This business is not BBB accredited.

Good Carma Incorporated

Phone: (612) 781-3446 614 Lowry Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418 http://www.goodcarmaautorepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Good Carma Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Good Carma Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2010 Business started: 02/18/1997 Business started locally: 02/18/1997 Business incorporated 02/18/1997 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
William Jaap, Owner Jordan Shannon, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: William Jaap, Owner
Customer Contact: Jordan Shannon, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Suspension Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Alarms & Security Systems Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Electric Equipment Auto Air Conditioning Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Good Carma, this company offers auto repairs for Audi and Volkswagon.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    614 Lowry Ave NE

    Minneapolis, MN 55418 (612) 781-3446

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Carma performed incorrect and incompetent diagnosis and gave us false advice on the car, causing us to make a loss of $2,686.15 On 9/9/15 me and my wife, brought our 2001 Volkswagen Golf GE to Good Carma, who have been repairing this car since 2007. This car had not been driven since fall 2014. We now needed 2 cars. We asked them to check brakes, hatch, AC, which we knew were not working. But we also asked to check if there was anything else wrong with the car. We asked them to advise us if we should invest in the car or buy a new one. Their first estimate to fix everything was $4,375.61 (Repair Order #*******). To fix critical things and make car safe again, the estimate was $2,194.61. We deliberated and decided that it's worth to invest that money instead of buying a new car (Repair Order #*******). We got the car back on 9/11/15. On 9/22, after fixing the hatch glass, the check engine light went on and the car started having misfire issues. On 11/04/15, after saving some money, we brought the car back at Good Carma to fix the other things they had diagnosed along with check engine light. I was surprised when their estimate came out to $4,684.00 (Repair Order #*******) which included new issues like timing belt, starter plugs and front wheel load bearing. We would have expected them to find these issues in September, as these don't go wrong in matter of weeks. Considering this was too expensive,bought a new car, something we should have done in September. The manager at Good Carma was very patient with us. He told us the technician who worked on our car in Sept. was fired and acknowledged the Sept. diagnosis was an oversight. But he can't discuss reimbursements. The owner won't talk to me or return my calls. I've tried to get in touch with him several times, with last attempt made the day after Thanksgiving. No luck. We believe this is could potentially be case of fraud and concealment. We don't think Good Carma should make profit for incompetent diagnosis and repairs at our expense. Last 2 months have been very frustrating and stressful

Desired Settlement: We would like them to repay us total money we spent on car ($2,194.50 at Good Carma + $123.03 on a new tire + $368.62 for a new glass) -$2,686.15 - plus $500 to buy the car off us, something the manager promised he can do. So, ideally, that's a total of $3,186.15. Had they provided the service they claim to provide (Grief Counseling) correctly and had indicated the accurate health of the car in September, we could have saved all this money ($2,686.15) and invested it in a better car and better future for us. We are ready to negotiate the disputed amount down to $2,686.15 (total money we spent on car) or best offer through mediation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/23) */ Good Carma performed a proper diagnostic and competent services on the customer's 2001 VW Golf on 09/09/2015 (Invoice *******). The car came in for an oil and filter change. Safety and maintenance inspections are included in oil and filter changes; however a full car diagnosis on every aspect of the car operation is not included in oil and filter changes. If the customer would have requested a full car diagnosis, that is a different service and charge. The customer did request Good Carma to address four other concerns. Those concerns included brake noise, the air conditioning system not working, the left front window not working, and a rear hatch not opening. These specific four concerns were assessed and estimates were quoted for these issues along with the requested oil and filter change service fees. There were multiple service recommendations found from the oil and filter change service inspection. These suggestions were communicated to the customer. Through dialog with the customer, Good Carma understood they were concerned about price and had a tough call to make on a car that was over 14 years old and had been sitting without operation for over a year. The customer decided to go ahead with the most needed repairs on the car due to limited funds not wanting to purchase a newer vehicle and pay for high insurance costs. The customer was informed that the brake work was absolutely necessary to be safe on the road. Through the oil and filter change general inspection (and not a full diagnosis because they didn't request that), Good Carma honestly did not observe any additional concerns. The customer agreed to move forward with the invoice #*******. Service was performed and car was released to customer on 9/11/15. Two months later on 11/9/2015, the same customer returns with an appointment. The customer's service request for scheduling the appointment were the following - 1) Their concern about when it's cold or wet outdoors the check engine light turns on. 2) A belt makes noise in the morning when the car first starts. 3) Look at the clock and the fuel gauge for proper function. 4) Transmission pops out of the fifth gear. When the customer arrived, they additionally requested some of the services recommended from their initial oil and filter change general inspection two months prior. These requested services were to replace the rear coil springs, window regulator, and the exhaust flex pipe. During the technician's assessment of the customer's scheduled concerns, the technician noted the following - the engine was running rough during a test drive with the check engine light flashing which was diagnosed as a faulty ignition coil. It is highly recommended to replace sparkplugs and ignition wires when replacing ignition coils. During this computer scan for the check engine light concern, the technician also noticed additional trouble codes stored on the computer. These trouble code were related to the car's cooling system operation. Additionally, during the test drive, the technician noted a left front wheel bearing was also faulty. All of these findings were noted on a repair order and communicated with the customer. After the repair order was relayed to the customer, it was apparent they were not happy with the findings. Regardless, they requested an additional diagnosis on a different system of the vehicle, that being door lock operation. This was checked into and added to the repair order and communicated to the customer. At this point, the customer grew irate and began blaming Good Carma for their vehicle repair order costs. The customer chose to decline any repairs and picked up the vehicle 11/16/15. Because Good Carma understood the customer was in a tough financial spot, we didn't not have the customer pay for any of the diagnosis that visit and the technician's time. The customer was not satisfied with no charge and in addition requested Good Carma's help to sell the vehicle. Good Carma agreed to help and would be in touch with the customer. Good Carma connected with the customer on the sale the very next day. The offer Good Carma could find them from an outside source was not satisfactory to the customer. The customer's main issue and anger stems from their assumption that Good Carma did not disclose information and complete a thorough enough check during the first visit in September; therefore the customer expects all funds returned including outside services not affiliated with Good Carma. We understand the burden and stress car expenses can be on a customer and empathize; however we are not responsible for an older car that sat idle for over a year. For a car in this condition and age, anything can happen in over two-months of suddenly driving a car that sat for a long time. After consideration and reassessment of this customer's entire experience at Good Carma, the only mistake that we can take responsibility for is the oversight of not checking the timing belt condition during the first visit. The belt visually showed cracks, but not broken, during the inspection on the second visit. To rectify this oversight, Good Carma would like to offer the customer the timing belt service free of charge on the 2001 Golf. Although, as the repair order indicated, this is not the only issue that has the vehicle operating roughly, it is only one of many issues. Good Carma would have offered this corrective measure; however the customer was demanding something unreasonable and demanding Good Carma take responsibility for unpredictable issues, return payments from the previous invoice months prior to complaint, and even pay for other auto shop's invoices on the 2001 Golf. We understand this is emotional and the customer is extremely on fire about their loss; however is not viewing this issue from two-sides. Good Carma has a good reputation for caring for their customers for 20 years and this particular customer is absolutely no different. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The customer disagrees with the first statement that Good Carma made. When the customer walked in with the 2001 VW Golf on 09/09/2014, the customer did mention that the car needs oil change along with four other concerns that Good Carma mentioned. However, the customer also clearly mentioned to "find out everything that's wrong with the car", "the car hasn't been driven for over a year" and "we want to know if we should invest in this car or buy a new car". From customer's point of view, the customer did request for a full car diagnosis, though the exact technical verbiage wasn't used. The customer feels it is Good Carma's responsibility to understand the needs of the customer and provide the most appropriate service. The customer was also not presented with the work statement at the end of the visit and was asked to sign it. The customer was okay with it, as the customer had never experienced that with Good Carma in the past. When the customer got a call the overall estimate was $4,375.61 and that the diagnosis charges were $104.95, the customer assumed that this included full car diagnosis, as requested. In customer's experience, $104.95 was higher than usual but in line with "new car inspections" that other mechanics had done on other cars. Had Good Carma listened to the complete customer request and proposed the "different service" that they refer to, the customer would have agreed to it and paid whatever the charges were. In fact that's exactly what the customer had requested. To recap, the customer disagrees that Good Carma performed proper diagnostic and competent services on customer's 2001 VW Golf on 09/09/2015. In customer's point of view, Good Carma failed to listen to customer's request, propose the right service knowing the condition of the car and then failed to show the "work order" to the customer in writing and getting signature, before starting the work. On top of that, when the customer expressed concerns about the misdiagnosis, Good Carma failed to propose corrective measures or reimbursements, on time. The customer was made clear that the Good Carma's managers "hands are tied" and the customer needs to talk to the owner. Despite multiple follow ups and attempts, the customer was unable to get hold of the owner and the owner never called the customer back. 12/23/2015 (one month after the customer's last phone call with Good Carma) is the first time the customer heard about the first ever corrective proposal from Good Carma; "fixing of the timing belt service free of charge". Had Good Carma offered the customer this when the customer was in dire need of second working car, the customer might have agreed to it or explored other options. It would have been at least been a start of the conversation towards resolution. However, getting no resolution whatsoever to customer's satisfaction or attempts towards the same, the customer had to buy a new car the very next weekend. The current offer from Good Carma doesn't help the customer, as the VW Golf is sitting in the back alley of customer's house, unused. The car, as it sits, it not sellable and fixing the timing belt won't help improve its sell value. At this point, the customer would really to get rid of the car. The customer would like to counter Good Carma's offer to buy the car and the title from the customer for the total sum of $1,000. The customer feels this is a fair deal considering Good Carma had already offered $500 on the car from an outside earlier. This would actually save Good Carma money from performing services that are not needed. This is more than reasonable from customer's point of view, even though the customer is still going into a loss of $1,686.15. We appreciate Good Carma's empathy towards understanding the situation. The customer would also like to highlight that they are a big supporter of local businesses in twin cities and avoids national chain. The customer has been a loyal customer of Good Carma since 2007. The customer also holds a reputation of caring for its businesses and this is the first ever matter the customer had to escalate to third parties. This was the customer's last resort, since we, unfortunately, weren't getting any response or didn't feel intent of resolution from Good Carma Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/01/12) */ Please refer back to Good Carma's initial response on 12/23/2015 regarding the facts of this case which are filed as office documents as well. Good Carma acknowledges the one oversight made on the timing belt during the initial visit in September of 2015. Therefore, Good Carma would like to take responsibility and offer a reasonable resolution to replace the timing belt on the 2001 VW Golf (a value of about $780.00). Outside of this logical offer, we do not take responsibility for any other problems with an unpredictable vehicle that sat idle for one year. This is a good offer and we hope the customer recognizes this opportunity. After the timing belt is repaired, the customer can choose to sell/keep the car himself. However, like mentioned, there's still yet items beyond the belt to repair.

