BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bremer Financial Corporation is a privately held regional financial services company jointly owned by the Otto Bremer Foundation and Bremer employees. Products and services include banking, investment, trust and insurance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bremer Financial Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bremer Financial Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bremer Financial Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 23, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1943 Business started locally: 01/01/1943
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Meghan Harris, Senior Vice President and Corporate Counsel Laura Helmueller, Owner/Manager Lori Tracy, Marketing Program Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Meghan Harris, Senior Vice President and Corporate Counsel
Business Category

Banks Banking Services Investment Securities Loans Loans - Small Business Financial Services Investment Management Mortgage Bankers Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Service Area
Minnesota, North Dakota and Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Bremer Bank Bremer Financial Corporation Bremer Investments Bremer Trust Eastwood Bank Eastwood Bank Broadway Plaza Eastwood Bank Rollingston Eastwood Bank Stewartville Eastwood Financial Corp Eastwood Investment Services
Products & Services

Full-service banking, investment, trust and insurance solutions to individuals, small businesses and corporations, agribusinesses, nonprofits, and government and public entities in Minnesota, North Dakota and Wisconsin.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bremer Financial Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 108 E Cedar St

    Houston, MN 55943

  • 109 S Mantorville Ave

    Kasson, MN 55944

  • 1100 W Saint Germain St

    Saint Cloud, MN 56301

  • 119 1st St E

    Stewartville, MN 55976

  • 140 Main St

    Rollingstone, MN 55969

  • 1444 45th St S

    Fargo, ND 58103

  • 1444 45th St SW

    Fargo, ND 58103

  • 1625 Highway 14 E

    Rochester, MN 55904

  • 1995 Rahncliff Ct

    Eagan, MN 55122 (651) 452-2265

  • 225 Lafayette St

    Winona, MN 55987

  • 27 2nd St SW

    Eyota, MN 55934

  • 3100 S Columbia Rd

    Grand Forks, ND 58201

  • 318 1st Ave SW

    Rochester, MN 55902

  • 321 S 7th St

    Brainerd, MN 56401

  • 345 4th Ave

    International Falls, MN 56649

  • 380 Saint Peter St STE 500

    Saint Paul, MN 55102 (651) 964-7113

  • 445 Minnesota St STE 2000

    Saint Paul, MN 55101

  • 45 28th St SE

    Rochester, MN 55904

  • 500 Willmar Ave SE

    Willmar, MN 56201

  • 5125 Highway 52 N

    Rochester, MN 55901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    605 2nd St E

    Menomonie, WI 54751

  • 720 Broadway St

    Alexandria, MN 56308

  • 748 Whitewater Ave

    Saint Charles, MN 55972

  • 805 N Main St

    Austin, MN 55912

  • 900 18th Ave NW

    Austin, MN 55912

  • Po Box 125

    Rollingstone, MN 55969

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    104 Maple St W

    Amery, WI 54001

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    116 W Menomonie St

    Elk Mound, WI 54739

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1500 Broadway St N

    Menomonie, WI 54751

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 Bremer Ave

    Colfax, WI 54730

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3947 Oakwood Hills Pkwy

    Eau Claire, WI 54701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    532 S Knowles Ave

    New Richmond, WI 54017

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    605 2nd St E

    Menomonie, WI 54751

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a Written Statement claim 6/6/16 sent I mailed it certified mail one copy to the courts . The other to Bremer Trust National Association ** *** *** St.Cloud MN 56301 . I have called numerous times requesting a questionnaire survey and sworn affidavit before 6/10/16 I got no response . This matter is regarding ****** ***** ****** 10-PR-16-46 .

Desired Settlement: Send me a questionnaire survey and sworn affidavit faxed to Housing Works Attention : ******* for ****** ***** ###-###-#### or prefer email to n.*******@yahoo.com .

Business Response:

This individual contacted Bremer regarding her intent to file a claim against an estate represented by Bremer. The attorney representing Bremer in connection with claims against the estate contacted this individual directly and  instructed her regarding the process for submitting an claim. It appears that this individual has submitted a claim with the court.

