BBB Accredited Business since

Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn

Additional Locations

Phone: (320) 796-5870 Fax: (320) 796-4076 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288 http://www.spicercastle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Health
PO Box 64975, Saint Paul MN 55164
http://www.health.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-5000
shiahid.judge@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Allen Latham, Owner Mary Swanson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Allen Latham, Owner
Business Category

Bed & Breakfast Hotels

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn offers a bed & breakfast with activities that includes murder mysteries & cruises on Green Lake.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11600 Indian Beach Rd

    Spicer, MN 56288

  • PO Box 307

    Spicer, MN 56288 (320) 796-5870 (800) 821-6675

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the wedding coordinator Mary assured me there rental company would provide great tent, dance floor and ect. There were a discrace to say the least. My husband asked me to marry him in January at,spicer castle. We had planned the weekend of may 16th to be the day. We asked 40 of our family and friends to come, pay and stay here for the weekend (fri,sat and sun). We paid over $5000 to gave our wedding here and I was astonished in the lack to effort put into our stay Here were all of our issues. 1. The tent and the astroturf, tables, dance floor that we rented from Mary were nasty, holes in them muddy and not on even ground. I started crying when i saw it giving thats where my outdoor wedding was going to be because it was raining and there were holes in the roof. The tent was gross, muddy and un decoratable even after the "cleaned" it. Adding to the outdoors they were INFESTED with nats. Which is neglected to warn me about when I confronted her about them, she said they plan to fog saturday, we hot there Friday...they never fogged and why would they not before we all came with our kids and babies? I took it upon my self to buy $50 worth of fogger at a near by fishermans store for my friends aNd family near there rooms outside so the bugs were not swarming there faces as soon as you walked out. Moving on, aside from every complaint about the cleanliness and condition of each room i had gotten from my family that came from 3 hours away the least! They over charged every guest $50 extra for there kids! The cold water was not turned on in 2 of the cabins and my mother and my 1 year old neice got burnt by the extremely hot water.then i couldnt handle it after confronting her about these conditions and she just basically shrugged her shoulders, my husband and I thought NO WAY!! We with the help of our officiant found a chapel last minute on friday night and a different reception place as well. Which added an extreme amount of stress. My husband and I and our wedding party stayed up all night the nught before our wedding party to get both places decorated! We had to 2pm go to church then go back to spicer to wedding dinner reception and then leave and take everyone of the the wedding dance at a restaurant in town. Then everyone back to psicer to sleep. Huge hassle when not everyone even had a vehicle there. Anyway I am asking for $2,000 of my money back because spicer ruined my wedding and I will also not pay for those rentals. They were Horrific and I nor my entire family and friends party will NOT be back to spicer. We paid the balance on may 17th 2015 and would like it back on our chase credit card if it gets refunded

