BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ServiceMaster Cleaning by Hedden meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for ServiceMaster Cleaning by Hedden include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on ServiceMaster Cleaning by Hedden
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Denise Hedden, President/Owner Melanie Moberg, Marketing Specialist
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Fire & Water Damage Restoration Janitor Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Service Master Cleaning & Restoration, this company offers professional cleaning & disaster restoration.

Industry Tips
Carpet Cleaning Tips Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ServiceMaster Cleaning by Hedden has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service Master was hired to complete abatement in the basement of my home. They sub contracted with **********. After the work was completed a strong citrus chemical smell remained and is still present in the home currently. Upon review of the work it can be noted that there is still asbestos glue around the perimeter of the basement floor. This was also tracked on my stairs and not cleaned upon leaving the home. The solvent used is wicked up into the walls of the home in the room where the cleaning was done likely contributing to the strong smells still present in the home. We contacted Service Master who had ********** return and and to wash the floor during the first week and installed a machine to exhaust the fumes out the door so the home could be habitable. The fumes have had a negative impact on the health of all living in the home; resulting in burning in the chest, headaches, and breathing problems. At this time we are still dealing with the strong odor from the home. Service master has agreed to work with the other company to work towards a solution. We are on week three and I have grown more than frustrated with the length of time it is taking to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I am beyond frustrated and sick of waiting for resolution. I want the smell removed from my home and the space made habitable again. I also would like to see a credit reflected in the bill to cover the cost of the increased utilities for the machine, as well as to compensate for the living conditions and the impact this has had on the health of those living in this environment.

Business Response: **** ** *** *******

We were contacted to inspect a potential asbestos tile at ***** *******’s home at **** ****** ** in Hastings MN. The adjuster took a sample of the tile and glue to Techtron in Anoka MN and the test came back positive for asbestos in the tile and glue. I then hired ********** to tear out the tile and glue and to properly dispose of the products. After the tiles were removed, the product that ********** uses to remove the glue left a citrus odor, and the tech told the homeowner it would dissipate in a couple of days.

 

 

I received a call approximately 5 days later from Ms. ******* that the smell had not gone away and that she would like someone to come out and take a look at it. I called my contact at ********** and he send a technician out to install a negative pressure fan to draw the air, and odor, out of the basement and to the outside. This helped immediately and Ms. ******* told me that things had improved greatly. After a few days of the fan running, we turned the fan off to see if the odor had gone away and I received another call from ***** about 2 days after that and she said it was even worse. Because ***** does not live at the above mentioned address and her mother had taken a vacation, we had to work around *****’s schedule to get back and do another inspection. Once there we saw that the citrus chemical used to take up the glue had wicked onto the wood paneling on the wall the separates the basement into two parts, and I called ********** again and made arrangements to have one of their techs come back and remove all of the paneling just to be safe. That inspection was done on a Friday afternoon and the tech was there on Tuesday morning. The next day, Wednesday, a Service Master technician went there to power wash and clean the concrete floor to make sure there was no more chemical in the concrete as well. We then turned on the fan again and let it run for a couple of days to clear out the basement.

 

I received a call from ***** on that same week Sunday, saying that it still smells in the house and the odor has not gone away. Because of her schedule, we are going back there today Friday May 19, to seal the wood studs on the wall that separates the basement so we can encapsulate the odor, replace the paneling that was taken down, and this should be the last thing that needs to be done to complete this project.

 

Thanks,

 

Jason ******

Project Manager

Office: ###-###-####  

Direct: ###-###-####      

 Cell: ###-###-####      

 Email j******@smstp.com

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on ServiceMaster Cleaning by Hedden
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart