BBB Accredited Business since

Norcraft Companies, LP

Additional Locations

Phone: (651) 234-3300 Fax: (651) 234-3398 View Additional Phone Numbers 950 Blue Gentian Rd STE 200, Eagan, MN 55121 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.norcraftcompanies.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Norcraft Companies, LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Norcraft Companies, LP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Norcraft Companies, LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 1990 Business started: 10/19/1990 Business started locally: 10/19/1990 Business incorporated 06/07/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Kari Raymond, Owner/Manager Mark Buller, Owner/Manager Jack Laninga, President Angie Maxhimer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kari Raymond, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Cabinets Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Bathroom Remodeling Cabinet Doors

Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Norcraft Companies, this company offers manufacturers kitchen and bath cabinetry.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home

Additional Locations

  • 3020 Denmark Ave Ste 100

    Saint Paul, MN 55121

  • 950 Blue Gentian Rd STE 200

    Eagan, MN 55121 (651) 234-3300 (651) 234-3352 (651) 234-3314

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased kitchen cabinets that came with 80% of them defective & issues. It took about 46 weeks to complete my kitchen with non defective products. on February 16,2015 I ordered Norcraft Cabinets with Freedom Design at *****************, North Royalton Ohio 44133. Phone number ************. The sales rep's name is Bruce Vonderau. The order number is P.O. ******. The total purchase price was $7855.70 for a total of 37 items. The items were kitchen cabinets from Norcraft Cabinet Company. I ordered Mackenzie Maple Briarwood with black glaze cabinets. The delivery date was March 4, 2015. When we received the cabinets, 80% of the items ordered were defective. On March 7, 2015, as well as March 12, 2015 I contacted Bruce at Freedom Designs about all the issues with cabinets. The issues were as follows: lazy susan (SS36)finish was rough. (W3618X15) the frame was marked up on one place and rough, stain was missing on the outside of door, and it had a dent on the door. (W3018X14)the cabinet frame & the doors were a rough finish and they had varnish runs throughout as well as missing varnish in spots, and a dent in the left corner and the frame was scratched (W1230) the door and shelves had chips in them and dent(DC3-18) Bottom drawer had a big gouge out of it and they tried to hide it by filling it with putty, top drawer had a large chip in it.(B18-LTBK)the frame and the door had several rough spots and runs in the varnish, also the outside of the cabinet had 2 large dents where they tried to fill with putty that didn't match. (W3036X15BD) rough finish on the outer edge and stain too dark, door was rough and dent at the top. (W3030)Dent in door, the frame was rough with chips and the shelves were chipped. (RBS36BD) runs in the varnish. (W1230)scratches on the frame in 2 places. (A2436R)top of cabinet frame chipped, big glue drip on the outside of the door, varnish missing and the top and middle shelves were chipped. (W1230L)top, bottom, and right corner frame scratches, and the shelves were splintered. (RBS36BD) door had varnish runs in it.(BSM36)had a large 3" circle on the back of the cabinet that looked like someone punched a hole in it and was splintered, door was black like they didn't wipe off the black onyx glaze, it also had varnish runs on it, and the drawer had varnish runs. (B18-LTBK) side finished panel)finish was not black onyx glazed, it was just the briarwood color. (CM2) crown molding had a large split in it. (OC)filler did not have the black onyx glaze, the color didn't match. I have a total of 12 shelves in my kitchen and had to have them replace 6 of them. I had Bruce from Freedom Designs and John **** rep from Norcraft out at my house on March 16, 2015 to see all of the issues with the cabinets. I was told at that time by John **** that they would take care of it and he was sorry about the issues and that the company basically wouldn't do anything for me having 80% of my kitchen defective but he would see what he could do after the cabinets are all finished correctly. On March 24, 2015 I received my 1st shipment to replace defective items and was sent (W303615BD)that was too dark in color and didn't match,(DC3-18)had varnish runs on it and was told to put the bad side on the bottom. (W3030) had staples showing. (RBS36)had varnish bubbles & rough. (B18-LTBK)had scratches on top & bottom & varnish runs. Second shipment to replace defective items 04/07/2015 (DC3-18) came splintered. We were sent 2 decorative top end panels to cover the (W3036)& (B18-TBK)since they didn't want to replace the cabinets. The panels came with black marks from the glaze not being wiped and gouges, they said to put the bad spots toward my door. (BSM36)door came and it was too dark. I received 3-12" replacement shelves that were chipped again and 1 missing the finish. 2-36" shelves that were chipped. 1-12X30 shelf that was scratched and chipped again. After several attempts with Bruce, Bill and John to get this resolved it took until December 2015 to get finished. Norcraft offered me $500 for the issues and wanted me to sign a legal document stating that my warranty would be void.