BBB Accredited Business since

Boomerang Marine & Sports

Additional Locations

Phone: (320) 256-4642 Fax: (320) 256-4676 View Additional Phone Numbers 151 Country Club Rd SW, Melrose, MN 56352 http://www.boomerangsports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Boomerang Marine & Sports doesn't work in a marine and powersports business that provides great customer service - we work in a GREAT customer service company that operates a marine and powersports business. Happy customers are serious business!


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boomerang Marine & Sports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boomerang Marine & Sports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Boomerang Marine & Sports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2002 Business started: 12/07/1998 Business started locally: 12/07/1998 Business incorporated 12/07/1998 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Richard Peifer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Richard Peifer, President
Business Category

Boat Dealers Boat Equipment & Supplies Fishing Tackle Dealers Outboard Motors Snowmobiles Sportswear - Retail Trailers - Boat Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft Docks Trailer Sales Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies Sport Fishing Fishing Licenses Outboard Motors - Repair Dock Covers Marine Sales & Service All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Alternate Business Names
Boomerang Marine & Powersports Inc
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Boomerang Marine & Sports is a dealer and factory-authorized service center for Larson, Triumph, Crestliner, Hurricane, Godfrey, Warrior, Lowe, Crest, Yamaha, Polaris, Argo and Ice Castle Fish Houses with locations in Melrose and Alexandria, MN.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Boomerang Marine & Sports has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1110 N Nokomis NE

    Alexandria, MN 56308 (320) 759-3163 (877) 401-7123

  • 151 Country Club Rd SW

    Melrose, MN 56352 (320) 256-4642 (877) 366-9023

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2011 polaris pro rmk with about 2000 miles on it. Motor went at 50 miles later. Found track also shot been repaired very poorly. Purchased 2011 pro rmk 800 from boomerangs in melrose.ABOUT 2000 MILES ON IT. MOTOR WENT ABOUT 50 MILES LATER. ALSO FOUND TRACK HAD BEEN POORLY Repaired BAR IN TRACK IS BROKE IN HALF AND BELTING IS RIPPED BAD. SOMEBODY DID SOME KIND OF REPAIR TO IT. SUPPOSIVELY THIS SLED WAS FULLY INSPECTED. THAT is why I bought from a dealer. It was never inspected. The track is shot. They paid for some of parts for engine repair but did no work to it. I repaired engine. Charged me another $550 for parts.

Desired Settlement: Pay for new track and install it. I got enough into this thing I could have bought a brand new sled and then some.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/02) */ Mr. ****** purchased the used snowmobile "As Is - No Warranty", which was stated on the purchase agreement, from Boomerang on December 27th, 2014. On February 14, 2015 he brought the snowmobile back because he had blown the engine. Boomerang tore the engine down and had the cylinders professionally reconditioned (Renicked) and sold Mr. ****** the parts required to repair the engine. The total charges for the reconditioning of the cylinders and parts came to $1,016.87 plus tax. Although the snowmobile was sold "As Is - No Warranty, Boomerang Discounted the bill by $446.86 and did not charge Mr. ****** for the labor involved (approximately 2 & 1/2 hours - $200.00) out of good will. Mr. ****** chose to complete the repair of the snowmobile to save labor cost. We have no knowledge of any problem with the track on the snowmobile that Mr. ****** purchased over a year ago. Since the snowmobile was purchased As Is with No Warranty and that more than a year has passed since the sale, Boomerang believes they have treated the customer fairly and has done more than required. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been working at a ford dealer for sixteen years and if a customer buys a vehicle as is and the engine goes after 50 miles the dealer takes it back or puts an engine it at the dealers cost. I have never seen customers get treated like this where I work. This snowmobile was supposed to be fully inspected. It was never inspected at all. Track was repaired by dealer or somebody that owned it before. Bar in track is broken in half where repair was made. When you inspect and engine they should have done compression test and that would of shown a weak cylinder. It was on its way out before I bought it. I have never purchased something and had this happen before. I will never buy a Polaris again or a used one that is for sure. Could of bought brand new one for the money I got into this one. I know not all dealers are the same but this is the worst thing I ever purchased. I have always had good luck with Polaris snowmobiles. I still got a 2001 polaris from 2003 that runs good and always has. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/02/12) */ As we stated in our previous response, although Mr. ****** purchased the snowmobile fully aware that the purchase was "As Is" with no warranty, we significantly discounted the repair parts and did not charge him for the labor to tear the engine down. Regarding the allegation that the machine was not inspected - Mr. ****** is incorrect. When we take a unit in trade, we inspect it to determine general condition and value, as well as to verify general operating condition. We do not recondition them to "new" condition. After 2,000 miles of use, wear is expected. Tracks, especially lighter weight, large lug mountain tracks intended for use in deep, soft snow will wear more quickly and be more subject to damage such as broken lug bars when used on packed trails and hard rough surfaces. This does not necessarily make them unusable, but does shorten the usable life like wear on a tire. It is no more reasonable to expect to have the track replaced than it would be to expect replacement of a non-warranted used tire on a used vehicle one has purchased that was found to have gone flat a year after purchase of the vehicle. Since the snowmobile was purchased As Is with No Warranty and more than a year has passed since the sale, Boomerang believes we have treated the customer fairly and certainly done more than required.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Crestliner for cash $16,303.44 January 2013. Boomerang did not transfer title of boat and register trailer in my name upon purchase. At time of purchase the following were paid in cash: registration ($189), sales tax ($962.44), trailer tax ($65), title/registration fee ($23), administrative fee ($65). After numerous calls boat title was transferred to my name in 2014. Trailer registration was never completed. I am selling the boat and trailer to another buyer and learned from the DMV the trailer is still registered under the original owner. Boomerang did not process the required paperwork or register the trailer to my name.

Desired Settlement: Register trailer in my name as soon as possible. Provider better customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/08/06) */ The boat and trailer purchased by Mr. ****** were taken in trade from a customer purchasing a new boat from us. Apparently at that time we did not receive a valid title from the customer. As a result, we applied for a lost title for the boat for Mr. ******, but were unaware that there was also a missing title for the trailer. When Mr. ****** sold the boat and trailer and recently advised us that he did not have the title for the trailer, we got right to work tracking down the title. We were unable to get the information regarding the name of the person in whose name the trailer was titled from the Minnesota Department of Vehicles, but were able to identify the lien holder. By contacting the lien holder we found that they had released the lien on the trailer and were able to get the name and contact information for the original owner in whose name the trailer was titled. With this information and the help of the original owner we were able to submit paperwork for a lost title and lien release documents. This took place approximately a month ago. It takes 6 to 8 weeks minimum for the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles to issue the lost title. As soon as we receive the title we can complete the resolution of this situation. We have been in communication with the individual who purchased the boat and trailer from Mr. ******, keeping him informed and will continue to help him through the process until he has a valid title for the trailer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Boomerang Marine & Sports
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart