BBB Accredited Business since

ZEROREZ Carpet Care

Phone: (952) 937-6739 Fax: (952) 224-8084 View Additional Phone Numbers 5320 W 23rd St STE 100, Saint Louis Park, MN 55416 http://www.zerorezmn.com View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on ZEROREZ Carpet Care !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ZEROREZ Carpet Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for ZEROREZ Carpet Care include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for ZEROREZ Carpet Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ZEROREZ Carpet Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2007 Business started: 02/25/2005 Business started locally: 02/25/2005 Business incorporated 09/07/2006 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Jim Hoag, President Dennis Handt, Customer Realtionship Manager Michael Kaplan, Managing Partner Tamara Tonn, Director of Business Development Mandi Young, Owner / Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Dennis Handt, Customer Realtionship Manager
Principal: Jim Hoag, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Duct Cleaning Fire & Water Damage Restoration Tile & Grout Cleaning Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Zerorez, this company offers cleaning of air ducts, odor control, tile, grout and carpet.

Industry Tips
Carpet Cleaning Tips Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ZEROREZ Carpet Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5320 W 23rd St STE 100

    Saint Louis Park, MN 55416

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: didn't receive promised inspection and inferior cleaning of carpets I was promised a free air duct cleaning and didn't receive one. The technician spent over 45 minutes on a pet stain and then took only ten minutes to clean the other two rooms. They push their empowered stain removal services but didn't remove a coffee stain that had been pointed out to tech. I feel all they want to do is upsell you and then give inferior results. I could have rented a machine and gotten the same results.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back for the upsell of their stain remover. I will pay for the regular cleaning price of $179.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/10) */ Hello Mary, We do apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused with the cleaning service. When it comes to biological issues there are a number of factors that come in to play. Age of carpet, how was the stain caused, have other products been used, etc. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee stain removal, we can remove the bacteria and odor but staining can be permanent. We do have a 30 day service guarantee here at Zerorez and would be happy to set up a follow up appointment for those areas. We cannot promise those stains will come out but we do want a follow up appointment before a monetary refund. If you have any questions or additional concerns we would be happy to help in any way we can. We take all customer feedback seriously, good or not so good. Please contact our Customer Relations Manager at 651-779-8888 ext.115

9/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our ducts cleaned and less than 2 months later we were pulling out ice cream buckets of "clutter" from the ducts. We had our ducts cleaned on July 1, 2015. Recently (less than 2 months after this "service" was provided to us), we had an electrician rewiring our house. During this project, the electrician accessed the air returns of the house and pulled out more than an ice cream bucket's worth of debris that were in the ducts. That day, the electrician noted to us that we needed to have our ducts cleaned. When we reported to him that the ducts had been cleaned two months prior, he severely questioned that. And suggested to us that they likely weren't cleaned thoroughly or correctly, because the ducts should have been clean, which we found them NOT to be. We specifically had the ducts cleaned prior to moving into a new house as we have respiratory issues in our family. Therefore to learn that either this job had not been performed or had been performed subpar, is extremely disappointing. Not to mention, this was an expensive service.

Desired Settlement: I'd either like a refund of my money or my air ducts cleaned again and I'd like pictures of all vents and returns as evidence that they have in fact been cleaned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/21) */ ******, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused in all this to you and your family. I appreciate you taking the time to discuss things with us today (9/21/15) and we are moving forward to resolve this for you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my carpets cleaned by zerorez on August 18 invoice #****** by Chris *******. The phone estimate was $180 when he got here the estimate $1400. I was told over the phone it would be an additional $75 per gallon to treat pet spots. I thought that one gallon would easily treat one room. $75 treats only a 10inch circle. I asked for a total and was quoted $1400. I told them I did not have that much money. The quote went down to $1100, he said he would write some of it off for training. I again told him I did not have that much money. The quote went down to $800. I told him I would need to call my husband because that was double what I thought I would be paying. Then the quote went down to $ 470. They told me they would treat only the worse pet spots. I felt like once they were in my house they were going to charge as much as I could afford to pay. They were not going to clean my carpets for $180. I ended up paying $574.99 because they reapplied scotch guarding on the rooms. Overall my carpets look okay but I still have traffic marks in my family room. I am not please with the service I received. I think that their pricing is deceptive. I contacted the company and told them of the issue and was told they would look into how they word their script. I suggested they change their pricing to included a room with a deeper clean.