Desired Settlement: We want $2,000 back for the rental items we never used that were is very poor condition. And for having to pay and extra $800 to get a new wedding location and wedding reception area. We had to pay $250 for the chapel and $600 for the reception hall. We want outoney back on our credit card (chase) so,we can pay the actual place that held our events.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/09) */ ** Hard copy Attached for your review** I recall checking out ****************** ******* and their guests on Sunday morning, May 17th. It is our practice to ask each of our guests about their stay with us. If there is a negative comment, I usually make an adjustment in their statement. I don't recall any adverse comment and have not found any statement adjustments for any of our guests on May 17th. I recall that the guests were complimentary about food, service and atmosphere. When ****** and. Chandra came to check out, I handed them a statement and a calculator and suggested they might wish to sit down in our adjoining room and review it ****************** looked at it for awhile at the checkout desk and then settled it with a Visa credit card. On the evening of Friday, May 15 ****** and his mother met with Mary *******, Inn manager and said that they wished to cancel their outdoor wedding on our patio as rain was predicted for Saturday. They also were moving their dance from the canopy with artificial turf, dance floor, tables and chairs, etc. due to the weather and their dislike of canopy. Mary noted that $1082.11 had been paid for canopy. ******'s mother understood that ****************** had requested the canopy and should pay for it With regard to "gnats:, the canopy and surrounding area were fogged for insects two hours before scheduled use The fogger was ready for use at any time requested by our guests. With regard to "cleanliness," we employ a contractor to clean our facilities. Our guests commonly comment on how well cleaned their rooms are. The allegation that we "overcharged" guests $50.00 for their children is incorrect. We called guests with more than two in a room prior to their arrival to let them know, there was a $30.00 additional charge as noted in our published price schedules. If the charge was for a child, the charge was $15.00. Nothing was charged for babies and toddlers. In one of our cottages, a contractor had installed a new shower and the faucet was incorrectly assembled resulting in only 115 degrees water in the shower which is normal hot. The shower cold water supply was not connected. There was hot and, cold water in the hand sink and whirlpool tub. ****************** received a credit of $1,184.19 for ceremony fee, reception fee, guest drink tickets, beverages and one unoccupied reserved guest room. On Friday evening, ******************'s wedding guests participated in a murder mystery dinner which was thoroughly enjoyed according to guest comments. Weather appears to have been the difficulty for ******************'s. wedding events, We are very sorry that this happened. The estimate for charges when ****************** scheduled their wedding events at the Spicer Castle Inn and Restaurant was $5,364.61. The actual payment was $4,697.48. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/06/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A customer should pay for the products that they consume. We planned to pay for a murder mystery diner, rooms stays, a wedding reception tent, use of the patio for our ceremony, and a dinner for our guests for the day of our wedding. Upon our arrival the condition of the wedding reception tent was not acceptable, therefore the wedding had to be relocated. Upon arrival Friday we sought out the reception tent to start decorating it for the reception on Saturday. The reception tent was dirty, the AstroTurf had holes in it, the dance floor was uneven and would move if walked on. The ground level the tent was installed on was uneven. The AstroTurf was unclean and had leaves on it. We immediately determined that this was unacceptable for our reception. We spoke to our wedding coordinator regarding the tent and she assured us that the AstroTurf would be cleaned. She told us that the tent rental company set up the tent up in the rain and that they were the explanation for the leaves on the AstroTurf and the mud on the tent. Her efforts to resolve this was to clean the tent. Only the AstroTurf was cleaned on Friday, but there was more wrong with the tent, such as the uneven floor, uneven surface, holes in the AstroTurf and mud on the tent siding. Since the plan was to set up the decorations early Friday, then have the wedding Saturday afternoon and then the reception Saturday evening we had to move our plans away from Spicer castle in order to have a wedding that was acceptable for both of us. We were able to find a church that charged a fee to hold our ceremony and a local restaurant to serve our guest for a reception party. Combined this costed about roughly $800 extra, plus the time of ourselves and a handful of our guest to execute the new plan. Our request is for $2000, the costs charged too use for the reception ten that we did not consume and the alternate cost for setting up our wedding elsewhere. The costs that Spicer castle deducted from their original quoted amount are equal to the products, and services that were not consumed by us or our party. We paid in full when we left to show that our complains weren't due to an inability to pay, but rather the quality of products being offered. The assumption of the quality of our weeding day was based off of the assurances given to us by our wedding planner who was provide to us by spicier castle. My husband had concerns about the ground level prior to the wedding, but was assured that previous other guests were satisfied by that location in the past. A couple only only has one wedding day, the products provided by spicier castle were unsatisfactory, and caused us to relocate our wedding the day before our wedding. The main reason for crating a wedding all at one location was because of the number of children invited to the wedding. These kids need a place to sleep, nap, relax at their comfort in order to maintain their normal routines. The flaw in the products provided negated the reason for planning the wedding at Spicer Casel altogether. Inconveniences aside it makes no sense to us as consumers to pay for products that we did not consume. Especially products that were hired our by Spicer Castle. After all, a consumer should not pay for something that they did not consume. All products and services we did consume, were paid for before we left for our honeymoon. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2015/07/31) */ Please reopen my case. I missed the deadline to respond. The business made no attempt to resolve my complaint, just argued with the facts. He made a statement that I agreed to a contract, I saw it more as an estimate of the costs. I talked with wedding planner the day before we left. She removed pretty much all superficial costs. Like fees for the ceremony. I'd settle for a refund for the tent rental items I didn't pay for. I asked to have these taken off, but they wouldn't. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2015/08/19) */ *** Hard Copy Attached *** When I checked out ****************** *******, they paid the balance and made no comment about further adjustment for the tent or other items they decided not to use because of rain. Mary *******, Manager met with ****** ******* and his mother on Saturday, May 16, 2015, the day of the wedding celebration and mutually agreed upon a credit of $1,184.19 which was deducted from their tariff. Their wedding guests were complimentary about their food, accommodations and service. ****************** changed their plans due to rain.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Spicer Castle Bed & Breakfast Inn
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart