BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Tune Auto Care & Tire of Elk River meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Tune Auto Care & Tire of Elk River include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Tune Auto Care & Tire of Elk River
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1987 Business started: 10/01/1987 in MN Business started locally: 10/01/1987
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Andrew Mattson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Andrew Mattson, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Precision Tune Auto Care & Tire of Elk River, this company offers service, repair, and maintenance of cars and trucks.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 18850 Dodge St NW Ste 100

    Elk River, MN 55330 (763) 274-2601

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper repair by precision tune auto lead to expense to fix their mistake. Was not given refund as promised. Our vehicle's alternator was replaced by Precision Tune Auto on 11/10/2015. In order to replace the alternator, the C V shaft needed to be removed. 5 weeks later the vehicle was not drivable due to a front end problem. We brought the vehicle into ** Complete Automotive on 12/20/2015 to diagnose the problem. We did not mention that we recently had the alternator replaced. They diagnosed the problem as a written statement quoting "whoever did the alternator did not put C V shaft back in place correctly, right C V shaft and inner axle shaft are messed up due to improper axle shaft assembly." We spoke to John at Precision Tune Auto before **'S did the repair. John told us to bring our bill for the repair to them and we would "go from there." The repair at **'S cost roughly $500. This would not have been a cost to us if the first repair was done properly. We brought our bill to Precision Tune Auto and spoke to John. He said he would not refund the repair cost at **'S but would refund us our alternator charge if we brought him the receipt. After finding the receipt, we brought it in for our refund and after a long dispute, they only refunded us partially what they had said they would. It is unjust that we had to pay for their mistakes and that we were told it was going to be reconciled with full refund and than their word was not kept. I would like a full refund for the service we paid them to do and than had to pay for someone else to fix because it was not done properly. We have proper paperwork with receipts and costs if needed.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for improper alternator repair as initially promised which lead to further costs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/09) */ The customer brought in the old axle shaft that was replaced by ****. After looking at the shaft I could see how there was an issue. That axle shaft is made up of 2 shafts, an inner and an outer. The inner shaft is a straight shaft that fits into the transmission and rides on a bearing that is mounted to the vehicle. The outer shaft is a cv shaft that fits over the inner shaft and fits into the bearing hub. The clip that was on the inner shaft must have slid off when installing the outer shaft when the alternator was done and chewed up the splines on the inner shaft causing the customers problem. The problem I had in refunding the whole amount from **** bill is that there was nothing wrong with the outer shaft. All the damage that happened was on the inner shaft. **** oversold what the vehicle actually needed. I do understand that none of this would have been an issue if we would have double checked our work. I'd be willing to give a service credit for the amount of the outer shaft in addition of the refund that I have already gave you, if that would be acceptable with you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We would accept a credit of the remaining balance of the **** bill after the refund already given. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/01/23) */ I would be willing to give a service credit for the remainder of the **** bill that involves the axle shaft repair. I don't have a copy of the bill, but I know there was an oil change done as well. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2016/02/03) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Tune Auto Care & Tire of Elk River
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)