This business is not BBB accredited.

Precision Tune Auto Care

Phone: (763) 533-3903 Fax: (763) 533-9442 5600 Winnetka Ave N, New Hope, MN 55428 http://www.precisiontune.com/NewHopeMN View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Tune Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Tune Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1987 Business started: 11/01/1978 Business started locally: 11/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kyle Eaton, Franchisee Mark Einhorn
Contact Information
Principal: Kyle Eaton, Franchisee
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Precision Tune Auto Care, this company offers service, repair, and maintenance of cars and trucks.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5600 Winnetka Ave N

    New Hope, MN 55428 (763) 533-3903

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Precision Tune in New Hope failed to take responsibility for an oil filter that wasn't sealed properly which resulted in a dead engine in my Camry. My 2009 Toyota Camry started to make noises on May 6. I went into the Brookdale Toyota Dealership to have the car serviced on May 8. The earliest that they could make an appointment was May 12. The engine shut down on May 11 and had to be towed to the dealership. I received a call from the dealership on May 12 that the oil filter was not sealed properly. I contacted the Precision Tune store and talked to ****. He denied any responsibility for the oil filter, citing that it had been 4 months. He offered that I could have the car dropped off at the Precision Tune for inspection. I understand that insurance covers Precision Tune for negligence on their part. **** was unwilling to help out to cover the cost of a replacement engine.

Desired Settlement: I want Precision Tune to take responsibility for their negligence and pay for a replacement engine. According to the Brookdale Toyota Dealership, a replacement engine including labor costs 5,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/19) */ I went to the Toyota dealer to look at the oil filter. The Toyota technician and I both agreed it was loose. We both also agreed with the fact that no vehicle can operate 3000+ miles and 3 months with a loose filter. Therefore it had to be installed correctly at our shop. What happened no one can say for sure. Another fact is the owner of the vehicle choose to ignore the red oil warning light, the check engine warning light, and many other warning sounds. The manufacturer of the vehicle tells you to turn the vehicle off and check the oil when this happens or if you can't do that, do not operate the vehicle and have it towed. He instead operated the vehicle for 5 days with out following the manufactures procedure. Also there is a technical service bulletin issued by Toyota stating the piston assembly has been updated in this motor because of high oil consumption. this could be a large part of the issue with this vehicle. The Toyota tech even noted how the exhaust outlet smelled and had a film of burnt oil. We sympathize with his concerns but have shown it is not our responsibility. Thanks *****

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Daughter went in for a quote they disassemble the part and would not let her leave with her car and called the cops to force her to Illegally buy 6/27/2013 My Daughter went in for a oil change and to have the brakes checked they disassemble the part and would not let her leave with her car they first told her they could not put it back together and then called the car unsafe and would not let her take the car. They then called the cops to force her to have them fix her car. I went there and had to wait over 40 minutes for the cop to show up. when he showed up he told them they were wrong and she was allowed to leave with her car

Desired Settlement: I wish their rating destroyed because of high pressure and illegal business practices. the owner was there and I tried to explain what was going on and he blew me off too.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/07/10) */ HI **** HIS DAUGHTER CAME IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND ASKED FOR A FREE BRAKE INSPECTION. WOW THE FACTS SURE GET TWISTED. HER REAR BRAKES WHERE GRINDING. WE INSPECTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THE RIGHT REAR CALIPER HAD FALLEN APART AND WAS DESTROYED. CALIPER WAS GRINDING THE ROTOR FOR QUITE A WHILE.. WE BROUGHT HIM BACK AND SHOWED HIM. . THE REAR BRAKES DID NOT WORK. HE WANTED TO TAKE THE CAR. WE DID NOT THINK IT WAS SAFE. WE DID NOT WANT TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE IN ANY REGARD IF ANYTHING HAPPENED WHEN THAT CAR LEFT OUR BUSINESS. WE CALLED NEW HOPE POLICE. NEW HOPE POLICE CHECKED AND FOUND A VEHICLE ONLY NEEDS ONE SET OF FUNCTIONING BRAKES. WE WANTED A WITNESS BECAUSE WE FELT THE FATHER WAS IRRESPONSIBLE AND LATER BLAME US FOR ANY BRAKE ISSUE. WE DID NOT CHARGE THEM FOR THE OIL CHANGE OR THE INSPECTION. WE WERE HAPPY HE LEFT. WE JUST HAD TO COVER OUR ***. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are distorting the facts first we have called 2 other Precision tunes and were told they do not take the brakes apart on a inspection which they did. Then they said they could not put the brakes back together which they ended up doing After that they told us the car was unsafe and illegal to drive which it was not. Again this was a high pressure and illegal sales tactic. I have bought and sold cars and have dealt with auto repair shops all over the US. I knew the auto repair shop was wrong and I told them so. They would not give up on their tactics. I was forced to wait for the police for 45 minutes. My daughter and my wife and I will not get the 1 1/2-2 hours I spent there back. We showed the police man what the laws said. If the Auto repair shop wants to Illegally hold my car and call the police they should know the law. If they have done this to me, they have this to other people, this needs to be stopped. I also had the work done for $110 less.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Tune Auto Care
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)