BBB Accredited Business since

Bison Steel Buildings, Inc.

Phone: (763) 862-9242 Fax: (763) 862-9942 View Additional Phone Numbers 2619 Coon Rapids Blvd NW Ste 203, Coon Rapids, MN 55433 http://www.bisonsteel.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bison Steel Buildings, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bison Steel Buildings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Bison Steel Buildings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2003 Business started: 04/30/2003 Business started locally: 04/30/2003 Business incorporated 04/30/2003 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Swanson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: John Swanson, Owner
Business Category

Buildings - Metal Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers Steel Fabricators Building Construction Consultants Buildings - Pole & Post Frame Exterior Structures - Barn Construction Building Materials

Alternate Business Names
Bison Buildings Bison Steel
Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Bison Steel Buildings, Inc., this company offers steel building materials for pre-fabricated steel buildings.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bison Steel Buildings, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2619 Coon Rapids Blvd NW Ste 203

    Coon Rapids, MN 55433 (763) 862-9242 (888) 832-4766 (800) 206-6085

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried several times to get a status on insulation for a 40x50 building, never got anything. I finally got a hold of John and told him just to send a refund for insulation that we paid for and 120 days later we have seen nothing. No response from John or anything lately. I have received a response saying refund is on the way and still seen nothing 3 weeks later. All I wish is to get this refund back and done.

Desired Settlement: Just a refund on something we paid for and never got.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid in full over 2 months ago - still waiting on overhead door, entry door, two windows. I wish I had checked the BBB a year ago. Apparently I'm not the only person with complaints. I cannot get a straight answer when to expect the back-owed doors and windows. The order has too many problems to list in detail, but after 7 months and full payment over two months ago, I expected to have all of the product that I paid for in my possession by now.

Desired Settlement: I need the product that I ordered and paid for delivered! This has gone on far too long.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/07/14) */ Bison Steel received a call from Mr. ****** approximately 2 months ago and it was our understanding that the customer was working on an issue with his local building department and wanted Bison to wait and ship his doors and windows until the matter was resolved. Approx a month later Bison then received a call from Mr. ****** wanting to have the doors and windows delivered asap. Bison informed Mr. ****** that it would take a minimum of 2 weeks for the delivery he said that was unacceptable. Bison offered to refund Mr. ****** his money for the doors and windows and he refused, saying he wanted us to ship them. Bison Apologized for any miscommunication and even sent Mr. ****** a refund of $1,000 for the miscommunication. We have been in contact with Mr. ****** and he is pleased with our responding to this matter. Bison has done everything possible to please Mr. ******.

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been promised building delivery twice with no calls, no shows. The company is unresponsive to my enquiries. I sent in a deposit to this company for a steel building over 5 months ago. I was told they got real busy this summer so the building would not be ready until fall most likely. I had the foundation poured in September ready for installation. I received a "booking letter" September 4th stating the "Manufacturing and Delivery window" would be Oct. 21st-Nov.1st" (much latter than I anticipated but not much I could do) and that I would receive a call a few days ahead of time to coordinate and arrange for materials unloading. On Wed 10/30 I decided to call them since I had not heard from anyone and there were only 2 days left in the week and I have to make arrangements for machine/operator to unload. I spoke with a woman named *** I believe who did not have an answer and referred me to the shipping manager (I forgot his name but I believe it is her husband) who said that the building was not on schedule and would be in manufacturing the week of Nov. 4th and delivered the following week of the 11th. It would have been nice to know that or receive a call. When Friday the 15th arrived with no show no call I was very upset and wrote a negative review on the internet. Tuesday Nov. 19th having still not heard from anyone at Bison, I sent a copy of the review to my salesman to let him know my discontent. He emailed me back and said he wished I would have let him know- I emailed him back and told him I spoke with the shipping manager directly instead. I then received a phone call from the owner of the company (that day) who said he was not in work that day but would "look into it tomorrow (Wed. Nov. 20) and call me back right away". That was over 2 weeks ago and I have not heard back from him nor anyone from Bison. I then called Monday 12/2 asking for him. I was told he and my salesman were not in. I expressed the nature of my call and was told I'll have someone look into this today and call you back. I did not heard back from anyone Monday or today Tuesday. I have had to reschedule and cancel with my builder more than once, reschedule with my subcontractors several times (construction is very busy where I live and these guys are very hard to book now so after rescheduling a few times, they are not calling me back or pushing me off and I have to find new subs). And I still have no idea where my building is or when it will arrive. I have no idea when to rent the equipment, nor tell my builder or subs any sort of schedule because this company is completely unresponsive. It is now December! What a bad experience this has been. After speaking with the owner and him not calling me back I guess I can't go any higher up the food chain than that and I have no idea what to do. Please help if you can.

Desired Settlement: I wish I could simply ask for a refund and go with another company but since the foundation has been poured and the bolts placed exactly according to the buildings plans (3 months ago), I have no choice to follow through. Perhaps the balance of funds due could at least have some sort of discount but right now I just need some communication to start out with please. It gives me no joy to file a complaint but at this point I don't know what else to do to envoke a response.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/08) */ see attached letter from business Bison Steel apologizes for delays, has now delivered the building and has been in contact with consumer several times since, he is satisfied. Business Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/02/05) */ Mr. ******* has called me several times to follow up with me. He has apologized several times and sent me a $600 refund check. I am satisfied with how this problem was resolved and have accepted his apologies, as I believe they were sincere. Thank you for your assistance.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Bison Steel Buildings, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart