This business is not BBB accredited.

Lifestyle Basements, LLC

Phone: (952) 974-5003 View Additional Phone Numbers 15806 Venture Ln, Eden Prairie, MN 55344 http://www.lifestylebasements.com ! Lifestyle Basements, LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lifestyle Basements, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 20, 2010 Business started: 12/22/2009 Business started locally: 12/22/2009 Business incorporated 12/22/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Dan Baker, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dan Baker, Owner
Business Category

Basement - Finishing Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Cabinets Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Basement - Contractors

Licensing

The following describes an enforcement action from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

"On April 13, 2015, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry entered into a Consent Order with Lifestyle Basements, LLC and Daniel D. Baker, Individually.

The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (Commissioner) has advised Lifestyle Basements, LLC and Daniel D. Baker, individually (Respondents), that he is prepared to commence formal administrative proceedings against Respondents based on allegations that Respondents engaged in violations of Minn. Stat. 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2)(6)(8)(9); 326B.84(2)(4)(5)(7)(8)(9)(11)(14)(15)(16)(2014); Minn. R. 2891.0040, subp. 1D(2013) and Minn. R. 2891.0050, subp. 1C (2013).

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows that:

A. Respondents' residential building contractor license, No. BC637228, is hereby revoked;

B. Respondents shall cease and desist from acting or holding themselves out as a residential building contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer.

C. Respondents, jointly and severally, shall pay to the State of Minnesota a monetary penalty of $20,000; however, this penalty is STAYED on the condition that Respondents fully comply with the terms of this Consent, and engage in no future violation of any law, rule, or order related to the duties entrusted to the Commissioner. If the Commissioner determines that the Respondents have violated the terms of this Consent Order or any law, rule or Order over which the Commissioner has authority, the stay shall be lifted and the stayed $20,000 monetary penalty shall become due and payable in addition to any additional penalty the Commissioner deems appropriate for the new violation(s);

D. In the event the Commissioner seeks to impose the stayed portion of the civil penalty, Respondents may request a hearing to challenge the factual basis for the lifting of the stay, but may not challenge the amount of the stayed monetary penalty that is due and payable; and

E. Respondents are prohibited from reapplying for a residential building contractor license, residential roofer license or residential remodeler license for at least two years after the effective date of this revocation. The Commissioner may, as a condition of reapplication, require respondent to obtain a bond or comply with additional reasonable conditions the Commissioner considers necessary to protect the public."

For additional information you can contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry directly.

Out of Business

The company has informed BBB that they are no longer operating as of January 2015.

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Lifestyle Basements, this company offers full remodeling company specializing in basements and kitchens.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15806 Venture Ln

    Eden Prairie, MN 55344 (952) 974-5003 (952) 292-6228

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: General Contractor, ********* DBA Lifestyle basement did not pay subcontractors so we are having to pay twice. Paying the subs due to Mechanic Liens. see above

Desired Settlement: Full reimbursement of monies paid to subcontractors.

5/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lifestyles basement failed to complete contract and is 4 months overdue and owes us $24,000 to finish the project. The project started off very well, but by early December it was clear that Lifestyles/********* were going to fail to meet the agreed upon completion date of prior to Christmas. After the start of 2015, the project stopped almost all together and several of the sub-contractors called us saying *** hadn't paid them, even though we had paid ***. The total contract price was $100,000, we have paid *** $85,000 as well as the granite contractor $6,000 for a total of $91,000. We got a quote to finish the project from an alternative vendor and was quoted $23,000 plus materials of $10,000, for a total spend of $124,000. *** took our money and has failed to complete the contract as signed. We are requesting for *** to finish the contract or remit us $24,000 so we can finish it with an alternative provider.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a $23,000 refund to finish the project that *** has abandoned, after we have paid him. He also needs to pay the sub-contractors that completed work for him on our residents.

4/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Lifestyle (general contractor)in full. Two subcontractors have filed liens on our home because Lifestyle has not remitted our payment to them The terms of our agreement called for us to pay Lifestyle Basements a series of 5 installments during the project. We paid our down payment on March 25th, 2014. It was communicated in the sales process and repeatedly afterwards the entire process would take 50 - 55 days. We paid subsequent payments on April 17, April 25, and May 25th. The last payment (approximately 10% of project cost) was to be paid upon completion of the project. Unfortunately, the project had a host of problems - ranging from unresponsiveness to quality issues, mistakes and rework, a project manager who quit so our project all but stalled for two months, and delayed finishing products (it took several months for items ordered in April to show up, including tile, counter-tops, bath fixtures, stair railing, etc). What was to be finished by July 4th was finally finished (with one unresolved product correction still outstanding) in mid-December! As if the over promised, undelivered service and timeline we experienced repeatedly throughout wasn't bad enough, we had 2 liens filed on our home by his subcontractors in November. After several conversations and a meeting, the owner agreed to the failed timeline commitment and lack of project management. As a result, he signed a lien release stating that the project was paid in full. We followed up with him on numerous occasions since the meeting on Nov 28th to ask when he would be paying his bills so the liens would be released. He continued to assure us that "he'd take care of it and make it right". The last we heard from him, he said he would take care of them the first of the year. We have followed up with him a several times in January with no acknowledgement or answer. We have now received a notice that one of the subcontractors is going to foreclose on our home in 9 days!

Desired Settlement: The resolution is simple. We paid Lifestyle Basements in full. They must pay their subcontractors for those services performed, immediately!

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company offered written warranty of workmanship of 15 months. I have been unable to have the company respond to a request for potential warranty work. Lifestyle completed our basement project (November 2012) and we were very pleased with the project. However, we have some small potential warranty issues that the company will not respond to. We have some drywall cracks that have developed and I have reached out to the company MULTIPLE times through fax, phone, email and email with photos of the issue. The company responded once by leaving me a voice mail that they would call back and I have not received ANY other communication to deal with the potential warranty issues. The response to honoring the warranty is disappointing given the quality of work they provide.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to respond to the request to review the potential warranty items and FIX them if it is covered by the warranty.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lifestyle Basements, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)