BBB Accredited Business since

Honest-1 Auto Care #187

Phone: (763) 270-0424 Fax: (651) 994-9030 2701 Fairoak Ave, Anoka, MN 55303 http://www.honest1anoka.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Honest-1® is committed to providing you with a wide range of high quality automotive services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest-1 Auto Care #187 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honest-1 Auto Care #187 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honest-1 Auto Care #187
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2011 Business started: 02/24/2010 Business started locally: 02/24/2010 Business incorporated 02/24/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Matt Sedestrom, Owner Hunter Fennell, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Matt Sedestrom, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Electric Equipment Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
We offer a 3 year/36,000 mile warranty and a 1 year roadside assitance on most of our work
Alternate Business Names
Seed Incorporated
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Honest-1 Auto Care, this company offers light duty auto repair and diagnostics including tires and exhaust.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 2701 Fairoak Ave

    Anoka, MN 55303 (763) 270-0424

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a transmission flush, but it was not put back together properly. Caused much damage and thousands of dollars, four months later. Transmission flush last May 2013, found transmission fluid and water in my radiator as I was traveling home on the Interstate in Sept. 2013. Being forced to the shoulder of the road, my Acura would not accelerate with odd noises coming from my engine, not to mention I was alone and very scared as semi's and traffic were flying by me! I did contact the Honest-1 Auto Care #187 Anoka, MN. but no reply. Thousands of dollars spent to replace - and still being treated for radiator flushes. Reporting because of ill technicians and wrongful work -

Desired Settlement: I agreed to having the work done, I thought I was doing my car a favor - apparently I chose the wrong Auto care facility. $5,300.00 later...will never return and I will spread the word!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/02) */ On April 25, 2013 ***** ****** came to Honest 1 with a 2003 Acura Mdx with 112,060 miles on it. We did an oil change and a transmission flush. The Acura was taken for a test drive prior to the work and another test drive after the work. We did flush the transmission and allowed the vehicle to run for approximately 20-30 minutes to make sure that all was working according to specs. The Acura was running perfectly and there was no indication of any problem at that time. According the *****'s complaint when he vehicle had problems in September there was transmission fluid and water in the radiator. This would have been caused by an internal failure of the transmission cooler and nothing that we did would have caused this to happen. We did not cause this issue and it's unfortunate that she had this happen but it was in no way a result of her transmission flush. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When the cooling line was reconnected to the radiator, the threads on the transmission cooler connection inside the radiator were stripped. We have the piece in question. Our mechanic saved the radiator and this connector has clearly been stripped. I believe this caused a slow transfer of fluids between the transmission and cooling system which is why it took as long as it did to fail on us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/12) */ When we do a flush on An Acura MDX we do not disconnect the threaded portion of the transmission cooler hose fitting. We simply remove the hose clamp and remove the rubber hose and attach our rubber hose to the fitting to perform the flush. We do no unscrew the fitting - we attach to the fitting with a clamp. There is nothing that we could have done to strip the fitting since we did not remove it. If there was a leak it would have shown externally when we put the system under pressure and that did not happen. Again we do not remove the fittings and we did not remove the radiator and based on what has been said it is obvious that it was an internal failure of the transmission cooler, which is part of the radiator. It's unfortunate that ****** had issues with her car 5 months later but the issue was not a result of her work with us.

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought new tires from Honest-1 one, they installed them - mount, balance and put on the van they also have a life time free rotate. I also have them do the oil changes on the vehicle. I do some work on the van myself. I went to put breaks in the vehicle and Honest-1 had the lug nuts on so tight I couldn't get them off with an impact wrench and this was on a Sunday so I could stop and bring it up to them. I finally got the lugs off with a 3 ft. breaker bar. One of the rear wheel lugs was so cross threaded it took me a half an hour to get it off. I tried to straighten the threads myself but couldn't get them good enouogh to put the lug nut on. I called Honest-1 the next day and talked to the manager his name is ****. He told us it was no big deal and they would take care of it. I didn't bring it up there right away, I have some health issues that didn't allow me to take care of it until now. So my wife made the appointment for this morning and when they looked at it they said they would not take care of the problem because someone had tampered with it, of course someone tampered with it how else would I have found the problem they created from mounting the tires. They were the only one's that had touched the van's tires since they put them on. My wife brought the van up to them this morning on and appointment they made for her and the manager was very belligerent to her almost wright away and said he washes his hand over the matter. I called him when she returned and he was the same way to me. He keep saying it was no big deal to fix and he didn't say anything about a time statute. The tires were installed on Nov. 9th 2012. We had the oil changed by them Feb. 14th 2013 and they rotated the tires then. I did the break job in May and contacted them about the lug being cross threaded at that time and **** the manager said make an appointment when it was convenient for us. When I talked to **** the first time he said I had to buy the stud and they would put it in. I thought this was wrong

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The only thing I wanted was for them to put in the new lug stud in the rear hub of the van and for them to pay for the stud and new lug nut.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/07/25) */ I was contacted by the new manager to honest 1 and he resolved the problem for me. They are going to replace the stud at no cost to me and on my time frame. So the problem is resolved. *** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honest-1 Auto Care #187
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)