Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/07/2015

First National Bank of Elk River

Find a Location

(763) 441-2200812 Main St NW STE 1, Elk RiverMN 55330-1576 Send email to First National Bank of Elk River

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/07/2015

BBB has determined that First National Bank of Elk River meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised First National Bank of Elk River's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on First National Bank of Elk River

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have been a customer for over 15 years, a deposit from MN State was made to me on 12/27, FNB of Elk River did not have this deposited until 12/31. (normally it comes on monday's) for some reason they didnt post until tuesday. There for I made some transactions. which half is my fault. I have never once asked FNB to refund or help with any charges. when I realized this I emailed them right away as I dont have access during the day to a phone. Told them Help. part is my fault and if they could work with me and meet in the middle that would be great. NO, NO NO is their response.*************, ************ will not help anyone out. Instead they charged 150.00 dollars in overdrafts. I started working on this with them on the 31st. I finally on 1/3 had the manager contact me who was very rude. For a customer for 15 years they do not value their customers and its the truth Banks look at you and see $$$$$. Credit Unions look at you and see a person and relationship. VERY DISAPOINTED. And will no longer be working with them or reffering anyone to them.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to meet me in the middle and help me with the charges. Since I notified them right when it happened. And I would like an apology from the GM on how their employees are rude and NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE FRIENDLY

Business Response
Thank you for sending me the notification of this unresolved complaint. I have investigated the matter, and found that we did indeed investigate, document, and respond to the complainant, Ms. ****** *******, on February 4, 2014. Ms. ****** had also advanced the same complaint to our primary regulator, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and our response was specifically directed at that action, but the issues raised and the resolution offered is identical to both complaints.

Because the complaint was forwarded to us via a regulatory agency, and because our response was directed to both the OCC and Ms. *******, privacy protocol prohibits me from sharing that response directly with you without her consent. Ms. ******* is of course free to share with you the correspondence of February 4. What I can tell you is that the matter was investigated and responded to accurately and completely, and I am satisfied with our response. I believe it to be both correct and complete.

We have not heard back from Ms. ******* since sending our response to her, and I do not know if she is satisfied with our reply and investigation or not. I am uncertain how to additionally proceed to resolve this matter with the Better Business Bureau. Please advise me how best to bring this matter to resolution with your agency. Rest assured that we take every customer complaint seriously, and we work diligently to resolve every situation brought to our attention. Please do not hesitate to call me directly to advise me on further action.

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/14/1997Business started: 01/01/1907
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500
Saint Paul, MN 55101-6013
(651) 539-1500

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1979, MN

Contact Information
Principal: John K Houlton (CEO)
Business Category


Products & Services

According to information provided by First National Bank of Elk River, this company offers banking services.

If you choose to do business with First National Bank of Elk River, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for First National Bank of Elk River

812 Main St NW STE 1

Elk River, MN 55330-1576

To | From


4 Locations

  • 1121 W Highway 10 

    Anoka, MN 55303-1562(763) 422-0537

  • 19157 Freeport St NW 

    Elk River, MN 55330-1253(763) 241-3637

  • 812 Main St NW STE 1 

    Elk River, MN 55330-1576

  • 13785 Rogers Dr 

    Rogers, MN 55374-4924(763) 241-9616

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*First National Bank of Elk River is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Banks


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.