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked Norcraft to have made sure every replacement for defective items were checked before shipping them to me but that never happened and now 10 months later it is done and too late for them to fix that part. I have had so much time of my life over the last 10 months spent on the phone, receiving defective items, checking the many shipments that they kept sending me of bad items and setting up times for them to come out to my home to replace the items that I will never get back. As well as the stress related illnesses that I have that have flared up several times over the past 10 months that no one but me would know how badly it affected me. I paid the same price as anyone else would for cabinets that should've came correctly the first time, not 10 months later. They state they don't refund for these issues when they happen but I was promised that we would deal with that after all the cabinets were replaced. I was told this by Freedom Designs and also by Norcraft. I waited as patiently as I could and did exactly what they asked of me and when it came down to settlement time, they asked me what I wanted I told them at least $2000 back. John ****/Norcraft said they would do nothing and I asked to speak to his superior and asked if he was aware of the situation and he said he was a little bit but he was new to the job and this talk took place in December. I found out that he took over in the summer, so not too new to the job. After speaking with him, he stated that he would get back to me. He then called a few days later and offered me $500 and stated that a check would be coming from Freedom Designs. Today I received an email from Gary *********** stating that I have to sign a legal document that Norcraft would be released of any fulfillment of my warranty or anything else. The fact that they sent me a legal document wanting me to sign it releasing them of any responsibility when I paid for the warranty somewhere in the purchase price, is ridiculous! The $500 was suppose to be for the ridiculous amount of time it took them to get it right and my time that I had to spend to make sure it was right. They want to give me $500 on a $7800 purchase and take away my lifetime warranty for them not producing good quality in the first place? That isn't taking any responsibility for the wrong that they did. I would like the $2000 that is the least they could do AND I should be able to keep my warranty as my warranty has NOTHING to do with them taking so long to get non defective items to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/28) */ I write to you on behalf of the Norcraft group of companies. I have been asked to respond to your note below and the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding this consumer's experience with our product. Thank you for your email note and letter. Norcraft takes it relationship with its consumers seriously and respects the role of the Better Business Bureau. I have reviewed the complaint on file with the Better Business Bureau, Norcraft's file materials, and personally spoke with **************. I have also spoken twice and corresponded with the owner of Freedom Design, the dealer who sold the cabinets to Ms. ***** and performed onsite work on her behalf. Norcraft strives to exceed our customer's expectations and we are always disappointed when a consumer believes we have fallen short of this goal. In this particular instance there were some issues with the fit and finish of the cabinets when they first arrived. Freedom Design and Norcraft worked to repair any out of spec materials according to Norcraft's warranty policy. As sometimes occurs with construction projects, getting the materials together and addressing the problems took some time. We know Ms. ***** was disappointed with the delays but we also understand that her kitchen was functional throughout the time the repairs were made. We are pleased that Freedom Design was able to rectify the fit and finish issues. After the repairs were completed Ms. ***** contacted the company seeking $2,000 for the delays and for being inconvenienced. We explained that our warranty does not pay consumers for a delay or inconvenience. Despite that policy we offered $500.00 as a goodwill gesture. As a condition of the settlement we sent her a release and confidentiality agreement. The agreement waives the right to make future claims (including warranty claims) in exchange for the payment. Ms. ***** called me to explain she would not sign the agreement and had no intention of accepting $500. I explained to her that this is her right and if she prefers to bring a claim she may do so but the company does not provide goodwill settlements without a release and confidentiality agreement. I am sorry we were unable to satisfy Ms. *****. We have not withdrawn our offer and would extend it again however she has already rejected our goodwill gesture and would not sign our release agreement. Thank you again for your letter and please feel free to contact me should you have any questions. Gary J.************ Principal The Law Office of Gary J.************, LLC Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The $500 was not a good will gesture. In signing the legal documents they are asking me to forfeit my lifetime warranty which I paid for in the $7800 that I gave to Norcraft. I could hardly say that 10 months to finish a kitchen was an inconvenience. All of the time that was spent over the 10 month period was more than an inconvenience. I did not get paid for all the hours and effort that I logged in trying to complete my kitchen with acceptable quality cabinets. The money that was paid for the cabinets prior to March 4, 2015 was with the intent that my cabinets would be delivered in an acceptable quality. I was never told that I may be working on my kitchen 10 months later because of quality issues. Had I been told that it would be a possibility then I would have been able to have a CHOICE and been able to make a decision whether or not I wanted to go with this company or not. Not so funny how they don't tell you when you order that it may take the better part of a year to have your kitchen completed. Then they tell you that it was an inconvenience but your kitchen is functional. I paid for a completed kitchen when the cabinets were ordered and paid for NOT a functional kitchen that would take about 40+ weeks to get acceptable quality. You would think when a company knows that they are having quality issues that they would make a better effort to make sure that they are sending out a quality product before shipping it to consumers that have already had several issues! They all got paid during this 10 months as if they were doing 100% of their jobs, while I paid money for the 10 months of headaches, stress and countless hours on the phone, with appointments for them to come out and look at the lack of quality in the cabinets. As well as the countless appointments to keep having them come on several occasions to reinstall or fix the screw ups and defective, irregular cabinets. It's unfortunate that any business would think that it's acceptable to tell a consumer that they aren't entitled to any compensation for the time that they had to spend trying to have a quality kitchen when the consumer did not pay a discounted price to go through the aggravation or have the choice of whether or not they want to go with a company that they would have to invest time in order to get a quality product. If I would have known that they were a company that wasn't proactive in taking care of the consumer in a timely manner then we would have once again been able to make a decision of whether we wanted to give our hard earned money to them or not. I guess they think that taking 10 months to finish a kitchen is a timely manner so that tells me that this is something that happens on a regular basis with them and I would caution anyone that is thinking of remodeling their kitchen to decide if it is worth it to give them your money or not. You are taking a risk once you give them your money on how long it will take to get a quality product. Remember, you are paying for a service but not only will you be paying financially, you will also have to pay with your precious time to keep getting bad shipment, after bad shipment until your kitchen is complete. Not to mention the frustration you will be paying until it is done right! Unfortunately in my case it aggravated several health conditions that I have that are triggered by stress. NO ONE should pay for stress, aggravation, headaches or a loss of their time when everyone works hard for their money to have a company that has already gotten paid for their services, drags their feet and are in no hurry to help you get your project done. Furthermore, they tell you it was just an inconvenience. Once again, I paid money for a service that should have been delivered properly on March 4, 2015, NOT taking 10 months to get it right. THEN, tell me that they will give me $500 back if I sign a contract to cancel my lifetime warranty! They aren't offering me ANYTHING for them being an incompetent company, dragging their feet and continually sending us damaged, irregular products. They are wanting to take another thing away from me again, by taking my warranty away! They already took over 10 months of my life, I refuse to let them take another thing away from me. Had they been a concerned company that continued to follow up on the bad products and continually kept in touch with us and made sure with each shipment that a quality product is being sent out, I would feel differently about them. I know that things happen sometimes with projects but I would have NEVER imagined that 80% of my cabinets would be delivered damaged. Then on top of that, to deal with a company that does not put you as a priority when it happens and you have to be the one to dedicate your valuable time continually over and over again to get everything fixed is just ridiculous! For them to then act as if it was simply and "inconvenience"! It's called customer service and when something happens that is supposedly and unusual circumstance, which is what Norcraft has claimed, you fix it as well and as quickly as you can! You apologize and actually take action and DON"T put the blame on the customer. You offer something in good faith to the customer to actually take responsibility and show actions to how sorry you are. After all, actions speak louder than words. I would suggest that anyone who wants to buy cabinets, stay clear of companies that feel like 10 months to complete would only be an "inconvenience" to the customer. They continue to get paid while you are doing all of the work that they have already gotten paid for by you when you purchased the cabinets! I really can't accept their response because when I paid the $7800 in good faith to them, it included the lifetime warranty that they want to take away from me for a $500 settlement. This was suppose to be from them for all of the problems I had with the horrible quality and the lack of concern from them in getting everything done in a timely manner. They offered this $500 refund to me and I was told that the check would come from Freedom Designs. They NEVER said anything about any legal documents and having to sign off on my warranty. Weeks later I received and email with the legal document attached asking for my signature to forfeit my lifetime warranty if I accepted the $500. That offer was definitely not offered from them for problems I had and them wanting to make things right. I wonder if this happens frequently with them so they can void lifetime warranties and no longer be held liable, accountable or responsible for any future defects! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/02/05) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the consumer's note. Our reputation with our consumers and the Better Business Bureau is very important to us. We are sorry this consumer was not initially satisfied with our products or the goodwill gesture we offered at the conclusion of the warranty process. We fully addressed her warranty concerns and offered an additional goodwill gesture to address her inconvenience. The offer we made exceeded what we are obligated to provide according to our warranty policy. It is always our goal to exceed a consumers expectations and we are disappointed in the few instances that occur when a consumer feels we have not done that. Again, thank you for taking our response into account and this consumer is welcome to contact us again should they have any questions regarding our warranty or products.

