BBB Accredited Business since

Youngstedt, Inc.

Phone: (952) 933-4305 Fax: (952) 933-9974 4711 Shady Oak Rd S, Hopkins, MN 55343 http://www.youngstedts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Youngstedt, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Youngstedt, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Youngstedt, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Steven Youngstedt, CEO Jeremy Anderson, Manager Minnetonka Goodyear Tom Berg, Manager/Eden Prairie Goodyear Heather Clark, Director of Marketing Joe Derters, Manager Hopkins Goodyear Dennis Eviota, Manager/Youngstedt Carwash Center Kevin Krzysik, Manager Clairmont Goodyear - Eau Claire, WI Dave Obermeyer, Manager, Brookside Mobile/Goodyear Mark Rue, Manager Wayzata Goodyear Nik Schuler, Manager/Waconia Goodyear Mary Schumacher, Manager Mall Drive Goodyear - Eau Claire, WI Dan Smith, Manager Chanhassen Goodyear Craig Stoesz, President/ Youngstedt Companies Larry Youngstedt, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Steven Youngstedt, CEO
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Car Wash & Polish Tire Retread & Repair Tire Additives & Sealants Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
Brookside Mobile/Goodyear Chanhassen Car Wash Chanhassen Goodyear Clairmont Goodyear - Eau Claire, WI Eden Prairie Goodyear Hopkins Goodyear Mall Drive Goodyear - Eau Claire, WI Minnetonka Goodyear Waconia Goodyear Wayzata Goodyear
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Youngstedt, Inc., this company offers automobile service and Goodyear Tire sales to all makes and models of vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 4711 Shady Oak Rd S

    Hopkins, MN 55343 (952) 933-4305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked with ***** at Youngstedts because I recently had to start adding a little oil and wondered why. He asked if I was seeing any oil leaking onto the ground, I said no. We talked that I was using synthetic oil, he said that this can sometimes cause oil loss in older vehicles. He added a partial quart, gave me what was left in the container & instructed me to come back in 500 miles. It needed a partial quart again. He suggested changing oil & going back to conventional, which I scheduled. Then they said that I needed to replace valve cover gaskets, $600, I scheduled it. They were late getting it completed so I had to pick it up just before closing. As I drove away it ran very rough, I went back but they were already gone. The next morning I drove to my daughter's daycare, suddenly smoke started rolling out from under the hood, I thought it was on fire. I got my daughter out & popped the hood. It sounded like I was frying eggs. I called Youngstedts, they said bring it in, just drive slow. One of the mechanics apologized for not having test drove it before I picked it up, the running rough was from hosing down the engine and not getting it dry. ***** also apologized for this. They later said that they had torn the left gasket when putting it in & oil was running out onto the manifold. More apologies & they would fix it. When I picked it up I drove a number of miles, around town and highway. I left early the next morning and drove some more. Upon arriving home I saw a huge oil puddle in the driveway from where it had been parked all night. I called, they said bring it in, drive slow. They now found that they had stripped the threads where the oil filter screws in & oil had been running out the whole time. They offered to clean my driveway because they knew how much oil it had lost. I expressed concern that there would be engine damage, they said it would be fine. This took three days to fix. 28 days later my engine quit. The heads, cam, tensioner, fazer were shot. Product_Or_Service: vehicle repair / damage

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) My vehicle needs a new engine according to Eau Claire Ford. They said that if running it would have been worth $6000 to $7000 trade-in value, more if sold outright. It is now worth nothing. Youngstedts say that they are not responsible, even though they let me leave on two occasions with oil running out of the vehicle and they admitted to not test driving it. I feel that they should be responsible for the value of the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ In response to Ms. *****'s BBB Complaint Case# ********, I reviewed the following with our store manager, ********** and our service manager, *************: October 24 2013 we repaired a tire leak for Ms. ***** and also added 1 quart of oil per her request. She explained that she had started losing oil between oil changes. In November and December Ms. ***** stopped by several times to have the oil checked in her 2005 Ford Expedition. It was low most of the time and we topped off her low oil using the oil she provided. No repair orders opened at these times as we did not charge for this service. 1-06-2014, We changed the oil and filter on ****'s expedition, 154027 miles. We recommended that the valve cover gaskets be replaced at this time. 1-29-2014, we replaced the cover gaskets on Ms. ***** 2005 Ford Expedition, 154688 miles. Customer supplied parts. No warranty offered. 1-30-2014, Oil leaking. Left valve cover gasket leaking, we resealed gasket, topped up oil, about 1/2 quart, 154710 miles 2-01-2014, Oil leaking, found oil leaking from filter. Found threads on oil filter adapter worn, filter came off very hard. We replaced oil filter adapter and oil filter, topped off oil, about 1 quart. We noticed excessive engine lifter noise. We recommended further inspection and gave Ms. ***** a copy of tech service bulletin (TSB 05-15-08). This bulletin explains the tests we wanted to perform to further diagnose the noise that we felt may be the cam phaser. The customer said it had always made that noise and was not concerned about it. We test drove for engine cut out/clunk with customer. We felt like there was possible transmission downshift problem and also found right inner fender loose and rattling, we tightened the fender. 154807 miles. 3-04-2014, Engine shaking, loss of power and still losing oil. Check engine light on, Codes, P0012 for cam timing. At this time the oil level was ok. The engine was misfiring and making excessive noise in cam/lifter area, we recommended further inspection and diagnostic to confirm problems. Customer declined further Diagnosis and left before we could get accurate mileage. I believe that we did everything we could do that was in our control and kept Ms. ***** informed as to the status of her 2005 Ford Expedition. I don't think that there is anything that Youngstedts did or didn't do to prevent the current status of Ms. ***** 2005 Ford Expedition. Leaking oil does not ruin an engine unless it's run completely out of oil and we never experienced this situation, Ms. ***** knew of the leaking problem and the engine noise problem. Youngstedts would be willing to help Ms. ***** with replacing her engine at a discounted rate but in no way can we take responsibility for the current status of Ms. *****'s 2005 Ford Expedition. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My comments to Youngstedts response to the BBB Complaint Case# ********. 1). I also had to return three times for the October 2013 tire repair. I was told that I needed the aluminum rims rebeaded & tire rebalancing so my tire would stop losing air. After returning two more times for continued air loss they finally found that it was just a leaky valve stem. 2). I'm not sure what Youngstedts definition of "several" is, but they added oil twice before I scheduled the oil change. Each time they instructed me to drive 500 miles & come back, which I did. It wouldn't make sense to do this "several" times. 3). I never provided the oil. 4). Youngstedts is not accurate regarding the amount of oil lost from the oil filter incident. There is no way that the mess in my driveway was only 1 quart of oil, it was 3 - 4 ft in diameter. Youngstedts management acknowledged this, apologized profusely & offered to clean my driveway. 5). This is also the first time they mentioned the "engine noise", after I was allowed to drive around with oil leaking out, twice. 6). On 2-4-2014 Youngstedts did give me a bulletin regarding engine noise, but suggested I talk to a Ford shop. In no way did they offer further diagnostics. *************** later said that this bulletin had nothing to do with what went wrong with the engine. 7). Youngstedts state that I said "it always made that noise and I was not concerned about it". What I told them was back when I was in for the tire issue one of Youngstedts mechanics told me this noise was fuel injectors getting gummed up over time, sometimes running a cleaner through would help, nothing to worry about. 8). That final test drive was Youngstedts trying to convince me that my vehicle was running fine because I repeatedly expressed my concerns of engine damage after loosing so much oil. 9). We never discussed transmission. 10). *************** said that Youngstedts did not put all of the freon back into my vehicle when they did the gasket job. The air conditioning had never given me problems, now I would be back in early summer for air conditioning repair.... I want compensation for: 1) Damage to engine arising from Youngsedts sending it out leaking large amounts of oil; 2). Youngsteds failure to replace freon in air conditioner after the valve cover repair; 3). Youngstedts' improperly performed valve cover gasket repair; 4). Youngstedts sending it out without test driving after repairs; 5) resulting inconvenience and loss of use of the vehicle. *************** quoted a price of $6,800 to replace engine, $4,700 engine, $2,100 labor. My engine at about 150,000 miles had about another 75,000 miles (perhaps more) of useful life. Taking 1/3rd of remaining useful life of engine, $4,700 divided by 3, is $1,566. I also deserve to be paid the cost of labor. The old engine, if not ruined by oil loss, might have lasted for years - by which time I would have also worn out the rest of the vehicle & never incurred the cost of labor to replace an engine because I would have junked or traded it. Add in the $2,100 labor charge. The whole sequence of events - failed gasket repair, stripped & leaking oil filter adapter - justifies refund of the charges. Add in another $404.25. I deserve something for time & inconvenience, I've been without a vehicle for over a month. Another $250.00 is more then fair. The total compromise proposal would be for Youngstedts to pay me $4,320.25. ($1,566 + $2,100 + $404.25 + $250 = $4,320.25). I have spoke to an attorney about this and am prepared to commence a small claims action. However, I appreciate the willingness of Youngstedts to try to resolve this matter & will work with them toward an agreed solution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Youngstedt, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)