card in full. Please allow me to apologize for our inability to meet our customer's as well as our own expectations. The delays associated with this file are partially inherent to the claims process which we have in place. We mailed the showroom sample and a piece of carpet which we received to the carpet mill. The carpet mill compared them, and determined that the customer's claim is valid. We therefore offered to reorder the carpet or any other carpet similar in value from our showroom. Unfortunately, we were denied the opportunity to be of service. We are truly sorry for Ms. ***** and her family's inconvenience! I sincerely appreciate your help with this matter. **************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carpet King
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)