7/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I began renovating our kitchen in the beginning of April. We ordered cabinets through a local retailer, ********************** (***). They ordered the cabinets from one of their vendors, MC Cabinetry. These were to be custom made cabinets costing over ten thousand dollars. The cabinets we received were dented, knicked, unfinished, poorly put together, etc. One cabinet was scratched to the extent that it could not be hung and required a replacement. The replacement on rush order took almost four weeks to arrive, and the replacement was again knicked, the frame was bowed, essentially also unsatisfiable given the price and quality expected. Prior to that cabinet arriving, *** arranged for a representative from MC Cabinetry to come see the product we received. That was at the 3 week mark. We had our counter tops and sink placed as scheduled considering the delay, when our contractor had slotted us for 2-3 weeks, and we desired a functioning kitchen until this was settled. The representative stated that he was honestly embarrassed, approximately 75% of our kitchen cabinets came damaged, that all of our doors would need to be replaced due to the lack of stain around the edges, a third party would need to come into our home and sand/ refinish the cabinets that had rough edges, scrape the glue off some, and 3 additional cabinets would also need to be replaced. Now we are paying over ten thousand dollars for REFURBISHED kitchen cabinets. Not custom made, but poorly constructed/ finished cabinets that are unsatisfactory. They have avoided closure on compensation requests, have not attempted to get the 3rd party here to fix our cabinets, have made minimal contact unless practically forced by ***. The replacement cabinets sent had 3 out of 4 damaged to the extent *** took them back, attempted to repair the doors of them and had to reorder doors because they were unfix-able. So here we are going on week 7 with a partially finished kitchen that should have taken 2-3 weeks. Product_Or_Service: Rustic Alder Fireside Cabnetry Account_Number: ***********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We have asked for a refund matching 40% of our initial payment, already paid to MC Cabinetry, due to the fact that the promised condition of the cabinets was unmet, the cabinets are being replaced with continually damaged cabinets that need to be be reworked and refinished, it has extended our renovation time considerably, and the poor customer service regarding this matter. Replacements were offered without follow through and we have had enough.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/06/25) */ we had already responded to the consumer prior to receiving your first note. I personally spoke with *************, the consumers husband, about their concerns. Norcraft strives to exceed our customer's expectations and we are always disappointed when a consumer believes we have fallen short of this goal. In this instance we agreed to replace some doors to satisfy the consumers concerns about the products. We have also agreed to provide them with a discount for the experience they encountered. Within the next 10 days we expect they will be satisfied with the steps both Norcraft and our local dealer have taken to address any concerns and we plan to close our file at that time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Norcraft Companies, LP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)