Bremer personnel and its counsel  responded in a timely and appropriate manner to this individual.

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bremer Bank allowed dish tv to withdraw $240.00 out of my bank account without my permission & then charged me a $33.00 overdraft because there was only $199.00 in my account.

Desired Settlement: I want Bremer Bank to refund me the $240.00 plus the $33.00.

Business Response: The debit to Dish Network was conducted by use of client's debit card on March 3, 2016. On March 3, 2016, client contacted Bremer to initiate a Regulation E dispute. On March 9, 2016,Bremer  provisionally credited  the client's account and mailed dispute paperwork to the client. On April 8, 2016, Bremer received documentation from Dish Network evidencing that client had cancelled his contract with Dish Network prior to the contract end date and that pursuant to the contract terms, Dish Network charged the prorated early termination fees of $20.00 per month for each month remaining on the contract terms. Bremer sent a final letter to the client with the findings and re-debited the account. Bremer complied with all procedures, including Regulation E. Bremre is not liable to the client for the penalty he incurred due to his early termination of his contract with Dish Network.

3/14/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loan officer I worked with Guaranteed my Mortgage would not be Sold to US BANK AND IT WAS I worked with Laura D**** for a Loan to refinance my house informing her if they cannot guarantee that they would not sell my mortgage to Us Bank I would do that with them She informed me it was guaranteed locked in with Summit bank. All the way through process she said it was guaranteed. Well they sold loan to Us Bank. I had a loan that was higher interest but was willing to wait till we sold old house to refinance this one just under my wifes name and informed Laura this to let her know I did not need this loan. I have also received paperwork in the mail from Laura telling me closing papers were not checked off properly and needed to be resigned which makes me wonder if paperwork was not done right how could they sell it. Now I am going to need to refinance my house again at a major loss of cost to me which never should of happened if they did there job properly. None of this should of happened I gave her numerous outs I work across the road from the location she knew where I was at knew I was easily reachable if there ever would of been a issue and never ever was contacted till letter in mail from US BANK

Desired Settlement: Bremer should reimburse all costs of appraisal and closing fees or in writing guarantee they will pay for all the fees associated with closing with another bank so I dont have to work with US BANK.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/03) */ We have investigated this matter and have the following information. Our records indicate that the client did direct that his loan not be sold to US Bank. Through Bank error the loan was sold to US Bank. Bremer is in the process of repurchasing the loan from US Bank. We believe this will accommodate the Client's concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/03/14) */

3/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returned my payment and then repossessed my motorcycle. Sent payment to get my account up to date. Payment was sent back. Motorcycle was then repossessed or stolen as I have no paperwork.

Desired Settlement: They need to change the way they do business. Money to pay a bill should be accepted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/03) */ I have investigated this matter and have the following information. This loan was 88 days past due. Notice was sent that full payment amount must be received by 2/15/16 or collateral repossession would be made. At this time we had not been contacted by client for several weeks. Several attempts were made by us to contact client by phone but client was not reached directly and voice messages were not returned. Repossession was initiated 2/18/16 after failure to be contacted by client and failure to receive any payment from client. A check was received for less than the minimum amount due after repossession was initiated. Records indicate that proper notice and disclosures were mailed to client. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not returned my personal property from that was on the motorcycle. If this does not get returned soon legal action will result. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/03/08) */ The client has added a concern that was not raised in his original complaint. Regarding return of personal property that may have been stored on the bike at the time of repossession, the client exchanged emails with the repossession company on March 4, 2016 pursuant to which the repossession company provided to the client contact information, including name and telephone number to arrange pick up of any personal property items. As the email exchange made clear the repossession company will return personal property items. Consistent with industry practice, the bank does not have physical custody of the bike or and personal property that may have been stored on the bike.

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sent a letter out informing me I had an overdraft so they covered the shortage and applied a $33 handling fee for this. Please make a deposit to cover this amount. I went in two days later after receiving the the letter to take care of this. They then inform me they added an additional $33 (Handling) fee because 5 days have past since the first overdraft. What did they (handle) for the second fee, they did nothing but wait five days. To me it's just a way to get illegal interest rate on money they loaned for a few days. Calling it a handling fee seems to be a cover so they can get away with it. Product_Or_Service: savings account Account_Number: account # **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment I would like my $33 returned to me. I would have never have paid it, but it was the only way I could close the account and be done with them. If I didn't close the account I would have owed $495 in one year because of so called handling fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/03) */ I have reviewed and researched the complaint in Case No. ******** and have the following information. Complainant held a savings account (the "Account") with Bremer Bank, National Association ("Bremer"). On November 16, 2015, Bremer received an ACH withdrawal from the Account which resulted in an overdraft. Bremer processed the ACH and charged the Account with an overdraft fee. Notification of the overdraft was sent to Complainant. On November 24, 2015, the account was charged a continuous overdraft fee because the account remained in a negative balance for over seven (7) days. On November 25, 2015, Complainant paid the overdraft and closed his account. The proper notice and proper charges where made to the Account. Bremer provides to all account owners at account opening, and sent t all account holders annually, as well as posts in all branches a current Personal Account Fee Schedule ("Fee Schedule"). The Fee Schedule clearly states the amount of an overdraft fee and the number of days within which an account owner must bring the account current in order to avoid incurring a continuous overdraft fee. The 2015 Fee Schedule clearly states that any account with a negative balance for a continuous period of seven (7) days will be charged the applicable fee.

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: $1100 cancelled check was allowed to be cashed and bank will not refund the money. July 2015, I had logged onto Bremer's secure online banking site to cancel a check, check # 1002 written 7/5/15. 7/27/15 - Payee stated that he took the check to the bank to be cashed and they told him it was cancelled. We confirmed we had cancelled it due to payee stating he had lost the check and made an $1100 cash payment to individual. 8/3/15 - the cancelled check was cashed, payee had found it and tried to cash it, so my cancellation was somehow now not in the banks system. 8/4/15 - contacted Bremer customer service through online portal to see why check was not initially cancelled, and to cancel check seeing as something was wrong with their system (did not ask for reimbursement of NSF at this point). 8/24/15 - when reviewing account check had been cashed again. Payee had called bank daily to check if money was in my account so he could cash this check again #1002. 8/25/15 - contacted the local Bremer branch and advised them of the situation and all details. Asked to have the check redeposited into my account as the check initially showed cancelled and now was allowed to be cashed. They stated they would investigate. 8/26/15 - heard back from Bremer, and they disputed the fact that the check was to be cancelled. I informed them there had to be a system issue as this was now supposed to be cancelled twice and they let it be withdrawn from my account illegally. The branch president asked me where he was supposed to get the money to return the $1100 to my account, and I stated it needed to come from the account they deposited it in as this check was to have been cancelled, TWICE by now. And the individual has now stolen my money, and Bremer has now allowed him to do it illegally as the check was cancelled. He said there was nothing he would do to help me make this right and he said he wouldn't do anything (even though his bank had allowed a cancelled check to be cashed), and he stated that the conversation was over. I then called the corporate phone number I found and asked for assistance there in recovering my stolen money. The woman I spoke to stated she could not help me as this was a branch decision and she could do nothing for me. I am now out $1100 plus any overdraft fees that will be associated with this as I was not planning on having this come out of my account as it was cancelled.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the $1100 to be returned to my account as well as any NSF or return fees associated with this error on Bremer's part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ Bremer has researched the complaint and has the following information. Complainant states that Check No. 1002 in the amount of $1,100 ("Check No. 1002") was lost by the Payee. Check No. 1002 was presented for payment on August 3, 2015, and was returned NSF. On August 4, 2015, Bremer received an e-mail from Complainant stating that he had cancelled the check online. Bremer sent an e-mail to Complainant on August 5, 2015, stating that no stop payment was reflected in Bremer's records and if a stop payment had been made by Complainant he would have received a confirmation to that effect by e-mail. Bremer requested that Complainant send to Bremer copies of any e-mails received by Complainant regarding the stop payment. Bremer also advised Complainant that "If you have an urgent or time sensitive request Bremer recommends contacting Bremer Phone Bank directly". On August 24, 2015, the Payee of Check No. 1002 personally cashed the check at a Bremer branch location. On August 25, 2015, a person who identified herself as Complainant's girlfriend contacted Bremer regarding Check No. 1002. Since this individual is not an account owner or authorized signer, Bremer was unable to provide her with information regarding the account or Check No. 1002. On August 25, 2015, Bremer received a FAX from Complainant's girlfriend stating among other things that the confirmation of the stop payment e-mail had been lost. All customers are bound by Bremer's Personal Account Agreement that makes clear the rules and procedures for stopping payment on a check. A stop payment was never properly ordered for Check No. 1002. Check No. 1002 was a NSF returned item for which NSF fees and continuous overdraft fees were properly charged. The account was in a negative balance from August 4, 2015 through August 24, 2015. As a result, Complainant is not entitled to a refund.

4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was closed at Bremer. I was overseas for 30+ days, and became over drawn ($20.00) Fees have pushed this amount up to $189.11 My account was closed at Bremer. I was overseas for 30+ days, and became over drawn ($20.00) Fees have pushed this amount up to $189.11 Bremer only contacts customers through the mail. I had mistakenly wrote a check on my Bremer account and deposited into my Merchants account. I left on a flight the next day, 4 days later I was notified by Merchants Bank that the check I deposited (check from Bremer) had insufficient funds. I proceeded to deposit $4,500.00 from my Lake area Bank account into my Merchants Bank account to cover the debit. Everything I have stated above was done over the phone or email. I did make a mistake, I confused my Lake Area Bank checkbook with my Bremer checkbook. (Both are "Safety Blue" checks. They look the same) I corrected my mistake immediately. Because of a phone call my situation with Merchants Bank was corrected within 24hrs. Because of a phone call I was able to get money from Lake Area Bank into Merchants Bank. When I returned home I contacted Bremer that afternoon, I was told that that's the system they have in place. I also have been notified that I have been reported to ChexSystems/SCAN . Bremer is not out any actual money, they are out the fees on top of fees they charged me. Everything above happened in a 10 day window. In today's age of electronic communication I'm puzzled as to why U.S. Mail Service is the ONLY way in which Bremer contacts its customers. One bank was potentially out $4,500.00. In the end I know it's my responsibility to know what checkbook to use. Now that all the dust has settled I'm curious as to why Bremer chooses only the postal service to notify its customers. Let's face it, it's not the most reliable system. Lots of margin for error. Thanks ****************

Desired Settlement: Remove me from ChexSystems/SCAN. Remove me from collections. Remove your fees from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/01) */ I have researched the matter and have the following information: The complainant is correct that he overdrew his account and was initially charged overdraft fees. Bremer Bank ("Bremer"), did speak with the complainant on 3/20/15 and was advised that an appropriate person at Bremer would contact him on Monday, 3/23/15. A banker did speak with the complainant on 3/23/15 and immediately removed all overdraft fees but the initial fee of $20.89. There is currently no amount owing and there is no report to Chexsystem. As to complainant's comment regarding receipt of notice, consistent with regulatory requirements, Bremer's standard practice is to send notice of overdraft by U.S. Mail. Additionally, during this time the complainant could have monitored the account via online banking which affords him the opportunity to monitor his account transactions and activity on a 24 hour/7 days a week basis.

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Eastwood Bank has "lost" a good deal of my money and will not work with me to find out what happened to it. I opened a checking and savings account at the Eastwood Bank in Kasson MN last October. Immediately I began having problems with their online banking and its log in and recognizing my name. They were blase' about it and just manipulated their computer system. Over time it seemed to me that the balance on the account was not increasing but I was extremely busy and didnt get a chance to check. As they had instructed when I got the documents from the state for assumed name of the business I brought it to them to add to the account. I also opened an HSA account. About 6 weeks or so ago I was going through checks I'd sent through their mobile deposit and found that about 14 checks had never gone into my account even though it had said it was successful. While doing that I'd been tearing up checks with a matching amount (I charged either $35 or $45 for my services) but since the bank didnt print out the name of checks deposited I dont know if the checks I'd torn up were deposited or not. The bank was awful about it. They refused to take any responsibility and it must have just been my fault. *****, bank worker, said "Yeah, you just shouldn't use mobile deposits". At that point I began to contact many of my clients (I'm a massage therapist part time) who I knew had written checks. They got copies front and back of their checks. ***** had given me a listing of all the checks that I'd deposited. I compared and found many checks that the bank had stamped "for deposit only" that were not on that list. This is not ALL the checks because I didnt contact all the clients. I brought copies of these checks to the bank, closed all my accounts ( I'd learned they had an additional account open for me that I didnt know about) and gave them two days to review that documentation and I would be back to get that money and let them know there would be more. When I went back I was told that all the checks had gone through their system and I wasnt due any money. Now, they cant have it both ways. They cant say one list was a definitive list and when presented with many more say "Oh THAT was the definitive list". They refuse to deal in any competent way with what happened to my money. Their bank president left a message for me saying "it is impossible for you to have made a deposit and it went to the wrong account". This shocks me because I've heard of many incidents of this over the years with people but their banks have always corrected their mistakes. The bank has been rude, blaming and uncooperative. There are still many more clients for me to contact but I need to get someone to help me deal with the bank and to get them to be honest. I dont know where to turn. I will give you account numbers if you call me. Can you help me or direct me to an agency that handles this?

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I want a full and total accounting and assistance when I get copies of the checks from the clients. I will NOT deal with anyone from Kasson bank nor the bank president. I want an objective independent party for this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ The complaint submitted by our customer ****** ****** is still in the process of resolution. Following please find the issues identified in the complaint as well as progress made on the issues. As Ms. ****** stated, she had difficulty with her online banking system. The bank's online banking system has safeguards built into it so that if a user name is not entered with 100% accuracy, the security questions that follow the log-in will not be questions tied to the correct user name. Since Ms. ****** had informed the bank she was being asked security questions that were not her own, the bank arrived at the conclusion that the user name was not being entered with 100% accuracy and was therefore triggering the automatic safeguard. Ms. ****** also alleged in her complaint that deposits she made via the bank's mobile check capture system were never deposited into her account. She had been working with bank staff located at the branch she opened her accounts at for resolution, but has been dissatisfied with their responses to her inquiries. Branch staff has been trying to identify which deposits she believes are missing to assist with investigating and identifying where those missing deposits have gone. To-date the bank has found no irregularities or missing deposits. Ms. ****** provided a listing of 14 checks she believes are missing from her account, and branch staff has done account research and reconciliation to identify those checks. The account research indicated that all checks are accounted for; some were deposited into Ms. ******'s checking account while others were cashed. Documentation of the 14 checks in question has been gathered, but to-date Ms. ****** has not taken the documentation. Because Ms. ****** has been dissatisfied with both branch staff and the bank president's involvement in this issue, the bank's VP/Information Technology ****** ********** and Retail Operations Officer ***** ********** have reached out to Ms. ****** and invited her to a meeting with both of them. The goal of this meeting would be to go over the account activity on Ms. ******'s account (both deposits into her accounts and checks she has cashed) in an attempt to identify missing dollar amounts and/or check deposits. A letter was sent to Ms. ****** offering to set up this meeting, and as of the date of this response Ms. ****** has responded to VP ********** via e-mail. Ms. ******'s e-mail indicates a willingness to meet with VP ********** and ROO *********** but also indicates it will be difficult for her to schedule. VP ********** has responded and assured her the bank is willing to work around Ms. ******'s hectic schedule, and has also suggested that meeting before Ms. ****** conducts her search may assist in narrowing down the time-frame in which she will have to gather information. At this time the bank considers this complaint to be open. Attempts to contact Ms. ****** will continue. The bank believes the best way to resolve this issue is to go through the account activity with Ms. ****** in an attempt to better identify what deposits (and when) she believes to be missing. This will assist the bank in tracking down the missing deposits, if any, and resolving the issue to Ms. ******'s satisfaction.

3/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank provides extremely poor service at the Maplewood location on their phone banker service. They also do not give account disclosures. I opened my accounts in September. At account opening I came in 30 minutes prior to closing. The banker did not speak to us the entire time except to ask for our identification and how much we were depositing. We only received the receipts for the deposit we made in an envelop no other paperwork was handed to us. Therefore, I received no info on fees, which I learned later would be an issue. I went home and set up auto transfers online. The first few went through on-time as scheduled. I happen to check one day when it was suppose to go through and it did not. I called the customer service line and a representative told me she did not know why it would not go through and would check and call me back. I made the mistake of trusting her and not getting her name. I received no call. The next transfer went through fine, but now I check every time because clearly there is a system issue they ignored. Then I went out of the country mid February and used an ATM and was charged a total of $34.36 in ATM fees. When I accepted the fee is said it was about $6 from Bremer. I came back and called the customer service line. The rep told me that it is in my disclosure that there is a 2% fee. The amount I withdrew was $300, I pointed out that $34.36 is more then %2, and that I never received disclosures. She then said I should have called to notify the bank I was out of the country, and that she could send me a disclosure now if I would like. I explained as a customer with a Visa Debit card I should not have to notify the bank of where I am using it, and that the disclosure serves me no purpose now. I requested the fees get reversed. She said no it's a processing fee. I then asked if it's worth it to Bremer to lose all of my accounts over this dollar amount. She said it's my personal choice what I want to do. I have since stopped using the account and switched to *********** and I am waiting to make sure my auto payments are switched before closing all of my accounts. Today I checked the Bremer account and there is a $2.75 ATM service fees from the same transaction in mid-February. I called the customer line. The rep this time was friendly and explained they charge ATM fees at the end of the statement cycle. I let her know this was never explained to me by the last rep when I called about these ATM fees and I never received disclosure and did not request it since I was closing my accounts now. I also wanted to know why there is ANOTHER ATM fee when they've already taken $34.36. She offered to reverse this fee, which the other rep told me was not possible. I declined because it will take 4 days to be re-deposited and I would rather close these accounts as fast as I possibly can. Bottom line is this bank failed to give me a disclosure before and after account opening, and the service there after has been horrendous. Clearly this bank does not care about keeping customers. I almost requested a mortgage from Bremer. I feel so relieved I didn't and can run away from this bank!

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to have the charges on the ATM fees reimbursed to me in the form of a check mailed to me. I don't want to have to leave my account open for a credit. I am worried if I keep my accounts open I will be charged ATM fees continuously for the same transaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ Bremer has received Complaint Activity Report, Case #********, regarding alleged poor service, not providing proper disclosures and inappropriate charging of fees. Bremer has researched the matter and has the following information: The customer opened three accounts with Bremer, a checking on 9/12/13 at the Maplewood branch and a second checking account and a savings account on 10/7/13 through the telephone bank. The Customer alleges that she did not receive the proper account disclosures in connection with establishing the accounts. It is standard procedure for a branch employee who assists customers with account matters to always provide the account disclosures in an envelope with all receipts. The phone bank also confirmed that their standard procedure is to include the personal account agreement and fee schedules in the information mailed to the customer immediately upon opening an account through the phone bank. In addition the personal account agreement and fee schedules are available through on-line banking which this Customer signed up for and used several times. Bremer respectfully disagrees with the Customer that she was unaware of bank procedures and fees. A review of the history of this account reveals that only one account incurred the disputed charges. That account is the checking account opened by the phone bank. The account history of that accounts shows that a total of $45.76 in service fees has been charged against the account: one charge was for an overdraft, four charges were for using non-Bank ATMs as follows: $2.75 service fee $6.56 EFT service charge $1.03 EFT service charge $30.00 NSF fee for overdraft $5.42 EFT service charge As these are all legitimate fees, Bremer does not intend to make any reimbursement of fees. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The diclosure was not given at the time of my first account opening so I was not given proper disclosures. I received 4 ATM Fees for one transaction. The disclosure that I looked at online after all of these incidences does not state that I will receive 4 fees for one transaction. It says I will receive one fee for a non-Bremer bank ATM. These are not legitimate fees and this bank is not practicing proper procudures and disclosing correct fees. There are major service issues here and they are now arguing fees that were not disclosed.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to secure an ATM card for our bank account for over 2 and a half years now. Bremer Bank sends out DEBIT cards I don't even receive. I needed a new ATM card, and supposedly the bank sent me out one in June of 2011. I never saw it. Several times this year, ***** at the answer line and other employees have mentioned it and said that they would close that card. None of them ever closed it. It was open all this time and only recently expired on its own. I asked for another card last summer. No one sent any card. I went into *********'s Bremer Bank and talked to the head manager there, a ****************** who I believe has been collecting paychecks for at least 10 years. She kept me for some time typing into her computer and I never received any card. I asked in three separate calls to the Bremer line that this be investigated. The only result of my request is that ****** called me and left a message that she had called. I called her back and she claimed she could see that she had ordered me a DEBIT card (I wanted an ATM card) at the end of August 2013. ***** and others are just as positively certain that there is no record of this at all. If there is a DEBIT card out there, someone else has it and it has not been closed. ****** said she would have it closed when I spoke to her 2 weeks ago. I called *** on the Bremer line and asked for an ATM card. He sent me a DEBIT card. Bremer claims he also sent me an ATM card. I received my unwanted DEBIT card. I received both pin numbers a week later. I never received an ATM card. I cut up the DEBIT card, told on the line that it would be closed. Someone else told me again it would be closed. As of today it is not closed. ***** sounds like she would like to be helpful, but has no idea how to help. No one is investigating bankers making false statements about whether or not they sent out cards. No one is making sure that cards are closed when they say they will be. And no one on the list at the BBB site is available. No one at the 800 line has any idea who any of these people are, or who can help if there is a problem. Maybe this complaint will get me a call from someone who can help, and maybe it won't, but people who look at the BBB site need actual help, not just the same old line they've been calling all along, and a list of names no one knows or cares about at the bank. We have trusted this bank for almost 25 years. It is very important that customers have good reasons to trust their bank. The young man I talked to this year about bill-paying from my bank account was very impatient with me that I didn't want to allow all my bills to be fully automated and independent of my involvement. He sure couldn't see why I would feel that way. When I try to log off from my bank account online, a window opens asking if I really want to log off, as others will receive my information. It doesn't feel like the people at the 800 line know very much or really want to address my concerns. I was hoping that someone would suggest that there was a location from which I could physically secure an ATM card of my own in real life. Or perhaps send it to a branch where I could get it in real life. Or they could send it to me registered mail, or Fedex. ***** just keeps saying we could "try again". How many times are we going to do that, when DEBIT cards (instead of ATM cards) just go floating off into the hands of who knows who, connected directly to our bank account? I really wish I could feel that someone at Bremer Bank really cared, knew how to get things handled efficiently, and knew who to go to with a what should be an incredibly simple problem. Apparently going to the bank physically is not the answer. We tried going to St. Anthony's bank physically together but it wasn't open Saturdays. It is very important to us that our money is safe and under the management of mature, caring, competent people who respect our rights to choose how it can be accessed and by whom. I hope there are upper officers who care and who can handle this problem competently.

Desired Settlement: I want someone official and mature who is an upper officer of the bank to call me and care about this problem and tell me how I am going to definitely receive a secure ATM card without any further problem or delay. I want ******'s report at ********* Bank investigated. I want her to be asked for proof by the bank that she did request a card, and I want this card definitely closed if it ever existed. I would like to see mature people hired to handle the lines who care about banking business and the people who call, and they need to be briefed on how to contact meaningful help if there is a problem. I sure didn't want to resort to making a BBB complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ Bremer regrets the inconveneince experienced by Ms. ******. A senior level Bremer employee followed up with Ms. ****** and ordered her a new card. Unfortunately, we were not able to expedite her card because her address is a PO Box. In any case, we believe that Ms. ****** is satisfied now that the matter has been carefully and fully investigated and that Bremer has confirmed that no cards were lost in the mail. Ms. ****** does have the name & contact information of the senior employee who resolved this matter should any issues arise.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bremer Financial Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart