BBB Accredited Business since

Associated Bank

Phone: (651) 385-1600 222 Bush St, Red Wing, MN 55066 http://www.associatedbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Associated Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Associated Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2011 Business started: 09/15/1917 Business started locally: 09/15/1917 Business incorporated 03/04/2011 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kari Genzler, Branch Manager Anna Dosen, Regional Retail Director
Contact Information
Principal: Kari Genzler, Branch Manager
Business Category

Banks Banking Services Investment Securities Loans Loans - Small Business Mortgage Bankers Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Associated Bank, this company offers complete financial services, including traditional banking and wealth management services.


Additional Locations

  • 222 Bush St

    Red Wing, MN 55066 (651) 385-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I opened my checking account no fees were attached as long as you had direct deposit. I opened my account 13 years ago with no fees attached as long as I had direct deposit. Which I have always had. My child support has gone into this account since it was opened. I also had my payroll checks going into the account until early last year when I received a mortgage loan through another bank. Then I had my second job payroll and my child support still direct deposited into Associated. I recently noticed that the bank has been taking $11 fees out of my account each month. When I called to ask why it is because I do not have $500 directly deposited into my account each month. This was never told to me. EVER. I did get a woman on the phone from the national headquarters to give me part of the money back. I then went in to my local branch to fight the rest because I have had other disputes with Associated Bank in the past. They refuse to refund the money. My other disputes.... When I was trying to get paperwork for my mortgage, I would call in advance to get then things I needed from Associated Bank. More than once I was kept waiting because they did not have the items ready for me. I left work on my lunch break to get these items and many times was late getting back. Other times the person getting them for me would not be in the bank at all or they would give me the wrong things. I would email them the exact items I needed from the other bank. It was very unprofessional. Recently my bank card was expiring. I never received my new one. I called Associated Bank and they said it was mailed a few weeks ago. I said well can you please send me a new one? They were looking at my account and said my card had been compromised in December and should have been turned off then. I should have been issued a new one at that time. This was January 25. Safety of my money does not seem to be a concern of theirs. My mom also had an account with Associated Bank. She closed it after telling them numerous times not to send her bank cards because her mailbox is on a long driveway that is hidden from her house. She did not order them and did not want them. They continually sent them. I have never been treated so horribly in my life. I am beyond appalled at this bank.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $22 they took from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/12) */ February 12, 2016 ***** ******* ************* Red Wing MN 55066 RE: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Case #******** Dear Ms. *******, This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota received on February 8, 2016 regarding your checking account ending in ****. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I have been trying to contact you to discuss your concerns; however I have been unable to contact you directly. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the service we provided on several occasions, in addition to the fees on your checking account, and apologize for any frustration you experienced. We mailed you a letter on May 22, 2015, which provides the requirements to avoid the monthly service fees. I included a copy of the letter for your records. We are simplifying the checking and savings products we offer to make it easier to service our customers, and to allow new customers to better select an account that is right for them. The changes also enable our colleagues to deliver the best possible customer experience, aligning with our customer promise to simplify our solutions any way we can and to deliver clear and transparent products and services. While the service fees we assessed are valid, on February 3, 2016 we refunded $44.00 as a customer courtesy. In recognition of your disappointment with us, I included a check for $22.00 for the remaining service fees. At Associated Bank, we place a high value on providing quality service and recognize that customer satisfaction is a key to our continued success. If I may be of further assistance, now or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at the number above. Sincerely, Melanie ******** Customer Care Senior Specialist Customer Care Center We Care Team cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota, Electronic Transmittal Only Enclosure MS:hw Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept it but still think they are very unfair to their customers. Why would they change the fees after thirteen years? Also, why would they not send out new debit cards with new account numbers the second they know they are compromised? Melanie only contacted me twice. I called her back on the day she called me and left a message. I never heard from her again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)