BBB Accredited Business since

The Wedding Shoppe, Inc.

Phone: (651) 294-4991 Fax: (651) 298-9538 View Additional Phone Numbers 1196 Grand Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55105 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.weddingshoppeinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Wedding Shoppe, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Wedding Shoppe, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Wedding Shoppe, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 1989 Business started: 08/13/1977 Business started locally: 08/13/1977 Business incorporated 08/13/1977 in MN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
James L. Fritz, VP Operations Mary Smith, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: James L. Fritz, VP Operations
Business Category

Bridal Shops

Alternate Business Names
Wedding Shoppe, Inc. The
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Wedding Shoppe, Inc., this company offers wedding, gowns, bridesmaid dresses, flower girl dresses, and wedding accessories.

Industry Tips
BRIDAL SHOPS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Wedding Shoppe, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1196 Grand Ave

    Saint Paul, MN 55105 (651) 298-1144 (651) 294-4980 (651) 294-4991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered $300 men's suit online, size 44 jacket and size 44 pants. However, when they arrived, we quickly saw they are actually closer to 38" – nearly three sizes too small. That is a size variance outside of what can be considered reasonable. Contacted store via phone to discuss how to exchange items, and they wouldn't accept a return unless we paid a 50% restocking fee, even though the item is clearly sized incorrectly. I should not be charged for them to restock items that are defective. This is an issue of a defect in a product and the company not standing behind the quality of their products.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of item without us paying 50% "restocking fee".

Business Response: We have contacted ******** and made arrangements for her to return the pants so we can measure them. We will call her once we receive them to determine what size we need to re-order. We will waive any re-stocking fee for the customer.

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

The jacket was also at issue in this complaint. 

I am returning both the pants and the jacket using the call tag supplied,  with the understanding that there will be NO restocking fee on either.  If these is, this complaint will continue.

Business Response:

No problem. Send both the pants & the jacket back so we can measure them to determine if they are not measuring correctly for a size 44 or if the customer needs a larger size.

There will be no re-stocking fee.

4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When stopping in for our fitting appointment to pick up my daughters wedding gown, the dress received was 5 inches too long and 3 sizes too large for my very slight of frame daughter (they ordered a size 10 and she normally wheres a size 2 or 4). I was clearly upset with the size and expressed this, but didn't want to upset my daughter any further as she stated it took 6 months to get the dress and she did not have time to order a new one. When we left we stopped near our home for alterations. We clearly expected some alterations be required however, based on how huge this dress is it will cost more than half of the price of her dress to be altered as the seamstress will have to remove all of the lace appliques and resew them back on because the length is so long (my daughter is 5'7" so she is not short), the dress needed to be taken in 3 inches on each side to actually fit her. When posting on Facebook we found that our relatives and many friends have had this same exact problem happen at the Wedding Shoppe and many of them were referred across the street to their alterations department. When we checked out, I was given another brides bill and paid for the balance of her dress, vs. paying for the Veil and Belt that was all that remained on my daughters account. That night I received a very nasty call stating we left the premise without paying our bill!!! I paid what I thought was my bill but they are so disorganized that they gave me the wrong invoice. I feel that the practice of ordering a dress so large that you can't even imagine what it will look like when she tries it on, and that will cause over $500 in alterations is inappropriate and not a fair business practice. You must sign for that dress before you leave and the fact that it took 6 months to come in does not allow you any choice but to take the huge dress and go spend a more than half of the dress to repair it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Wedding Shoppe to discontinue their dishonest practice of ordering dresses many sizes too large and order dresses more closely matching the Brides measurements. The excuse that these dresses are European, and the factory recommends this size based on the measurements, doesn't make any sense to me, measurements are measurements no matter what country they are coming from and if this is a problem with the factory - the problem needs to be resolved. I would also appreciate a refund of the costs to hem, hand sew the appliques and take in the dress that is many sizes too large. By the way if you order a dress in France, they will complete your alterations within the hour while you wait, so I clearly don't believe that European dress shops would order dresses this large for any of their brides.

Business Response: When I received the size concern from ******, I tried to contact her, she & I have been playing phone tag. I did review the measurements for her daughter and compared them to the designer size chart. According to the numbers, she did measure into the size that was ordered for her. It is possible that the dress was measuring more generous. I contacted Tess, the brides seamstress. Tess said she is taking in the sides a total of 4" ( 2" on each side ) and charging $65.00. I did leave a message for ****** letting her know I have adjusted ****'s order $65.00 and if she could call with the credit card, we will then refund her the cost of the side seam alterations.  

