BBB Accredited Business since

KleinBank

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 553-4648 Fax: (952) 448-2315 301 N Chestnut St, Chaska, MN 55318 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kleinbank.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that KleinBank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for KleinBank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on KleinBank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2005 Business started: 06/15/1907 Business started locally: 06/15/1907 Business incorporated 12/30/1998 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

FDIC
550 17th St NW, Washington DC 20429
Phone Number: (800) 934-3342

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Barb Croxen, VP Marketing Leslie Bronk, COO Customer Services, Owner / Manager Craig Goetz, CEO Jamie Golden, Sales and Marketing Doug Hile, President/CEO Amy Hilgers, VP, Risk Management Diane Kittelson, VP/CorpServices Mgr Joyce Meuleners, Risk Management Resolution Officer, Owner / Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Barb Croxen, VP Marketing
Customer Contact: Amy Hilgers, VP, Risk Management
Business Category

Banks Banking Services Investment Securities Loans Loans - Farm & Ranch Loans - Small Business Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Reverse Mortgage Financial Services Mortgage Bankers Business Services - General Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Service Area
KleinBank provides their services in ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BECKER, BIG LAKE, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DAYTON, EAGAN, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELK RIVER, EXCELSIOR, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREEN ISLE, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HANOVER, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, INDEPENDENCE, JORDAN, LAKEVILLE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, LOUISBURG, MADISON, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, NAVARRE, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NORTH OAKS, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PLATO, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SILVER CREEK, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VICTORIA, WACONIA, WATERTOWN, WATSON, WAYZATA, WHITE BEAR LK, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN. Minnesota
Alternate Business Names
KleinMortgage
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Klein Bank, this company offers banking services.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning

Additional Locations

  • 101 S. 1st St.

    Montevideo, MN 56265

  • 11850 Fountains Way

    Maple Grove, MN 55369

  • 120 Pioneer Trl

    Chaska, MN 55318

  • 1407 Vierling Dr E

    Shakopee, MN 55379

  • 14141 Glendale Rd

    Savage, MN 55378

  • 15751 87th St NE

    Otsego, MN 55330

  • 1630 Arboretum Blvd

    Victoria, MN 55386

  • 16677 Duluth Ave SE

    Prior Lake, MN 55372

  • 210 Paul Avenue N

    Cologne, MN 55322

  • 301 N Chestnut St

    Chaska, MN 55318

  • 3251 Northdale Blvd NW

    Coon Rapids, MN 55448

  • 3455 Plymouth Blvd Ste 160

    Plymouth, MN 55447

  • 53 W Main St

    Waconia, MN 55387

  • 53 West Main Street

    Waconia, MN 55387

  • 600 W 78th St
    P.O. Box 399

    Chanhassen, MN 55317

  • 600 West 78th Street

    Chanhassen, MN 55317

  • 611 Rose Dr

    Big Lake, MN 55309

  • 630 N 12th St

    Montevideo, MN 56265

  • 800 Faxon Rd

    Norwood Young America, MN 55397

  • 8900 State Highway 7

    Saint Bonifacius, MN 55375

  • 910 Commercial Dr

    Buffalo, MN 55313

  • PO Box 487

    Chaska, MN 55318 (888) 553-4648

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a cashier's check for 9,556.34. Teller did not mention anything like if check gets lost they would hold my money for 90 days. My wife and I purchased a cashier's check for 9,556.34. Teller did not mention anything like if check gets lost I would get charged for 39 dollars and most importantly I would not be able to get my money back for 90 days. I called Kleinbank to put a stop payment on the phone first and phone bank put me on hold for a while and he could not put the stop payment on it. He did not say anything about 90 days rule and he gave me the branch phone number and told me I would be able to put a stop payment and get a new one issued. I called the branch and person name Kelsey took my info and said she needs her manager approval to be able to put a stop payment and get a new check. Her manager called me and ask me what happened I told her it is very important for me to get a new check immediately otherwise I would lose my car. She said she cannot risk 10K and put a stop payment. I ask her ton of question and she was not capable of answering my question and she said she will talk to her account it department and get back to me. I talked to 3 people and I was not able to get anywhere. She told me she is going to let her boss give me a call either today or tomorrow. I did not receive any disclosures they would hold my money for 90 days.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I purchased a cashier's check for 9,556.34. Teller did not mention anything like if check gets lost I would get charged for 39 dollars and most importantly I would not be able to get my money back for 90 days. I called Kleinbank to put a stop payment on the phone first and phone bank put me on hold for a while and he could not put the stop payment on it. He did not say anything about 90 days rule and he gave me the branch phone number and told me I would be able to put a stop payment and get a new one issued. I called the branch and person name Kelsey took my info and said she needs her manager approval to be able to put a stop payment and get a new check. Her manager called me and ask me what happened I told her it is very important for me to get a new check immediately otherwise I would lose my car. She said she cannot risk 10K and put a stop payment. I ask her ton of question and she was not capable of answering my question and she said she will talk to her account it department and get back to me. I talked to 3 people and I was not able to get anywhere. She told me she is going to let her boss give me a call either today or tomorrow. I did not receive any disclosures they would hold my money for 90 days. I need a new cashier check and move on please.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ Please accept this as KleinBank's response to Mr. ******* *****'s complaint regarding a lost cashier's check that he purchased from KleinBank. The cashier's check (#******) was paid by KleinBank on Friday, August 21, 2015 and was properly endorsed by the payee. Therefore, the check was not lost and Mr. ***** was not harmed. Nevertheless, KleinBank's refusal to issue a replacement cashier's check prior to the expiration of the 90-days was done pursuant to the requirements of Minnesota Statute 336.3-312 and no disclosure of these requirements is necessitated under law. KleinBank considers this matter closed as the check was properly negotiated. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Bank representative is not telling the truth. I reported the check being lost and I talked to 4 people regarding my issue. I am so happy that I was able to find my check but they risk my money and refused to help me. Bank manager said to me I can not risk 10k so we can not give your money for 90 days. Everytime I talked to someone they referred me to someone to help me. I should not talk to 4 people to solve a simple problem. They did not give me any written or verbal disclosure when I opened my account and when I got the check. I just need a better explaination than what they are telling is not true. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/01) */ Dear Sir/Madam: Please accept this as KleinBank's follow up response to Mr. ******* *****'s complaint regarding a lost cashier's check that he purchased from KleinBank. KleinBank employees escalated Mr. *****'s concern according to our procedure including involving the branch manager and region manager. In all cases, Mr. *****'s concerns were taken seriously and employees followed up timely. Placing a stop payment request on a check of this size is not a "simple problem" and KleinBank staff followed established procedures. As stated in our prior response, no disclosures for the restrictions on placing a stop payment on a cashier's check are required to be provided by federal or state law and KleinBank's actions were in compliance with Minnesota Statute 336.3-312.

6/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a savings account with inheritance money. Wife begged to be put on the account. I added her, she closed account and took the money. I had my Fathers Inheritance Money in a savings accountat the First National Bank of Elk River, MN, I closed the account and took the money and opened up a savings account at the Klein Bank on 10/28/11 in Big Lake, MN. The account ******* was in my name only. The amount deposited was 7,855.19 My wife begged me to add her to the account over and over. I eventually did add her between 01/01/13 - 02/28/13. I had used some money out of the savings but than didn't use it for awhile. What happened next was that when I went in to withdraw money at a earlier time, I accidentally took money out of my wife's account on two separate occasions, around $310.00. I thought it was my account. It was a slight accident. I went back to withdraw money from my savings account again and discovered she had closed mine on 07/25/14. She ended up closing both accounts, her account and the one I added her to. When I went back to look at the withdraws, she had already taken $732.00 out of my savings account (Fathers Inheritance Money) and ended closing that account which had a balance of $590.33. The total she had taken out was $1,322.33. I opened the account, how can she close it and take all the money out. Klein bank never told me that she could close the account if I added her. I was just out a $1,000. I opened that account, it was mine. There needs to be a better system in place. When one spouse takes money that doesn't belong to her, the Klein Bank system says it's ok. There needs to better controls on personal accounts, options given to prevent someone from cleaning out an account.

Desired Settlement: a better system

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/21) */ Case #******** Dear Sir/Madam: We have reviewed Mr. ********'s complaint and our internal records. Our records confirm Mr. ********'s timeline of his account opening on 10/28/2011, the addition of his wife as joint owner of 2/15/2013 and her closing the account on 7/25/2014. As stated in the excerpt of the disclosures provided when the joint owner was added (an excerpt which is shown below), all account owners have the same rights to the account and to the funds. Mr. ******** elected to add his wife as a joint owner. Therefore, she had the same rights that he had, including the right to make withdrawals and to close the account. Also enclosed is a redacted copy of the signature card adding Mrs. ******** to the account that designates Mrs. ******** as a joint owner. If you have any additional questions, please contact me. Sincerely, *********** VP/Risk Manager & Resolution Officer Enclosure ***Corresponding documents attached.

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: closing my bank account on October 1st 2014 I went to Klein Bank Buffalo MN Branch to open a account spoke with bank person ****** told her that I had some banking problems in the past and wasn't sure if I could open a account see took me to her office ran my info then told me I was able to open a account so I proceeded with the process and opened a account on October the 20th I called ****** because she had mentioned there was a possible line of credit available and she said she would check for me a couple hours later I received a call from her telling me that I don't qualify and that they will be closing my account asap because of something that reported on my credit bureau since they opened my account I then called customer service asked to talk to a manager ***** she said she would contact the branch manager **** I received a voicemail message from **** stating that they will stand by there decision to close my account my question is how can they do this after opening a account transferring all my direct deposit info setting up my bill pay and all I did was call to ask if I qualified for a line of credit my account was in good standing with no discrepancies in the short time I had it.

Desired Settlement: reopen my account so that I can do my banking

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/04) */ As indicated in his complaint, Mr. ***** opened an account at KleinBank on October 1, 2014. At that time, all required account screening was performed and Mr. ***** had no derogatory reporting. On October 22nd, information had been updated to reflect two accounts were charged-off two weeks before the account opening at KleinBank on October 1st. This information made Mr. ***** ineligible for a checking account under MN Statute. We are unable to open his account Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) what MN statue are you referring too. Please explain in full detail. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/11/10) */ In reference to the closing of Mr. *****'s accounts and the request for additional information. The account was closed after being initially opened when information was received indicated balances owing. The Minnesota Statute that is referenced is MN Statute 48.512, Subdivion 2 (Required Information), Section (i)'whether the applicant has had a transaction account closed by a financial intermediary without the applicant's consent within 12 months immediately preceding the application, and if so, the reason the account was closed; and' and Subdivision 3 (Confirm no involuntary closing)'Before opening or authorizing signatory power over a transaction account, the financial intermediary shall attempt to verify the information disclosed for subdivision 2, clause (i). Inquiries made to verify the information disclosed for such information must include an inquiry based on the applicant's identification number provided under subdivision 2, clause (g). The financial intermediary may not open or authorize signatory power over a transaction account if (i) the applicant had a transaction account closed by a financial intermediary without consent because of issuance by the applicant of dishonored checks within 12 months immediately preceding the application, or (ii) the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense because of the use of a check or other similar item within 24 months immediately preceding the application.' We stand by our decision to close the account.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on KleinBank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)