This business is not BBB accredited.

First National Bank of Elk River

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 441-2200 View Additional Phone Numbers 812 Main St NW STE 1, Elk River, MN 55330

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


According to information provided by First National Bank of Elk River, this company offers banking services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First National Bank of Elk River
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1907 Business started locally: 01/01/1907 Business incorporated 09/04/1979 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

550 17th St NW, Washington DC 20429
Phone Number: (800) 934-3342

Type of Entity


Business Management
John K Houlton, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: John K Houlton, CEO
Business Category


Additional Locations


    1121 W Highway 10

    Anoka, MN 55303 (763) 422-0537


    13785 Rogers Dr

    Rogers, MN 55374 (763) 241-9616


    19157 Freeport St NW

    Elk River, MN 55330 (763) 241-3637


    812 Main St NW STE 1

    Elk River, MN 55330


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer for over 15 years, a deposit from MN State was made to me on 12/27, FNB of Elk River did not have this deposited until 12/31. (normally it comes on monday's) for some reason they didnt post until tuesday. There for I made some transactions. which half is my fault. I have never once asked FNB to refund or help with any charges. when I realized this I emailed them right away as I dont have access during the day to a phone. Told them Help. part is my fault and if they could work with me and meet in the middle that would be great. NO, NO NO is their response.*************, ************ will not help anyone out. Instead they charged 150.00 dollars in overdrafts. I started working on this with them on the 31st. I finally on 1/3 had the manager contact me who was very rude. For a customer for 15 years they do not value their customers and its the truth Banks look at you and see $$$$$. Credit Unions look at you and see a person and relationship. VERY DISAPOINTED. And will no longer be working with them or reffering anyone to them.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to meet me in the middle and help me with the charges. Since I notified them right when it happened. And I would like an apology from the GM on how their employees are rude and NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE FRIENDLY

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/12) */ Thank you for sending me the notification of this unresolved complaint. I have investigated the matter, and found that we did indeed investigate, document, and respond to the complainant, Ms. ****** *******, on February 4, 2014. Ms. ****** had also advanced the same complaint to our primary regulator, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and our response was specifically directed at that action, but the issues raised and the resolution offered is identical to both complaints. Because the complaint was forwarded to us via a regulatory agency, and because our response was directed to both the OCC and Ms. *******, privacy protocol prohibits me from sharing that response directly with you without her consent. Ms. ******* is of course free to share with you the correspondence of February 4. What I can tell you is that the matter was investigated and responded to accurately and completely, and I am satisfied with our response. I believe it to be both correct and complete. We have not heard back from Ms. ******* since sending our response to her, and I do not know if she is satisfied with our reply and investigation or not. I am uncertain how to additionally proceed to resolve this matter with the Better Business Bureau. Please advise me how best to bring this matter to resolution with your agency. Rest assured that we take every customer complaint seriously, and we work diligently to resolve every situation brought to our attention. Please do not hesitate to call me directly to advise me on further action.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on First National Bank of Elk River
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)