Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lifestyle Basements, LLC

(952) 974-5003View Additional Phone Numbers15806 Venture Ln, Eden PrairieMN 55344-5732

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Lifestyle Basements, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Lifestyle Basements, LLC's rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.
  • Failure to have a required competency license.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lifestyle Basements, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
06/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company offered written warranty of workmanship of 15 months. I have been unable to have the company respond to a request for potential warranty work.
Lifestyle completed our basement project (November 2012) and we were very pleased with the project. However, we have some small potential warranty issues that the company will not respond to. We have some drywall cracks that have developed and I have reached out to the company MULTIPLE times through fax, phone, email and email with photos of the issue. The company responded once by leaving me a voice mail that they would call back and I have not received ANY other communication to deal with the potential warranty issues. The response to honoring the warranty is disappointing given the quality of work they provide.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to respond to the request to review the potential warranty items and FIX them if it is covered by the warranty.

05/07/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business still has not finished the errors made during construction. They do not return our calls or emails to rectify the situation.
We had a series of problems with this company during our entire remodel process. The project had issues starting the second week with workers not showing up and continued two months passed the promised completion date. There were a series of errors on the project from the painting, two different wood floors put in, flooding our basement and poor communication from the project manager. The project was supposed to finish the third week of August. It finished the third week of October when they told us they were done. There was no walk through/completion packet as promised in their literature and website. We have documentation of over 30 calls and emails asking when they are finishing, where the workers were and who was going to fix the poor workmanship. We held onto our final payment until the owner finally came to our house to look over all the issues, explain why it took so long, and why the quality was so poor in certain areas. They agreed that the quality was very poor and claimed to have fired the painters. We asked the company to find other painters or we would find trusted painters but the same inept people showed up. At the closing, in October, 2012, we pointed out gaps in caulking, cracking paint and areas that were not painted. The owner apologized for the poor workmanship and told us to wait six months so the house can settle and then they could fix everything all at once. A painter was sent over to caulk and paint eight months later but all he did was look around and point out what was wrong. The painter told us that the quality was very poor and that it would take him several days to redo the work. The painter left after 30 minutes of pointing out the poor workmanship. We called and emailed the company for the last eight months asking when they are coming to fix the issues they observed and pointed out during closing. We have had a cabinet maker and three other painting companies come out and bid on the project. All four of them told us that the caulking and painting was not done right from the beginning and you can not just "touch up" the issues. All the cabinets in the kitchen need to be repainted and we assume the reason they are not calling us back is because they obviously don't want to endure the costs. We were not given what was promised to us and have been more than patient waiting for them to rectify the situation.

Desired Settlement
To come back and finish caulking and painting the molding and kitchen cupboards. Job must be done to our satisfaction like we have been requesting for the last 18 months.

Business' Initial Response
Hi My name is ***, Owner of Lifestyle Basements LLC.
I would like to start by addressing the issues laid out by the ***.

1# workers not showing up.
2# Completion date.
3# Flooding in basement.
4# Wood floors.
5# Paint quality.

1# Issue
The scope of the work changed significantly after we had started the project.
It changed into the entire main level redo, witch included the formal dining room, family room, sitting area and foyer.
This was approximately 500 sq ft. this encompassed new trim, Crown molding, Painting of walls and trim and wood floor installed throughout, Stairs going to the upper level, and railing on the second level. In this time frame we needed to order more materials, change the scope of work on plans, and add the extra work into our schedule, and at this same time frame they made their first payment to the company witch was insufficient at the bank and held up payment for two weeks.

2# Issue
We had laid out a completion date based original contracted work. They had changed the scope of work by $14,000 of added work.
They had also brought in an outside designer after we had the project started with completed plans signed by the homeowners. On multiple occasions their designer made changes to Lifestyle Basements design on different aspects of the project witch caused multiple delays by the homeowners request.

3# Issue
The water leak they talk about was not because of our workmanship. When we did the work in their powder room as we were moving things around one of the existing water pipes had an existing nail in it and it worked loss, this was an existing problem on the existing pipes that we did not move, replace, or change location. but we fixed the problem for free and cleaned up the mess.

4# Issue
We did install new wood floors that come in a box prefinished on the main level of the home, A total of about 30 boxes of wood was delivered with the same name and color on each box, about 20 boxes were installed and we found that two of the boxes had a slightly different color when they were laid down. we stooped laying the floor and had the manufacture come out and look at the floor, they agreed that the color was different and ordered more product, this product was out of stock and needed to be shipped from across the country, The homeowner was out of town during this process and when they came home we informed them of this issue.

5# Issue
The homeowner did have issues with the paint that was done and didn't like our painting crew, so we made a change on who the painting contractor was to be finishing the project. At the end of the project they did not pay their final bill in full. they felt that they got less then a quality paint job and wouldn't pay for the painting on their project and held back the painting money. I sent over a painter to take care of any touch up that they may have. When the painter arrived he was told that he needed to repaint the the whole kitchen and cabinets. I informed the paint company they needed to leave the project. I made an effort to try and help them out even though they never paid for the paint on the project, I am not willing to repaint their house again fro FREE......

Thank you ***.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As you can see by the length of time it took *** to respond to this issue, you can image the frustration dealing with this during an entire remodel.

I can debate all the technical issues until I am blue in the face. *** knows the project was run poorly and there were a series of mistakes one after another. He even stated to me that he would be *** if he was me - using profanities I might add.

The bottom line here is that, after a long discussion regarding the project *** ***** told me and my husband that he would come back and finish the project right. This was in December of 2011. He asked us to give him 6 months for the project to settle and then he would come back and re-caulk and finish the painting. He said he would want to come back and do it all at once. I started calling him in May of 2012 to see when we could get a painter out to finish the project. He never returned my phone calls until at least July. He finally sent someone over. The worker said he was here to do "touch up" work. When I showed him the unfinished cabinets and the quality of the paint job - he stated that he would not have time for the project and to repair the poor quality it would take more work. It wasn't something that could just have a quick band-aid on it as *** ***** was hoping. When he left, he said he would talk to *** ***** about it and I have never heard another word from either of them. I have called and emailed both *** ***** and ***** **** to get a response consistently since. No replies from anyone.

*** knows he promised to repair the poor workmanship - he even fired the original painters and agreed with us that the work was poor and needed to be addressed.

Regarding the final bill. We mutually agreed on the final price. We did take off the cost of the glazing of the cabinets that was never done. This is a special finish that was suppose to be applied to the cabinets after they were painted. This process could not be done because the cabinets were not painted properly. We took off the cost that they had in their budget.

We also deducted a very minimal amount for the damage that was done to our basement during the flooding. Years of pictures were destroyed and important documents. I might add that they did not do any of the clean up - my husband and I cleaned up the entire mess. We were without water for a day. We only deducted $500.00 for this devastating loss and major inconvenience. I know Lifestyle Basements contacted their insurance agency so I am sure they recovered that loss. ****, we can not recover the photographs or documents. No one even bothered to check in with us to see the damage.

If necessary, I can comment on all issues *** listed above. I can go on and on. This was a terrible process for both parties involved. We just want to receive what we were promised. We were very flexible and patient during the entire remodel. Just end this ordeal and provide us with a quality product.

Thank you.

***

05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lifestyles basement failed to complete contract and is 4 months overdue and owes us $24,000 to finish the project.
The project started off very well, but by early December it was clear that Lifestyles/********* were going to fail to meet the agreed upon completion date of prior to Christmas. After the start of 2015, the project stopped almost all together and several of the sub-contractors called us saying *** hadn't paid them, even though we had paid ***. The total contract price was $100,000, we have paid *** $85,000 as well as the granite contractor $6,000 for a total of $91,000. We got a quote to finish the project from an alternative vendor and was quoted $23,000 plus materials of $10,000, for a total spend of $124,000. *** took our money and has failed to complete the contract as signed. We are requesting for *** to finish the contract or remit us $24,000 so we can finish it with an alternative provider.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a $23,000 refund to finish the project that *** has abandoned, after we have paid him. He also needs to pay the sub-contractors that completed work for him on our residents.

05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
General Contractor, ********* DBA Lifestyle basement did not pay subcontractors so we are having to pay twice. Paying the subs due to Mechanic Liens.
see above

Desired Settlement
Full reimbursement of monies paid to subcontractors.

04/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We paid Lifestyle (general contractor)in full. Two subcontractors have filed liens on our home because Lifestyle has not remitted our payment to them
The terms of our agreement called for us to pay Lifestyle Basements a series of 5 installments during the project. We paid our down payment on March 25th, 2014. It was communicated in the sales process and repeatedly afterwards the entire process would take 50 - 55 days. We paid subsequent payments on April 17, April 25, and May 25th. The last payment (approximately 10% of project cost) was to be paid upon completion of the project. Unfortunately, the project had a host of problems - ranging from unresponsiveness to quality issues, mistakes and rework, a project manager who quit so our project all but stalled for two months, and delayed finishing products (it took several months for items ordered in April to show up, including tile, counter-tops, bath fixtures, stair railing, etc). What was to be finished by July 4th was finally finished (with one unresolved product correction still outstanding) in mid-December! As if the over promised, undelivered service and timeline we experienced repeatedly throughout wasn't bad enough, we had 2 liens filed on our home by his subcontractors in November. After several conversations and a meeting, the owner agreed to the failed timeline commitment and lack of project management. As a result, he signed a lien release stating that the project was paid in full. We followed up with him on numerous occasions since the meeting on Nov 28th to ask when he would be paying his bills so the liens would be released. He continued to assure us that "he'd take care of it and make it right". The last we heard from him, he said he would take care of them the first of the year. We have followed up with him a several times in January with no acknowledgement or answer. We have now received a notice that one of the subcontractors is going to foreclose on our home in 9 days!

Desired Settlement
The resolution is simple. We paid Lifestyle Basements in full. They must pay their subcontractors for those services performed, immediately!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Basement - Finishing, Contractors - General, Basement - Contractors, Kitchen Remodeling, Home Builders, Home Improvements, Home Improvements - Additions, Construction & Remodeling Services, Remodeling Services, Cabinets

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2010Business started: 12/22/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

The following describes an enforcement action from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

"On April 13, 2015, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry entered into a Consent Order with Lifestyle Basements, LLC and Daniel D. Baker, Individually.

The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (Commissioner) has advised Lifestyle Basements, LLC and Daniel D. Baker, individually (Respondents), that he is prepared to commence formal administrative proceedings against Respondents based on allegations that Respondents engaged in violations of Minn. Stat. 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2)(6)(8)(9); 326B.84(2)(4)(5)(7)(8)(9)(11)(14)(15)(16)(2014); Minn. R. 2891.0040, subp. 1D(2013) and Minn. R. 2891.0050, subp. 1C (2013).

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows that:

A. Respondents' residential building contractor license, No. BC637228, is hereby revoked;

B. Respondents shall cease and desist from acting or holding themselves out as a residential building contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer.

C. Respondents, jointly and severally, shall pay to the State of Minnesota a monetary penalty of $20,000; however, this penalty is STAYED on the condition that Respondents fully comply with the terms of this Consent, and engage in no future violation of any law, rule, or order related to the duties entrusted to the Commissioner. If the Commissioner determines that the Respondents have violated the terms of this Consent Order or any law, rule or Order over which the Commissioner has authority, the stay shall be lifted and the stayed $20,000 monetary penalty shall become due and payable in addition to any additional penalty the Commissioner deems appropriate for the new violation(s);

D. In the event the Commissioner seeks to impose the stayed portion of the civil penalty, Respondents may request a hearing to challenge the factual basis for the lifting of the stay, but may not challenge the amount of the stayed monetary penalty that is due and payable; and

E. Respondents are prohibited from reapplying for a residential building contractor license, residential roofer license or residential remodeler license for at least two years after the effective date of this revocation. The Commissioner may, as a condition of reapplication, require respondent to obtain a bond or comply with additional reasonable conditions the Commissioner considers necessary to protect the public."

For additional information you can contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry directly.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Dan Baker (Owner)
Business Category

Basement - Finishing, Contractors - General, Basement - Contractors, Kitchen Remodeling, Home Builders, Home Improvements, Home Improvements - Additions, Construction & Remodeling Services, Remodeling Services, Cabinets

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Lifestyle Basements, this company offers full remodeling company specializing in basements and kitchens.

Industry Tips
Remodeling your home

If you choose to do business with Lifestyle Basements, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lifestyle Basements, LLC

15806 Venture Ln

Eden Prairie, MN 55344-5732

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15806 Venture Ln 

    Eden Prairie, MN 55344-5732(952) 974-5003
    (952) 292-6228

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lifestyle Basements, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (952) 292-6228
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Basement - Finishing

Remodeling your home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

The following describes an enforcement action from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

"On April 13, 2015, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry entered into a Consent Order with Lifestyle Basements, LLC and Daniel D. Baker, Individually.

The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (Commissioner) has advised Lifestyle Basements, LLC and Daniel D. Baker, individually (Respondents), that he is prepared to commence formal administrative proceedings against Respondents based on allegations that Respondents engaged in violations of Minn. Stat. 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2)(6)(8)(9); 326B.84(2)(4)(5)(7)(8)(9)(11)(14)(15)(16)(2014); Minn. R. 2891.0040, subp. 1D(2013) and Minn. R. 2891.0050, subp. 1C (2013).

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows that:

A. Respondents' residential building contractor license, No. BC637228, is hereby revoked;

B. Respondents shall cease and desist from acting or holding themselves out as a residential building contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer.

C. Respondents, jointly and severally, shall pay to the State of Minnesota a monetary penalty of $20,000; however, this penalty is STAYED on the condition that Respondents fully comply with the terms of this Consent, and engage in no future violation of any law, rule, or order related to the duties entrusted to the Commissioner. If the Commissioner determines that the Respondents have violated the terms of this Consent Order or any law, rule or Order over which the Commissioner has authority, the stay shall be lifted and the stayed $20,000 monetary penalty shall become due and payable in addition to any additional penalty the Commissioner deems appropriate for the new violation(s);

D. In the event the Commissioner seeks to impose the stayed portion of the civil penalty, Respondents may request a hearing to challenge the factual basis for the lifting of the stay, but may not challenge the amount of the stayed monetary penalty that is due and payable; and

E. Respondents are prohibited from reapplying for a residential building contractor license, residential roofer license or residential remodeler license for at least two years after the effective date of this revocation. The Commissioner may, as a condition of reapplication, require respondent to obtain a bond or comply with additional reasonable conditions the Commissioner considers necessary to protect the public."

For additional information you can contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry directly.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.