Desired Settlement: I want them to change their pricing. I think it is wrong to get a customers house and charge them seven times more than they thought it would be! I think their level 2 cleaning should have pricing per room not 10 inch spot.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ All of our estimates are sight unseen over the home. Unfortunately when it comes to biological issues we do have to charge more. According to the technician's notes the areas were heavily affected with animal urine. Our technician did provide over $200 in additional free services for the issues. With that style carpeting it has a cloth backing that soaks up any moisture. The padding is a high quality moisture barrier pad that prevents anything from soaking to the sub floor. Any moisture that penetrates through the carpet sits on the surface of the pad. So with the issue contained to the surface of the pad and the cloth backing soaking the issue up it can be extremely difficult to resolve without doing the proper treatments. Chris, your technician, advised that level 2 pad extractions were needed and his estimate was $1,400 for the areas. He was advised that amount was too much so he was willing to do areas for free and dropped the estimate to $1,100. Our technician was still advised that was too much and a call was made to the husband who advised that we were to only do level one topical treatments. Only doing the level one treatment's along with the cleaning and fiber protection got us to the $574.99 with tax. Christopher is our lead trainer here at Zerorez. He still provided free level 2 treatments on the worse areas to not only to train but also attempt to help the situation in the home. He also provided free areas of fiber protection. The free services were valued at over $200. We are only here to help and did not cause the issues. Chris provided instructions and advice on what needs to be done to remedy the biological areas. He even mentioned that he and his trainee were given cookies during the appointment for their efforts cleaning. Here at Zerorez we do have a 30 day service guarantee and will have another technician out to the home and assess the areas if you like. Please give us a call at ************ if you would like another appointment that would be free of charge to set up.

8/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Zerorez lost my payment check, is billing two different amounts, told me the problem was on their end and they would take care of it, but didn't. On 18 June 2015, I had Zerorez to my home to do carpet cleaning and sofa cleaning. I wrote a check for the total of $410.28. I continuously receive calls from Zerorez stating that I have not paid my bill, when in fact I gave the individual who was at my home a check. I called Zerorez in St. Louis Park, MN, three times returning their calls and spoke with an accountant - each time I was told that this was Zerorez' error and not to worry about it, I don't owe anything. Yet I continue to receive this calls (I have also attempted to return calls 8 times and the accountant was not available, never called me back, and they would not let me speak to a manager) - during my last call, I told the rep who answered the phone that if no accountants were available (4 pm), then I would prefer to do any further communication with Zerorez in writing, since the company cannot keep it's accounting nor phone calls straight. During my first call with Zerorez, I was quoted an amount that was supposedly owed - and I informed Zerorez that this amount did not include the sofas (which I was told they were going to straighten out, but never did). I also provided a $50 tip; however, upon the cleaner leaving my home, I noticed an extremely large amount of water running down my lower staircase and into my lower entry, as though several gallons of water had leaked out of his hose the entire time he was in my home - it took 6 full bath sized towels to soak up, and I am concerned about the condition of the floor underneath. In addition, once the floor was dry, the sofas and carpet looked as though they had not even been cleaned. Two people came into my home afterward and asked what happened to my carpet, as they noticed without me even mentioning that I had cleaners over. Additionally, I have had twice the amount of space and both sofas cleaned for half the price of Zerorez, but fell sucker to advertising on KS95. "Ryan" at KS95 said he would help take care of it, but I continue to receive calls asking for a payment that I already provided and had already discussed with the company, I am assuming Zerorez lost track of his call also like they did mine so we are back at "square one" again this this company as though no one has ever been in contact with them over this issue. The cleaner also arrived several hours late into the evening. I was going to let the poor service go, and just never use the company again, but since Zerorez continues to contact me for a bill that I already provided payment, it may as well be addressed here as well.

