This business is not BBB accredited.

Dan's Southside Marine

Phone: (952) 881-0077 Fax: (952) 881-2625 View Additional Phone Numbers 1900 W 98th St, Bloomington, MN 55431 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.danssouthsidemarine.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a second generation family business. We cater to people that enjoy boating and fishing on the lakes in the Midwest. We offer service and repair for everything we sell. Stop in today and find out why Dan's Southside Marine should be your dealer


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dan's Southside Marine include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Dan's Southside Marine
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1983 Business started: 10/16/1981 Business started locally: 10/16/1981 Business incorporated 10/16/1981 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dan J. Chesky Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Dan J. Chesky Jr., President
Business Category

Boat Dealers Marine Electronic Equipment & Supplies Marine Equipment & Supplies Outboard Motors Trailers - Boat Water Skiing Equipment & Supplies Boat Storage Boat Repair Marine Sales & Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
We will refund or exchange new unopened merchandise purchased when accompanied by receipt within a 30 day period. Items Excluded from this policy are used items, propellers, motor parts, any electrical or ignition parts, special orders & closeout items. Returns that do not conform to the above policies may be subject to a restocking fee or recieve an in-store credit..
Alternate Business Names
Marine Electric Co
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, they offer a wide range of top quality brands such as Alumacraft, Premier, Stingray & Berkshire. They also offer a choice in power from Suzuki, Yamaha, Honda & Volvo. They have the most complete ships store and Connelly Pro Shop.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dan's Southside Marine has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1900 W 98th St

    Bloomington, MN 55431 (952) 881-0077 (800) 466-4657

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my boat in to be winterized (the motor), when I picked it up the cavitation plate was broken. The owner DENIED that they were responsible. On 21 October I bought my boat motor (a XXXX XXX hp mercury 2-stroke) attached to the boat to be winterized. I went to pick it up on Oct 30 and paid $195.28 for winterizing the motor and a new roller for the front of the trailer. For some reason it took 20 minutes for them to bring out my boat (doesn't factor into anything) but when I looked at the motor I immediately saw a large crack in the cavitation plate. Underneath the plate was a deep puncture that cracked it. I brought this to the attention of the service manager Steve ****** (the owner's brother) who immediately denied they were responsible, and said it came in like that. I informed him that it was not damaged before I brought it in- and it wasn't- and he started telling me the bare metal was oxidized and therefore it must of happened months ago. The impact point on the metal underneath was not oxidized and in fact was shiney. The boat batteries were also completely dead, but were running all summer and fully charged when I brought the boat in. They had no explanation for that. The boat was also full of water. I insisted again that the motor was not damaged before I brought it in, and he started taking pictures, then another man came and pushed a plug into the drain. Mr. ****** took a picture of that and said 'that's illegal' (how bizzarre is that), but it was obvious he was in defense mode and trying to invent some other issue. I decided to return later to speak to the owner Dan ******* who was not in yet- and who happens to be the service manager's brother. He did not give me the time of day and just said we didn't do it, and made sure I paid the bill (which I did but would not have if had seen the damage before hand). He said the metal at the break oxidized and it takes months for that to happen, therefore they didn't do it. Then told me my boat was beat up anyway (which it isn't bad at all), which had nothing to do with the issue at hand. I asked again if it could have been broken when they lifted the boat to change roller, and a repair person next to us said he saw the whole thing when they lifted the boat and changed the rear rollers, and nothing happened. I DID NOT HAVE THE REAR ROLLERS changed- it was the front one. Obviously another made up statement to cover themselves. So I left, and brought the boat to another dealer AND two other metal working shops. THEY ALL TOLD ME IT WAS A FRESH BREAK, and that it only takes a few days for that metal to oxidize. Dan ****** and his brother Steve Lied to me about the oxidation time to cover themselves. How petty is that- because it would cost only about $100 to fix the damage they have done to my boat- nevermind the batteries. I can recharge them. Hard to believe the lack of dignity these men have, to not be able to own up to something they did and 'steal' from a customer. I will never go near that dishonest place again, but I want them to pay for the repairs from the damage they did. The metal shop men AND the boat dealer service man all say they will back me up if need be.

