Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2003

Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc.

Phone: (651) 365-1141Fax: (651) 365-77873045 Sibley Memorial Hwy, EaganMN 55121-1781 Send email to Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2003

BBB has determined that Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/08/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales rep forgot to load my van with all product purchased. Call and spoke with both owners ***** and ?? to see if they would put my carpet squares aside until I got back out in the area 2-3 weeks about 25 minutes away each direction.Both owners were very rude, and told me they would only hold for 1 week.6 pieces of carpet squares 18 X 36 Will not shop there again.Terrible customer relation
Product_Or_Service: 18 x 36 carpet squares

Desired Settlement
send checkto me for total due of carpet squares

Business' Initial Response
Building Materials Outlet MW, Inc. is an auction and liquidation company. We do not own any inventory and sell materials on a consignment basis, with all sales final. In addition, we have signs posted that we are not responsible for loading. Mrs. ****** ******* purchased the carpet tiles on Saturday, April 28th a BMO employee noticed that she forgot the carpet tiles on the cart and put them aside with a copy of the receipt. Mrs. ****** ******* called on Tuesday and abruptly stated that ''our guy forgot to load her carpet tiles.'' I, *****, answered the phone and knew right away what she was referring to. I explained to her that we do not own the products and that the vendors are notified of the sales on a daily basis which is why we have the buyers initial the receipts stating all sales final with no returns, no refunds and no exchanged. I also told her that we would hold the product for one week; apparently, she did not like my response and she rudely stated that she was not going to accept that and asked to speak to a manager. I informed her that I was one of the owners here and she asked to speak to the other owner. **** then took the phone and explained to her that she is responsible for her own purchases and that we cannot refund the money. Mrs. ****** ******* said that she lived all the way in Maplewood and that it was too far to drive. **** stated that Eagan is only 20 minutes away and that we can hold the product for one week until she had time to make it into our location. Mrs. ****** ******* then hung up the phone. However, I would like to add that on Saturday, May 5th she sent a man into our location to pick up her carpet tiles, so I am confused with the request for a refund.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
both ***** and ***** were very Rude, terrible customer service response of course is not how the story unfolds. lies... out right lies

Will not recommend others to this place of bussiness.

Business' Final Response
Building Materials Outlet MW, Inc. is an auction and liquidation company. We do not own any inventory and sell materials on a consignment basis, with all sales final. In addition, we have signs posted that we are not responsible for loading. Mrs. ****** ******* purchased the carpet tiles on Saturday, April 28th a BMO employee noticed that she forgot the carpet tiles on the cart and put them aside with a copy of the receipt. Mrs. ****** ******* called on Tuesday and abruptly stated that ''our guy forgot to load her carpet tiles.'' I, *****, answered the phone and knew right away what she was referring to. I explained to her that we do not own the products and that the vendors are notified of the sales on a daily basis which is why we have the buyers initial the receipts stating all sales final with no returns, no refunds and no exchanged. I also told her that we would hold the product for one week; apparently, she did not like my response and she rudely stated that she was not going to accept that and asked to speak to a manager. I informed her that I was one of the owners here and she asked to speak to the other owner. **** then took the phone and explained to her that she is responsible for her own purchases and that we cannot refund the money. Mrs. ****** ******* said that she lived all the way in Maplewood and that it was too far to drive. **** stated that Eagan is only 20 minutes away and that we can hold the product for one week until she had time to make it into our location. Mrs. ****** ******* then hung up the phone. However, I would like to add that on Saturday, May 5th she sent a man into our location to pick up her carpet tiles, so I am confused with the request for a refund.

07/09/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Materials, Auctioneers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/2000Business started: 01/01/2000New Owner Date: 01/01/2000
Contact Information
Principal: Lynn Ribar (President) Don Prettyman CEO Angie Ribar (Vice President)
Business Category

Building Materials, Auctioneers

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Building Materials Outlet MW., Inc., this company offers live and online auctions of building materials such as windows, interior and exterior doors, mouldings, lumber, shingles, siding, cabinets, hardwood flooring, carpet, vinyl, tile and marble vanity tops.

Alternate Business Names
Cannon Recovery Company Inc

If you choose to do business with Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc.

3045 Sibley Memorial Hwy

Eagan, MN 55121-1781

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3045 Sibley Memorial Hwy 

    Eagan, MN 55121-1781

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Building Materials Outlet Midwest, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Building Materials

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.