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took our car to be repaired due to drivability issue. They said it was the brakes. It was not. After I paid, they said it was something else. My wife and I took our car to be repaired after unsafe operation to be diagnosed by the shop. We had it towed there. We did not know what it was. We asked the shop to diagnose it and fix it. They called and said it was the brakes. That the car needed new brake pads, rotors and tubing. For a cost of approx. $1,200. I agreed because they said that was the issue. They call for me to pick it up on Thursday, September 24 2015. I get off work early and drive myself, my wife and my infant. Upon arriving, I am getting checked out when a male, unknown then it was the "manager". Starts to talk about a sensor issue that was brought up on a previous inspection as I was checking out. It starts to describe mechanical stuff that I am unaware about. His budding into me and the sales rep caught me off guard. It seemed odd. The sales rep I was working with even tried to talked to him about something. So I pay the money and transfer my infants car seat into the car that was supposed to be "fixed". They (the manager and sales rep) see us drive away. Not even more than a minute passes I get a call from my wife that the car is doing the same thing. Not fixed. I meet her at the car shop and we begin to walk towards the door and the manager meets us outside. I tell him the car is not fixed. He starts mumbling about how he had a gut feeling about something. He clearly tried to dominate the conversation trying to wash their hands of blame. We come to find out, by the manager's own admission they did not test drive the car to diagnose it, yet I was told the fix was to get new brake pads and rotors. So we talk and the manager says he will fix the problem. He brings up the sensor issue saying it was previously diagnosed. I said yes, but when it was diagnosed the car did not behave like it did and you guys had the same information as I had, yet you choose to ignore it and say that the issue was the brake pad and rotors. Not sensor issue was brought up to me when they called with the fix to the car problem. He says they tried to call me after I got the first call saying the car was ready for pickup. I was already on my way. And they still let my wife and infant drive off with the car anyways. So he said he will figure it out and fix the problem. I said OK, YOU will fix the problem. Friday passes no update call. Weekend passes no update call. Late Monday I get a call after my wife calls them in the morning asking to see what is going on. They said they would call me later in the day with the solution. I talk to the manager again and he says it is the sensor issue. I say OK, but I do not think I should have to pay for it. He said I understand your situation and I am going to have to take the bullet on this one. I said so you will fix it free of charge. He agreed. He said he would should have the part in most likely Tuesday, September 29th. I said OK. I get a call just now, September 29 2015 and he said he talked to the owner of the shop and he does not want to pay for it. He says the shop would install it for free (1.4 hrs of labor). The part is over $700 dollars itself and I already paid 1,200 to what they said would fix the problem. I do not agree with their practice at all. I am paying $1,200 over what the solution should have been, when they were paid to diagnose it and which they supposedly did.

Desired Settlement: That they pay for the part and labor of installing the sensor to fix the INITIAL problem and that they refund me the amount I paid for in labor for installing the brakes, rotors and break hoses which was not even a diagnosis since they never test drove the car and they never explained to me that they did not, until after I had paid and my Wife and I asked the question.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/30) */ The issue has been resolved with the customer already. We installed the steering angle sensor at no charge and no charge for labor and the customers complaint of the vehicles issue has been taken care of.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Good Carma Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)