Desired Settlement: I seek $100 to repair the conversion plate Dan's Southside Marine broke on my boat motor- but will not have it done by them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/02) */ I have discussed with **** in detail great detail as to how we have come to the conclusion that the damage was not done in our lot. The picture attached shows the crack in question, when you score the open metal surface it is apparent that oxidation is on the surface because of the change in color of the metal in the scored area. oxidation is aluminums way of rusting if you will. Oxidation occurs faster when the metal is submersed in water. Our service manager performed this test for **** personally. evidently this test was not enough for ****, then brought his complaint to me. The second picture shows propeller damage consistent with hitting the bottom of the lake. The clockwise rotation of the motor and propeller flung the hit object up and into the cavitation plate breaking it. Being that it was in the water and depending on the Ph level of the water oxidation began to form. or Maybe it did not happen like this at all and it happened when the boat was dropped on the loading ramp while hastily launching it crushing the rear most part of the keel and drain plug in. We do a lot of insurance business here at the dealership and I can get a number of third party insurance adjusters to look at the damage and conclude the testing procedure was accurate and diagnosis correct. I think **** should take me up on my original offer to prove to him. The oxidation exists on the break showing the time span since the break was considerable and did not happen in it brief stay here. I said to prove that point we would break the cracked piece off and The freshly broken piece would show no oxidation. My offer was if it looked different than the current open metal piece he'd pay us to repair it, if it looked the same We'd repair it at no cost. This offer still stands, its reasonable and fair to both parties and either way the crack gets fixed. **** can call for a specific time to bring the boat by to compete the more extensive test.

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid them to repair my motor and they did not repair it. I took my boat on 4/28/15 to Dan's,my issue was motor would would run but after a while it would just die. I asked them when they got it running would they take it to the river and test it out. I requested that they run it to the 169 bridge and back,that was something I was not able to do. They said it would cost me 125.00 labor to do that,fine no problem. They called and said the carburetor needed to be rebuilt 200 and something parts and labor,fine fix it. They said the boat would be ready on 5/5/15. I never heard from them so on 5/7/15 I call and they told me it was ready. I asked if they ran it in they river and they said the service manager ran it and it ran great. Well I picked it up and on 5/10/15 I took it to the river. I spent the next forty five minutes trying to get the motor started after I got it started there was no power to the engine it would go about 6 mph wide oped throttle. So on 5/11/15 I take my boat back to them and the service manager that ran it in the river came out and asked what was wrong. I explained to him that I could not get it started and the things I found out that was wrong at this point.(I have had the boat about 8 months now and have never had any issues with it not starting). Well he said it ran great for him, then he tried to start it and it would not run. So at this point I asked if he ran it to the 169 bridge and back and he stated no I just played around in the river for about 30 minutes. So I was told that the mechanic would run down the river with me when i picked it up today on 5/12/15. When I get there the mechanic said he ran it in a test tank there at the shop and he also to it to the river and it ran good. I asked are you coming to the river with me today and he said yes for another 125.00. Well I pleaded my case about you didn't even do what I paid for the first time,well that didn't get me anywhere. So I left. On my way to the river before I even left the parking lot I called Dans Southside to talk to the manager, the person I got was a man named *** (not sure if he is the owner or not). I explained the whole situation to him he asked to give him time to check into this matter. Well I took it to the river myself and once again my boat does not run right. So I bring it home,then I get a call from ***. And I start off telling him that my boat is still not right,and all he could say was I don't see how it works for my guys but it doesn't work for you. I said if your guy would have come to the river he would have seen the problem,and he say's nothing is free you could have paid the 125.00. Then I just said I see how you do business and hung up.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to get my boat fixed. Thats what I paid them to do. If not then I would like a partial refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/05/27) */ Your boat was running and tested great when he ran it on the river. We will credit you the 120.00 charged for the on water already performed if you like. As discussed earlier on the phone, we are willing to do a 2 hour test drive in your boat from the 35W bridge to the 169 bridge and back. However you need to pay for the technicians time from door to door and I estimate your costs to be around an additional $ 240.00. Please inform me of your decision either way . Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I payed 424.74 for my boat to be fixed. My boat is not fixed, plan and simple. I should not have to pay more money to prove to you my boat is not fixed. I payed 120.00 once already for your technician to run my boat to the 169 bridge and back and that did not happen. I don't understand why you are getting so defensive about your repair work,if you trust what your mechanic says then you should be willing to prove me wrong, I should not have to pay to prove your wrong. I have my boat at another establishment getting fixed right now. So as far as you trying to get more money out of me that is not happening. When my boat gets repaired I will send you a copy of what the problem was so you can show it to your mechanic and he and yourself can grow and learn from this. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will not bring my boat back to you. I think two times was fair enough for you to get it right. Then the disrespect I got from *** himself telling me if I didn't cheap out and pay another 120.00 dollars on the river test,that his mechanic would have tested it a second time with me. As stated previously I took my boat to another establishment and on one attempt the were able to diagnose and fix my boat. It was the switch box all along not a carburetor issue. As a matter of fact another dealership(American Marine) had already inspected and cleaned the carburetor before I took it to you. Here is a copy of the repair ticket. If you would like to contact the establishment that FIXED my boat they would be more then willing to discuss this matter with you.I have nothing else to say regarding this issue. Peace Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/06/08) */ I've given three reasonable alternatives to resolve your complaint, if none of them seem viable to you we are truly sorry. What you seem to lack in understanding is the fact that a technicians time is not free. I've given alternatives that involve a no cost option, an option that involves paying for the additional time and one option that involves a refund of the time used on water. If these options do not satisfy you, once again we are sorry but you will need to bring your business elsewhere.

