BBB Accredited Business since

Associated Bank

Phone: (507) 285-2630 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.associatedbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Associated Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Associated Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 2011 Business started: 09/15/1917 Business started locally: 09/15/1917 Business incorporated 03/04/2011 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Andrew Mai, Branch Manager Anna Dosen, Regional Retail Director
Contact Information
Principal: Andrew Mai, Branch Manager
Business Category

Banks Banking Services Investment Securities Loans Loans - Small Business Mortgage Bankers Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Associated Bank, this company offers complete financial services, including traditional banking and wealth management services.


Additional Locations

  • 101 1st Ave SW

    Rochester, MN 55902 (507) 285-2630

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter 02/06/15 changing the services of the business account. I have to report it as it is misleading and disrespectful. I had a business acct for approx 7 years. I am a small business. The bank has sent a letter saying the fees will be avoided. They will not. I have talked with Pay Pal, WWBIC and one of your bank employees who really tried to assist me as she is a fine person but she just didn't get it. It calls for $2,500.00/day or $10,000.00/month. There is no exception. That is impossible for a small business as I have been told but also it does not tell you that if you do NOT make that amount you will be made to pay fees anyway of $15.00. I have tried to attach the letter but there is no place on the complaint form to attach it. I have had to change many accounts as ************.etsy www.paypal.com every place I had attached my business acct of 1175. What they have done is push small businesses out for corporations and/or not tell the customer and charge a fee if you don't meet their demands of $2,500.00/day and $10,000.00/month. This is so wrong. There will be no place in the bank to have a small business. This is a shame. especially not really as they say avoiding fees.

Desired Settlement: I had a business acct for approx 7 years. I am a small business. The bank has sent a letter saying the fees will be avoided. They will not. I have talked with Pay Pal, WWBIC and one of your bank employees who really tried to assist me as she is a fine person but she just didn't get it. It calls for $2,500.00/day or $10,000.00/month. There is no exception. That is impossible for a small business as I have been told but also it does not tell you that if you do NOT make that amount you will be made to pay fees anyway of $15.00. I have tried to attach the letter but there is no place on the complaint form to attach it. I have had to change many accounts as ************.etsy www.paypal.com every place I had attached my business acct of 1175. What they have done is push small businesses out for corporations and/or not tell the customer and charge a fee if you don't meet their demands of $2,500.00/day and $10,000.00/month. This is so wrong. There will be no place in the bank to have a small business. This is a shame. especially not really as they say avoiding fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/23) */ March 23, 2015 ******* ******* ******************** Madison WI 53704 RE: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota Case#******** Dear Ms. *******, This letter is in response to the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota regarding your former Associated Bank Business Basic checking account ending in ****. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience this matter may have caused you. As we discussed, the notification of change in account requirements, dated February 6, 2015, stated that to continue improving the quality of our products, at times we must standardize some of our services to align with industry standards. As such, we made a slight change in ways to avoid the $15.00 monthly maintenance fee on the Business Basic checking effective March 31, 2015. Unfortunately, the option to make five or more electronic transactions will no longer be an available option. However, customers may still avoid the monthly maintenance fee by either maintaining a $2,500.00 minimum daily checking account balance OR maintaining monthly average relationship balances of $10,000.00. On March 9, 2015 you transferred the remaining balance of $1.90 in your checking account ending in **** to your Associated Savings account ending in ****. On March 10, 2015 I closed the checking account at a zero balance as you requested. At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is a key to our continued success. We do value our relationship with you and appreciate your business. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above. Sincerely, ******************* Customer Care Senior Specialist Customer Care Center We Care Team cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Electronic Transmittal Only AMD:hw Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Upon consulting with Associated Bank there is hidden fees if you do not sell $2500.00/day of $15.00 and a fee of $15.00 if you do not sell $10,0000 month. This IS NOT mentioned anywhere in the letter or the explanation they send. I chatted with paypal and WWBIC and a member of the bank and it is agreed that the bank only is working for corporations and NOT small businesses as it is impossible to make $2,500.00/day or $10,000.00/month myself.They have no intentions of helping you upgrade your business I was doing the 5 items per month under a dollar with no problem. This is very wrong for small businesses and they won't know it until that fee takes place The response from the bank is only a repetition of my complaint that I attached prior unless you did not receive it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/04/09) */ April 9, 2015 ******* ******* ******************** Madison WI 53704 RE: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota Case# ******** Dear Ms. *******, This letter is in response to the rebuttal you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota regarding your Associated Bank checking account ending in ****. Enclosed for your records is a copy of the letter we mailed to you on February 6, 2015, explaining the change in account requirements of our Business Basic checking account, effective March 31, 2015. As the letter states, a $15.00 monthly maintenance fee will be assessed if you do not maintain a minimum daily balance of $2,500.00 or maintain monthly average relationship balances of $10,000.00. This fee was previously waived on your account because you completed five or more electronic transactions however that option is no longer offered. Each year we do our best to evaluate our products and services to make sure we are offering the best possible options we can for our customers. In reviewing the trends within the industry and our competition, we found it necessary to adjust the requirements for our Business Basic checking product. I apologize for your disappointment regarding the new requirements, and that you chose to end your business relationship with us by closing the account on March 10, 2015. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above. Sincerely, ******************* Customer Care Senior Specialist Customer Care Center We Care Team cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Electronic Transmittal Only Enclosure AMD:hw


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)