BBB Accredited Business since

Auto Max Muffler & Brake - J D

Phone: (763) 571-5616 Fax: (763) 571-0005 4501 Central Ave NE, Columbia Heights, MN 55421 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.automaxch.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Max Muffler & Brake - J D meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Auto Max Muffler & Brake - J D include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Max Muffler & Brake - J D
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1991 Business started: 02/01/1991 Business started locally: 02/01/1991
Business Management
Bob Ayers, Owner Tricia Ayers, President
Contact Information
Principal: Bob Ayers, Owner
Customer Contact: Tricia Ayers, President
Business Category

Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Tire Retread & Repair Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
J D Enterprises Of Minnesota
Products & Services

According to information provided by Auto Max Muffler & Brake, this company offers muffler and brake, front end and underhood services.


Additional Locations

  • 4501 Central Ave NE

    Columbia Heights, MN 55421 (763) 571-5616

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My truck was in to have the catalytic converter repaired. I was told it could be reused. They removed the converter without my approval I brought my 95 dodge Dakota in because the catalytic converter was falling off. I discussed with the owner what i wanted done. He told me the old converter could be reused by putting new ends on it and reinstalling it. He said nothing about needing a new converter. I agreed to have the repair done the way it was explained to me. It was supposed to be the old converter installed with new ends and i brought my own glasspack to have installed. The tailpipe was able to be saved so i declined it. Today I was underneath the truck to do another repair and noticed that my catalytic converter was missing. They welded in a new pipe without the converter. I was not told about this. I did not agree to this. If it needed to be replaced i would have done it. They took my converter and most likely got cash for it from a scrap yard.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either have my old converter back so another shop can install it, or my money back for the repair so i can have a new one installed since it is illegal to not have one on the truck.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/30) */ Must get a copy of customer's paper work to see what was done and what was written in comments. Thank you ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I lost the receipt, but ill tell what it said. It did say in the comments customer refused converter and tail pipe. I did refuse the tail pipe since it could be saved. When it says I refused the converter, we never spoke of a new converter at all. It was agreed on by me and the owner of the shop that the old converter could be reused. I will look more for the receipt but it seems to me they should have some record of me being there for the repair. Unfortunately I signed the receipt without looking at it because I trusted them. Furthermore, I would never have agreed on the repair as it was being it is illegal. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/12/08) */ On Sept. 27th 2014 ******* ****** called me and said over a year age we at auto max put on a muffler and cut off his convertor I (************) I told him to bring in his vehicle and receipt . ******* claim he had no receipt ,I asked if he knew of the date when work was done he thought over a year. I then told ******* it would be tough to find receipt without some kind of date, we fill by date not name. ******* ******then began to threaten me and I then said conversation over. On Dec5th spoke with ************** and said without a receipt not much we can do. Since then I have gone back through over a year of invoices and thought I might have remembered *******'s truck but it was a different year dakota registered under different name. ************

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had back shocks put on and shocks were no good and upon return auto max said they repair a leak witch shocks should not been leaking if they were new After he told me that the shocks were repaired, I received my car back and noticed that my check engine light was now on and 15 min later the shocks were back leaking witch I told him from the start upon return that the shocks he put in was bad shocks after getting opinions from 3 different brake specialist.

Desired Settlement: All that I'm seeking is my total balance of $291.00 that I paid him because the problem was not repaired at all..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/14) */ put in three sets of rear air shocks and new rear air line because customer's automatic air pump is not working he requested. The customer does not have standard tires size 17'he has 22'which is one of his issues with ride quality. Customer was recommend to delearship prior to work for air pump direct fit shocks customer said he just wanted standard shocks and was not willing to spend the money dearship wanted. Nothing wrong with product Auto max installed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Max Muffler & Brake - J D
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)