Desired Settlement: 1. Please let me know what you did with my check. It is number 3228 in the amount of $410.28 dated 18 June 2015. I contacted my bank and they stated it has not been presented for payment. 2. If you lost my check, then provide a new total for me that includes a $32 subtraction which is the fee my bank will charge for me to cancel the check, and mail or e-mail a bill with the new total to me. 3. The right thing to do here for a business considering the poor workmanship, time I have spent talking to your company over and over, and the number of times over the past nearly two months I was told not to worry about it, would probably be not to charge me at all frankly. I do not want the cleaner back at my house and will not use your company again. If you are going to make me pay for this terrible service it is your prerogative, but an unethical business practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/18) */ We do apologize for any inconvenience caused by this. We do appreciate your patience while we figured this out. Yes our technician did lose the check for the the appointment. We found out that the check was thrown away accidentally that is why it has not been presented for payment. We also have been trying to contact you to make you aware that we will not be charging you for any of this but have not been responded to the voice mails we have left to inform you of this. We will also provide you with a check for the $32 it cost to cancel the check. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience with all this. As our voice mails indicated if you would like to speak with someone here at Zerorez please call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask to speak with our customer relations manager. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks. If you are not charging me, no need to worry about the canceled check fee, I will pay for that. As as aside, the technician was very professional, courteous, and explained all the charges in advance. My theory is that something probably became disconnected (thus the water puddle) and he didn't have suction (or enough suction). I am fairly certain the last room he worked on got "wet" but not "cleaned". I only mention this because I would want to know how the "front end" of my company operates as a business owner: I did attempt to call back a total of 11 times, and other than the first two times, I was always told no one was ever available to take my call each time. I use computerized phone, so the calls are logged. I attempted at different times of the day (morning, noon, late afternoon). The reps try to resolve calls instead of letting the customer speak to the accountant. I understand a company's attempt to resolve issues at the lowest level instead of burdening the accountants, but this was more of a hindrance since this issue required specificity (especially when I had the name of accountants whose calls I was returning, I shouldn't be "buffered" from leaving them a message). As a few examples: 7/8/XX XX:XX AM - Zerorez left a voicemail to say you needed payment - called three times over the course of two days and left messages before someone called back and I answered. 7/16/15 3:45 PM - Zerorez called and left a voicemail. I called back and was told the person was at lunch. I called again the next morning and was told the person would call me back; I didn't hear back from that person. I did call again several days later and re-explained everything to someone who was an accountant, and was again told it was all taken care of, there was an error on your end, disregard. 7/28/15 4:27 PM - an individual called me and left a voicemail. This was the only person who seemed to understand the situation. He asked me to call back. I left two messages for him throughout the course of one week, and eventually called the third time and spoke to a rep asking if a different accountant can handle the matter and reference the notes on the account. They said yes and forwarded me to someone's voicemail, where I left them a message. 8/4/15 2:40 PM - I received a call again asking for payment of my invoice. I had been operating under the assumption it was handled as two previous conversations with accountants had indicated. Thank you for your time.

8/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** Please use the online complaint system to access the attached document

Desired Settlement: *** Please use the online complaint system to access the attached document

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/05) */ All of our estimates are sight unseen over the phone. Our technicians assess and finalize all pricing in home the day of service. We make all of our customers aware during the booking call that biological issues are an additional charge that the technician will have to finalize day of service depending upon each customer's carpet. On the initial visit the technician did identify multiple areas that the dog had accidents on. According to his notes there was a conversation had on all possible outcomes. His notes also mention that the odor causing bacteria was eliminated but that some staining remained and stains are permanent discoloration that cannot be removed. This can happen to the carpeting due to the acids in urine. Also, many products were used before Zerorez arrived which does increase the chances of stains becoming permanent. The permanent staining of the urine spots was discussed again after completion of the services. Our technician also provided $55 in additional free services which we call "plus one" services and these are listed on the invoice. The customer contacted us with concerns from the original service and as per our 30 day service guarantee returned to the home. We had conversations again explaining the permanence of staining. We treated all areas that had the biological issues again to make sure that the carpeted areas were clean. After completion of services the 2nd time we were unable to remove or improve the discoloration of the staining, however, the carpet is clean. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee any biological treatments. The only guaranteed way to remove biological issues is replacement. We do apologize for any inconvenience and frustration we may have caused but there are stains in the carpeting that we cannot remove when dealing with biological issues. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/14) */ *** Please use the online complaint system to access the attached document

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told on the phone the total cost was $430. Once they came the cost increased significantly eventhough I gave them all specific room sizes. On June 10th 2015 Invoice #****** paid with Visa card, Zerorez came to my house to clean the carpets. I got a quote over the phone of $430 prior to the service. Please know I gave them all specific measurements including room sizes, stairs, hallways, walking closet etc. Once they got to my house they charged an additional cost for an extra set of stairs( I have 2 set of upstairs) eventhough I was told it would be only one charge, I was charged an extra cost for the walking closet eventhough I was told was part of the room charge, I was charged for the landing eventhough I was told that was part of the stairs. In addition, I noticed they didn't even clean the carpets inside the closets for each one of the bedrooms(total of 4). I argued with the service person but it was not worth it since they knew I had to clean the carpets prior to my new tenants moving in. Lastly they said the job will take 3 hours and they were done in less than 90 minutes. The next day I couldn't tell the difference between how the carpets looked before and after their service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund in the amount of $582.99 credit back to my Visa card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ All of our estimates are sight unseen over the phone. Our technicians assess and finalize all pricing in the home the day of the service. According to the notes our technician provided, everything was discussed and agreed to by the customer prior to services performed. We also provided a "plus one service" which is an area our technicians decide themselves to clean for free on site (see notes below). We did not receive any follow up from the customer after the service to be able to address the concerns. We provide a follow up customer service survey to every appointment we clean so our customers can provide any feedback they wish after appointments. In this case that survey was not completed, nor was there a phone call or email received by Zerorez after the appointment. We take all feedback seriously here at Zerorez and do everything we can to provide complete customer satisfaction. We have a 30 day service guarantee where we have our Quality Assurance Specialist come to the home assess and clean any areas of concern. We would be willing to extend that 30 day service guarantee to have the home assessed/cleaned for the customer. We ask that we be given the opportunity to do so. For this extended service guarantee we would need to be contacted by phone 651-779-8888 ext.115 for Customer Service or via email at customercare@zerorezmn.com. On 6/1/15 We were called and provided a sight unseen estimate over the phone 6.1.15 2:16pm HL Customer called inquiring about pricing. He will call back when he is ready to schedule. Est saved. 3 Br - $159 Br - $55 Dr - $55 Fr - $55 Hall - $35 St - $60 On 6/3/15 We booked the appointment, again providing a sight unseen estimate over the phone that is a guideline of pricing as our technicians finalize all pricing in home. 6/10/15 We provided service at the home. Below are the technicians notes that we require for every appointment our technicians clean: "Client had 5 year old carpet with spots and stains and wear. He showed me every room he wanted cleaned and I told him the price and he got upset saying this is "bull shit" and I'm "pissing him off" he said he already told the phone room everything that was listed and this is what was quoted. I had dispatch pull the call and that's not what they said. They said each set of stairs was 60, and that the tech would asses the areas on sight. They also said he was mean on the phone. So I was dealing with an unhappy customer. He still wanted it done. Gave a landing as a plus one service. Tech told client the difference between a spot and a stain and how I'm am able to get every spot, yet I cannot get out stains, however, your carpet is 100 percent clean when I am finished. Client understood. Tech also explained the wicking process and how I can clean what I can see, but if anything had gotten lower like in the backing or the pad of the carpet, there is potential of it wicking back up. Client understood. Tech explained to client that traffic areas are permanent damage to a carpet and when I am done cleaning everything is going to be 100% clean, however you are still going to see the traffic areas due to the fact that the fibers are damaged and just cast a different shadowing on the carpet. Client understood. The carpet cleaned up nice. Wear remained in each room. Client was satisfied."

11/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rugs that went through ZEROREZ cleaning process smell so bad that can not be use anymore. Had ZEROREZ clean my carpet based on their advertising that they leave no residue.At the time of the cleaning I asked the person doing the job if he can clean my big rugs( one rug 8'x10',one 3'X5', one 3'x12') as well. He talked me into having the rugs cleaned at their facility because they will be cleaner that way. He took the rugs when he left, gave me a receipt with an estimate. After 2 weeks they delivered them back. When they put them on the floor, first I notice the back side having big dark gray spots which have not been there before. When I saw the up surface it was dirtier then before the cleaning. Looking at them I decided that they need to clean them better for the money they asked for( $450).I send the rugs back with the delivery guys and told them to have the manager call me. After about 1 mo, with me calling several times, finally got in touch with the manager. We tried to get to an agreement. At that point all I wanted was to have my rugs back. Finally after 2 and 1/2 mo they got delivered. I was not home when that happened. When I tried to put them back in the house, they were smelling very bad. After one week with the windows open I had to take them out of the house because I could not stand the smell anymore. I hanged them in the garage and now the garage smells really bad too.After being with the hard wood floors without rugs for that long, now I have no rugs either. These are expensive rugs to replace and I can't use them anymore with that smell.

Desired Settlement: Either get rid of the smell and clean the rugs( they need to have somebody else do it, because I don't trust them),or replace them with identical ones.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/31) */ 8/14/14 (Customer Profile Notes) - ***** e-mailed a quote for repair binding for $50 and the smaller rug and $75 for the runner. We will await a response on how to proceed. 8/15/14 (Customer Called In) - Customer set up a redo on carpets. She said that there was an area of her carpet that still wasn't very clean. She said specifically that in the Master Bedroom, in the area around the bed, there is an area where the carpet is darker that she would like to have us redo. The rugs were scheduled to be delivered that day. Rugs were delivered, but customer sent them back because "they were dirtier than before the cleaning" 8/23/14 (Notes from Redo Tech) - "Cust said there was transition line in mbr. Didn't see it but cleaned again and she said looked much better? Cleaned a couple spots in other br. Did triple dry strokes to speed up dry time and prevent wicking." 9/3/14 (Called Customer) - No Answer/no answering machine 9/3/14 (Customer Called In) - Miriam received a call from the customer, in which she states that "About a month ago, I had a carpet cleaned by you, and the guy talked me into taking the rugs back to the facility for cleaning. Two weeks later, I received them but they were not cleaned, actually, they were dirtier than when they left my house. Needless to say, they were damaged. So he took them back, but I never heard anything again, so now I wonder where my rugs are." The call was transferred to *****. 9/5/14 (Email to Customer from ***** ******) *******, I am attaching quite a few photos of your three area carpets. These were taken prior to us cleaning the carpets. Essentially, this was the condition of the carpets when we received them. Please review them, and if you have any questions, please feel free to call me. I will photograph the carpets today after we have cleaned them, to show you the results of the cleaning. We will hopefully have a conversation about your concerns and address each one like we discussed the other day. I will be sending you a series of e-mails of each photo we took of your carpets. Regards, ***** ****** Area Rug Manager 9/18/14 (Called Customer) - No answer/No machine 9/18/14 (Called Customer) - No answer/No machine 9/24/14 (Called Customer) - Spoke w/ *******, who wants to speak to ***** directly because she wants to be home when her rugs are delivered so that she can inspect them herself. The last time we attempted to drop them off, she thought they were "filthy". 10/3/14 (Called Customer) - **** called to say that we are still wondering when she wants her rugs delivered. The customer says that the "manager was supposed to call me because there was a misunderstanding about the rug." After **** says, "And he never got back to you...", the customer says, "He called sometimes when I wasn't available, but he never left a message or anything. He was supposed to send me some pictures so I could see how the rugs look right now after he cleaned them so we don't keep doing this delivering then taking back then delivering then taking back." **** tells the customer that ***** will give her a call, and we need to get them out of our shop. Customer says that she wants ***** to send an email of how the rugs look now, and then he can call her so that they can discuss them. 10/10/14 (Called Customer) - No answer/No machine 10/10/14 (Called Customer) - **** called the customer to ask if she received the email containing pictures that we sent out within the last week. Confirmed the email address with the customer, and told the customer that we would we would resend the email, and then ***** would call her. Customer said to tell ***** that he needs to leave a message, after which **** informed her that her message system is not picking up. Customer gives a secondary phone number for us to contact her at. She is assured that we would love to get her rugs out to her as soon as possible. 10/10/14 (Called Customer) - No answer/No machine We feel we have been very diligent in attempting to contact the client, and have done everything within reason to assist her with her concerns. The above information does not even include all of the call attempts from our manager's personal cell phone to the customer. Before and after photos are attached to this document. There is an obvious night and day difference between the rugs prior to cleaning and the rugs after cleaning. We performed the rug repairs for her at no charge because she declined having them done, but we needed to repair the rug in order to get the rugs into a condition that is safe for them to be cleaned. Ms. ****** wasn't happy with the result, so we took them back and cleaned them again. Ms. ****** wasn't happy still, so we waived collecting any payment on the cleaning of any of the rugs in effort to close the matter and move on. When we delivered the rugs back to her there was no odor. We have done everything we can to assist her with her concerns but the rug is in a much better condition than it was prior to our service, which we completed for her at no charge. We were contacted today by Ms. ****** (10/31/14). She demanded that we pick up her rugs after 6pm today to work on the odor. We have agreed to pick up a rug tomorrow at 1pm, & we will clean it again for her. To date, we have invested 10+ man hours into the cleaning of Ms. ******'s rugs, which are in MUCH better condition than they were upon arrival to our facility and have still collected no payment whatsoever from the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Zerorez sent their representative who agreed that the rugs had a smell and they picked up one of them not all, and said that they will work on the odor. When that is done in an acceptable manner, they will take the rest of the rugs and take the odor out as well. They clim in their response that the rugs had no smell when thay delivered them. Why would I claim they have a smell? I contacted a different cleaning company and they tried to get the odor out with out success. They assessment was that they never seen anything like that. Need to get my rugs clean and with no odor so I can keep them in the house before this claim can be closed. Their response continues to avoid addressing the real issue, that I can not use my rugs in the house due to the smell. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/05) */ Hand tufted rugs are held together with large amounts of latex and glue and then a cotton backing is sewed onto the back to cover up the mess of latex and glue. Upon our 3rd assessment of the rug, we determined that the "odor" mentioned in this claim was coming from the backing of the rug...Just like it was when we inspected the rug before our initial clean and our secondary clean. Photos from our pre-inspection of both cleanings are attached to this document. In these photos you can see that we found "latex odor/delamination" to be an issue before we even touched the rugs. Both the odor and delamination of the backing are preexisting conditions. Also, in the photos that were submitted to the BBB previously, it was very evident that there were extensive problems with the backing of the rugs falling apart. We were told by the customer that there was a new odor that smelled like cooking oil. There was no new odor. The rug smells like an aging hand tufted rug. This is a well documented condition and there are plenty of reputable websites that go into more detail about the inherent smell of hand tufted rugs. These websites are easily found with a google search. We even went as far as sending the rug off to a rug repair facility for a third party assessment of the rug. They said: "After inspecting the rug brought to us by Zerorez, it is our determination that the odor coming from the rug is the latex and not from any cleaning product." The rugs are by our estimation, approximately 7-8 years old. Hand tufted rugs are designed to last up to 10 years. These particular rugs are in considerably better condition than they were prior to arriving at our facility, and it is completely normal for a rug backing that is made of latex to smell like latex.

7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our carpet cleaned on 06/25/2014 by Zerorez, now there is a yellow stain on the carpet that was not previously on the carpet before. We had our carpet cleaned on 06/25/2014 and now there is a yellow stain on the area that was cleaned by zerorez. The stain was not there before. I believe the stain was made by zerorez as they were trying to pretreat the area. I have asked them to reclean the area in hopes it can be removed. If not, they will have completely damaged the carpet. The carpet is only a few years old.

Desired Settlement: first asking them to reclean the carpet to see if the yellow staining will come out. If not, then we will have to come up with some mutual agreement to the damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/30) */ Hello, The yellow spots you are seeing are most likely some urine spots that we didn't completely remove. Carpet dries from the bottom up after it is cleaned. So if there is remaining urine deeper down in the backing or padding then it will wick on back up and reappear as the carpet dries. This process is called wicking and is the bane of every carpet cleaner's existence. In other words, sometimes everything will look spotless while the carpet is wet, but as it dries some of the spots will reappear. Wicking is one of the reasons that we proudly guarantee all of the work we do for 30 days! As you said, we are going back out to your home to reclean the urine spots. Sometimes just cleaning the urine topically a second time will eliminate the urine contamination, sometimes it will require a pad extraction to flush all of the urine out of padding and backing. It is unfortunate that we upset you so much that you felt the need to file a complaint with the BBB. We are sorry to hear that we let you down and will do what we can to ensure that no customer of ours will feel so betrayed in the future. We do our best to educate our clients on carpet cleaning so that there are no surprises after everything dries. I understand you weren't home during your cleaning appointment so maybe that is why the wicking process wasn't explained to you on the day of service? Either way, we will of course get this all taken care of for you. All the best, Zerorez Customer Care


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on ZEROREZ Carpet Care
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart