BBB Accredited Business since

Associated Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (507) 864-7744 1305 Main St, Stevens Point, WI 54481 http://www.associatedbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Associated Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Associated Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 2011 Business started: 09/15/1917 Business started locally: 09/15/1917 Business incorporated 03/04/2011 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Pamela Waugh, Branch Manager Anna Dosen, Regional Retail Director
Contact Information
Principal: Pamela Waugh, Branch Manager
Business Category

Banks Banking Services Investment Securities Loans Loans - Small Business Mortgage Bankers Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Associated Bank, this company offers complete financial services, including traditional banking and wealth management services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1305 Main St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481

  • PO Box 726

    Rushford, MN 55971

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bank did not bill my correctly and even after I've sent them additional funds they are calling me multiple times a day to ask for funds. My home mortgage account # is **********. I received my June 1, 2016 mortgage statement for $1,669.84. I paid this amount prior to June 1. I received a letter dated 6/5/2015 on Saturday, June 13th stating that my loan amount due on June 1 is $1,746.20. The letter asked me to remit $76.36 and tells me they are holding my $1,669.84 payment. On Sunday, June 14th I used WElls Fargo bill pay to send the $76.36 to Associated bank even though at this time I had no information from the bank on what the amount was for. I received a call Tuesday, June 16th letting me know I am close to the end of my grace period on my late mortgage payment. I went through these details with the person on the phone. I am now receiving automated calls several times a day from associated bank trying to collect the $76.36. Wells Fargo has confirmed they have transferred the funds. I've asked the human who I have spoken to at Associated Bank to please bill me accurately in the future I get no commitment on this. I still don't think my June mortgage payment has been applied.

Desired Settlement: I would like this business to bill accurately in the future. If there are changes on their side I would like the changes reflected in the next cycle not retroactively. I would like to stop receiving bill collection calls from Associated Bank. I have consistently paid them the amount they asked for and have several cases now where I've also paid additional amounts later during their clerical issues. My closing for instance was $7,000 off and I paid that with a 2 day notice and the banker said, "everyone makes mistakes."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/25) */ June 25, 2015 ******* ******** ***************** Shoreview MN 55126 RE: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota (BBB) Case # ******** Dear Ms. ********, I am responding to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota received June 19, 2015 regarding your Associated Bank mortgage loan ending in ****. I apologize for any confusion and inconvenience this matter has caused you. Your loan originated on April 14, 2014 as a construction loan. Associated Bank sent you a billing statement dated May 1, 2015 which showed your June 1, 2015 payment due for $1,669.84. However, you were in the process of modifying your loan into a fixed rate product. We received your signed Loan Modification Agreement dated May 22, 2015 which indicated your principal and interest payment amount due effective June 1, 2015 is $1,472.16 at an interest rate of 3.875%. This amount does not include any monthly payment amount owed for the collection of Escrow. I enclosed a copy of the Loan Modification Agreement for your review. Because we did not receive the full amount due for June 2015, Associated Bank sent you a letter dated June 5, 2015 indicating that $76.36 was still owed to satisfy the June 2015 payment. On June 18, 2015 we sent you another billing statement reflecting the payment due for July 1, 2015 for $1,673.67. This amount does include the $200.51 for escrow of your taxes and/or insurance. A copy is enclosed for your convenience. We have also removed your phone number from our auto-dialer as you requested. At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is key to our continued success. If I can be of any further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above. Sincerely, ***************** Customer Care Senior Specialist Customer Care Center We Care Team cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Electronic Transmittal Only Enclosures SI:hw

11/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this is not the "friendly" bank as advertised, that would kick out a 74 year old woman out of her house in October because of their mistake. I borrowed money from Associated bank under a SBA loan and my mother cosigned for me with her house as collateral. In 2008 I fell into hard times because of things done illegally to my business and I did not adjust well. I went to Associated bank and told them I was having difficulties. I was told they would work with me. There idea of working with me was demanding their money I was late with or legal action would be taken. I had other financial institutions ready to work with me and help me out, but because of the agressive action of Associated I was forced into a chptr 13 and then my mother had to file too because they started to demand the money from her even though I was willing to pay them. They then tried to fight my 13 and past due amount with interset only payments,but were turned down by the courts and were told they had to work with me.They filed their paper work for the courts. "We",the courts and my attorney and me, did not find out until after my thirteen was finished that Associated's attorney did not file the paper work properly so they only got the past due amount and were trying to fight for the extra amount that went to some past due taxes so they were turned down with their protest,again, because they filed wrong,This was the beginning of this year 2014. My attorney suggested we wait for the for my continued payments. Again I heard from other financial and started my payments with them, but nothing from Associated bank, until September 27th when I was served papers for the past due amount and my mother was also but her house was put up for a sheriff's auction. No notices or requests for payments. My mother will be 74 soon, she spends over 40 hours a week at a charity she started, to help people in a financial crisis brought on by a medical crisis. She was devistated. I tried going to the direct office in appleton (darboy)and trying to work with them on payments. They were friendly said they tried to contact my mother, but her phone number was not listed in the phone book anymore. I said no she has a cell phone, but why didn't you try a letter? I filled out the paper work and gave it to them the next day, but they said they would still not stop the sheriff's sale. I tried the main office in Stevens Point with a call. I was told that they would get back to me....no returned call. We had no time for a loan consolidation given the sheriff's sale was on the 15th of October my mother was forced (again) to file a chapter 13 as she was released early from her's she could do this to protect her house. This was all because of their attorney's mistake!!!! All the money I paid for Associated went to other people and they were paid more from the thirteen. I paid once for them now I have to pay again. What did Associated gain from these bully tactics? I know I am not the only one and wish more people would go to their representatives and get this changed so there has to be some kind of contact for payments,before banks can do this to people. Now more money was spent on attorey's that could have been paid down on the loan. And Associated is using the same Attorney...Really?!!! So this means Associated had no problem with his mistake, which makes them just as culpable. Sadly I can only pray for the deception and heartless souls that orchestrated this on a defenseless 74 year old woman and go to my representatives to get these tactics changed.

Desired Settlement: An apology to my mother and make things right for the other mistakes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/31) */ October 31, 2014 ******* ********* ******************* Hilbert WI 54129 RE: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Case #******** Dear Mr. *********, This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota received on October 17, 2014 regarding your SBA loan account ending in 9001. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. Please be assured Associated Bank is committed to keeping borrowers in their homes. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the servicing of your account and apologize for any frustration you experienced. I am glad that I had the opportunity to speak with you regarding your concerns. While we understand how stressful a financial hardship can be, a review of our records indicated no error; therefore Associated Bank denies any wrongdoing. On February 24, 2005 a $150,000 SBA loan was originated by ********* **************************** which was guaranteed by yourself, ******* ********* and your mother ***** ********* who were both owners of the business. The loan was secured by the business assets and real estate which included the home of ***** *********. After payment default, legal collection action started in 2008. In October 2008, the bank received a money judgment allowing the sale of the business assets and a foreclosure judgment against the real estate. The interest on the judgment accrued at the rate of 12% per annum in accordance with Wisconsin law. Associated Bank filed a claim with the bankruptcy court and your Chapter 13 bankruptcy provided that payments to Associated Bank and American General Financial Services shall be interest only with minimal contributions to principal during the term of the plan. In 2009 your mother ***** ********* filed a Chapter 13 bankruptcy petition. Associated Bank filed a claim for the unpaid judgment amount which was $118,980.34. Her bankruptcy plan provided for payment to CitiMortgage, Inc. as first mortgage holder on her home but did not provide for second mortgage payments to be made to Associated Bank. We chose not to contest the bankruptcy by demanding that it be paid by her during her bankruptcy plan. Her bankruptcy plan specifically stated that the bank debt is currently being paid as scheduled debt in a concurrent Chapter 13 case (your bankruptcy case). However since she failed to make payments in accordance with the bankruptcy plan her Chapter 13 case was dismissed. Since both bankruptcy cases had concluded and we were required to continue communicating with the SBA with regard to the status of the loan, ************** Loan Workout Officer was asked to continue collection efforts on this loan. Since Associated Bank was unable to contact ***** ********* by telephone, our Attorney Ronald ******* placed several phone calls to her attorney **** ********** in an effort to work out a payment plan. On August 25, 2014, Attorney **** ********** said he would contact ***** to discuss solutions and on September 12, 2014 he stated he was unable to contact *****. On October 7, 2014 Attorney ********** stated that ***** had communicated with him but had not yet retained him and therefore there was no payment plan offered by ***** or yourself. You stated that you received documentation on September 27, 2014 that a sheriff's auction was to be held October 15, 2014 which would have affected your mother's residence and your place of business; however since that date the sheriff's auction was cancelled. In regards to your concerns regarding the garnishment of your account at ****** Credit Union, please refer to the State of Wisconsin Circuit Court Calumet County Case No 08-CV-198 which stated judgment for the payment of money was duly rendered and entered in that action in favor of Associated Bank against ********* ****************************, ******* A *********, and ******* ********* on October 9, 2005 in the amount of $120,428.41. To discuss this matter further you may wish to talk with your attorney. If I may be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above. Sincerely, **************** Customer Care Senior Specialist Customer Care Center We Care Team cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Electronic Transmittal Only MS:hw Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 14, 2014/11/03) */ I have read the response from Associated bank and am amazed how my complaint was so easily dismissed, as if I were just some angry person flailing away without direction and my complaint had no merit. Many of the things written by Associated bank's representative are only have truths and lies. And this person is a customer service representative? Lets take it paragraph by paragraph. 1st paragraph)I feel a derogatory dismissal. 2nd paragraph)True. 3rd paragraph) I tried working a payment program with Associated bank to catch, but they demanded their money NOW! forcing me into a chapter 13 bankruptcy. 4th paragraph) True That is how the plan was drawn up by my attorney. But Associated bank then failed to file the proper paper work for their collections so they only received the back due amount and not the interest. This was fought for after the plan and there was excess monies that went to back taxes and other people were paid more because Associated bank failed to file properly requesting the interest (Documented). American general received all there payments as they filed correctly. I was released from any further obligation for the chapter 13 successfully even from your bank. 5th Paragraph) My mother was forced into a chapter thirteen by Associated bank then released successfully from the chapter 13 plan because there was nothing for the overseer of the plan to do and her payments were being paid successfully, thereby being released from any further obligation on the chapter 13 plan. (documented) She did not fail the plan. 6th paragraph)This is a problem as Attorney ********** was not at that moment retained by my mother why should she have? And why would Attorney ******* contact him? As an attorney he should know the most effective way to contact a person is a certified letter; none received. As for Attorney ********** saying he would be contacting my mother I find doubtful. Also, my Attorney was never contacted. Neither was a letter sent to our offices or a call received(we have a live answering service for the business). Attorney ******* knows the funding for this comes from the business. 7th paragraph) The sheriffs auction was cancelled because of my mothers chapter 13 at the last moment. 8th paragraph)I went into your office at W3122 cty KK Appleton(Darboy),WI 54915 on 10/8/14 to try to work something out on a payment plan. After explaining things with the manager there he had the loan specialist come in and she said we could work out a payment plan for a one year trial run, she just needed updated information from me. I returned the next day with the information. after looking at the information she said she could not give me an answer on the loan yet because all of her superior people to approve the loan were out of the office and non were returning for a few days(quite convenient don't you think?) I asked about removing the sheriffs auction on my mothers house she said that she would not remove that. I told her that was not going to happen. That my mother would then claim a chapter 13 and stop the process. Both times I was polite and left politely(your cameras should prove that). In turn the information I gave at that time was used to get into my checking account and garnish the money there not work with me on a payment plan. This money was meant to pay small business people that also needed it. Thereby hurting me and them in the process. I have discussed this with my Attorney and her is in full knowledge of the process I am taking. 9th paragraph) No I don't think I will be calling you directly as I want a third party to know exactly what is happening In conclusion somebody is selling something, most of what I say is documented and I have the documentation if and when needed. I also ask you release my money held in garnishment and apologize to my mother as you announced her sheriffs auction and go to the negotiating table for the remainder of the money under the eyes of the BBB or the SBA to settle payments. Sincerely, ******* A. ********* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/11/03) */ FYI My apologies. I failed to mention, had we been duely informed about the actions to come against us there was a very good possiblity that my mother could have refinanced a new mortgage on her house. But because of the lack of time (about 2 weeks notice)and the bullying tactics of Associated bank forcing her to file a chapter 13 again. She cannot apply for one for a year after the bankruptcy has started. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/11/05) */ November 5, 2014 ******* ********* ******************* Hilbert WI 54129 RE: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Case #******** Dear Mr. *********, This letter is in response to the rebuttal you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota on November 3, 2014 regarding your SBA loan ending in 9001. While we understand how stressful a financial hardship can be, as stated previously Associated Bank denies any wrongdoing. Enclosed are copies of the garnishment, sheriff's sale cancellation, and judgment paperwork. To discuss this matter further you may wish to talk with your attorney. Sincerely, **************** Customer Care Senior Specialist Customer Care Center We Care Team cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Electronic Transmittal Only Enclosures MS: hw


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)