Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Home Federal Savings Bank

Find a Location

(507) 252-71632048 Superior Dr NW, Ste 400, RochesterMN 55901-5028

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Home Federal Savings Bank is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Home Federal Savings Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Home Federal Savings Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Home Federal acted without my permission in withdrawing money from my acct for an error the bank made 14 months ago.
On February 14, 2013, ************* (Market President at Home Federal in Winona, Minnesota,
NMLS #******) called me to tell me that $2372 had been taken out of my money marketaccount to cover an error that the bank had made on January 9, 2012. The $2372 had been deposited into my account by mistake and was supposed to be deposited in someone else's account; the other account owner is the one who found the error. Someone in the corporate centerin Rochester, Minnesota, made the decision to handle the problem this way. My complaint: this whole event was handled unprofessionally.

Desired Settlement
--I was not given a heads up beforehand; the money was just removed from my account.
--The whole incident happened 14 months ago, not last week, and the way it was handled is bad business and bad public relations; the bankers, since they admitted that this was their error, should refund the money and cut me a check for $2372.
--I consulted my attorney, and I know that I have no legal recourse here. But even he agrees that, especially in a small town where reputations rise and fall via word of mouth, this is bad business and should be recitified by the bankers.

As a result of this situation, I have closed my accounts at Home Federal, a bank that seems to have joined the ranks of other ruthlessly greedy banks, bullying theirclines and not taking responsibility for their own errors.

Business' Initial Response
Good Afternoon *********,

Thank you for bringing Ms ********'s complaint to our attention. A client's dissatisfaction is a significant issue and we take this complaint to the Better Business Bureau very seriously. Therefore we have carefully reviewed the situation outlined in the complaint and interviewed all employees involved before responding. Additionally the bank's process in this instance has been carefully compared to bank policies. A summary of our findings follow:

Home Federal's response to Ms ********'s complaint:

Situation: Recently a client noticed a $2,372 deposit was missing and notified the bank. The bank determined that the deposit was incorrectly made into Ms. ********'s account.

Remedy: Per bank policy and disclosed "Right of Setoff", the misdirected money in Ms ********'s account was transferred to the rightful owner. Ms. ******** was immediately notified by phone of this action.

Client Response: Ms. ******** became agitated, immediately closed her account, and verbally notified bank staff that she intended to stop making payments on her mortgage. Ms. ******** informed bank staff that her attorney informed her that she had no legal right to the money. She also stated to bank staff that unless the bank chose to give her the $2,372 she would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Finally, she stated her intention to publicly disparage Home Federal Savings Bank.

Findings: In reviewing this situation the following points are noted:

v The funds never belonged to Ms. ********.

v Ms. ******** was wrong for not reporting the deposit error and obviously attempting to keep money that was not legally hers.

v There is no time limit on restoring misdirected deposited funds to its owner.

v Ms. ******** has demanded the bank give her $2,372 for goodwill. The bank sees no reason, legal or otherwise, to award Ms ******** the $2,372.

v We believe the Banks policies have been followed correctly.

At this time we see no justification for further action on our part.

In the nearly 80 years that Home Federal has been serving southern Minnesota our reputation for quality service and client satisfaction has remained a matter of pride. A banks reputation in the community is very important to successful client relations. Consequently should Ms ******** follow through on reported threats that she will actively and publicly attempt to disparage the reputation of Home Federal Savings Bank appropriate measures will have to be pursued.

We thank the Better Business Bureau for bringing this matter to our attention.




Vice President: Director of Communications

Home Federal Savings Bank


Rochester, MN 55901

O ************

F ************

C ************

"Enhancing the financial well-being of our clients and community one relationship at a time."

Electronic Privacy Notice: This e-mail, and any attachments, contains information that is, or may be, covered by electronic communications privacy laws, and is also confidential and proprietary in nature. If you are not the intended recipient, please be advised that you are legally prohibited from retaining, using, copying, distributing, or otherwise disclosing this information in any manner. Instead, please reply to the sender that you have received this communication in error, and then immediately delete it. Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/11/2009Business started: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500
Saint Paul, MN 55101-6013
(651) 539-1500

Business Management
Principal: Brad Krehbiel (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Al Mannino (Vice President Director of Communications) Laura Gevik (Senior Vice President of Operations) Sue Kolling (Senior Vice President Cash Management)
Business Category


If you choose to do business with Home Federal Savings Bank, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Home Federal Savings Bank

2048 Superior Dr NW

Rochester, MN 55901-5028

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1016 Civic Center Dr. NW 

    Rochester, MN 55901-1881(507) 252-7163

  • 2048 Superior Dr NW
    Ste 400 

    Rochester, MN 55901-5028

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Home Federal Savings Bank is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Banks


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.