3/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DANS SOUTHSIDE MARINE MADE AN ERROR CONCERNING MY HOME ADDRESS AND FORWARDED THIS INFO TO THE LENDING AGENCY. I PURCHASED A NEW BOAT FROM DANS SOUTHSIDE MARINE IN DEC OF 2014. MY SALESPERSON AND THE FINANCE PERSON WERE PROFESSIONAL, CONSIDERATE AND KNOWLEDGEABLE. ON FEB 20 2015, I RECEIVED A NASTY PHONE CALL FROM *************** (THE LENDING AGENCY ASSOCIATED WITH THIS DEALERSHIP) ASKING WHY I HADNT MADE ANY PAYMENTS AND SINCE MY ACCOUNT WAS OVER 45 DAYS DELINQUENT, MY CREDIT SCORE WOULD CERTAINLY BE TAKING A HIT. IT HAS TAKEN ME 3 1/2 YEARS TO BUILD MY CREDIT RATING TO ITS CURRENT EXCELLENT SCORE. AFTER A LENGTHY CONVERSATION WITH ******* AT THE BANK EXPLAINING I HADNT RECEIVED ANY REPAYMENT COUPONS OR A PAYMENT BOOK I ASKED HER WHERE THE PACKET WAS SENT. SHE TOLD ME THAT THE CONTRACT INFORMATION FAXED TO HER FROM DANS SOUTHSIDE HAD MY PREVIOUS ADDRESS LISTED WHICH I HAVENT LIVED AT FOR 4 YEARS. I CONTACTED ONE OF THE OWNERS (****) AT DANS SOUTHSIDE FOR HELP IN RESOLVING THIS SITUTATION. HE REALLY DIDNT OFFER MUCH HELP AND INDICATED THEIR PAPERWORK WAS CORRECT AND THAT "SOMEONE IS LYING." THE BANK CERTAINLY HAS NO REASON TO LIE WHICH IMPLIES I WAS THE LIAR I CALLED THE BANK BACK THE FOLLOWING MORNING AND ASKED ******* TO FAX ME A COPY OF THE PAPERWORK WHICH SHE HAD FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND THE ADDRESS THEY ENTERED ON THE CONTRACT WAS INCORRECT..AN OBVIOUS MISTAKE ON THEIR PART. I CALLED **** BACK AT THE DEALERSHIP AND ASKED IF WE COULD MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH HIM TO SIT DOWN AND DISCUSS THIS AND THAT WE WERE EXPECTING AN APOLOGY FROM HIM FOR BEING CALLED A LIAR AND PUTTING MY CREDIT IN JEOPARDY. ***** RESPONSE WAS "OUR PAPERWORK IS CORRECT AND UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES AM I GOING TO APOLOGIZE AND WE ARE DONE." HE WAS RUDE, ARROGANT AND DEFENSIVE. ALL I WANTED WAS FOR DANS SOUTHSIDE MARINE TO OWN UP TO THEIR MISTAKE AND APOLOGIZE FOR MY CREDIT TAKING A HIT. THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU'S NAME IMPLIES THEIR GOAL IS TO MAKE A BUSINESS BETTER....HOPEFULLY YOU CAN HELP RESOLVE THIS ISSUE..THANK YOU

Desired Settlement: AS MENTIONED PREVIOUSLY, WE ONLY WANTED FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO ADMIT THEIR MISTAKE AND AN APOLOGY...CERTAINLY NOT AN UNREASONABLE REQUEST!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ We have reviewed all the forms and paperwork regarding this sale. Paperwork was submitted to the Bank, DNR, DMV, Suzuki, and Alumacraft. All payment book generating submissions made by Dan's Southside Marine had the correct address for ****** ****. We have discovered two discrepancies in the submitted paperwork: 1. ******'s Drivers license has the incorrect address in question, not the current address he resides at. 2. The electronic credit application The original loan documents are sent to the bank by next day air, not by fax. We believe the incorrect address was taken from the driver's license when the bank clerk used it to make loan verifications, which is required by law (PATRIOT ACT). The Banks protocol suggests that when paperwork and identification do not match, the bank will contact the selling dealer for clarification. The Retail Installment Contract clearly states *** ****'s correct address. Dan's Southside Marine was never notified for any clarification. The loan contract paperwork is standardized throughout the entire banking industry and very clear as to when payments are due and what bank was assigned the loan with the banks phone number. ****** was given a copy of the Retail Installment Contract with first payment due January 8th 2015. After submission of original loan documents and the loan being funded, the relationship is between ****** **** and the Bank. We would have no knowledge of the customer not receiving a payment book or if the payments are being made. We have spoken with banks agent regarding restoration and removal of anything derogatory in ******* credit file arising from this clerical error. In my opinion the Bank, Dan's Southside Marine and ****** **** all have responsibility in this error.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Dan's Southside Marine
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart