BBB Accredited Business since

Carpet King

Phone: (952) 435-2066 1230 County Road 42 W, Burnsville, MN 55337 http://www.carpet-king.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carpet King meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carpet King include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carpet King
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 08/01/1946 Business started locally: 08/01/1946
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
William Bailey, President Giuliano Pascu, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: William Bailey, President
Customer Contact: Giuliano Pascu, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Trade Direct
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Carpet King, Inc., this company offers sales and installation of all types of flooring products, focusing on residential replacement and installation.


Additional Locations

  • 1230 County Road 42 W

    Burnsville, MN 55337 (952) 435-2066

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 16, 2016 On May 31st 2016 I went in to Carpet king to inquire about carpet. They were having a sale and today was the last day. I picked out my carpet and asked if it could be done the second week of June. I was told by my sales agent Matt Rudie that the carpet was in stock and that would be no problem. I then placed a down payment of $375.50. On June 3rd I had the measurements of the room taken. On June 8th I went in and inquired to as why I had not been called as I had the measurements done 4 days ago. The representative Mark looked up my paperwork and found the measurements. He told me the balance would be $553.34 which was slightly higher than I was expecting. I was also telling Mark that I wanted this done on June 13th and he looked as said they did have open availability for that day. He also told me that this carpet was in stock so all I had to do was pay the remaining balance. Mark said he would leave a message for Matt to call me. The next day I called Mark and went over the balance and again asked about June 13th as I was going to be on vacation to get this done. He again said they had open availability and that all I had to do was pay the reaming balance. I stated I wanted to pay at the time of service but he stated I had to pay beforehand. I again well go ahead and book me for June 13th and I will come in and pay on June 10th. He said he could not do that until I paid. I thought that was weird but went in after work and paid the remaining balance with Mark. On June 10th Matt called and said he did not have enough of the carpet and had to order it. I said it is fine to do it on Tuesday and he said he did not know if it would be in by then. I said will I am on vacation this week. On June 15th I called since I had not heard anything. I asked how much longer the wait was as I had pulled my carpet up during the weekend and had moved some of my furniture in the kitchen. He stated he was sorry and was going to have Matt give me a call. He also said the carpet may be in tomorrow as we get shipments on Thursdays. I called two other Carpet Kings to see if they had the carpet and the Burlington store informed that the carpet would not be available until June 20th. So I start calling other companies to see if they can help me. On June 16th I go to Home furniture and they have a carpet I like and can install the carpet on June 17th. I call Carpet King and I tell the representative I want to cancel my order. He says yeah okay. Then he says can I ask why? I state that I have been waiting since June 13th to have carpet installed and I have my house upside down and I can’t leave it like this. He says what I can do so you won’t cancel. I say it’s too late I need to cancel. He says I can move my furniture and he will have the guys move it back and they will come on Saturday. I am like next Saturday??? So now I have to wait until the 24th and waste a weekend??? He’s like will that is the best I can do for you. He also then informed me that he does not have any installers for this week. So I was lied to about that as well. Then he tells me that I have to pay the 40 percent restocking fee. I said well cancel it. He said it doesn’t matter I already ordered it. I said it has not shipped yet, it is not shipping until June 20th. My paper says once it is shipped from the mill. I also did not sign this as they told me my carpet was in stock. I told him this was not my fault and I did nothing wrong. His tone now changed and he was very condescending and said will I can’t work around that so if you cancel you pay the restocking fee. I said I am not going to give you $371.53 for doing nothing. He said he had most of the carpet but was missing a quarter of it and he could have installed it but I would have seams. I then asked if I do go with the Saturday install if I could get a discount. He was like I am having the guys move the furniture for you and I am doing it on a Saturday. Then he said I will look into might be able to throw $50.00. At this point he was very rude and unprofessional and I just wanted my money back.

Desired Settlement: I just wanted my carpet to be installed in a timely manner as we agreed to. I wanted to cancel my order with full refund. If I have the work done I would like a discount of more than $50.00 for the delay in service and the inconvenience I have experienced. The address for this location is ***** ***** *** ***** Apple Valley, MN 55124. Phone ###-###-####.

Business Response:

I have left a message for this customer, and received a call back.  After that, I was unable to leave a message or get any response when I called back.

 

I will email the customer, in hope to resolute this matter.

 

Thank you,

Giuliano *****

Customer Service Manager
Carpet King

***copied and pasted from email.

Business Response:

 

We have reached a resolution to this complaint, and we are scheduled to install the carpet on 07/16/16.

***copied and pasted from email.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) We were told Coretec was produced in USA; it is actually manufactured in People's Republic of China. 2) Unable to successfully install the product Background: Contracted with *****'s Floors (************) to have carpeting removed from living and dining rooms, hallway and stairs and replaced with hardwood floors, except for a small office and the downstairs hall and laundry room. We would purchase a laminate product for these areas to be installed by *****. Experience with Carpet King, *************** Burnsville, MN ************. Salesperson/manager: Michael *******: Sept 23, 2015: Purchased from CK, Coretec Plus, a product sold by USFloors, at a cost of $2,049.18, reference: usf cp 182, paid by check. We believed product was made in the USA. Sept 30: John ****** picked up product from CK. At home, he pointed out box was labeled: "Made in PRC". I called Mr. *******. The box was made in China, he said, "I guarantee you it (Coretec) is made in the USA... it's made in Georgia." I believe Mr. ******* actually believed it was made in the USA. However, as manager, it is reasonable to expect him to know where products are manufactured. I then went on the web-site and filled out the "contact us" section asking where the product was made. Oct 1: I received a reply to my email from Craig *****, Territory Manager, USFloors Inc.; ****************** Dalton, GA 30721, USA Phone: ************ E: *******@usfloorsllc.com Website: http://www.usfloorsllc.com\ Message: "It is manufactured in China" Oct 1: Bob ***** came and after pulling up the carpet he attempted to lay the Coretec. He had difficulty, called Mr. ******* and then went to CK. He came back and said he could not deal with the product and would not lay the floor. I called Mr. ******* about *****'s response and my reply from Craig *****. Mr. ******* said he would speak to Juliano, customer service rep for CK. Oct 2: Went to CK to speak with Mr. *******. He was not in. I spoke with Shirley, another employee of CK, and shared my concerns with her. She also thought that Coretec was made in the USA, "...it's made by USFloors..." She said she would contact Juliano. On Friday evening, Lucas ****** and Brandon *****, both experienced with laying laminate floors, came and tried, unsuccessfully, to install it. Oct 3: David ********, an experienced installer, read the directions, watched the video. He got the big pieces to go in but could not get the smaller, cut pieces to lock. After several hours of trying, he gave up. He then had to return the furniture and boxes to the office as ***** was expected to come on the 12th to start on the rest of the project. Oct 5: I again went to meet with Mr. *******. We outlined steps taken to date. He said he would have Juliano call me by 1:00. Juliano (************) did call. He was rude and insulting. He told me to return the opened boxes. Oct 7: Juliano called and said that "they" had tested the product and could find nothing wrong with it. When I asked about the "Made in PRC" issue, he said it was a non-issue as there was nothing wrong with the product and so it could not be returned. He also wanted to send out one of his installers to look at the floor. I told him the room was now full of furniture in prep for the project next week. Oct 9: "John" from CK came out and looked at the office. Oct 12: Movers came and moved all furniture out of areas to be worked on before ***** and his crew arrived to begin project. We left the house after movers had finished. Juliano called to say that John (sent by CK) reported there would be no problem installing the floor. How he could tell that, I do not know as the room was completely full of furniture. Juliano wanted to have someone from CK come out and give us a bid on installing the floor. I told him I would call when we returned home on the 24th. Oct 17: Made courtesy call to CK, spoke to Shirley, told her my intent to file complaint with BBB. Oct 19: Juliano called, heard I was filing complaint. See Oct 12 above. I told him that I was not very interested in paying CK to install a floor they claim anyone should be able t

Desired Settlement: Settlement: We would like to return the product, Coretec, to Carpet King. We would like either our money refunded or we would accept a store credit in the amount of $2,049.18 to be used to purchase any other product of our choosing at Carpet King. We were expecting our whole floor project to be completed by October 23, 2015. This was to include: pulling up carpet in living and dining rooms, office, hallway and stairs replacing the carpeting with hardwood in the living and dining rooms, hallway and stairs, and using a laminate type flooring in the office and on the lower level hallway and laundry room. The project was to begin with the office area at the end of September but because of the difficulties encountered, the office area and downstairs hall and laundry room have been put on hold until this issue is resolved. Nothing in the office is in working condition at this time as the desks are on their sides, the printer and shredder are un-plugged, things from the desks and bookshelves are in boxes - basically all of our ordinary and usual office things are in-accessible. Work has gone forward on the hardwood floors portion of the project but it is not known when the total project will be completed. This has been a very stressful event in our lives and I wish for the issues to be resolved in a timely manner. I do not want to blame anyone - I really believe that both Michael and Shirley thought the product was made at USFloors in Dalton, Georgia not the PRC. I do understand the "no returns" policy but believe this is an exception as it is not simply a case of changing one's mind, rather it is the case of a miss-represented product (tho' not purposely) and a product that is not working for us. I wish I had a dollar for every time I heard "It can be a bit tricky to install." these past couple of weeks! I did not hear that comment prior to or during the purchase of Coretec. Thank you for your kind assistance in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ***** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: service@carpetking.com Ms. *******, We do apologize for our customer's inconvenience associated with this flooring order. Since they bought the flooring as a special order, they assumed responsibility for the installation of the flooring. We have asked one of the subcontractors we work with to attempt to install the one carton of materials which was open and cut. He was able to install the product with no issues. We then proceeded to send him out to the customer's home, to inspect the site for a bid of installation. As mentioned in the customer's complaint, the site is currently unavailable. After careful consideration, we agree to take back the product and offer the customer a credit for all goods, less $136.61 for the one carton which was cut. Furthermore, we will make an effort to offset the $136.61 by offering a special price on their new purchase. The remaining credit of $1912.57 can be used at our store anytime in the next 90 days. As a condition of this offer, the 14 cartons need to be returned to our Burnsville store by 11/15/15. We appreciate your help, and apologize for Ms. M¬_'s inconvenience associated with this project. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from the company. I believe it was a fair resolution for both parties. I will return the unopened boxes by the date stipulated and will use the store credit within the 90 day period as stipulated. Thank you to the Better Business Bureau for facilitating this agreement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carpet King
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)