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:  The Wedding Shoppe was only willing to discount $50 for taking in the sides in on the dress, when the real work for my seamstress is removing all the lace appliques at the bottom and taking up the dress multiple inches, then hand sewing the appliques back on.  I spoke with my seamstress (who doesn't want to be contacted further from the Wedding Shoppe!!!) and she stated that what I was requesting as a refund was very fair because the hem is the detailed hand sewing that is costing the bulk of our alterations bill.  I am still very firm on my thoughts that the Wedding Shoppe must take another look at their ordering guidelines and discontinue the practice of ordering dresses for slight women 2 or more sizes larger.  I have tried to contact Mary with customer service multiple times every call goes to voice mail, she has not returned my last call to reject her response.


Business Response: In my 4.19.16 response, and message that was left for ****** ****** that same day, we confirmed with ****'s seamstress that the dress was being taking in 2" on each side for a total cost of $65.00. The $65.00 credit remains in her file waiting for credit card information so we can refund her. ****'s measurements at the time of order put her in the size we ordered for her. Bridal gowns do need to be custom fit to the body, along with hemming the gown. The total of $65.00 is available for refund by calling ###-###-####.  Our best to **** with her wedding. 

4/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Site said 100% satisfaction guarantee I ordered dress according to the chart on site. It does not fit. I ordered a dress for my granddaughter wedding. The web site said 100%satisfaction guarantee. I used the chart giving to me on there site. I am usually a size 4. I had my husband measure me. I am a size 4 according to the chart. Got the dress it is way to small. Two inches to small. I called the company and they said I could return the dress but there would be a 50% restocking fee plus express shipment. I never saw the 50% restocking fee plus I never asked for express shipment. They said I could have the dress sized and return it and they would measure dress. I don't trust the company. I sent it back and get 50% of my money for them to tell me i'm wrong. My daughter is a size 2 and the dress just fits her. i have taken pictures of her in the dress. So I'm out 250.00 because there size 4 does not fit. I am upset and the 50% restocking fee is hidden and there 100% satisfaction is very plain. I am so upset I can't even sleep. This is wrong of them the dress does not fit. I just wanted an exchange.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back. I would take another dress but I am scared to death that the will pull something.

Business Response: I'm sorry Ms.******** is having a size concern. Our records indicate she placed an order on our website 2.28.16 requesting a size 4 dress. We shipped the dress to her 3.4.16. She contacted us 3.9.16 stating the dress was too small for her.She said her measurements ( which we do not have )fit in a size 4 according to the size chart on our website. We asked her to return the dress so we could confirm the measurements of the dress.As of today, we have not received the dress back from her.If the dress is not measuring accurately according to the designer size chart,we will issue a full refund.If it is measuring correctly, there is a 50% re-stocking fee.Our website does state that there is a 50% re-stocking fee on all returned dresses as long as we receive them within 15 days, all tags attached.
I'm happy to inspect the dress as soon as she returns it and will be in touch with her.

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a sample wedding dress and the year model and what came with it was misrepresented so that the store could overcharge. On April 19th, I visited the Wedding Shoppe in St. Paul in hopes of finding a wedding dress. My complaint is not only about the customer service I've received in this instance but about the purchasing of my dress. I was helped on a Sunday afternoon by a woman whose name I believe was Erika. I tried on a number of dresses. I was very much on the fence about purchasing the dress in question as it was a sample dress as I wanted a new style. With my friend ******** present, the sales clerk told me that this dress was a brand new style. She said that people often confuse the phrase sample sale with only outdated dresses. She stated that the store had just gotten this dress in within the past week and that the owners felt like this dress could not sell at their store so it was moved to the rack. I asked if there was any optional sleeve for the dress as there were buttons within the dress that suggested it came with something and she informed me that there wasn't but that I could purchase additional fabric at a cost. I asked if there could alterations to the bust and length and she said that this was an easy thing for any seamstress to do. She noted it would be important to wait until I had lost any weight I might like to before the big day. This was in addition to a "Really?!" so riddled with condescending disbelief when I told her I was a size four and not a size 12...the size of the sample. She noted a reason to purchase from their store that I could have a coordinating veil. I went home to think about it. While there were some drawbacks to the dress, my major assurance was that this was a new dress and I could easily purchase a coordinating veil. The next morning, I called to purchase the dress. I went to pick it up over lunch and made small talk with the receptionist. I asked for a replacement corset string as one was not present the day before while I was trying the dress on. She opened the bag to check that I was right and she said that the dress I had picked had been a very popular one and that this was one of her favorite dresses. She said how happy she was that someone had decided to take the well loved sample home. I noted during my experience the day before the sales clerk who'd helped me stated that this was a new dress. The receptionist's face went flat. She hurried me out and didn't say another word after going to get the corset string. I could not believe what a departure this was from the day before. It was one lie and after numerous insults. I could understand that someone would make a mistake and tell me that a dress was new when it wasn't if they were unfamiliar with the inventory however she conflated an entire story to get a commision. After the store failed to acknowledge multiple requests for help with veils, I looked on the designers website to find the dress to see if I could order the veil elsewhere. I found the dress. The dress is from 2013, it came with a bolero (a buttoned shawl) that was likely lost during the extended stay it had in the store, and per online reviews is likely difficult to hem this dress because of the way it was constructed and the lace was cut espeically at the hem. So not only had I been lied to, I basically purchased a dress where it might not be possible to alter it to my height. I have attempted to work with Mary from customer service. She has stuck by the attempts at upcharging for the dress's bolero after acknowledging to me that indeed the the bolero was lost in the store. Further she initially attempted to defend the sales clerk stating that it was a function of inadequately knowing the merchandise. Even if that were the case, it is the job of the sales clerk to appropriately know the merchandise especially in the setting of such an expensive purchase. Finally, Mary agreed with me that this was such a detailed story that it had to said on purpose instead of just poor knowledge of their stock.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in full. I would like to put this behind me. My wedding day should be about feeling proud and this dress is a just a misrepresentation. I look at it and I feel lied to. I am so diappointed with their practices both at the initial visit with the lying and making me feel like I didn't know what a sample was, getting hurried out of the store the next day, and when dealing with customer service being asked to still pay up despite the gown missing the bolero it was suppose to come with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/17) */ Ms ****** purchased a $2900.00 sample gown from our store in April for $999.00. The dress did not have the shoulder wrap (one of the reason it was marked down $1901.00 ) She was aware the dress was a sample.Ms ****** emailed a month later stating the consultant told her it was from the designers 2015 line, when in fact it was from their 2013 season. She also asked about the wrap and veil and was given order information.Ms ****** called 7.15.15 asking to return the dress, we processed her refund that day. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/21) */ We have reached a resolution. Thank you

6/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company terms of purchase are misleading in regards to cancellations. My daughter,************** ordered a bridesmaid dress on May 25 and wanted to change order on June 2.2015. She was told she would only receive 50% refund. According to terms of purchase on website, this applies to returns, no word of cancellation. According to company manager, order acceptance is binding and means unable to cancel. This is totally misleading and I request my daughter receives a full refund due to not one word in terms of a cancellation policy. For your interest, I have copied their terms and order acceptance off of their site: www.weddingshoppeinc.com Return / Refund Policy We want you to be 100% satisfied with your Wedding Shoppe purchase. Unlike most bridal salons and websites who don't allow returns, we offer a full merchandise refund on all accessories, and a 50% merchandise refund on bridal, bridesmaid, mothers', flower girl, and special occasion dresses, as well as tuxedos and suits. To return your merchandise... 1. Contact the Wedding Shoppe within 15 days of receiving your merchandise to obtain a return authorization number. 2. Return merchandise in its original condition and in original packaging with tags attached. Monogrammed, dyed, or personalized items cannot be returned or exchanged. 3. Call ************** for a Return Authorization number and write it on the outside of the box. 4. Complete the return form and place it in the box. 5. Mail the box using your preferred shipping method. When we receive it, we will send you an email. 6. Once you receive our email, call us with your credit card information and we will issue a refund minus any restocking fees. Online merchandise must be returned via mail. Shipping costs are the responsibility of the customer and are non-refundable. No credit is given for lost packages being returned to the Wedding Shoppe. Non-returnable merchandise sent back to us will not be returned, and no exchange or credit will be issued. Returned items will void any promotional codes or other special offers. If you feel your merchandise is defective, you must contact us within 5 days of receiving it for a return authorization. All merchandise must be returned in its original condition, unworn with tags attached. Once received, our customer service representative will inspect the merchandise for defects and, if applicable, contact the designer to repair or replace it. If we find that the merchandise is not defective or has been misused, it will be shipped back to you. We will incur shipping charges on defective merchandise, but we will not incur shipping charges on merchandise that is not found defective or misused.​ Order Acceptance An order is not binding until it is accepted by The Wedding Shoppe. For an order to be accepted by us, payment must be received and approved, the designer must accept order and issue a confirmation, and the designer must confirm order is deliverable in a reasonable time before your event. The Wedding Shoppe and the designer will establish what is a reasonable time.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund for my daughter due to misleading, and/or no wording in terms for cancelling order.Order number for ************* is *******.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/15) */ When we were asked if we could cancel the order, The Wedding Shoppe did contact the designer to see if the dress could be cancelled, it was already in production and could not be cancelled or changed.I'm sorry the designers do not cancel or take back merchandise once the order is in production.We are one of the only bridal shops that have a return policy. We will contact her when the dress arrives to see if she wants to keep the dress and have it shipped, or cancel with a 50% re-stocking fee. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this; as stated in original complaint, there is no wording in the terms of purchase about cancellations. The wording is ONLY for returns. I will continue to fight this unfairness and lack of complete information stated on the weddingshoppe website. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/26) */ Please have customer contact me, I will take care of refund.Thank you , Mary

6/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shop sent the wrong color dress and provided false swatch comparison. I ordered peach Bari Jay dresses from the Vienna satin swatch. I saw the swatch in person at a Bridal shop in New York and have a sample in my possession so I am full aware of the color dress my bridesmaids should have received. However, what arrived were blush/pink dresses, not peach. I expressed this problem to the manager and was instructed to send the dresses back so they could be compared with the swatch. I should have only sent one dress back, because the manager compared a dress to a matching peach swatch that clearly wasn't the dresses I sent. I showed pictures of the dresses I received ( that I had saved into my phone) and demanded an explanation, but the manager reiterated that the photos she sent to me (via text mind you, not professional email) were mine. This inconvenience caused me to have to change décor, stationary, etc for my wedding in less than 5 weeks. I asked to speak with the owner of this shop and have yet to be called. The customer service agents do their best to help ( I made calls over the weekend), but they have limited power on resolving pressing issues like mine, which was very frustrating. My bridemaids will end up having to wear the pink dresses but they deserve a partial refund at minimum for the poor service and incorrect item they bought.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund of $312.50

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/29) */ Wedding Shoppe,Inc.placed a bridesmaid dress order for five Bari Jay dresses in the color peach.When our customer received the dresses she felt they were the wrong color. We brought the dresses back for color verification. All of the dresses matched the designers peach fabric swatch card.The customer was advised of that and told if she was unhappy with the color she chose, we have a return policy and we would refund her for the dresses. She said no, she wanted the dresses returned to her. We included a letter and a peach color swatch sent to us directly from Bari Jay so she could see her dresses matched their peach Vienna satin swatch.We want our customers to be happy with their purchases,therefore,our offer to have her return the dresses within 15 days,in their original condition for a refund is still available to her.If she decides to keep the dresses,the price of the five dresses remains at $655.00,since the order was delivered in the color requested by the customer.

10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Wedding Shoppe is a terrible business that tells customers to order WAY bigger sizes than necessary! I have two bridesmaids dresses that came in in WAY too BIG based on the terrible measurements that the sales associates gave! They fall of the girls and when I talked to the girls who did the online ordering she said they would replace them since I voiced my concerns with her based on the sizes they told her to order when her normal dress size is TEN-FOURTEEN Dress sizes SMALLER! Dresses came in and they FALL OFF the girls without even needing to be unzipped! The third Bridesmaid dress zipper is BROKEN! Called the next day they were open and still have yet to hear back from a manager when Customer Service said I would hear from one that day or within the next 24 hours!

Desired Settlement: I want the two dresses that are WAY to big and wrong measurements reordered in time for my December wedding OR The Wedding Shoppe Inc. can PAY themselves for the alterations of these dresses since they need to go down 4-6 dress sizes! I have had terrible service with almost every sales associate that works there and they treat their customers with disrespectful behavior. They give an attitude to their customers when asked for clarification or when it is not something they want to hear from their customers. I have printed off the emails with the lady that I worked with when ordering dresses and had many phone conversations with. When I contacted her over the weekend I get a reply on Monday morning that she is no longer with the company. I need this issue resolved ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/24) */ I apologize to ***** & two bridesmaids that they are having size concerns with their dresses. We have invited them to come in so we can custom fit their side seams at no charge. We have ordered a replacement zipper for her third bridesmaid and will replace that for her at no charge.I'm sorry that I was not aware of her situation until now, I will reach out to *****.

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Estimated delivery date on website is inaccurate. Charging extra for a "rush cut" The website lists estimated delivery in 10-12 weeks. I ordered my bridesmaid dress 14 weeks in advance. The company then charged (they did ask first) me an additional $20 for a "rush cut" saying that the 10-12 weeks didn't allow shipping time from the manufacturer to the Wedding Shoppe and then from the Wedding Shoppe to the customer. So, the 10-12 weeks listed on the website isn't accurate, the additional shipping weeks need to be added to this, as this is what customers go by when ordering. I just feel this was their way of making more money. I never would have thought that 14 weeks wouldn't have been enough time to get the dress to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $20 extra I paid for rush cut

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ The $20.00 rush fees has already been waived.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Wedding Shoppe, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart