BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

TGK Automotive Inc is a family run business with over 16 years of automotive repair experience. We employ highly skilled ASE service technicians and continue to provide ongoing training so we can stay on top of the latest in the automotive world.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TGK Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TGK Automotive, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

20 Customer Reviews on TGK Automotive, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 20
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 20

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 24, 2008 Business started: 04/09/2007 Business started locally: 04/09/2007 Business incorporated 07/01/2008 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Troy Kaplan, Owner / President
Contact Information
Principal: Troy Kaplan, Owner / President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Towing - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service

Service Area
Minnesota and Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
TGK Automotive Specialist Inc
Products & Services

TGK Automotive offers complete foreign/domestic auto repair and diagnostics. Their services include; towing, exhaust, transmission and drive train, brakes, cooling system, starting system, fuel injection system, tune-ups, oil changes, and more.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TGK Automotive, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1728 Rice St

    Saint Paul, MN 55113 (651) 407-3611 (651) 489-9455

  • 5241 130th St N

    Hugo, MN 55038

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Asked for part believed to be broken to be replaced. Problem remained company didn't test part and no problem was fixed. Van was losing large amounts of coolant from the area of the water pump. Called 10/22 for estimate to replace a water pump. Was quoted roughly $200. The company allowed us to purchase the part and they would install it and the amount would be $130. Brought in van on 10/23 at 10:30am, paid cash in advance. Received call at 12:30 that work was done. Picked up the van. That evening I drove 90 miles and was overheating due to lack of coolant. Over the weekend found out the problem had not been fixed at all. Called the company Monday morning, my boyfriend was put on hold immediately for 10 minutes. I called and was out on hold immediately for 5 minutes. When he called from another phone number there was no hold time, however got no where with the company. I blocked my number and the phone was immediately answered again. Talked to Mike about what was going on, his response was that the repair had been done as asked. When I asked about the condition of the old part he said they never tested the part. I asked for the old part he said they don't have it. When I asked if it was normal for a part to be replaced without being tested he said yes. I told him I called 3 other places that morning and every place would have verified a bad part was being replaced before completing the work. I asked questions about statements on the website about customer satisfaction, quality work, and things getting done right the fist time. He told me I could bring the van back in and they would test it. I said I would bring it when I could. I went and looked for the source of the leak on my own. I found a hose that connects directly to the water pump was connected with only half of a hose clamp. I replaced the hose clamp on my own and that solved the problem. I didnt bring the company back the vehicle because I fixed it myself. I never thought I needed to ask to have the problem verified before replacing a part. The company website says "we earn your business by earning your trust". Being told the original water pump wasn't tested and is no longer around to test I have no way of knowing if it really needed to be replaced. Connecting a hose to the water pump with only half a hose clamp, I know that part was bad and wasn't replaced. Work order #XXXXXXXXXX Invoice #XXXXXXXXXX An additional estimate was included when I picked up the van for work needing to be on the suspension system. If enough time was taken for that estimate how was the original problem at hand not addressed? Upon bringing in the van it was asked that coolant not be added as a flush of the radiator needed and couldn't be afforded yet there is as $14.95 charge for coolant.

Desired Settlement: At this point I have no way of knowing if the repairs were actually needed. The original part wasn't tested to see if it was bad and has been discarded. It cost me $2.45 to replace a hose clamp that has fixed the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/12) */ Customer Came in to our shop with their own part; asked us to install the part. We asked the customer if they would like us to check out the vehicle to ensure that it indeed needed the part they wanted replaced. The customer declined the inspection and stated that " My father had the same issue and his car needed a water pump" So we replaced the provided water pump. We bled the cooling system and checked for leaks. We also test drove the vehicle and all was working properly as this is our standard procedure after a repair. Customer called us a few days later and stated they drove the vehicle 4 hours away to St. Cloud and on the way back they noticed the vehicle was overheating; we told the customer we would be happy to look it over but the customer said that the vehicle was in another shop out of town; that the shop had said they had a bad hose clamp; the vehicle didn't have any bad clamps when in our possession that we could see while replacing the part provided; customer would not pay for any diagnostic work. The customer strictly wanted part installed and no other work or services provided. If the clamp had been bad when leaving our shop they wouldn't of been able to travel to the end of the block let alone 4 hours to St. Cloud. The vehicle would of overheated immediately. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/11/20) */ The consumer indicated that he/she accepted the business response.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor service, damaged door panel, threw away set of keys and key fob. 2003 Chevrolet Suburban was purchased from Carhop on September 14th, 2012. At the time of sale, several items were agreed to be repaired by approved warranty shop TGK Automotive Service. I chose the Hugo location because it was close to my house. Items included were check engine light on, rear door ajar staying on at all times, door locks and keyless entry remote not working properly. as a result of repairs made, my dome light was left on overnight in cold temperatures which drained the battery and caused it to freeze, damaging an interior door panel, and the technician working on the door locks "threw away" one set of two keys and a key fob. What a security issue! Someone probably has a set of computerized keys to my vehicle now. Probably that tech! Several attempts have been made to get Carhop and TGK to take responsibility for their actions and to make good on their agreements and warranties. Both parties have denied responsibility and hung up on me during phone conversations.

Desired Settlement: I want TGK automotive to replace the damaged door panel and electrical switch mounting panels with new parts, as well as replace the rear wiper motor that worked before they had the cargo door disassembled, and provide a new key fob remote. I also want to be reimbursed for the $90 car battery I had to replace shortly after they drained it and severely shortened it's useful lifespan. I am also seeking Carhop to cover the remainder of the repairs per contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/17) */ This customer came in on Sept 28 2013 with the complaints of key inoperable in left front door, BCM Issue, SRS Light, and ABS issue. The customer has a warranty through a second party that we do work for. Some of the repairs were covered and some were not. We fixed what was covered through the second party. The car was not picked up until 10/5/2013. The customer then called back 3 months later saying that he was missing keys and a key fab. He also said the key fab he had didn't work since we repaired his car. He then made an appointment at our Maplewood location because he felt more comfortable going to that location. We looked over all his complaints for free and sent them to the warranty company. The warranty company denied all repairs needed. The keyfab that was not working had no battery in it. I offered to replace the door panel piece although it was not a result of work completed from this shop. The customer began using inappropriate language and yelling at me because of this behavior I decided our business would not work with this customer any further. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/02/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If **** ****** would have agreed to the replacement of the door panel like he SAID he did, I could have overlooked some of the other downfalls. The replacement of the keyfob would have been appreciated since they threw it away in the garbage. Unfortunately, I never received such offer. If Mr. ****** wants to contact me to make it right, I would gladly retract my statements of unsatisfactory service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/02/14) */ We have made a business decision based on previous threats and vulgar language used and recorded to my staff and carhop staff that we would rather not due further business with this customer at this time. Carhop is also aware of this decision. Again our apologies that we couldn't of came to a better resolution together and we wish you luck in the the future.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

20 Customer Reviews on TGK Automotive, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart